HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tasso hostel

Hostel | Via Villani 15, Piazza Tasso, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

91.7% Overall Rating

51 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Lesley Auton thinks…

"- wonderful staff who all spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough for you, very welcoming - surprisingly comfortable beds - really clean especially the bathrooms, free towels included -…"

Read all Tasso hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hostel Santa Monaca
26.20 USD

Hostel 85.0% 159 reviews
Mia Palace Florence B&B and Hostel
30.90 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 3 reviews
Youth Hostel Firenze 2000
29.55 USD

Hostel 80.9% 170 reviews
Hostel Duilio
26.06 USD

Hostel 65.4% 49 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
30.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.1% 23 reviews
Hotel Argentina
30.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.3% 75 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
24.18 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 331 reviews
Franz House
33.58 USD

Guesthouse 95.4% 327 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

51 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tasso hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
89.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lesley Auton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Lesley would recommend this property

Liked: - wonderful staff who all spoke excellent English and couldn't do enough for you, very welcoming - surprisingly comfortable beds - really clean especially the bathrooms, free towels included - lovely location - great vibe

Disliked: - nothing! it was perfect! thank you :D

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and friendly staff were great. I stayed in both a single room and a dorm and both rooms were clean and felt spacious. The free drink upon arrival helped to unwind after a stressful commute to Florence. Would definitely stay again.

Disliked: I found it extremely hot at night. Both rooms had fans but this didn´t quite cut it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: It was in a very quiet neighborhood and away from the hustle and bustle of Florence.

Disliked: No AC when requested as we were told to do when we checked in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Rodwick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: One of our best hostel experiences ever. Great new facility, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable & large sleeping rooms, well-appointed reception area and garden plus a free breakfast and bar drink. Staff are pleasant and helpful; very clean facility; and the price is reasonable.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building in an amazing location. Staff were welcoming and helpful. Such a cool and relaxing atmosphere. Would one million percent recommend staying here!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful, and gave me awesome recommendations on places to eat. The directions on getting to the hostel where also really easy to follow which helps after a long day. The place is very nicely decorated,exceptionally clean, with very nice facilities. I also liked that they didn't have bunk beds! I would recommend for solo travelers

Disliked: Not the biggest of deals, but Everyone else got a drink upon arrival!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good place and really good atomisphere

Disliked: Expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious and clean room. Bathroom and common kitchen got cleaned regurarly. Possibility to sit outside in the garden. Location is across the Arno-river. The city center is within walking distance.

Disliked: The breakfast only had sweet items.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simone Langenhuizen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and outdoor area are wicked. Cappucino at breakfast is rare in hostels. Great staff. In a quieter area of town, good to get away from tourist crowds.

Disliked: Small hostel so if it's quiet there may be difficult to meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, good location!

Disliked: mosquitos in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Barton

Alone

Business / conference

11 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Everything felt high quality, the building is beautiful, staff were nice, kitchen was perfect. A big thumbs up from me!

Disliked: Nothing much, except I hate those showers where you have to repetitively press the button.. And I had to use one of those.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED EVERYTHING, YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE. beautiful building, great breakfast, free drink when you check in (!), BEST staff I've encountered in Europe so far.

Disliked: it's not in the 'center' of Florence but the walk was really enjoyable and not too far, more or less 15 minutes to Il Duomo.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Hock

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel with great interior and courtyard, nice staff, spotlessly clean, breakfast sufficient (1 fresh croissant and 1 espresso/cappuchino from the "good" machine, plus unlimited tea, filter coffee, juice (not fresh one), toasts). Great for travellers who want to meet people and have entertainment in the evening (on my first night, there was a party, on the second a record release gig).

Disliked: If you want to be on your own and go to sleep early, I wouldn't recommend it, as there is entertainment, and it is noisy until around midnight (or later).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Pidgainyi, Kateryna Ovchynnikova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: creativity, warm and friendly atmosphere, smiling personal

Disliked: the best hostel! with friendly and youth atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, really helpful and great recommendations for places to eat

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff.

Disliked: Thin walls and heavy doors made it somewhat loud at night while trying to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in very interesting part of town, lots of good restaurants and bars near there. Tasso is well designed, very artistic hostel with the best kitchen i have ever seen, with common table and disco ball. Friendly stuff, lots of common space to spend time.

Disliked: Only one toilet on the first floor.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Van Buren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

19 April 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and quiet neighborhood in a very residential part of Florence. I stayed in a six person shared room -- very clean with friendly, young travelers. Showers and bathrooms are clean as is the kitchen and dining area. Live music and a friendly atmosphere for a reasonable price!

Disliked: About a 15 minute walk from the city center, and public transport in this part of the city is lacking. Also, the hostel tends to leave it's windows open in the spring. I got at least two mosquito bites every night I was there -- bring bug spray or anti-itch cream.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mei Ling Yeung

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Mei Ling would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice hostel for every ages. Rooms are clean and big. Even thought it's not in the centre of Florence, but it's easy to get to the centre by 15 mins walk. At this case, you can enjoy the quiet environment. They have a nice lobby (bar) that you can hang out with friends.

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriel Sales Vezali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was very good, and there was "cheap" beer.

Disliked: Lots of "events" taking place in the common room that has got nothing to do with the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. Staff were also very very helpful and did everything that they could to help us. There is a very nice bar downstairs and it's all done up very nicely. The part of the city it is in is wonderful. It's quiet and charming but also a very easy walk to the centre of the city. It is also easy to get here by bus from the station or the walk is max 20 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel and comfortable bed. Lovely outside terrace. Good windows help reduce traffic noise. Flexible breakfast until 11am was good. Croissants and coffee a great start to the day day, though croissants were not always fresh. It is a lovely old building and a decent, but not amazing location in the residential south of Florence

Disliked: Noise was a big issue as it's an echoey old building with no carpets to soak up sounds. On a weekend the downstairs becomes a party location and you either need to join them or go out, sleep is out of the question. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, just something to know before you book. There was a bedside lamp in my room but no wall socket to plug it in, I guess it was just there to look good? The lock in the 2nd floor ladies bathroom badly needs fixing, everytime someone tried to lock it there would be so much banging. Finally some of the male staff have a classic case of 'too cool to be here' syndrome although female staff I met were all nice.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, and neat single room. The kitchen facilities were excellent, including stove, oven fridge and utensils. Conveniently staffed 24/7. Breakfast included a barrister made coffee, crossing and your fill of toast and juice. The female staff member at the desk was lovely and helpful. Washing machine and dryer onsite for 6 euros including detergent ( for 1 use of both). Excellent shared space downstairs complete with festive court yard and lounge. Pleasant atmosphere to wake up in. Complimentary drink on arrival.

Disliked: On Friday and Saturday nights the Lounge Down stairs becomes a club bar open to the public. It is loud. Not just a little- a lot . On the 3rd storey with sound cancelling headphones I could still hear and feel the vibrations from the music. It keeps going ti 1-2am. I had a Florence pass and was very active during the day, so I was exhausted coming back to this. I was so tierd I had trouble planning my trip it . my trip. I'm only 25, and enjoy music but this was too much. The courtyard full of random people was also incredibly noisy, provided there wasn't music, it could be blocked out with head phones. 35 euros was steep. It's located in a more unfortunate area of Florence without significant super markets. When I went to pay in the morning, the guy nearly over charged me 25 euros.lucky I said something, which initially wasn't well recieved, so I got my hostel bookers receipt to show him. He said he hadn't looked properly. Staff seemed a bit suspicious and weren't welcoming until you'd paid but this could have been just me. The hostel was adamant I pay up front, which I didn't, so I guess that's a sign they are accommodating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Gonzalez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Firsly is easy find a parking there. It is close to the city centre. The building is really big. They have live concert during the weekends. Toilets and showers brand new. Really big kitchen!!! with more than you can need!! large room and very confortable bed. Large terrace where you can have your sunny breakfast!

Disliked: noisy because the live music.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

JARRED MOK

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 JARRED would recommend this property

Liked: Loved that it was on the south side of the river (not in the middle of the main tourist sites). This gave me the chance to see and explore parts of Florence not many people bother/get to see - I loved that. Members of the staff also gave me terrific recommendations for food (I love to eat - pizza, steak, etc), which was very important to me. The location was very accessible by bus from the SM Novella Station (which was where I came from) and appeared to be much safer than where I stayed in Rome.

Disliked: The biggest downside was that there was no WIFI in my room (2nd floor) so I had to go to the common room to use it. I suppose that was good though, kept me from staying in my room for too long! It was a also little expensive compared to the other hostels I've stayed at. Admittedly it also had the best beds (very quiet, etc) but I still felt it was kind of steep. Unfortunately the hostel life was also not very active, I did not manage to meet many people (common room was very large and people kept mostly to themselves). The events were also not publicized, I suppose that might've been because there were no events when I was there though! All in all however, I would stay at this hostel again if I had the chance (and the budget!).