HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

90.3% Overall Rating

505 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/10/2014)

Dorothea Neumann thinks…

"Sehr sauber, zentral gelegen, sehr freundliches Personal, gute Kuchen Ausstattung, wohnlicher Küchenbereich"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
50.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
32.89 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
34.16 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 423 reviews
New Ostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 72.3% 147 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
22.52 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
21.51 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
18.34 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
22.06 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

505 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 428 of 528 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities were excellent had everything we needed. Clean and tidy. And Monica, lady on reception, was immensely helpful with everything from using the internet, sending a fax and recommending a local pizzeria! Thank you!!!

Disliked: Our room was on the road so was noisy and we had no air con just a fan, luckily it cooled down but could be a major problem in the summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ciao Hostel was a very clean and safe place to stay with a well equipped kitchen. It's near the train station for ease of travel. An enjoyable hostel with very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing, no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location 10 min walk to main train station. Kitchen on every floor well equipped, 2 bathrooms on our foor for 4 rooms. Very friendly, helpful staff, lots of information about tours and the area, spoke great English. Air con and TV in room. Very quiet hostel so able to get a good nights sleep, rooms nice and dark.

Disliked: Shower could be hotter and 1 didnt have a screen so floor got wet. lift broken, but good excerise taking the stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super-duper fancy. Was like a hotel! Really nice kitchens and showers.

Disliked: Expensive, and there was a hooker selling herself at the corner.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Great kitchen facilities. Close to the train station and not too far from the main part of the city.

Disliked: Was pretty good so nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady on the front desk was very kind and helpful. The rooms were clean, air con worked and bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: This hostel had potential to make our stay a lot better. We were only there for one night. Everything was clean, beds were comfy and air con worked well. Although in our room none of the main lights worked, some of the power points did not let you insert the power cord in and for some reason there was no hot water at all. And the lift was not operational which sucked!!! I would recommend this place if these small misgivings were fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Burton

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close to the train station. The kitchen facilities are excellent too

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li Junru

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Li would recommend this property

Liked: fairly good

Disliked: there is nothing to eat in the kitchen

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Heath

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and gave good tips

Disliked: Its a bit of a walk to the centre of town

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Puts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was awesome!!! our room had the best air con, the place was super clean!!! and the beds were really comfy!! I cooked dinner one night and the kitchen was fully equiped with everything!

Disliked: hostels i think in general need to advertise themselves outside the building more!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kya McKenzie-Stubbs

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Kya would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very spacious and after travelling for a few weeks and accumulating plenty of shopping it was nice to have a room to spread out and relax in the air con.

Disliked: The elevator not being in service.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY CLEAN AND QUIET.

Disliked: Not too close of the city center.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location and AC!!!! linens and towels and soap included.

Disliked: no real common room, no computers, no breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Brent

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and the look of the hostel.

Disliked: The elevator was broken, and I was on the top floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not too far from the city centre, cheap and safe.

Disliked: one bathroom had no lock and the other one caused flooding after anyone showered.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Brittney Yaggey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011

Liked: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

Disliked: Upon arrival to this Hostel, I was not only tired from the walk (as it was described as much closer than it actually was) but when my friend and I came to check in, THERE WAS NO BOOKING! They said we were not booked with them and upon the third time the desk worker called his manager, they still wouldn't take responsibility. I showed them the booking number and the booking fee i had already paid and they tried very VERY poorly to cover their mistake by sending us to a different property about 5 or 6 Kilometres outside of the city centre that was close to absolutely nothing. This hostel was a huge disappointment and I'm very glad we didn't have to stay there as the staff is NOT friendly or helpful and its cleanliness and location suck!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Adams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: This place is fantasic . The rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and spacious with much needed air conditioning.

Disliked: The lift was broken and there were a lot of stairs up to out room but we were just unlucky with the timing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are one kitchen for each floor, there is tv in the room.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn't very clean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

jason edward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 jason would recommend this property

Liked: very safe nice people working and close to the train station

Disliked: nothing really it was good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a little far from duomo but close to station & easy to find good staff, spacious room, very clean facility, good kitchin, 24h air conditioning (which I liked most)

Disliked: no dislikes

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and big, everyone had enough space, and the AC was very welcome with the hot summer temperature. The kitchen was also well equiped.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the main places in Florence. The bathrooms were shared and people didn't clean after themselves so it was kind of dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the room - it was spacious and friendly. I also liked the fact the hostel has a kitchen. The garden was nice as well.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corey Waldner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the front desk was extremely friendly. The room exceeded our expectations and the place itself is very easy to find. Extremely close to the main train station. Great kitchen with full facilities. The shower had awesome pressure. So happy about the whole thing. Wish we could've stayed longer.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara-Jane Brocklehurst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Sara-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: It's proximity to the railway station and the sites and that it did not have bunk beds in the dorm but single beds - and air conditioning.

Disliked: That one of the two showers was basically unusable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

roxanna mcewen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 roxanna would recommend this property

Liked: It had excellent WiFi, kitchen facilities and no bunk beds.

Disliked: The floors were never cleaned and were sticky. The bathrooms were not very nice. There was a hole in one of the doors.