HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Ischia hostels

Reviews of Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | via Provinciale Panza, 387, Cuotto Forio, Ischia, Italy 80075

92.5% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/01/2014)

Owen Connors thinks…

"Really enjoyed my time on Ischia and at this hostel. The whole place is amazing. Was here in winter but theres still plenty to do and is sure to be amazing in summer. The staff are really…"

Read all Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.15

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

This property has a 2 day cancellation policy. Failure to cancel within this time will result in a cancellation charge equal to the first two nights of your stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ischia?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ischia

Paco Mare Residence
30.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Paco Residence Apartments
24.88 USD

Apartment 86.7% 24 reviews
Ring Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 90.3% 112 reviews
Pietra Donica B and B
41.46 USD

Guesthouse 96.1% 11 reviews
Hostelcentralischia
17.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Poggio del Sole
24.88 USD

Hostel 92.7% 31 reviews
Hotel Carlo Magno
128.52 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Imperamare
38.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 82.9% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paradise Beach Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen Connors

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2014 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my time on Ischia and at this hostel. The whole place is amazing. Was here in winter but theres still plenty to do and is sure to be amazing in summer. The staff are really accommodating, going out of the way to get to know you and ensuring you have a good time. The building was going through refurbishment when i was there which doesn't cause any issues and will make to place amazing when complete with great views and lots of spaces to relax. Would fully recomend a week here and will be back!

Disliked: Owen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petra Bosilj

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa

10 September 2013 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so very helpful. I had a not-so-pleasant trip to Ischia and forgot to pack some important things, but the owner, Shaun, and very helpful staff made me feel relaxed and at ease in no time (after he picked me up at the port!). Shaun gives everybody great suggestions and recommendations for beaches, places to eat and places to visit. He or the staff will also gladly give you directions to anywhere else you might want to visit. There's some social events organized every evening or so by Shaun and I'm actually sad I didn't go to more of them. But I still met great people and had a great time :) The rooms are very clean, and the breakfast is very nice as well. If I'm ever back at Ischia, I'll probably stay at Shaun's hostel again.

Disliked: There's no real common area at the hostel area (there's a beautiful terrace, but nobody uses it). The best way to meet other hostel-people is at breakfast (at the hotel with which the hostel is co-operating) and Shaun-organised evening events. It worked out fine for me, I met very nice people who made my stay there even more enjoyable (I only spent half a day alone, which was still a nice relaxing day) but it might be a bit hard to find company if you miss breakfast in the morning and Shaun in the evening.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

24 August 2013

Liked: Terrace is nice and big.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

21 August 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I booked a room WITH air conditioning, internet and hot water, BUT I got a room WITHOUT it!!! I got instead - blower, cold water and wifi that have been 150 away from my room in the nearest hotel. This hostel even doesn't have a reception. If you want to reach the reception, you need to go to another hotel, which is located 150 meters from the hostel. Awfully!!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janene cherry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 janene would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful room and beautiful view! Shaun was kind enough to come find me after I had gotten turned around. He helped me meet new friends and enjoy nightlife. Also, outlined everything to do and how to get there. The room was lovely and the food was great too!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rick White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2013 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: Shaun was the most welcoming host of all the hostels I'v been to in Europe. He has a good thing going on a great little Island. I booked for one night and ended up staying two. Could have stayed a lifetime.

Disliked: Rick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Schwarze

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel. Shuan was wonderful and we were so happy that he was able to take us to the Hot Springs and show us around the island. Breakfast was amazing too, and actually filled us up in the morning. The room was nice and clean, and it was nice having a private bathroom. Our group loved that we were able to use the hotel's thermal pool. It was a wonderful stay, and I can't wait to go back.

Disliked: Nothing! Everything was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Pawliger

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The property has very good facilities and Shaun is a great host. He organized a very fun outing to climb Mount Epomeo and then we had a spectacular evening in the natural thermal baths at Sorgeto. He is a fun and social host and gave good recommendations.

Disliked: The breakfast was meager

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hudson Hotaling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Hudson would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how friendly the staff was in conjunction with the amazing value of my stay there. This hostel felt much more like a nice hotel than a hostel. The breakfast was the best breakfast I've had in Europe thus far, and the heated pool was extremely relaxing.

Disliked: There is nothing that I disliked about this property. If I went back to Ischia, I wouldn't even consider staying a different location.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting a host as amiable as Shaun on such a perfect island has made our tour of Italy unforgettable. Shaun knows all of the best places to see on the island and was only too happy to show us and others from the hostel to the hot springs in the sea, on a hike up Mt Epomeo and to some of the best local restaurants and coffee shops in the area. We rented bikes from Ischia and cycled to the hostel but it would be much easier to get the ferry to Casamicciola Porto and walk to the hostel. Planned to stay for a night or two and just didn't want to leave, thank you for everything Shaun!!

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Pablo Diez Pena

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2013 Juan Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: ENG/SPA This hostel is in the beautiful island of Ischia, Shaun the owner is super nice and always ready to help or give his advise if needed (like to what beach to go, supermarkets and restaurants), he even showed us a really cool place where there are thermal waters by the see! People there were super nice and friendly too, I've met a very good and funny group of people, plus the beaches are amazing. I'do totally go back there! Este hostel está eh la bellísima isla de Ischia, Shaun el propietario es súper simpático y siempre listo para responder a cualquier pregunta o de concejo sobre playas, restaurantes, etc. Incluso nos mostró un lugar alucinante de aguas termales al costado del mar. La gente súper simpática, conocí un lindo grupo de jóvenes de mi edad con los que nos divertimos muchísimo! Además las playas son muy lindas!

Disliked: Juan Pablo left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager met me at the ferry terminal and showed me how to get to the hostel. He also organized a trip for everyone to go down to the hot springs at night when there were no other tourists there!

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find, but the manager was very helpful about bringing me to and from the ferry terminal (which he willingly offered!) I think the hostel knows this is a bit of a drawback, so they try their best to help customers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Bettiol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

03 November 2012 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Paradise beach hostel is still a brand new venture on the island of Ischia. During my stay I was put up in the temporary Winter residence of the hostel a small Albergo on the island, an excellent place, clean, hospitable & in a prime location. Shaun the owner has a fantastic vision and I have no doubt that next Summer this will be the BEST hostel on the island. Shaun is able to provide you with a wealth of knowledge of places to see & things to do on the island of Ischia. I couldn't recommend this hostel or Ischia itself anymore. A must see of Italy!

Disliked: Erica left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

stuart porter

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 stuart would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast,and 5 euro bottles of wine from antonio the hotel/hostel owner and very nice roof terrace views. also very helpfull at reception

Disliked: the hostel bar bit too expensive other than that nice little hotel/hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: View from roof top Hostel manager Shaun is very helpful in hosting, providing tourist information and organizing activities

Disliked: Not very easy to access the beach, restaurant, supermarket on foot because the hostel is uphill

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Finlayson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel we have stayed in so far! Rooftop terrace with fabulous views over the Bay of Naples complete with sunbeds, shower and Jacuzzi! Shaun runs the hostel and will meet you off the ferry and take you, via the local bus to the hostel, which is up a hill. He'll let you know what is happening on the island and organizes trips and dinners for those who are interested.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager of the 'HOTEL' was entertaining and full of useful information about where to go, what to do and how to get their. The 'hotel' was also clean and tidy, and it was great to have an en suite and air conditioning and a decent breakfast included. If what you are looking for is a pleasant hotel with dorm rooms, this place is great, it is only 15-20 minute walk up hill (less going down) from the centre of the town, with buses running past the hotel and through the town to take you around the island.

Disliked: Essentially this is a nice hotel with dorm rooms, not a hostel. Their was no sign up on the building to indicate this that it was the Paradise Island Hostel, only that it was the Hotel Coralba. The 5 bed dorm room was cramp, with little space for luggage or movement. The guy who runs 'the hostel' (not the hotel manager) did try organise social activities for the 'hostel people' some of which were more successful than others but generally reminded me why I avoided package holidays and holiday reps!!! Aside from the roof, which was pleasant there was no real common area to sit and socialise.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Virginia Galvan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Virginia would recommend this property

Liked: There was a really great ambiance, when I arrived to the port of Ischia Shaun came to pick me. Then we join other guests and we went hiking and having dinner, it was really nice and it made it easier to meet nice people.

Disliked: To go to from Casamicciola to the hotel walking, you have to walk up a hill, otherwise there's a bus (14) that arrives to the hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das Hostel liegt am Berg, aber schon allein wegen der Aussicht von der Dachterrasse aus lohnt es sich. Außerdem fahren Busse fast bis vor die Haustür. Shaun, der Hostelbetreiber, bemüht sich sehr. Er organisiert Ausflüge oder geht auch einfach mal mit ein paar Leuten zum Strand. Gerade für Alleinreisende sehr nett. Aber man muss natürlich nicht daran teilnehmen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for two nights at this Hostel and found the place to be very nice. The staff were friendly and informative and the room was clean and spacious.

Disliked: The hostel isn't located in the center of town and is a 10 minute walk down quite a steep hill. There is a bus that runs from outside however.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is amazing. There is a rooftop bar and jacuzzi. The rooms were practically like staying at a hotel and the staff were great. We were taken to lots of places that did not appear in guidebooks nor on the internet. The manager has a wicked sense of humour and is sure to make your stay more than memorable. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Tuttle

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Paradise Island were great at recommending activities, restaurants, etc. during our stay. Also, the bar on the rooftop has an incredible view of the sea and the surrounding village. Definitely would recommend to anyone visiting the island.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Bruckner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character, cool staff, clean rooms, great location , good price, safe environment. I now put Ischia/Casamiccolia in 1st place of my 'most liked towns' in Italy. Thanks for making my stay perfect! Plus, thanks for showing me and my friends the island and for being so laidback! 100%. Keep on the good work!

Disliked: It was a 5 minute walk up a hill, but there were regular buses to the door. The hostel is new, so they were still finding their feet, but in a fun kind of way

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

P S

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 P would recommend this property

Liked: I've been traveling through Europe and Southern Europe for the past three months. Ischia is the most amazing island with warm and crystal blue sea waters. I am traveling with a friend this time. I found out there is a new hostel on the island and decided a night here would be fine. I have stayed on the island before but found the other hostel very unfreindly , so was showing my friend only the best parts of the island. We met Shaun, who runs the new hostel here on the island and ended up staying three nights before heading back to Napoli. One thing i remember was that we were offered a glass of wine when we checked in. This was a first for me, i normally drink red wine and this was still okay. The room we were given was fine. The added extras were the roof top bar and spa pool and the host guy Shaun who was very friendly and spoke very good english and was able to answer our dumb questions.

Disliked: P left no negative feedback.


See all Ischia hostels