We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

89.8% Overall Rating

503 out of 546 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Christine Parker thinks…

"Ĺocation was good, especially after we figured out the buses, which took a good day and a half. Basically buy bus tickets at tabacchi shops for 1.20 euro, good for 90 minutes after 1st use, rather…"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
51.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
45.07 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
34.77 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 422 reviews
New Ostel
23.18 USD

Hostel 73.4% 146 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
27.69 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
25.76 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
23.37 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
28.45 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

503 out of 546 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 426 of 526 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

derek hall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 derek would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, clean, etc.

Disliked: It was a bit of a trek to centre of town.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel! Nice kitchen and shower.

Disliked: location a little creepy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sam Dunkley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic A/C, beautiful rooms.

Disliked: we were told they had laundry service, but they didn't have it.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and staff

Disliked: Not much, the bathroom door was hard to close

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean hostel

Disliked: Wifi coverage is bad, we have to walk out of our room in order to gain access of wifi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a good size and the air-conditioning was really great

Disliked: One of the bathrooms on our floor wasn't working so could have to wait a while, or go to another floor. This was a bit of a nuisance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Baltes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: It was EXCELLENT. It was with-in walking distance from the train station and the center of Florence. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. The woman who worked the desk was lovely and really knew what she was talking about when it came to touring around Florence.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds, nice kitchen, nice bathrooms, offered lots of things to do like tours.

Disliked: It wasn't difficult once you knew where it was, but a little more clear description of how to get there would have been helpful, just tell people to follow the entire railstation back turning right off train and out station.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern style

Disliked: Very noisy, because it has very thin windows and it's next to a busy road!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yuen Ki Lam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011 Yuen Ki would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing! The lady is extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and big. Free wifi and clean kitchen

Disliked: There are only two bathrooms on each floor and one of them cannot be locked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SEOLAH KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 SEOLAH would recommend this property

Liked: backpacking

Disliked: noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhi Ren Boey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Zhi Ren would recommend this property

Liked: clean environment, helpful staff, comfortable place to stay in

Disliked: nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011

Liked: With nice kitchen and common room.

Disliked: A bit noisy as it is facing a main traffic cross.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are no bunk beds, which is great. The kitchen has all the cutlery/utensils you'll need

Disliked: I had bed bugs in my bed. Also, there is something about the atmosphere of the place that doesn't make it very conducive to meeting people. Also, the location ,whilst sort of close to the central station, is kind of a depressing location. If anything I would recommend opting for a hostel that is outside of the city (the buses run regularly, so you can get there easily). It's just a much nicer atmosphere once you leave florence and explore the countryside.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Davies

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at reception was very friendly and helpful, also we overslept our checkout time by an hour or so but were still treated very well.

Disliked: Many people did not close the front door of the hostel and despite being extremely drunk at 6am, I managed to get into the hostel and my room without a key!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very spacious and the location was pretty close to the center of town

Disliked: it's not a great place to meet new people but it's great if you plan to spend all day in the city and just use it as a place to sleep

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Relatively near to the station

Disliked: Bathroom door can't lock, second bathroom overflows with water when taking a shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Coral Dilery Alvidrez Acosta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Coral Dilery would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the internet is free and you can use it in your room.

Disliked: One of the showers of the first floor is not good to use because all the water goes outside of the bathroom and even into the hall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Cancelo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the free wifi and that there was no extra charge for towels! They even included packets of shampoo which was a very nice touch. Everything was very neat and clean and the kitchen was very well stocked so we were able to cook as if we were at home.

Disliked: Our room faced a busy street so the sounds of traffic could be heard clearly, for us it was not a huge problem as we are used to the city but others may not like the noise.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean. The location itself is a little sketchy from the walk to the train station, but overall the property was well maintained, cleaning staff were friendly and the other backpackers we met were all like-minded there.

Disliked: Walk from the train station was a little bit uneasy. Not great lighting outside the building and the hostel might think about investing in a better, more secure method of storing baggage that visitors do not want to carry around all day. I.e. a locked luggage room or equivalent deposit for luggage. Even lockers might be something worth looking into. Noise would also be another factor from deterring guests to stay there. The rooms located on the street side were very loud with the noise of traffic in the morning. All in all though it was a pleasant stay and I would consider recommending it to other travellers!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: It is not that close to the center

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gavin Goh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Had cooking facilities, nice toilets even though they are shared

Disliked: The reception isn't 24 hours. We had to wait to check out

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and has great facilities. Literally on the freeway so it was hard to get a goodnights rest.

Disliked: First floor bathroom kept flooding outside our door.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Peter Gradwell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and good bathrooms

Disliked: Bit too far from centre of town