HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of David Inn

Hostel | Via Ricasoli 31, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50122

77.0% Overall Rating

27 out of 36 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/10/2013)

Victoria Chiu thinks…

"It was very close to the heart of Florence. Florence is a small city, but the location (although a bit on the side) was very close to the famous Duomo. The hostel is decorated in a very pretty…"

Read all David Inn reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception is open from 09:00 AM to midnight. Please Note: You will not be able to check in after midnight so if you are going to arrive at a different time you must advise with a phone call or e-mail after booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Residenza Ricasoli
41.47 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
Maison
23.50 USD

Hostel 79.4% 720 reviews
The Queen's
24.88 USD

Apartment 81.4% 324 reviews
Academy Hostel
41.47 USD

Hostel 93.9% 582 reviews
Soggiorno Venere
34.21 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 122 reviews
Bed And Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 33 reviews
Hotel Collodi – Firenze
99.86 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Sampaoli
40.08 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.3% 35 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

27 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'David Inn'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Chiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the heart of Florence. Florence is a small city, but the location (although a bit on the side) was very close to the famous Duomo. The hostel is decorated in a very pretty fashion with clean sheets. Bathroom was a bit further away from the hostel room, but nothing worth complaining about. I enjoyed my stay here. The staff who works at night was very kind to make sure I woke up in time to catch my 6am flight.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find, especially if you are unfamiliar with how the streets are numbered in Florence (there is a business and a residential number). This hostel is located upstairs within a complex. It took me a good 20 minutes to find and having to ask many other hostels (which looked nicer, but were probably more expensive). Another dislike is that it is a bit further from the nearest train station. However, at least you are very close to the Duomo and all the sight seeing :)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maria esnal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 maria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really goog located, between the duomo and the David. Nadia was helpful, kind, and a great person, always happy and smiling. The rooms were cleaned every day, not common in other hostels.

Disliked: It should have a fridge for people who stay more than 2 nights to put things for breakfast, or things like that.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and very friendly staff !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: The hostel is located practically right between the Duomo and the David statue, so location was perfect. We walked easily from the main railway station. Staff were friendly enough, and we were well received.

Disliked: First of all, the boy on duty was having a noisy party late at night at the reception area with his friends, and asked us not to tell his employer. The whole place stunk of cigarette smoke and weed. The hostel was pretty shabby and unclean, although you could see a renovation had taken place. At our arrival the sink in the only lockable bathroom with a toilet and shower was filled with water and hair; not very delicate. The room for 4 people was okay, but the bunk beds were unsteady, and the "view to the Duomo" was really just being able to spot the rooftop. We asked staff for help finding train times to our next destination, but apparently they forgot about us. The lockers are not possible to use, as all the keys are missing, so don't hope to stow anything safely here. All in all; you can find better accommodation for the price.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alissa Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013

Liked: very close to the "sights"

Disliked: hostel is actually a BNB, it is a series of bunk bed rooms. you must be aware that there is no hot water unless you ask (repeatedly) or activate the hot water yourself via a switch in the closet.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frazer Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Frazer would recommend this property

Liked: The photos don't do this place justice. It was very nice to stay in and was perfectly located. We made a great friend here, and enjoyed the hostel.

Disliked: It said it had a kitchen, but this wasn't true. It had a room with a sink, but no actual cooking facilities.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tyler Franz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: No security, rooms don't even lock. No common area, no kitchen, MOSQUITOS EVERYWHERE, dirty tiny bathrooms, NO HOT WATER, extremely rude staff, terrible beds DO NOT STAY HERE

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Bang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Easy to find once you are at the dome - as long as you don't forget the house number. It was very clean. Friendly staff. There was a great view from one of the rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2013

Liked: Location was good? Clean and good bedding.

Disliked: Owner is so unprofessional. She overcharged me and attempted to charge me even more. On my second night I was kept up until 3am listening to her argue with wnother guest about being overcharged. There is virtually no security and no privacy. Plus, do not use their directions.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: Great location, right next to the musuem where the statue of David is. Always open and the staff are helpful when you have a question. Bathroom was clean and well maintained. WLAN great. Computer (slow) is also available.

Disliked: The atmosphere at this hostel was dead. The building is old and loud everytime a door is shut. No breakfast or community room, just reception at the front and your room. Bed wasn't very comfortable. It was just a weird hostel. No major problems but also no great features besides the location. It did make you want to get out of the hostel and into the city. Staff provide you with only a city map, no suggestions or introdutions for the city. For a place to lay your head, its good. But for a good hostel atmosphere, look elsewhere.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was amazing. You can be at the dome in two mimutes! It's also in a safe area of the city so you can stay out till fairly late without worries. Also, I had booked a five person dorm but there were only three beds in my room - although I was told this is because of repairs so it's not likely to last. The staff were very nice and helpful. And the wifi was very good. And although on booking it said the bathroom would be shared, my room had a private bathroom.

Disliked: Just some minor things that wouldn't make me not recommend the place. The inside is fairly old which brings down the atmosphere, as some guests have already mentioned in reviews. There are no lockers in the room and you have to ask the staff each time you want to access the safe in the hallway. The bathroom door in my room was super squeaky - I'm not a light sleeper so it didn't bother me, but it would be nice to have it oiled. There was only one plate that I saw in the kitchen - tricky if there's more than one eating.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Guignon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012

Liked: Good location, clean place.

Disliked: We were 3 girls having 3 different bookings, when we arrived none of us had the correct reservation on their computer. they mixed up all the dates, i had to sleep in a emergency bed and my friend had to go into another hostel for 1 night as no bed was booked for her. the staff is friendly but really disorganized.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: woman who works there is fantastic. so willing to help & always around for answers to questions. cute little place... very accommodating

Disliked: only 2 bathrooms for the whole place, though it is quite small, we only had to wait for the bathrooms one morning when lots of people were showering.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really GREAT location! You can see the Duomo! Friendly staff- bring your own towel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Maria Garcia

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Jose Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No bunk beds inmyroom!

Disliked: No big luggage lockers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had high ceilings and were relatively spacious. Internet was free and wireless. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Towels not provided.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011

Liked: Yes the location is great but Florence is easily walkable. I would recommend staying elsewhere, have been in better hostels in the city

Disliked: Kitchen is small and untidy, you have to ask everytime you want into your locker for the key, the top bunk beds have no rails are are quite wobbly, doors in rooms are very loud so once one person is up everyone is awake. You pay too much for what you get

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: Hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and free internet

Disliked: no hot water and not well indicated, they should have towels for rent.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff (Claudia)!

Disliked: Not much of a common area, kitchen quite small, but still very useful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sense of community, staff, location, good shower, good internet connection

Disliked: I now know i'm not cut out for sharing a room with 5 other people. I was allocated a top bunk bed which meant the whole frame was shaking with every move the other person made. Because our rom had an ensuite bathroom and my bed was right next to it i was constantly being woken up by the sqeeky door. I got hardly any sleep in that hostel but i'm a very light sleeper so if you don't need near perfect sleeping conditions you will be fine. The web decribed this room as a 5-bed but there were 6 beds in the room, and all taken.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Diego Rojas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: the cozy atmosphere, and staff always ready to help

Disliked: overall everything was good, nothing really important to be mentioned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quirky and really helpful staff

Disliked: shower could stop on you

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 September 2011

Liked: the people were friendly

Disliked: it was too small and dingy. There wasn't any hot water.