We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of FlorencePersefonePalace

Guesthouse | Via delle Cinque Giornate , 35, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50129

64.7% Overall Rating

63 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2013)

"Clean, quiet and very good value for money. It was only a 10-15 min walk to the train station. Simply a comfortable room to sleep in."

Read all FlorencePersefonePalace reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Relais Firenze Stibbert
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 43 reviews
Hotel Fedora
20.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.7% 5 reviews
Sogni d'Oro
18.98 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 6 reviews
Opera B&B
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 6 reviews
Locanda Giovanna
24.04 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 124 reviews
Plus Florence
12.65 USD

Hostel 85.1% 2261 reviews
Hotel Monica
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 15 reviews
Hotel Mia Cara
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.7%

Overall Rating

63 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'FlorencePersefonePalace'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
48.8%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
64.8%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 84 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nadezda Yadrikhinskaya

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Nadezda would recommend this property

Liked: Silence

Disliked: Our room was in the roof.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet and very good value for money. It was only a 10-15 min walk to the train station. Simply a comfortable room to sleep in.

Disliked: It was little walk from the centre, but hey, I knew that when I booked it!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to centre and train station

Disliked: toilet leaked water and shower flooded bathroom as was a wet room, also bathroom very small. loads of midges

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tomáš Jankó

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2013 Tomáš would recommend this property

Liked: situated in calm part of the city, quality/prize ratio

Disliked: umm, not much, maybe this - I walked with bare foot inside the room and when I put my legs on white sheet on the bed I found that floor wasn't that clean so I made a little mess :) oh and shower in that cute little bathroom would deserve some kind of border or stair not to splash water under the toilet. But these were really not that big problems, just an experience

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and general safety.

Disliked: SHOWER/WC arrangement

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013

Liked: Italian style building

Disliked: Some of the lights wasn't working and everytime we used the bathroom, the whole floor was wet.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sarah janson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013

Liked: Within 15minutes from the train station, easy to find, secure.

Disliked: Firstly DO NOT STAY HERE!! My friend and I were put in a room on the top floor which was pretty much an attic the roof declined so you couldn't walk around the other half of the room without having to hunch over and hit your head on the beams. There was no window and no natural light. The bathroom was just one big wet area with toilet/shower/basin combined so it was impossible to shower without getting everything wet. We booked a 'twin' room which was meant to have 2 single beds but they were just pushed together with double sheets on them. There was an extra single bed in the corner but you couldn't sleep in it because the roof was so low. So we took the sheets off the spare bed and separated the two singles. I used the double sheets and my friend used the others. By the second day my friend was very itchy and bite marks started appearing possibly bed bug bites. We figured it must have been from the bed in the corner as it must never get used or cleaned as I didn't have one bite on me. We explained to the owner who inspected the mattresses and claimed they were clean. We said there's no other way to explain bites all over my friends hands and feet. We requested a new room, which the owner was reluctant to do she clearly wanted us to take her word for it and stay in that room. She objected that she has no clean rooms ready and the only one she had was with bunk beds. We took that room she left us sheets so we made our own beds and it was even smaller then the first room but we could stand up in it and it had a window so we dealt with it. The owner did not offer us a discount considering we down graded rooms and had to pay €25 for cream from the chemist to stop the itching. On the 3rd day we heard new customers coming in and it sounded as though the owner was taking them upstairs to our old room. So she obviously chose to ignore our warning of bed bugs and not thoroughly clean the room. We do not have high expectations but this was ridiculous and for one of the most expensive hostels in Florence not worth the money!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michal Fojtik

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 September 2012 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Good position, nice room, shower was ok even though described as horrible in the previous comments

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

wen yeng swee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 wen yeng would recommend this property

Liked: no

Disliked: the room is too small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luisa Vicente

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: The classic style of the whole building and the kindness of the stuff

Disliked: It's more a house guest then a hotel and so you don't have a reception for example

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marje Lepanen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012 Marje would recommend this property

Liked: Very private

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very secure and bathroom facilities nice

Disliked: It could be quite loud at night with other travellers and the residents on the ground floor

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Diana Yukari Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012

Liked: Can't say i really liked anything

Disliked: First of all: Mosquitoes and Bed Bugs. We couldn't sleep at all because of this, it just ruined our trip. I have like 30 marks on just one of my arm because of a single night in this place, even though the fan was turned on and there was repellent, that aparently did not work. Then, we didn't have wi-fi in our room, the tv was really small (and we wanted to match the eurocup finals) and the bed was terrible. Plus, the bathroom is ridiculously small, it's impossible to take a shower without getting everything wet, and there's not enough space for changing clothes or doing anything really. This place is shitty and it's not even cheap. That's for sure the worst place we have stayed during our one month trip around europe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fazli Melemez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

01 July 2012 Fazli would recommend this property

Liked: Attitude of the staff was amazingly helpful, It is not so big place, quite and amazingly clean.

Disliked: The room was a bit small, though. I was hoping a one person room, but they gave me a bunk-bed. It was not bad, I am sure they could have arrenged If I have insisted on.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is cheap but not depressive; the owner is very nice; the place is safe and sound.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Palu

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2012 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice bed and the lady (owner) was very nice with us (at least when we got in, we left sunday morning very early and took her out of bed). Not lot to offer, but a very good price. The room seemed very clean also.

Disliked: The bathroom was ridiculously small. Even smaller than that. And when you took a shower, everythin inside the bathroom would get wet.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy and well equiped.

Disliked: Mosquitos living in the AC-water.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, especially if driving, places to park the car around the property and only a 10 minute walk into the city centre. Would more describe it as a bed and breakfast (without the breakfast) rather than a hostel. Good for couples wanting it more quiet/privacy.

Disliked: the wifi kept cutting in and out, but very minor point would not stop me staying here or recomending this place

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Ian Whittaker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: My girlfriend and I booked a "private double ensuite" as a treat after having been in dorms on the rest of our trip. We were given BUNK BEDS - albeit in a private room with an ensuite. When I suggested that there was a mistake the lady said that the room WAS a double and that there was no error. Bunk beds is not a double room. There was a TV in the room but the plug didn't fit into the wall - it needed an adaptor, as did the fridge. Our 'air conditioning' was a noisy desk fan. The door did not lock from the inside, only the outisde, so the room wasn't as 'private' as it suggested. So from our experience DO NOT STAY HERE, IT IS FALSELY ADVERTISED.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yan Duchemin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Yan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stand...The woman is verry sweet!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tugce malgoz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 tugce would recommend this property

Liked: very clean room and toilet, it is like hotel not hostel. Staff is really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: a little bit spooky.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bed Bugs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady was nice and location is not bad (about 10-15 min. from the Santa Maria Novella Railway Station, 20-25 from the Duomo).

Disliked: The bathroom was tiny (like 1 sqm, including toilet, sink and shower). Most of the space in the room was taken up by the bed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lily Sangster

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2010 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: Big, spacious room. Fridge. Had airconditioning.

Disliked: The shower is not seperated from the rest of the bathroom at all, so every time you shower water goes all over the entire room. Airconditioner very noisy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and interesting interior

Disliked: Though internet was advertised as included there was not any. It would be good if they specified which rooms are attic rooms with very low ceilings because we could not stand up in three quarters of the room.