HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of David Inn

Hostel | Via Ricasoli 31, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50122

80.6% Overall Rating

32 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2014)

"O hostel é muito bem localizado e os funcionários são muito simpáticos e prestativos. Tem um clima acolhedor e é seguro também, pois são poucos quartos e pessoas. Tudo muito limpo, o que é excelente é difícil de achar…"

Read all David Inn reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 09:00 AM to 8pm. Please Note: You will not be able to check in after midnight so if you are going to arrive at a different time you must advise with a phone call or e-mail after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Residenza Ricasoli
40.48 USD

Apartment 84.3% 4 reviews
Maison
16.32 USD

Hostel 73.7% 752 reviews
The Queen's
16.45 USD

Apartment 76.7% 359 reviews
Academy Hostel
32.89 USD

Hostel 94.4% 589 reviews
Soggiorno Venere
31.31 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 125 reviews
Bed And Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 33 reviews
Hotel Collodi – Firenze
42.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Sampaoli
40.80 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 38 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

32 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'David Inn'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel é muito bem localizado e os funcionários são muito simpáticos e prestativos. Tem um clima acolhedor e é seguro também, pois são poucos quartos e pessoas. Tudo muito limpo, o que é excelente é difícil de achar por aqui! Super recomendo. Ficaria lá novamente!

Disliked: A água do chuveiro é bem fraquinha mas dá pra relevar pois os pontos positivos são fortes. Outro aspecto que pode ou não ser inconveniente, dependendo da sua viagem, é que as malas só podem ficar no hostel até as 17h no dia do check out. mas se você já pretende ir embora isso não será um problema.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Augustine Sam

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Augustine would recommend this property

Liked: The first thing that strikes you about David Inn, interestingly, is the Public Relations face of David Inn, meaning the amiable and formidable Nadia. She makes sure your first impression is perfect and it is. David Inn is beautifully located in the center of the Florence tourist activities. You could view the dome of the majestic Duomo from some of the rooms. It is economical and friendly. Offers free WiFi, a relaxation area with TV, a computer with internet access, a kitchen, and free maps with detail itinerary explanations by Nadia of points of interest and bus routes. It is a historical building that is also part of the monumental fascination of Florence.

Disliked: The door of my room made disturbing noises in the process of opening and closing. The shower box is a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Copley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Nadia made us feel very welcome instantly. This is a small hostel, but it is extremely homely and spacious. My room (six bed, mixed) even had a tv room and a computer which was a nice touch. There were reading lights above the bed which was also a bonus, along with the laundry service that could be provided if needed.

Disliked: The lack of plugs! And there was only one shower between about sixteen guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Cottrell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This was by far the best hostel I have EVER stayed at. I have studied abroad and backpacked after graduation, and can say without a doubt that this was my most incredible hostel experience to date. I would most certainly come back to Florence and stay at the David Inn for my entire trip. The location is absolutely perfect. You can literally see the Duomo from the bedroom window! There is a great kitchen area and all of the rooms are beautiful, airy, and super clean. I felt extremely safe staying here and leaving my belongings here. Yet, besides all of these great amenities, it was truly the staff and fellow travelers that made this my favorite hostel. Nadia, the owner of the hostel, is one of the kindest most caring people I have ever met. She treats each one of her guests like family and every single person there could not speak highly enough about her. She is an absolute sweetheart and she, along with the rest of the staff, made sure we had the BEST possible experience.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paras Bansal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Paras would recommend this property

Liked: Nadia and her staff are just awesome! They give you a great idea about how to tour the city and Nadia likes to make everyone get together and have a great time!

Disliked: Paras left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Chiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the heart of Florence. Florence is a small city, but the location (although a bit on the side) was very close to the famous Duomo. The hostel is decorated in a very pretty fashion with clean sheets. Bathroom was a bit further away from the hostel room, but nothing worth complaining about. I enjoyed my stay here. The staff who works at night was very kind to make sure I woke up in time to catch my 6am flight.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find, especially if you are unfamiliar with how the streets are numbered in Florence (there is a business and a residential number). This hostel is located upstairs within a complex. It took me a good 20 minutes to find and having to ask many other hostels (which looked nicer, but were probably more expensive). Another dislike is that it is a bit further from the nearest train station. However, at least you are very close to the Duomo and all the sight seeing :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maria esnal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really goog located, between the duomo and the David. Nadia was helpful, kind, and a great person, always happy and smiling. The rooms were cleaned every day, not common in other hostels.

Disliked: It should have a fridge for people who stay more than 2 nights to put things for breakfast, or things like that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very friendly staff !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: The hostel is located practically right between the Duomo and the David statue, so location was perfect. We walked easily from the main railway station. Staff were friendly enough, and we were well received.

Disliked: First of all, the boy on duty was having a noisy party late at night at the reception area with his friends, and asked us not to tell his employer. The whole place stunk of cigarette smoke and weed. The hostel was pretty shabby and unclean, although you could see a renovation had taken place. At our arrival the sink in the only lockable bathroom with a toilet and shower was filled with water and hair; not very delicate. The room for 4 people was okay, but the bunk beds were unsteady, and the "view to the Duomo" was really just being able to spot the rooftop. We asked staff for help finding train times to our next destination, but apparently they forgot about us. The lockers are not possible to use, as all the keys are missing, so don't hope to stow anything safely here. All in all; you can find better accommodation for the price.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alissa Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013

Liked: very close to the "sights"

Disliked: hostel is actually a BNB, it is a series of bunk bed rooms. you must be aware that there is no hot water unless you ask (repeatedly) or activate the hot water yourself via a switch in the closet.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frazer Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Frazer would recommend this property

Liked: The photos don't do this place justice. It was very nice to stay in and was perfectly located. We made a great friend here, and enjoyed the hostel.

Disliked: It said it had a kitchen, but this wasn't true. It had a room with a sink, but no actual cooking facilities.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tyler Franz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: No security, rooms don't even lock. No common area, no kitchen, MOSQUITOS EVERYWHERE, dirty tiny bathrooms, NO HOT WATER, extremely rude staff, terrible beds DO NOT STAY HERE

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Bang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Easy to find once you are at the dome - as long as you don't forget the house number. It was very clean. Friendly staff. There was a great view from one of the rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013

Liked: Location was good? Clean and good bedding.

Disliked: Owner is so unprofessional. She overcharged me and attempted to charge me even more. On my second night I was kept up until 3am listening to her argue with wnother guest about being overcharged. There is virtually no security and no privacy. Plus, do not use their directions.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: Great location, right next to the musuem where the statue of David is. Always open and the staff are helpful when you have a question. Bathroom was clean and well maintained. WLAN great. Computer (slow) is also available.

Disliked: The atmosphere at this hostel was dead. The building is old and loud everytime a door is shut. No breakfast or community room, just reception at the front and your room. Bed wasn't very comfortable. It was just a weird hostel. No major problems but also no great features besides the location. It did make you want to get out of the hostel and into the city. Staff provide you with only a city map, no suggestions or introdutions for the city. For a place to lay your head, its good. But for a good hostel atmosphere, look elsewhere.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing. You can be at the dome in two mimutes! It's also in a safe area of the city so you can stay out till fairly late without worries. Also, I had booked a five person dorm but there were only three beds in my room - although I was told this is because of repairs so it's not likely to last. The staff were very nice and helpful. And the wifi was very good. And although on booking it said the bathroom would be shared, my room had a private bathroom.

Disliked: Just some minor things that wouldn't make me not recommend the place. The inside is fairly old which brings down the atmosphere, as some guests have already mentioned in reviews. There are no lockers in the room and you have to ask the staff each time you want to access the safe in the hallway. The bathroom door in my room was super squeaky - I'm not a light sleeper so it didn't bother me, but it would be nice to have it oiled. There was only one plate that I saw in the kitchen - tricky if there's more than one eating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Guignon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: Good location, clean place.

Disliked: We were 3 girls having 3 different bookings, when we arrived none of us had the correct reservation on their computer. they mixed up all the dates, i had to sleep in a emergency bed and my friend had to go into another hostel for 1 night as no bed was booked for her. the staff is friendly but really disorganized.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: woman who works there is fantastic. so willing to help & always around for answers to questions. cute little place... very accommodating

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms for the whole place, though it is quite small, we only had to wait for the bathrooms one morning when lots of people were showering.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really GREAT location! You can see the Duomo! Friendly staff- bring your own towel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Maria Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Jose Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds inmyroom!

Disliked: No big luggage lockers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had high ceilings and were relatively spacious. Internet was free and wireless. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Towels not provided.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011

Liked: Yes the location is great but Florence is easily walkable. I would recommend staying elsewhere, have been in better hostels in the city

Disliked: Kitchen is small and untidy, you have to ask everytime you want into your locker for the key, the top bunk beds have no rails are are quite wobbly, doors in rooms are very loud so once one person is up everyone is awake. You pay too much for what you get

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: Hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and free internet

Disliked: no hot water and not well indicated, they should have towels for rent.