HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

90.3% Overall Rating

505 out of 548 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Christine Parker thinks…

"Ĺocation was good, especially after we figured out the buses, which took a good day and a half. Basically buy bus tickets at tabacchi shops for 1.20 euro, good for 90 minutes after 1st use, rather…"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
50.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
36.69 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
34.16 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 423 reviews
New Ostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 72.3% 147 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
22.52 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
21.51 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
20.56 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
23.53 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

505 out of 548 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 427 of 527 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Eugenia Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel me parecio muy bueno en realacion precio calidad... Fue mucho mejor de lo q esperaba!! Muy limpio y las instalaciones nuevas! Eso si no es el mejor sitio para conocer gente, ya q cada piso tiene su propio espacio en comun y cocina... Pero la verdad yo lo recomendaria!!!

Disliked: El asensor estaba apagado cuando hice mi check out a las 6:30 am asi que tuve q cargar mi valija tres pisos! Deberian dejarlo encendido!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

marilyn stoffelsen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: love the kitchens on each floor, th out doors off the kitchen

Disliked: really really loud traffic

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa arnott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Short walk from the train station, fully equipped kitchen and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: There isnt really a common area on each floor only the kitchen and a dining table.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARUEM KIM

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 ARUEM would recommend this property

Liked: The price was resonable to stay 4 member at same room and quite clean and well organized everything especailly kitchen. about 10-15mins to walk from main station. Only 4 rooms at each floor so easy to approach toilet and kitchen,,very private..

Disliked: This hostel is located in a junction of thee roads so during day time, quite nosy from outside traffic. If somebody want to socialize with stranger, this is not a place to do. however, I was satisfied with only my family.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dacia Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Dacia would recommend this property

Liked: great location, just up the road from the main train station and about 15 mins walk to the Duomo and main shopping area. Modern and new hostel with fully equipt kitchen and large bedrooms, no bunk beds too.

Disliked: Hot water was a bit on and off sometimes, but not a huge deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Bendl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazing, so helpful and friendly! Many locks and keys to keep you safe, which we loved! Wifi was good the entire time. Clean, exactly as stated on profile, we would definitely stay with them again!

Disliked: No dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The sheets were clean and more comfortable than I expected.

Disliked: The shower didn't drain well and it was away from the main attractions.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Indigo Szubelak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012

Liked: It was clean, and they provided towels!

Disliked: It was too much like a hotel instead of a hostel but with strangers in your room. It´s better to have the hostel atmosphere if you´re in a room with ppl you don´t know in case they´re a bit weird and you want to talk to other people. However, this hostel didn´t have much of a common area and it was hard to meet people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful staff

Disliked: no computer for general use, only wi-fi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Link Choi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2012 Link would recommend this property

Liked: Modern building, very clean. A no-nonsense bed for the night.

Disliked: Link left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms and fully functioning kitchen, also good location for central Florence.

Disliked: Under beds not very clean, shower small and awkward to use and the second bathroom on the ground floor doesn't lock and has a hole in the door so didn't use.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Szymon Kaminski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Szymon would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice hostel placed very close to the Railway Station. All the facilities and service stands on the high level.

Disliked: The window in our room was broken, so it was impossible to close it. What is why it was very loud in the room. (because of the street sound, even in the night it's very loud). Please repair this window!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nigel Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely balcony for the double room. Walking distance from station. Very clean.

Disliked: Safe storage for bags limited.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very well kept hostel. I stayed in a double bed private room with my friend and we had a very positive experience. We even had a small balcony which helped make the space feel even larger. Internet connection was great too. It was quiet, clean and very spacious. Excellent value for the reasonable price.

Disliked: There was a cigarette smoke smell in the halls, but our room was fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the Firenze S.M.N station, good kitchen, the room is clean.

Disliked: Lift didn't work in the morning and I had to carry my suitcase downstairs from the 3rd floor. It doesn't have locker in the room and one of my roommate really don't like to close the door of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandr Kapitonov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Aleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: i have a grate experience of being in hostels in Italy and particularly in Florence............IT S THE PERFECT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Concerning location clearness services and safety it like a good hotel but better because here you can get much fun by finding new friends and cool companies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!and a PRICE , more than suitable for travelers!!!!!!!!!!!! if you choose CIAO HOSTEL you will be satisfied completely of your staying in FLORENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: better than a hostel, clean, good wifi, quiet, friendly staff, good kitchen, 8min to train station, I needed a rest so it was good. would reccommend. :) the discount/special on hostelbookers made it good value for money otherwise i think it would normally be too expensive.

Disliked: No really atmosphere didn't really see many other people, it is more like a hotel in that respect. there was a bit of a bad smell (like sewage or something) when you were in the kitchen, not very nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel - safe and clean and a decent location to everything you would want to do in Florence!

Disliked: Our room was on the side facing the road, which was very loud. Also, we left before the staff came in in the morning, and did not realize that you had to unlock the front door from the inside BEFORE returning the keys...but that was half stupidity on our part. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a really great price. They let us leave our luggage there during the day after we had checked out so we didn't have to carry it around Florence. Clean beds, rooms, and bathrooms. Very close to the train station.

Disliked: Shower overflows and got cold pretty quickly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet and sufficiently clean

Disliked: common bathroom although i knew it from the beginning

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eri Matsumoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Eri would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bed.

Disliked: Eri left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

zack mathie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 zack would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen area and was clean staff were good too, got for cheap price would recommend

Disliked: Was abit out of center of town but not to much of a hassle

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

enrique rodriguez beas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 enrique would recommend this property

Liked: every was really good, was clean and the was really close to the main train station. if i come back to firenze i will stay in thishostel.

Disliked: enrique left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Wouter Vorderman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012

Liked: hostel is quite close to centre. it's not more than a place to sleep.

Disliked: there is a strange smell in the entire hostel. there are no lockers. there is no breakfast. it's just a place made for income of people and not too much service oriented. when the shower is overflowing, may be a sign to go out of the shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

KARLEE DOYLE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 KARLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms, close to train station, good kitchen

Disliked: Staff not very friend, wifi not the best, otherwise ok