HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels

Reviews of Hotel Central Station

Hostel | Via Giovanni Battista Sammarti, Milan, Italy 20124

72.8% Overall Rating

340 out of 416 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

Ruth Forrest thinks…

"This was just a short stopover in Milan. The hostel is nothing to write home about, but it does what it offers and is extremely conveniently located with detailed instructions as to how to find it.…"

Read all Hotel Central Station reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Milan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Milan

Hotel Monopole
33.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 67.3% 83 reviews
Hotel Demo
34.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.5% 650 reviews
Hotel Club
37.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 23 reviews
Hostel Central Station
11.05 USD

Hostel 74.2% 219 reviews
B&B I AM HERE - GIOIA 66
27.62 USD

Guesthouse 97.3% 29 reviews
Villa Melchiorre
27.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 76.0% 22 reviews
Hotel Stazione
47.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.6% 109 reviews
Bio city Hotel
45.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 88.6% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

340 out of 416 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Central Station'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
65.6%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 288 of 311 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ruth Forrest

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: This was just a short stopover in Milan. The hostel is nothing to write home about, but it does what it offers and is extremely conveniently located with detailed instructions as to how to find it. 24 hour reception, refreshments available for a reasonable price. Area to sit. Basically not somewhere to stay if you're after a fun holiday but is ideal if you're interrailing and just need a bed for the night.

Disliked: It's nothing special, it's quite dated and no atmosphere. No luggage room, bags were just left behind the reception desk.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good

Disliked: non

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Guninta Surplusya Sudiar

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Guninta Surplusya would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Central Station, value for money

Disliked: The toilet is not fully functional; not too annoying though

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: The general atmosphere and friendliness of staff

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is an excellent location, right outside the main train station.

Disliked: As you would expect with such a central location, there is a lot of noise from the street. When I checked in I was simply given my key and directed to my room, not given any information about what services the hotel offers nor provided with a city map or advice about Milan. It really is just a place to sleep.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SRI SHANKAR JAYAKUMAR

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 SRI SHANKAR would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated very close to Ralway station. It is clean and value for money.

Disliked: SRI SHANKAR left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013

Liked: Great location

Disliked: They have a very weird policy of leaving the key with the desk when you leave the building. There was no safe or locker. It was very noisy and the mattress was really bad. But for the money you save buy some ear plugs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: no problems

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is seconds (literally) away from train station.

Disliked: Nothing specific, I suppose the location takes on (like most train stations) a seedy look at night and possibly conceals dangers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rata Rojjanavaroe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2013 Rata would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice and hard working people. I got the four bed dorm but they also gave me a towel like a hotel. The rooms were clean and they make your bed every day. It is basically a hotel that offers a dorm option to save money. It's not fancy just a clean affordable place to sleep which suited my pitstop between destinations awesomely. The location is perfect for arriving late at by train! They have a map for you too!

Disliked: The internet only worked in the lobby but they do say so in the description.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Richards

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 August 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed here as a stopover, arriving late then leaving early the next day by train, and for this the hostel was pretty spot on. It's minutes from the train station. The room itself (we stayed in a private double) was fine - nice and clean, towels, soap etc, and there was even a fan (though no air conditioning but I suppose this is expected somewhere so cheap). We could get wifi in our room, and for a cheap hotel room for one night, pretty good!

Disliked: The location was good for being near the train station, but is definitely not in the heart of Milan at all. No real atmosphere in the place either, so not the right sort of hostel to go to if you want to meet people. Also, we had a terrible night's sleep because there was so, so much noise going on outside from rubbish collection or something. Not sure whether this is something that happens on a regular basis, or whether it's really the hostel's fault, but it still affected our trip!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to station

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Seers

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 August 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station

Disliked: on a very busy road which was noisy during the night

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013

Liked: Close to the train station, which is nice.

Disliked: It was quite noisy during the nights there, did not sleep that good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Grant Patterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: It was close to Milan Central train station as directions indicate.

Disliked: The room I shared backed onto the main road and was very noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YI LAM CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 YI LAM would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the central station; staff is helpful; every thing is very clean.

Disliked: YI LAM left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Joshua Wiffen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2013

Liked: close to train station, public transport and shuttle bus

Disliked: higher end cost, wi-fi doesnt extend to rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WEIKANG CHEN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2013 WEIKANG would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the station, Spacious room

Disliked: Staff never control the noise even after midnight, there was this group of Aussies making a lot of noise after midnight at the looby, but no one did anything,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner/manager was very helpful and friendly. The place is immaculately clean, and the private room was very large. Being beside the Central Station made it easy to get to and from the airport and directly into the heart of the city as well as to the hip area of Porto Genova.

Disliked: I would have preferred an en suite, but never had a problem with the shared baths. They were very clean.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chaithawat Chueluecha

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2013 Chaithawat would recommend this property

Liked: Stay one night in single shared bathroom, room is clean with a bit 80's atmosphere inside but the best location from milano central train station, if you come to Milan in night, i reccomended you to stay here it's 3 minutes walk from station!! and reception(Jessica) is very helpful

Disliked: WiFi work only one day! Some old furniture

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yasmina Maliuga

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013

Liked: The property has a good location close to Milano central railway station. BUT is is also very close to a road with much traffic, so we had problems with sleeping there at night.

Disliked: Very noisy road next to the hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

IHSAN AKKARPUZ

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 IHSAN would recommend this property

Liked: We've arrived to Centrale from Bergamo Airport and the hotel is just located next to the centrale that we had just walked 5 minutes along with our heavy luggage. This hotel should be chosen exactly for its location and cheaper prices compared to other hotels.

Disliked: We had already been notified before going this hotel as the place is really noisy especially at nights. We had experienced the same kind of thing exactly throughout the night. However not that bad at all. Place can be classified as safe and secure but not too much of course as there are lots of interesting looked non-italian guys over that street where the hotel located.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Samaya Katzman

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 October 2012

Liked: Its close to the train station. The room wasnt bad but it was way over priced. The staff were friendly enough and the place was clean enough.

Disliked: I booked this place because it was the cheapest one on hostelbookers. It was right outside of the train station and on a fairly sketchy street. My husband and I walked around and found that there were way nicer hotels on another street close by which seemed to be in a much better area. The beds were very uncomfortable and we did not get a double bed like we had reserved. It was extremely noisy, so if you do decide to stay here, bring ear plugs and a face mask. I have stayed in much worse places, and this place would have been ok had it been half the price. Another couple we met booked a room for cheaper at a hotel called Flora, which looked like an actual hotel. To give you an idea of what the area is like, we were walking back to the hostel after dinner, and my husband looked over and saw a homeless woman taking a shit in between two cars AND she made eye contact with him. He is scarred for life.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Guy

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location close to the station.

Disliked: A dodgy lock on the toilet door.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

mehmet erden

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012

Liked: only location was good but other things are very bad!.

Disliked: beds are not comfortable ,the money u pay doesnt fit the quality.


See all Milan hostels
See all Milan hotels