HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

83.0% Overall Rating

460 out of 502 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/01/2014)

"Great kitchen, huge rooms, very secure buidling even if the neighborhood is rough, very very clean facilities."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
55.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
55.22 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 42 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
35.89 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 419 reviews
New Ostel
28.99 USD

Hostel 82.7% 110 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
29.82 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
35.89 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
31.06 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 17 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
30.49 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

460 out of 502 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 389 of 482 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very well kept hostel. I stayed in a double bed private room with my friend and we had a very positive experience. We even had a small balcony which helped make the space feel even larger. Internet connection was great too. It was quiet, clean and very spacious. Excellent value for the reasonable price.

Disliked: There was a cigarette smoke smell in the halls, but our room was fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the Firenze S.M.N station, good kitchen, the room is clean.

Disliked: Lift didn't work in the morning and I had to carry my suitcase downstairs from the 3rd floor. It doesn't have locker in the room and one of my roommate really don't like to close the door of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandr Kapitonov

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Aleksandr would recommend this property

Liked: i have a grate experience of being in hostels in Italy and particularly in Florence............IT S THE PERFECT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Concerning location clearness services and safety it like a good hotel but better because here you can get much fun by finding new friends and cool companies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!and a PRICE , more than suitable for travelers!!!!!!!!!!!! if you choose CIAO HOSTEL you will be satisfied completely of your staying in FLORENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: better than a hostel, clean, good wifi, quiet, friendly staff, good kitchen, 8min to train station, I needed a rest so it was good. would reccommend. :) the discount/special on hostelbookers made it good value for money otherwise i think it would normally be too expensive.

Disliked: No really atmosphere didn't really see many other people, it is more like a hotel in that respect. there was a bit of a bad smell (like sewage or something) when you were in the kitchen, not very nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel - safe and clean and a decent location to everything you would want to do in Florence!

Disliked: Our room was on the side facing the road, which was very loud. Also, we left before the staff came in in the morning, and did not realize that you had to unlock the front door from the inside BEFORE returning the keys...but that was half stupidity on our part. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a really great price. They let us leave our luggage there during the day after we had checked out so we didn't have to carry it around Florence. Clean beds, rooms, and bathrooms. Very close to the train station.

Disliked: Shower overflows and got cold pretty quickly.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet and sufficiently clean

Disliked: common bathroom although i knew it from the beginning

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eri Matsumoto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Eri would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the bed.

Disliked: Eri left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

zack mathie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012 zack would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen area and was clean staff were good too, got for cheap price would recommend

Disliked: Was abit out of center of town but not to much of a hassle

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

enrique rodriguez beas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 enrique would recommend this property

Liked: every was really good, was clean and the was really close to the main train station. if i come back to firenze i will stay in thishostel.

Disliked: enrique left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Wouter Vorderman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012

Liked: hostel is quite close to centre. it's not more than a place to sleep.

Disliked: there is a strange smell in the entire hostel. there are no lockers. there is no breakfast. it's just a place made for income of people and not too much service oriented. when the shower is overflowing, may be a sign to go out of the shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

KARLEE DOYLE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 KARLEE would recommend this property

Liked: Good size rooms, close to train station, good kitchen

Disliked: Staff not very friend, wifi not the best, otherwise ok

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mariana Carpanezzi

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: That was the worst place I have ever been to. I hated everything. We felt so bad we left Florence back home, in Switzerland, the following day after our arrival. It ruined our experience in the city.

Disliked: Noisy. Terrible staff, in particular the owner - he was nasty, made fun of us and didn't even bother to check about the smell of cigarette in the room, which was supposedly a non-smoker one. The reception smelled really bad. The lift didn't work. We had heavy luggage and had to use the stairs. Nobody cared to offer us help.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Manhsuan Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Manhsuan would recommend this property

Liked: I like the huge painting in our 4 bed room. It is the most fashionable room compared with my hostels in Milan(Hotel Panizza) and Venice (Sweet Dream). {Personally point of view ;)} We have a kitchen, two toilets shared with 2 other rooms in the grand floor. The clean lady comes to clean the public area every afternoon but not our beds. However, we don't really care cos we pay "hostel" not 'hotel' price. The location is at the behind of the train station, but all the attractions are in front of the train station. However, it only took us ca. 20 mins walking to the duomo, Uffizi, republic square..etc. The 3 receptions we have met are all very helpful and can speak good English. I recommend this place for budget young backpackers :)

Disliked: We have asked for adapter and hair dryer. But they don't have. :( I suggest the boss can prepare some for the guests, After all, it is not so expensive and will be very helpful for the limited packing travelers. You can ask the guest for reasonable deposit for lending the tools.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012

Liked: near the station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are amazing tiles and high ceilings in all the rooms. Good wireless connection and close to the main train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zejd Xhafce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Zejd would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and safe. and also for the money that you give you receive lot of value

Disliked: nothing almost everything was perfect

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and facilities

Disliked: lack of social atmosphere ourside of individual rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Central Station

Disliked: The bathroom wasnt very clean!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2011

Liked: it wasn't far from the train station. rooms were big enough.

Disliked: the lift wasn't working so we had to carry luggage for 3 floors. the toilettes run out of paper and it was very difficult to run over 3 stairs to fetch some! it wasn't very clean. the toilettes didn't have any liquid soap fixed on the wall and nowhere to to dry your hands, so each time you visited the toilettes you had to take your own soap and towel. beds were not made.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: modern, spacious,

Disliked: lift was broken during stay, lights in room not working & when approached staff not very efficient & delayed for a day, when changed key lock on 3rd day & unable to open door with new key, staff grumbled that our room is the one always having problem

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

jodi thomas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2011

Liked: It was a place to sleep.

Disliked: Absolutely zero charachter; it smelled terribly; it wasn't very clean and the shower flooded the hallway several times. We actually wanted to leave but were told we could not get our money back.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Cortés Bravo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 October 2011 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: nearly of the train station and the tourist yone

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richa Prakash

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Richa would recommend this property

Liked: it was a fantastic place to stay

Disliked: only there was just one bathroom on our floor. The other one was broken.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and private space in shared dorms.

Disliked: Common area could have had more facilities, bar, e.t.c.