HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Franz House Guesthouse

Via de Fossi N1, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 91%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Café
  • Cots available
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Not Included"

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

The property don't have 24 hrs reception. It is compulsory to advise your estimated time of arrival, will avoid wasting time..
Please note that the visitor tax is € 2 per person per night.

In case of a no show or late cancellation the property will charge the total amount to be paid on arrival.

The property doesn’t have 24 hrs. reception. It is compulsory to advise your estimated time of arrival, will avoid wasting time.(check-in 1.30 pm - 8.00 pm).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 91%

Location 97%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 94%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location of Franz house was perfect for us as it is right next to the river so we could easily access all the sites our time in Firenze was fantastic and although we arrived late at night we still managed to find the hostel and get in. the hospitality of our host was questionable however I would recommend this hostel purely on location

Disliked: Mr Franz left at around seven each night one of the night at around 9 PM my girlfriend sliced a finger open with a knife and we had to call an ambulance it was difficult to sort everything out as there was no official adult in the hostel as well as this is Franz is rude

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Usually I stay in Franz House since 7.30 a.m. to 7-8 p.m. . It is written in booking site that we haven't a 24h reception as almost all hostels . In the future if you want to have people during the night book hotels with more stars (price) However you had my telephone number and I could be reachable 24h/day. I know only now your inconvenient. If you called me I could come back to Franz House and help you in a less time I suppose you spent. However it is forbidden to cook in the rooms.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean. Very comforting and warm atmosphere. Clean bathroom, the building Franz house is contained in is a very nice building in an excellent location, in walking distance to many great sights. The owner, Giovanni, was welcoming and made our stay a pleasure.

Disliked: None, other than a bit of noise from the street below during the late hours of the evening.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Be mindful at what time you arrive or leave. The owner was a bit late at the time of my check out and we almost missed our train. Other than that, it was perfect.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location, short 10 minute walk to Uffizi Gallery and other major attractions. Good for couples and groups. Rooms and beds are quite comfortable. Giovanni, the owner, is very friendly and gives you a map of Florence, marking out all the major tourist attractions and how to get there when you arrive.

Disliked: It's better for couples, rather than solo travelers, as there's not really a communal area, so it's difficult to meet other travelers. Quite a bit of noise from the street comes through at night, which can make it difficult to get to sleep, but if you have earplugs you should be fine.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and excelent rooms... Giovanni was really helpfull and kind to us. He gave so many usefull information about city... Don't do plan before talking with him, he will drew your travel route in Florence. Also don't forget to ask where to get the best ice cream around there :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved how close it was to everything you wanted to see. Going to Franz House, Giovanni was one of the most kind and helpful individuals I have ever met! It felt like he was inviting us into his home and he definitely made us feel like we were at home! Everything was so clean and well kept! I can't say enough good things about Giovanni and the way he goes over and above! Sitting at breakfast (which he cooks himself: AMAZING) and talking with him about each other is so nice! He's also a great guide! I would highly recommend this place to everyone! We were sad to leave and nothing seems to compare!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was Fanastic

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Central to everything. Amazingly helpful staff. Totally safe and unintrusive

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guests, thank you for your very beautiful review. i hope to see you again in Florence. However I hope to have a lot of guests as you and your family in Franz House. Regards Giovanni

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Room was enormous, clean, and nicely decorated. Giovanni was kind and welcoming on arrival, and gave us a fabulous annotated map of Florence that showed us everything we needed to know. Internet was fast. Bathroom was spacious. It was nice to have a stocked fridge we could purchase drinks from too.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The space for 4 people is really large enough for your luggage. The wifi is also easily detected in room with no connection problem. The only con is the location which located in front of a traffic circle. It is a bit difficult to get a parking area for unloading purpose.

Disliked: It will be better if larger plate is hang beside the door so we can find it easily.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I made the error to accept your checkin after regular time (8.00 p.m.). It is not sufficient that a people arrives at 8.00 p.m., but all guests must arrive (they arrived at 9.00 p.m.)
Another error was to explain that Franz is in a traffic limited area and that it is not possible to park in the street but in a private parking. So you asked to me to make a reservation for parking and after 5 min you changed idea. You are free of changing idea, but only if you do everything by yourself.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were large, clean, and charming. The location was perfect for seeing everything in Florence. The staff was friendly and helpful, and provided us with a map detailing the sites we should check out and his personal recommendations. Take his word on the gelato places!

Disliked: There were only two bathrooms which could have proved problematic, but mostly worked out ok. If you want laundry done be sure to ask early in the day otherwise you'll miss out. Reception closed at 8 or so, so if you have any questions make sure to ask before then.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability