HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

81.5% Overall Rating

464 out of 506 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Olivier Maquignaz thinks…

"Well located, only a few minutes away from the main train station and the center. Also the beds are really comfortable."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
55.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
55.28 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 42 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
35.93 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 419 reviews
New Ostel
30.40 USD

Hostel 82.4% 111 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
29.85 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
33.17 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
31.09 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 17 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
30.53 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

464 out of 506 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 390 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SEOLAH KIM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 SEOLAH would recommend this property

Liked: backpacking

Disliked: noise

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhi Ren Boey

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Zhi Ren would recommend this property

Liked: clean environment, helpful staff, comfortable place to stay in

Disliked: nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011

Liked: With nice kitchen and common room.

Disliked: A bit noisy as it is facing a main traffic cross.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are no bunk beds, which is great. The kitchen has all the cutlery/utensils you'll need

Disliked: I had bed bugs in my bed. Also, there is something about the atmosphere of the place that doesn't make it very conducive to meeting people. Also, the location ,whilst sort of close to the central station, is kind of a depressing location. If anything I would recommend opting for a hostel that is outside of the city (the buses run regularly, so you can get there easily). It's just a much nicer atmosphere once you leave florence and explore the countryside.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Davies

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at reception was very friendly and helpful, also we overslept our checkout time by an hour or so but were still treated very well.

Disliked: Many people did not close the front door of the hostel and despite being extremely drunk at 6am, I managed to get into the hostel and my room without a key!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very spacious and the location was pretty close to the center of town

Disliked: it's not a great place to meet new people but it's great if you plan to spend all day in the city and just use it as a place to sleep

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Relatively near to the station

Disliked: Bathroom door can't lock, second bathroom overflows with water when taking a shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Coral Dilery Alvidrez Acosta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Coral Dilery would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the internet is free and you can use it in your room.

Disliked: One of the showers of the first floor is not good to use because all the water goes outside of the bathroom and even into the hall.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Cancelo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the free wifi and that there was no extra charge for towels! They even included packets of shampoo which was a very nice touch. Everything was very neat and clean and the kitchen was very well stocked so we were able to cook as if we were at home.

Disliked: Our room faced a busy street so the sounds of traffic could be heard clearly, for us it was not a huge problem as we are used to the city but others may not like the noise.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were spacious and clean. The location itself is a little sketchy from the walk to the train station, but overall the property was well maintained, cleaning staff were friendly and the other backpackers we met were all like-minded there.

Disliked: Walk from the train station was a little bit uneasy. Not great lighting outside the building and the hostel might think about investing in a better, more secure method of storing baggage that visitors do not want to carry around all day. I.e. a locked luggage room or equivalent deposit for luggage. Even lockers might be something worth looking into. Noise would also be another factor from deterring guests to stay there. The rooms located on the street side were very loud with the noise of traffic in the morning. All in all though it was a pleasant stay and I would consider recommending it to other travellers!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: It is not that close to the center

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gavin Goh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Had cooking facilities, nice toilets even though they are shared

Disliked: The reception isn't 24 hours. We had to wait to check out

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and has great facilities. Literally on the freeway so it was hard to get a goodnights rest.

Disliked: First floor bathroom kept flooding outside our door.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Peter Gradwell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms and good bathrooms

Disliked: Bit too far from centre of town

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monica Davis

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchens were well equipped and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: The double room we were in had a balcony window that didn't lock and seldom closed properly. The street directly outside the room was really busy, so we heard street noise constantly. There is no way to sleep without earplugs, because it sounds like you are sleeping on a bed in the middle of the road.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Gardiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Decently close to the train station and I didn't mind walking the way to the sights. They also had a great kitchen and dining area as well as a small patio outside. I had the room to myself for most of the nights though, I guess I was traveling in the off season or something but there were a few girls in and out during my stay.

Disliked: The showers were okay, cleaned every morning but if someone else used them they usually didn't clean them up after them self but that's probably with everywhere. I only stayed for 5 nights and I booked 10 and they couldn't refund me for the nights I didn't stay because I paid with a credit card.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Birnie

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 William would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel and the friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: I thought it would be closer to the centre of Florence.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the caisse is very warm-hearted. The rooms are clean and large.

Disliked: Florence is a little noisy at night. The hostel is ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: None

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station, REALLY clean and great kitchen facilities.

Disliked: If you're traveling alone and want to meet people, this isn't the place to say. The set up is pretty isolating and there are a lot of private rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean

Disliked: it was a tad bit far from the city center

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's room. it's sooooo super duper nice! the bathroom, it's not hostel! it's for hotel! :D the kitchen is soooo clean. provided all the facilities and utensils. the location of the hostel also easily noticed as it is just in front of the main road.

Disliked: -well, there is this one time where the kitchen is locked. and no one was there to help as it's said that the staff at the front desk will only be there at 8. so, they should provide someone to be there at anytime so that other travelers won't have the same problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011

Liked: that we had our own kitchen.

Disliked: the lift was broken, and we were on the top floor, the top floor had no windows, the entire room wasnt very comfy, and my ipod and camera got stolen, and the receptionist was late to work in the mornings.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tv in the bedroom, spacious bathroom and a clean kitchen/

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bunks and showers, nice lounge area and a bar that serves food. Also nice big lockers.

Disliked: Nothing