We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Hostel Florence

Hostel | Via Faenza 46r (red), Firenze, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

67.1% Overall Rating

76 out of 115 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

NINA SUSHKO thinks…

"Good location. There are lockers, key from the room and the gate. Small kitchen and courtyard, were you can eat. Shower and toilet recently renovated. I asked Mario to put the curtain lower and now…"

Read all Central Hostel Florence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

My Friends
29.73 USD

Guesthouse 97.0% 156 reviews
Hotel Nella
27.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 89.1% 225 reviews
International Student House Florence
18.98 USD

Hostel 59.5% 279 reviews
Studio Barbera
29.10 USD

Apartment 88.8% 16 reviews
Short Stop
31.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Residenza le Fonticine
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 34 reviews
Archi Rossi Hostel
32.89 USD

Hostel 90.5% 735 reviews
Locanda Daniel
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 485 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.1%

Overall Rating

76 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Hostel Florence'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
64.8%
Value
61.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 88 of 105 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NINA SUSHKO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 NINA would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. There are lockers, key from the room and the gate. Small kitchen and courtyard, were you can eat. Shower and toilet recently renovated. I asked Mario to put the curtain lower and now there is no water on the floor.

Disliked: We were not given a towel. Our room was clean, but the kitchen was not. Don't plan to cook a lot, there's not enough of dishes. It would be better for you to speak Italian a little.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: the location in the center of Firenze, very easy to visit the city and near of the station.

Disliked: The hostel is dirty, the staff isn't welcoming : no help, no information about the hotel, no information about the city...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I

Disliked: They didnt speak english and didnt understand that I paid a portion of the fee already and tried to overcharge me.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Orso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! Mario was very friendly and spoke a little English. Donatella spoke good English and was very courteous. I was looking for a safe place in a great location to spend the night with wifi and nothing more really, this hostel delivered that perfectly!

Disliked: I didn't use the shower since I was only there two nights, wound up extending my stay one night. Also didn't use the kitchen or common area really. Bathrooms were a little dirty but not that bad honestly. Shower and bathroom were in the same room so couldn't use one without the other but this never proved to be an issue for me. Overall, I wasn't dissatisfied at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ana Elena Zamora Luna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Ana Elena would recommend this property

Liked: The ubication

Disliked: The hostel isn't clean

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

carmen lopez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Toilets, toilets and toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

María Robayo Falla

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 María would recommend this property

Liked: All the atmosphere was beautifull, we loved it. The hostel is very close to lots of restaurants, and pubs.

Disliked: The only bad thing in the hostel were the toilets, they weren´t actually clean.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012

Liked: The provided lockers and towel were nice and the location was good.

Disliked: The heat is only turned on from 8am to 10pm so after that I froze because it was so cold. The shower isn't hot either. At best, it's warm for about 5-10 mins and after that it's barely even warm at all. There's also no wifi that I know of. If there was, the hostel didn't provide any Information.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012

Liked: Great location! The room had single beds and big lockers. Each bed had a light and it's own bedside table. The staff try to be helpful but often there's a language barrier.

Disliked: The property is in need of renovation and the noise from the patio can be heard in the rooms. There is only one female & one male bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HOLLY CURTIS

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 HOLLY would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: It's dirty

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: There were single beds in firms as opposed to bunk beds. But what is the difference anyway when you can sleep over the owner's incessant unnecessary screaming rampage!

Disliked: Where to start! Cute and cuddly staff! What a joke! The who place was awoken before 7am by the owner screaming at any guest who walked outside due to some mess left by some guests, which was an issue that could have been dealt with calmly and not involved the rest of the guests who were trying to sleep! This rampage started two hours ago and is still currently going on. There is also no garden. It's some concrete outdoor area with some chairs and a table. I was not given a map or any tips on where to go in Florence as promised by the description. The common room is also a but awkward because it seems to double as the owners living room? So one feels as if they are intruding. Even the cost on the website seems to be a scam. On arrival when I booked a second day the price was 21 euro a night-4 euro less and I was given the explanation that the owners do not know why it is more expensive to book online. The air conditioner also leaked something on my pillow in the middle of the night. There are not any separate toilets from showers which makes there be not enough for everyone. There is also water all over the floor of the only two showers/toilets. It's very slippery and dangerous. There was also a lack of toilet paper. I am disgusted with this hostel worst place and most fraudulent discription I've ever come across!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Tew

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: the lady who ran the place was very helpful and chilled out. the rooms were massive and full of character.

Disliked: the kitchen could have been cleaner.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012

Liked: Very good location, near train station and city centre.

Disliked: The room was horrible and the bathroom even worst. Everything was very old. We feel like in a museum. I could not watch the match in TV becouse Lady in the reception(the owner probably) told me she's going to watch something else. No respect to the customers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - just a few minutes walk from both the train station and the Dumo. Free Wi-Fi, however this only worked intermittantly. Kitchen facilities were basic but satisfactory. The owners/operators were polite to me, however they did not seem very organised. They didn't have any details of my booking and didn't know how many nights I'd booked for, the price I'd been quoted per night, or how much deposit I'd paid. I had all the information with me so this didn't cause a problem for me.

Disliked: I did not believe the bathroom was very clean - dirty mop and cleaning towels/cloths were kept in there and they did not smell pleasant. I didn't manage to get a hot shower during my stay, the water was cold with bouts of luke warm. The bedrooms were clean though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Jackson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 December 2011 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: We traveled as a family and booked a private, 3-bed room. Our room was very large (due to its odd shape) and was on the ground floor. To enter this hostel, you have to walk through what looks like a driveway and then enter through a courtyard. It took a few minutes to find the staff person since there weren't too many people staying at the hostel at that time. The sheets were clean and our private bathroom was average... the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so water tended to get everywhere (hence the mop and bucket in the bathroom). We didn't mind this since everything functioned correctly and we had hot water. Overall, the place needs to be spruced up/decorated with a fresh coat of paint, but it is a good budget option for the location. Compared to other hostels we stayed at in Italy, this one felt the least like a true Italian experience due to its unconventional layout and decor. We traveled in May and there might have been one other group staying there at the time, but it was very quiet and we didn't have any street noise. Slow internet access was available through one old computer in the common areas. The location was excellent, within a short walk to all the attractions we wanted to see. A laundry mat and grocery store were just a block or two down the street.

Disliked: Carol left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011

Liked: Only the location.

Disliked: It was very dirty. I was a solo traveller and placed in a room with Donnatella, the old lady who helps to run the place. She left our bedroom door open after I repeatedly closed it and lots of mosquitos entered the room; I was also concerned that there were no lockers and the door was open. I think they may have bed bugs. The bathroom shower light runs off a motion detector, the whole bathroom smelled like sewers, and the bathroom was filthy. Seriously stay here if you ONLY want a roof over your head and to stay in a good location.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2011

Liked: Location is great, hostel is easy to find. Staff was nice, beds are okay.

Disliked: It was freezing in rooms, we had to sleep with clothes on, in sleepingbags under blankets. There was no warm water in shower and toilet wasnt very clean. Quite expensive, no safetyboxes in rooms and the towels are really small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Siegel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: This delightful, quiet, clean hostel is a 2 minute walk from the train station. It has a tranquil interior small quiet garden, a small kitchen, and the elderly people that run the hostel are charming. Their English is highly limited, but they keep the hostel immaculately clean. This is NOT a hostel for hard-drinking loud backpackers. I recommend this hostel to anybody who seeks a quiet place with great location, very low rates, kitchen, and cleanliness. Highly recommended for its tranquility in an amazingly convenient location.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

aaron bowers

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011

Liked: location location location!

Disliked: the whole hostel stank of sewerage and the air conditioner did not work.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

siobhan hamilton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011

Liked: It was fairly central location

Disliked: see above!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mario was lovely and very funny! It has a small courtyard which means you get to meet everybody we found it very sociable. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Its a brilliant location equidistant from the train station and the town centre. No more than a 5 minute walk either way.

Disliked: The kitchen facilitys could have been cleaner and better but we managed to cook a meal no problem.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Frank Gurney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: Ran by really nice old lady, good central courtyard to meet other travelers

Disliked: Couldn't get a good nights sleep, lady was making noise starting very early. Mosquitos/bedbugs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

JENNIFER S M CHONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 JENNIFER S M would recommend this property

Liked: good location to everything you need. Quality coffee from the dispenser for only 60 cents (€). Free internet, kitchen facility, place to dry laundry.

Disliked: Feeding mosquitoes throughout the night. put into another apartment and couldnt access to the main courtyard, kitchen nor internet at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was near to my congress and near to a lot of turism stuff

Disliked: a lot of noise, there was no one taking care of young people... and someone drink my yogurt, the closet didn't had lock