HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

89.0% Overall Rating

489 out of 532 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"Close to the train station, very handy if your stopping over in Florence for a short while. Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
53.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
33.49 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 44 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
29.47 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 421 reviews
New Ostel
17.42 USD

Hostel 69.8% 137 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
24.92 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
29.47 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
26.13 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
29.60 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

489 out of 532 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 412 of 512 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rivada Norberto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Rivada would recommend this property

Liked: good rooms

Disliked: if u want to stay in contact with another guest, this is not your hostel...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011

Liked: It had a kitchen They gave us a good map

Disliked: The lift was broken The TV remote was broken We paid for a double private room and got given a room with four single beds - not ideal for a romantic holiday the bathroom door didnt have a lock

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011

Liked: the hostel is easy to reach and the staff were friendly. the rooms are new and clean. the facilities such as kitchen and wifi are nice as well.

Disliked: my room was facing towards the main street, which was noisy during the whole night. i couldn't really fall asleep during that night. the shower water became cold while i was on shampoo and hair conditioner. whatever i tried, i couldn't get it hot again. so i had to take a cold shower, which made me catch a cold the second day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tudo.

Disliked: Nada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as soon as arriving the girl behind the desk spoke really good English and was not only welcoming but she also gave me advice on the best places to see, anytime I had ant questions she was very helpful and made my stay in Florence much easier! Also sharing with other people in a dorm was good to meet people! Loved cooking my own food to!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very huge and clean rooms

Disliked: One of the bathrooms didn't have any locks!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

maria lyttle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 maria would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite like a hotel almost, it was a differnece from staying in other youth hostels. They gave you little shampoo satches, you could tell that the place was cleaned often and well

Disliked: There wasn't much atmosphere, it wasn't great for people travelling alone, you are in a room with 4 beds and it locks - although you don't get your individual lock. There was a kitchen on each floor, but no bigger common area for the whole hostel to meet. It was a lovely stay, but not if you're alone

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George McRoberts

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 George would recommend this property

Liked: vary nice. friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean just like home

Disliked: no

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities were excellent had everything we needed. Clean and tidy. And Monica, lady on reception, was immensely helpful with everything from using the internet, sending a fax and recommending a local pizzeria! Thank you!!!

Disliked: Our room was on the road so was noisy and we had no air con just a fan, luckily it cooled down but could be a major problem in the summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ciao Hostel was a very clean and safe place to stay with a well equipped kitchen. It's near the train station for ease of travel. An enjoyable hostel with very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing, no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location 10 min walk to main train station. Kitchen on every floor well equipped, 2 bathrooms on our foor for 4 rooms. Very friendly, helpful staff, lots of information about tours and the area, spoke great English. Air con and TV in room. Very quiet hostel so able to get a good nights sleep, rooms nice and dark.

Disliked: Shower could be hotter and 1 didnt have a screen so floor got wet. lift broken, but good excerise taking the stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super-duper fancy. Was like a hotel! Really nice kitchens and showers.

Disliked: Expensive, and there was a hooker selling herself at the corner.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Great kitchen facilities. Close to the train station and not too far from the main part of the city.

Disliked: Was pretty good so nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady on the front desk was very kind and helpful. The rooms were clean, air con worked and bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: This hostel had potential to make our stay a lot better. We were only there for one night. Everything was clean, beds were comfy and air con worked well. Although in our room none of the main lights worked, some of the power points did not let you insert the power cord in and for some reason there was no hot water at all. And the lift was not operational which sucked!!! I would recommend this place if these small misgivings were fixed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Burton

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very close to the train station. The kitchen facilities are excellent too

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Li Junru

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Li would recommend this property

Liked: fairly good

Disliked: there is nothing to eat in the kitchen

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Daniel Heath

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and gave good tips

Disliked: Its a bit of a walk to the centre of town

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Puts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was awesome!!! our room had the best air con, the place was super clean!!! and the beds were really comfy!! I cooked dinner one night and the kitchen was fully equiped with everything!

Disliked: hostels i think in general need to advertise themselves outside the building more!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kya McKenzie-Stubbs

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Kya would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very spacious and after travelling for a few weeks and accumulating plenty of shopping it was nice to have a room to spread out and relax in the air con.

Disliked: The elevator not being in service.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY CLEAN AND QUIET.

Disliked: Not too close of the city center.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location and AC!!!! linens and towels and soap included.

Disliked: no real common room, no computers, no breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Brent

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and the look of the hostel.

Disliked: The elevator was broken, and I was on the top floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not too far from the city centre, cheap and safe.

Disliked: one bathroom had no lock and the other one caused flooding after anyone showered.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Brittney Yaggey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2011

Liked: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

Disliked: Upon arrival to this Hostel, I was not only tired from the walk (as it was described as much closer than it actually was) but when my friend and I came to check in, THERE WAS NO BOOKING! They said we were not booked with them and upon the third time the desk worker called his manager, they still wouldn't take responsibility. I showed them the booking number and the booking fee i had already paid and they tried very VERY poorly to cover their mistake by sending us to a different property about 5 or 6 Kilometres outside of the city centre that was close to absolutely nothing. This hostel was a huge disappointment and I'm very glad we didn't have to stay there as the staff is NOT friendly or helpful and its cleanliness and location suck!