HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tasso hostel

Hostel | Via Villani 15, Piazza Tasso, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

90.5% Overall Rating

34 out of 34 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

Sarah Van Buren thinks…

"Safe and quiet neighborhood in a very residential part of Florence. I stayed in a six person shared room -- very clean with friendly, young travelers. Showers and bathrooms are clean as is the…"

Read all Tasso hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hostel Santa Monaca
22.11 USD

Hostel 78.9% 148 reviews
Mia Palace Florence B&B and Hostel
27.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Youth Hostel Firenze 2000
34.55 USD

Hostel 82.6% 158 reviews
Hostel Duilio
30.96 USD

Hostel 72.9% 41 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
44.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.1% 23 reviews
Hotel Argentina
44.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.3% 75 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
24.88 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 326 reviews
Franz House
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 327 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

34 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tasso hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Van Buren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and quiet neighborhood in a very residential part of Florence. I stayed in a six person shared room -- very clean with friendly, young travelers. Showers and bathrooms are clean as is the kitchen and dining area. Live music and a friendly atmosphere for a reasonable price!

Disliked: About a 15 minute walk from the city center, and public transport in this part of the city is lacking. Also, the hostel tends to leave it's windows open in the spring. I got at least two mosquito bites every night I was there -- bring bug spray or anti-itch cream.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mei Ling Yeung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Mei Ling would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice hostel for every ages. Rooms are clean and big. Even thought it's not in the centre of Florence, but it's easy to get to the centre by 15 mins walk. At this case, you can enjoy the quiet environment. They have a nice lobby (bar) that you can hang out with friends.

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriel Sales Vezali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was very good, and there was "cheap" beer.

Disliked: Lots of "events" taking place in the common room that has got nothing to do with the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Staff were also very very helpful and did everything that they could to help us. There is a very nice bar downstairs and it's all done up very nicely. The part of the city it is in is wonderful. It's quiet and charming but also a very easy walk to the centre of the city. It is also easy to get here by bus from the station or the walk is max 20 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and comfortable bed. Lovely outside terrace. Good windows help reduce traffic noise. Flexible breakfast until 11am was good. Croissants and coffee a great start to the day day, though croissants were not always fresh. It is a lovely old building and a decent, but not amazing location in the residential south of Florence

Disliked: Noise was a big issue as it's an echoey old building with no carpets to soak up sounds. On a weekend the downstairs becomes a party location and you either need to join them or go out, sleep is out of the question. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, just something to know before you book. There was a bedside lamp in my room but no wall socket to plug it in, I guess it was just there to look good? The lock in the 2nd floor ladies bathroom badly needs fixing, everytime someone tried to lock it there would be so much banging. Finally some of the male staff have a classic case of 'too cool to be here' syndrome although female staff I met were all nice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and neat single room. The kitchen facilities were excellent, including stove, oven fridge and utensils. Conveniently staffed 24/7. Breakfast included a barrister made coffee, crossing and your fill of toast and juice. The female staff member at the desk was lovely and helpful. Washing machine and dryer onsite for 6 euros including detergent ( for 1 use of both). Excellent shared space downstairs complete with festive court yard and lounge. Pleasant atmosphere to wake up in. Complimentary drink on arrival.

Disliked: On Friday and Saturday nights the Lounge Down stairs becomes a club bar open to the public. It is loud. Not just a little- a lot . On the 3rd storey with sound cancelling headphones I could still hear and feel the vibrations from the music. It keeps going ti 1-2am. I had a Florence pass and was very active during the day, so I was exhausted coming back to this. I was so tierd I had trouble planning my trip it . my trip. I'm only 25, and enjoy music but this was too much. The courtyard full of random people was also incredibly noisy, provided there wasn't music, it could be blocked out with head phones. 35 euros was steep. It's located in a more unfortunate area of Florence without significant super markets. When I went to pay in the morning, the guy nearly over charged me 25 euros.lucky I said something, which initially wasn't well recieved, so I got my hostel bookers receipt to show him. He said he hadn't looked properly. Staff seemed a bit suspicious and weren't welcoming until you'd paid but this could have been just me. The hostel was adamant I pay up front, which I didn't, so I guess that's a sign they are accommodating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Firsly is easy find a parking there. It is close to the city centre. The building is really big. They have live concert during the weekends. Toilets and showers brand new. Really big kitchen!!! with more than you can need!! large room and very confortable bed. Large terrace where you can have your sunny breakfast!

Disliked: noisy because the live music.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

JARRED MOK

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 JARRED would recommend this property

Liked: Loved that it was on the south side of the river (not in the middle of the main tourist sites). This gave me the chance to see and explore parts of Florence not many people bother/get to see - I loved that. Members of the staff also gave me terrific recommendations for food (I love to eat - pizza, steak, etc), which was very important to me. The location was very accessible by bus from the SM Novella Station (which was where I came from) and appeared to be much safer than where I stayed in Rome.

Disliked: The biggest downside was that there was no WIFI in my room (2nd floor) so I had to go to the common room to use it. I suppose that was good though, kept me from staying in my room for too long! It was a also little expensive compared to the other hostels I've stayed at. Admittedly it also had the best beds (very quiet, etc) but I still felt it was kind of steep. Unfortunately the hostel life was also not very active, I did not manage to meet many people (common room was very large and people kept mostly to themselves). The events were also not publicized, I suppose that might've been because there were no events when I was there though! All in all however, I would stay at this hostel again if I had the chance (and the budget!).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Spontak

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, and close to Palazzo Pitti.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amit Sharma

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Amit would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels that I have stayed in and I have stayed in many hostels (in Italy and other parts of Europe). On arrival we were welcomed by friendly helpful staff who gave us a free drink and showed us the lively common room area. Rooms are clean, tidy and large. The showers are clean and hot. Breakfast was great and there are good kitchen facilities available. The best part of this hostel was the great atmosphere and the staff made sure they had a variety of events to cater for all ages.

Disliked: Happy with everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had character and a blues night was on whilst I was there which was pretty cool. Free breakfast, not much cereal choice but yummy croissants.

Disliked: It's far too expensive with hardly any choice of cereals and they just have the wifi password out on display. So when they were hosting a blues night everyone who wasn't part of the hostel was obviously logging onto the free wifi and the people at the hostel couldn't use it because it was too slow and kept timing out because so many people were on it. Not really fair considering how much you've paid. Other than that really nice beds, the hostel hasn't tried to just cramp a load of beds into a room to make money they actually give you space and not bunk beds which is great! Get a free drink on arrival as well which is fun.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Black

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Different types of performances on the stage downstairs.

Disliked: Little bit of a walk into the center but not too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Thomsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing hostel, such a friendly warm and chilled place. Spotlessly clean, massively stocked kitchen, comfiest hostel beds I have ever slept in - and no bunks!! Probably the most helpful and friendliest staff I have ever met, Amazing job guys well done!!

Disliked: nothing at all. loved everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Rollison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly clean comfortable

Disliked: could be noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lydia mcgarry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 lydia would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are so friendly and helpful. There are events on most nights.

Disliked: lydia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martha Leguizamon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful. The room and bathroom are very clean. Good location, good breakfast. I highly recommended it for its price!

Disliked: Martha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mehmet Genc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 October 2013 Mehmet would recommend this property

Liked: Sharing area and bar perceft. This isn't hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This place was excellent in every way. The staff were very helpful, friendly, and laid back. The facility was very nice and well run and had a good artsy vibe. In some ways felt more like a little hotel than a hostel. Next time I'm in Florence, I'm staying here again.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Clean. Very cool spot for travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanest hostel I've stayed in, most comfortable beds I've stayed in, clean bathrooms, free locks and lockers, free towels, very happy with the quality of sheets/pillows.

Disliked: Only one working shower, it wasn't a problem for me but I could see it being an issue if multiple people needed to shower at same time.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were really nice

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel - go here! Loads of atmosphere, staff are really friendly and helpful. They also make great cocktails :) the location is easy to get to centre and there are some nice bars/restaurants nearby if you want something really local. A sociable place but not over crazy if you want to chill.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Mroz

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely place to stay. Has a nice, social atmosphere without being too crazy. The rooms are clean and air conditioned. The breakfast is decent. They give you a welcome drink :) also their bike rentals are really nice and cheap.

Disliked: It's a tad bit more expensive than I usually pay for hostels, though I think its still good value. The neighborhood is nice and quiet and slightly out of the way, which can be good or bad depending on your taste.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not a hostel more like a hotel... Great hostel, awesome friendly staff, clean rooms, great location, good coffee, it's the place to be

Disliked: Nothinf

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOONJEONG KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 MOONJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, atmosphere, location, just everything was good! It was a very pleasant experience to stay in Tasso :) The dorm and the bed was neat and clean and very comfortable for me. I would definitely visit here again if i got a chance to visit Florence again!

Disliked: nothing