We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

89.8% Overall Rating

503 out of 546 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Christine Parker thinks…

"Ĺocation was good, especially after we figured out the buses, which took a good day and a half. Basically buy bus tickets at tabacchi shops for 1.20 euro, good for 90 minutes after 1st use, rather…"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
51.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
45.31 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
34.96 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 422 reviews
New Ostel
23.30 USD

Hostel 73.0% 145 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
25.89 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
25.89 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
23.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
28.60 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

503 out of 546 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 426 of 526 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mehdi salehi

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2012 mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: cleanness

Disliked: noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2012

Liked: The price was good, and the location too. Good value for your money.

Disliked: I felt itchy after waking up from sleeping in this hostel. I also had a few bites on my body, but I cannot be sure where these came from.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pankaj Barah

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

08 October 2012 Pankaj would recommend this property

Liked: it was good stay. this was my second time. but someone has stolen my expensive DSLR camera in the city. so i was sad

Disliked: Pankaj left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012

Liked: Location. Was a short walk from the central station and major monuments

Disliked: There were bed bugs. Do not stay here. Also, the bathrooms were never clean as it was shared among 12 people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - nice atmosphere, - clean, - close to train station and city centre

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Mathews

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, not too expensive and provided twin rooms which can be hard to find in Florence

Disliked: It was quite a walk from the main sights and attractions and had NO atmosphere! This is a hotel-style place where you share the bathroom. Not a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sumeet Das

Alone

City break

05 October 2012 Sumeet would recommend this property

Liked: Very new , clean and near the railway station.

Disliked: none

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 October 2012

Liked: Good location, good sized rooms and good clean facilities.

Disliked: We visited in September and it was still hot but staff refused to give us remote to turn on air con as 'there is no air con in September'. The staff seemed uninterested or concerned. The alternative to sweating it out in a steam room was openning the window without fly screens and letting in millions of Mosquitos (the whitewashed walls have blood marks from previous squashed biters) - not a new problem in Florence. Our family of kids got very little sleep and paid the price with many welts the next day. Simple and cheap fly mesh or understanding staff would have got this place 5 stars.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ju Vern See

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Ju Vern would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and worth the value!

Disliked: It is not very central but still only 10 minutes away from the train station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location 10 minutes walk from train station. Only problem is you cannot take bus FROM train station, only TO train station. This is Florence problem not Ciao hostel problem. Very modern hostel, good common space and full kitchen, three keys for security, helpful staff. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Rooms on street side are pretty noisy in the morning from traffic, ask for back room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hellier

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: It was more like a little Hotel,

Disliked: Not very communal, if you want to meet people to hang out with its not great, but brilliant as a couple or with a friend.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, everything looks quite modern.

Disliked: There seemed to be only one shower+toilet in the same room on my floor, so I assume you might have to queue for that if it is crowded. Main dislike: when checking out there was no one at reception, and no way to get in contact with the staff. Staff is friendly but I effectively only saw one person when checking in. Hope this was an exception. Apart from that, the hostel was quite nice

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty easy to get to from the train station and major sites, clean and comfortable rooms. The air con was great in summer. Staff were happy to help with things like leaving luggage behind after you check out and still giving you access to the hostel during that day.

Disliked: May have been more expensive than other options, but it seemed worth it to me. Staff were sometimes a bit unreliable with being in on time in the mornings.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. The room was clean, with comfortable and clean beds and linen, air conditioning...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, clean and friendly. I liked it.

Disliked: A bit far away from the city centre.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 people private room, it was very spacious and comfortable.

Disliked: The room wasn´t ready at the time of the check-in.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and well equipped, and the location was fine.

Disliked: Almost impossible to socialize with others, the common areas could've been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the loveliest hostel i've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jenniffer McPherson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: Close to train station, easy walk

Disliked: Jenniffer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Enriquez Goyes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very spacious, there were two shared washrooms and they were always clean, and the kitchen was clean and it had anything you needed to cook, there was Air conditioning too.

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Netolicky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 July 2012 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: vše

Disliked: Jakub left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

LIBARDO BOTERO

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 June 2012 LIBARDO would recommend this property

Liked: La relación calidad-precio. La comodida, con buen aire acondicionado, buenas camas, cocina con nevefa y con implementos completos.

Disliked: Uno de los baños tenía la puerta desajustada y no cerraba bien.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jasmin Repetzky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Jasmin would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice and clean.

Disliked: There is no breakfast included.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent wifi n clean kitchen.

Disliked: Mosquitoes

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Eugenia Sanchez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Maria Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: El hostel me parecio muy bueno en realacion precio calidad... Fue mucho mejor de lo q esperaba!! Muy limpio y las instalaciones nuevas! Eso si no es el mejor sitio para conocer gente, ya q cada piso tiene su propio espacio en comun y cocina... Pero la verdad yo lo recomendaria!!!

Disliked: El asensor estaba apagado cuando hice mi check out a las 6:30 am asi que tuve q cargar mi valija tres pisos! Deberian dejarlo encendido!