We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Il Ghiro

Guesthouse | Via Faenza 63, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

96.5% Overall Rating

481 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Matilda McGaw thinks…

"Great location, right near the station and then a short walk to all attractions, and shopping strips. The staff (particularly Paola) were so lovely and helpful. There was also a little kitchenette…"

Read all Il Ghiro reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Il Ghiro's reception opening hours are from 9.00 am until 6.00 pm. If you arrive after 6.00 pm please email us for an entry code.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Albergo Bencidormi
44.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Archi Rossi Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 90.5% 735 reviews
Short Stop
31.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Paola
17.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.3% 90 reviews
Residenza le Fonticine
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 34 reviews
Locanda Daniel
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 485 reviews
Hotel Alinari
75.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 9 reviews
Studio Barbera
29.10 USD

Apartment 88.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.5%

Overall Rating

481 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Il Ghiro'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 392 of 428 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matilda McGaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Matilda would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right near the station and then a short walk to all attractions, and shopping strips. The staff (particularly Paola) were so lovely and helpful. There was also a little kitchenette to cook dinner and breakfast which made meals very cheap!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a family and home like feeling and was clean and convenient to stay. It was in a walkable distance of major city attractions.

Disliked: It was on the fourth floor with narrow stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Fox

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very near the station, the market and interesting eating place. Useful little kitchen. Nice to make a drink at the end of a busy day.

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Toombs

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were the most friendly people! They really cared about us and bent over backwards to help us during our stay. It was a wonderful room and terrific location.

Disliked: Not sure the size of the shower was large enough. I couldn't bend over to shave my legs without opening the door. So shaved my legs in the sink. Which was not ideal. But that was the only drawback. The room was lovely!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to attractions and food

Disliked: Not a very social scene, but wasn't what we were after anyway

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Filip Wos

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful. Less than 5 minute walk from train station. Close to major attractions of Florence.

Disliked: Small shower and toilet paper was not replaced so we had to buy our own.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Suarez

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 July 2013 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, close to the station and five minutes away from everything in Florence. Rooms were good and clean. Helpful staff.

Disliked: The fact that there is no lift may be a problem for some people. Also, kitchen is very uncomfortable since it is in the middle of the hallway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We like pretty much everything. It was clean, the staff was amazingly helpful, the on-site laundry and kitchen facilities were great, and they allowed us to leave our luggage there all day on the day we checked out.

Disliked: People complain about it being on the fourth floor. You should just consider it some good exercise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anita Ippolito

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Francesco and Dani were very nice and helpful. Clean. Comfortable bed. Large room with armoir and desk with TV. Wifi. Nice kitchen area. Location was great. Easy to find and close to SMN train station. Hated to leave.

Disliked: Anita left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a simple and comfortable place to stay while in Florence. Less than a 10 minute walk from the train station and 10 minutes to the Duomo, it allows easy access to the sights of the city.

Disliked: It is on the top floor of the building and there is no elevator so the climb can be a bit tedious with luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Aitken

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts and great location.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and well maintained. Showers were great! Lovely coffee available in the kitchen. Especially found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, even going so far as helping us carry our bags up and down from the top floor of the hostel. Very knowledgeable and ready to offer suggestions of places to visit. Some fantastic and reasonably priced places to eat close to the hostel. It was very close to the train station and the wonderful central food markets. Easy walk to the Duomo and other places of interest. Would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Rooms overlooking the street, although having a lovely view can be a little noisy at night. A larger common area and places to eat when self-catering would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuelle Filippini

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 March 2013 Emmanuelle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, excellent location, friendly staff

Disliked: Emmanuelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eriko Takahashi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Eriko would recommend this property

Liked: Good location! Very clean!

Disliked: No elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Francesco and his team are fabulous! It was a home away from home. Poor Francesco had to lug our very heavy suitcases up and down the stairs, he did that with a smile. The hostel itself is lovely, very clean and has everything you need. Il ghiro is must!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William South

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (Francesco & Others) are amongst the best in the hostel business. Francesco is kind, welcoming and extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and extremely clean. I've stayed in about 20 different hostels over the last few months and Il Ghiro was easily the best.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Tame

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 October 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful couple who run it; great location;

Disliked: Could have been improved with better written information in the hostel about the facilities (e.g. how to use the coffee machine/DVD player).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seokha Hwang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Seokha would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was host's kindness. There were 2 host. Both of them were gentle and have a good manner. Also, facility is good! It seems like 3 star hotel.

Disliked: nope

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Wang

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in a great location - clean rooms, good internet (including free use of a computer), close to all the major attractions, friendly and helpful staff (one of them helped us book the Borghese in Rome by phone, because we couldn't phone them ourselves).

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place. Very well kept, clean, secure and comfortable. The host was really nice and very attentive. Great location, close to the station and the market and easy to get to. Overall a really great place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The greatest asset is Francisco, the manage who is so friendly and helpful

Disliked: Our room wasn't the one we requested and my daughter and I had to share a bed

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly staff

Disliked: Rooms are on the 3rd floor and there is no lift

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, good location.

Disliked: Fewer services and amenities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, handy location, room was just lovely, whole place really clean and tidy, very helpful staff. Great features incl. free washing, free internet and can cook as well so good for the budget. Would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! Fransesco was an amazing help. Nothing was too much of a bother for him. When we arrived he ran down the stairs to help with our bags. The room was big, excellent air conditioning and wifi. Everything was cleaned. We used the washing machine and also the kitchen. So close to the train station. A great find, and it was so nice to feel at home when you are travelling for a long time!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.