We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

85.5% Overall Rating

512 out of 556 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2015)

"I really appreciated the daily cleaning of common areas. I also really liked that there was a TV for entertainment in the rooms. The staff member (Raphael) was very friendly, helpful and courteous. I also really liked…"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
41.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 424 reviews
New Ostel
14.17 USD

Hostel 75.0% 152 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
16.19 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
18.98 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
13.28 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 24 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
18.66 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

512 out of 556 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 431 of 536 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

zack mathie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 zack would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen area and was clean staff were good too, got for cheap price would recommend

Disliked: Was abit out of center of town but not to much of a hassle

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

enrique rodriguez beas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 enrique would recommend this property

Liked: every was really good, was clean and the was really close to the main train station. if i come back to firenze i will stay in thishostel.

Disliked: enrique left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Wouter Vorderman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012

Liked: hostel is quite close to centre. it's not more than a place to sleep.

Disliked: there is a strange smell in the entire hostel. there are no lockers. there is no breakfast. it's just a place made for income of people and not too much service oriented. when the shower is overflowing, may be a sign to go out of the shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

KARLEE DOYLE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 KARLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms, close to train station, good kitchen

Disliked: Staff not very friend, wifi not the best, otherwise ok

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mariana Carpanezzi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: That was the worst place I have ever been to. I hated everything. We felt so bad we left Florence back home, in Switzerland, the following day after our arrival. It ruined our experience in the city.

Disliked: Noisy. Terrible staff, in particular the owner - he was nasty, made fun of us and didn't even bother to check about the smell of cigarette in the room, which was supposedly a non-smoker one. The reception smelled really bad. The lift didn't work. We had heavy luggage and had to use the stairs. Nobody cared to offer us help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manhsuan Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Manhsuan would recommend this property

Liked: I like the huge painting in our 4 bed room. It is the most fashionable room compared with my hostels in Milan(Hotel Panizza) and Venice (Sweet Dream). {Personally point of view ;)} We have a kitchen, two toilets shared with 2 other rooms in the grand floor. The clean lady comes to clean the public area every afternoon but not our beds. However, we don't really care cos we pay "hostel" not 'hotel' price. The location is at the behind of the train station, but all the attractions are in front of the train station. However, it only took us ca. 20 mins walking to the duomo, Uffizi, republic square..etc. The 3 receptions we have met are all very helpful and can speak good English. I recommend this place for budget young backpackers :)

Disliked: We have asked for adapter and hair dryer. But they don't have. :( I suggest the boss can prepare some for the guests, After all, it is not so expensive and will be very helpful for the limited packing travelers. You can ask the guest for reasonable deposit for lending the tools.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012

Liked: near the station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are amazing tiles and high ceilings in all the rooms. Good wireless connection and close to the main train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zejd Xhafce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Zejd would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and safe. and also for the money that you give you receive lot of value

Disliked: nothing almost everything was perfect

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and facilities

Disliked: lack of social atmosphere ourside of individual rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Central Station

Disliked: The bathroom wasnt very clean!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2011

Liked: it wasn't far from the train station. rooms were big enough.

Disliked: the lift wasn't working so we had to carry luggage for 3 floors. the toilettes run out of paper and it was very difficult to run over 3 stairs to fetch some! it wasn't very clean. the toilettes didn't have any liquid soap fixed on the wall and nowhere to to dry your hands, so each time you visited the toilettes you had to take your own soap and towel. beds were not made.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern, spacious,

Disliked: lift was broken during stay, lights in room not working & when approached staff not very efficient & delayed for a day, when changed key lock on 3rd day & unable to open door with new key, staff grumbled that our room is the one always having problem

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

jodi thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2011

Liked: It was a place to sleep.

Disliked: Absolutely zero charachter; it smelled terribly; it wasn't very clean and the shower flooded the hallway several times. We actually wanted to leave but were told we could not get our money back.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Cortés Bravo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: nearly of the train station and the tourist yone

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richa Prakash

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Richa would recommend this property

Liked: it was a fantastic place to stay

Disliked: only there was just one bathroom on our floor. The other one was broken.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and private space in shared dorms.

Disliked: Common area could have had more facilities, bar, e.t.c.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 October 2011

Liked: close to centre

Disliked: not very clean, not very good facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean and open. The towel were large and clean. The room even had a dresser. It was a very nice hostel.

Disliked: One of the showers wasn't working.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rivada Norberto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Rivada would recommend this property

Liked: good rooms

Disliked: if u want to stay in contact with another guest, this is not your hostel...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011

Liked: It had a kitchen They gave us a good map

Disliked: The lift was broken The TV remote was broken We paid for a double private room and got given a room with four single beds - not ideal for a romantic holiday the bathroom door didnt have a lock

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011

Liked: the hostel is easy to reach and the staff were friendly. the rooms are new and clean. the facilities such as kitchen and wifi are nice as well.

Disliked: my room was facing towards the main street, which was noisy during the whole night. i couldn't really fall asleep during that night. the shower water became cold while i was on shampoo and hair conditioner. whatever i tried, i couldn't get it hot again. so i had to take a cold shower, which made me catch a cold the second day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tudo.

Disliked: Nada.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: as soon as arriving the girl behind the desk spoke really good English and was not only welcoming but she also gave me advice on the best places to see, anytime I had ant questions she was very helpful and made my stay in Florence much easier! Also sharing with other people in a dorm was good to meet people! Loved cooking my own food to!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very huge and clean rooms

Disliked: One of the bathrooms didn't have any locks!