We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Franz House

Guesthouse | Via dè Fossi, 1, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

93.7% Overall Rating

324 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"The location of Franz house was perfect for us as it is right next to the river so we could easily access all the sites our time in Firenze was fantastic and although we arrived late at night we still managed to find…"

Read all Franz House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

The property don't have 24 hrs reception. It is compulsory to advise your estimated time of arrival, will avoid wasting time.. Please note that the visitor tax is € 2 per person per night. In case of a no show or late cancellation the property will charge the total amount to be paid on arrival. The property doesn’t have 24 hrs. reception. It is compulsory to advise your estimated time of arrival, will avoid wasting time.(check-in 1.30 pm - 8.00 pm).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Soggiorno Prestipino
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Pablo House Guest House
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 75.6% 19 reviews
Tourist House
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 305 reviews
Locanda Rocco
7.59 USD

Hotel 63.7% 46 reviews
Hotel Toscana
10.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.6% 25 reviews
Hotel Pensione Ferretti
54.40 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.6% 336 reviews
One World Apartments
22.77 USD

Apartment 66.5% 7 reviews
Mary's House Hostel
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

324 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Franz House'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 269 of 320 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Franz house was perfect for us as it is right next to the river so we could easily access all the sites our time in Firenze was fantastic and although we arrived late at night we still managed to find the hostel and get in. the hospitality of our host was questionable however I would recommend this hostel purely on location

Disliked: Mr Franz left at around seven each night one of the night at around 9 PM my girlfriend sliced a finger open with a knife and we had to call an ambulance it was difficult to sort everything out as there was no official adult in the hostel as well as this is Franz is rude

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johanna Timmermans

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean. Very comforting and warm atmosphere. Clean bathroom, the building Franz house is contained in is a very nice building in an excellent location, in walking distance to many great sights. The owner, Giovanni, was welcoming and made our stay a pleasure.

Disliked: None, other than a bit of noise from the street below during the late hours of the evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caio Carvalho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Caio would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Be mindful at what time you arrive or leave. The owner was a bit late at the time of my check out and we almost missed our train. Other than that, it was perfect.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, short 10 minute walk to Uffizi Gallery and other major attractions. Good for couples and groups. Rooms and beds are quite comfortable. Giovanni, the owner, is very friendly and gives you a map of Florence, marking out all the major tourist attractions and how to get there when you arrive.

Disliked: It's better for couples, rather than solo travelers, as there's not really a communal area, so it's difficult to meet other travelers. Quite a bit of noise from the street comes through at night, which can make it difficult to get to sleep, but if you have earplugs you should be fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HAKAN OZAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2013 HAKAN would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and excelent rooms... Giovanni was really helpfull and kind to us. He gave so many usefull information about city... Don't do plan before talking with him, he will drew your travel route in Florence. Also don't forget to ask where to get the best ice cream around there :)

Disliked: HAKAN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lara Usajewicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2013 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how close it was to everything you wanted to see. Going to Franz House, Giovanni was one of the most kind and helpful individuals I have ever met! It felt like he was inviting us into his home and he definitely made us feel like we were at home! Everything was so clean and well kept! I can't say enough good things about Giovanni and the way he goes over and above! Sitting at breakfast (which he cooks himself: AMAZING) and talking with him about each other is so nice! He's also a great guide! I would highly recommend this place to everyone! We were sad to leave and nothing seems to compare!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was Fanastic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Masareth Rubbani

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2013 Masareth would recommend this property

Liked: Central to everything. Amazingly helpful staff. Totally safe and unintrusive

Disliked: Masareth left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgia Hansford

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Georgia would recommend this property

Liked: Room was enormous, clean, and nicely decorated. Giovanni was kind and welcoming on arrival, and gave us a fabulous annotated map of Florence that showed us everything we needed to know. Internet was fast. Bathroom was spacious. It was nice to have a stocked fridge we could purchase drinks from too.

Disliked: Georgia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Siew Chung Cheah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Siew Chung would recommend this property

Liked: The space for 4 people is really large enough for your luggage. The wifi is also easily detected in room with no connection problem. The only con is the location which located in front of a traffic circle. It is a bit difficult to get a parking area for unloading purpose.

Disliked: It will be better if larger plate is hang beside the door so we can find it easily.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were large, clean, and charming. The location was perfect for seeing everything in Florence. The staff was friendly and helpful, and provided us with a map detailing the sites we should check out and his personal recommendations. Take his word on the gelato places!

Disliked: There were only two bathrooms which could have proved problematic, but mostly worked out ok. If you want laundry done be sure to ask early in the day otherwise you'll miss out. Reception closed at 8 or so, so if you have any questions make sure to ask before then.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Arias

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

05 January 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the hospitality, Also, the breakfast is very good and cheap.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - nice staff - towel included (not stated before) - nice room

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, a clean and friendly place to stay, right in the centre of the city. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: A very noisy street with the traffic of buses and ambulances. Don't forget your earplugs!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurynas Speicys

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

30 October 2012 Laurynas would recommend this property

Liked: 15 minutes walk to all that you need to see. Staff gave all the necessary tips on location of economical live arround the place. Full room service as in a good hotel. Laundry for 5 Eur per bag. Felt like at home, a place I would like to live in for a year.

Disliked: The single room does not have aircon installed, all other rooms have it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely loved staying here! Giovanni is wonderful and offered us advice about what to see and where to go in the city. Franz house is very clean and the beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was great too! We really enjoyed our stay! Thank you so much!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angga Kusuma

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2012 Angga would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right in the middle of Florence. It's really easy to reach all the main touristic place only by walking. Lokasi tepat di pusat kota Florence. Sangat mudah untuk mencapai tempat tujuan wisata walau hanya dengan berjalan kaki. Giovanni is really friendly and helpful. He will let you know how to reach supermarket, museum, etc. He also made a really nice breakfast and coffee only for 2,5 euro (the cheapest food you may find in Florence). Giovanni sangat ramah dan membantu. Dia akan memberitahu anda bagaimana caranya menemukan supermarket, museum, dll. Dia juga membuat sarapan pagi yang luar biasa hanya dengan 2,5 euro (makanan dengan harga termurah yg bisa anda temukan di Florence).

Disliked: The noise from the street. Eventhough we have closed the window, the street was still a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terri Mercieca

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2012 Terri would recommend this property

Liked: It was in such a great location in the historical centre. The host is super friendly and helpful and I just found this to be a great place to stay on a quick trip to florence. Great value for money and yummy breakfast.

Disliked: Terri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carl kutter

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 carl would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive. Great position, big room, good bathhroom, breakfast and service. Very clean.

Disliked: Noisy street at night, but worth it for the convenient city centre position.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEST LOCATION IN FLORENCE! Easy walk from train station, great rooms and very clean bathrooms. Breakfast for €2.50 is a great start to the day & a good way to meet people staying there (there is no common room). They even gave us a nice cold bottle of water when we arrived after a walk with our packs on a hot day.. And the rooms have AC!

Disliked: When following the directions, franz house is actually on the right of via Dei fossi, at the very end of the street ( not on the left as directions say).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. We had the perfect accommodation for 3 days in Florence. I would recommend this to anyone!! We have been travelling for 3 months across USA and Europe and this hostel was by far the best all-rounder. You have your own private room with great air con and wifi. The location is very central and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The lady was lovely and she made us a lovely breakfast in the morning and a even a cup of tea during the day! Was great to get our laundry done and the location was perfect, right in thevcentre close to all the main attractions. Great to hav air con too!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a comfortable hotel/hostel for the teenager and backpacker to stay, Its cheap pirce , clean and safe. Very close to the famous sight and the staff will tell you how to go there. Close to the bridge and the opp site of the bridge have a nice Gelato shop!! Nice price, nice taste.

Disliked: Not 24hr reception, Share bathroom(but clean)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ming zhongkui

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 August 2012 Ming would recommend this property

Liked: good price for the good location

Disliked: noise on the road, you can hear

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Cash

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, helpful staff, fantastic location. Awesome place to meet other travelers as well.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.