We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

85.8% Overall Rating

533 out of 580 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Michael Stuart C. Wilson thinks…

"Clean and ten minutes walk from train station. Daytime staff cheerful and helpful with suggestions etc. Clean kitchen and bathrooms and they have nice beds and towels provided."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.” Important: Payment is only possible in cash upon arrival. And the city tax will be € 1,50 from 1th of April .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
35.69 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
29.65 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
25.26 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 424 reviews
New Ostel
23.51 USD

Hostel 69.5% 167 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
21.75 USD

Guesthouse 87.3% 159 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
26.36 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
16.20 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 26 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
24.44 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

533 out of 580 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 449 of 560 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natcha Khupantavee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Natcha would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very nice! There is everythings we needed! There is a kitchen avalible 24 hrs. TV in the room and towel for you. There is an elevator in the hostel, that's very good for who have a big luggage. The reception looking good. If we have another night, we want to stay more :)

Disliked: The location still a bit far from the train station, the map from website isn't clear enough, we got lost. We took 20 minute walk to station (with luggage) But it's easy if you go with a bus from station,it's just 3 stop. The bathroom in the morning is a bit dirty because a lot of people use and it wet. Maybe they should have a rule, like clean the bath after using because another must use after you. So if you want a clean bathroom, you have to wake up the first :P When we checked out, there isn't anyone at the reception. So everyone who want to check out early, just put the key at the table :S

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hester Jackson Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Hester would recommend this property

Liked: Proper beds rather than bunks, and excellent kitchen facilities including stovetop, microwave, kettle and full range of pots, plates etc. Also heaps of fridge space and the place was always clean. There's a supermarket not far away so easy to prepare your own dinners/breakfasts and save money

Disliked: Walk from the station was ok with wheelie bags but would have been a bit far if we were carrying them-definitely more than a stones throw. When there are large groups of people the kitchen/dining room can fill up around dinner time-we ended up having to wait till 10 to cook on one night. Both fairly minor though, overall a good hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter FAKUDE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Among the best modern hostels in Italy & a very decent place.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sum Yi Photina Poon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Sum Yi Photina would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfortable. Toilets and kitchens are neat and clean

Disliked: The windows of the backyard didnt close so many mosqitoes came in. Wifi was ok when we first check in in the afternoon but when we came back at night, there's no wifi and there's noone at the desk to help.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel. The location is near the train station wich is not the best place to stay in Florence. But the hostel is excellent!

Disliked: Really like it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nga Yu Tsoi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Nga Yu would recommend this property

Liked: well-equiped kitchen

Disliked: our room at ground floor & a bit noise when car pass the road

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room, decent location, friendly staff, 24-hour access. Nice kitchen, though we didn't use it.

Disliked: Shared baths were clean for most part but bath mats got very grungy. Hot water ran out a couple of times. Lots of traffic noise in rooms facing the street (though you get a balcony here).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca Bizzotto

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2014 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: The position of the hostel

Disliked: No parking close to the hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the cleanest hostel I've ever been. Everything went smoothly. I'll highly recommend this place. This is not a party hostel.

Disliked: Location is a bit off.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivier Maquignaz

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, only a few minutes away from the main train station and the center. Also the beds are really comfortable.

Disliked: Haven't seen any place where I could lock my stuff in. Anyway, both the rooms and every floor are locked with different key sets, and have only 4 people, so the risk is still limited.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cooking facilities. Convenience to main centre.

Disliked: Very noisy with night traffic and difficult to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious! Nice kitchen

Disliked: The service a bit slow

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, huge rooms, very secure buidling even if the neighborhood is rough, very very clean facilities.

Disliked: A bit out of the way of the city's attractions. A trek from the station if you have a lot of luggage.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Larsen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk into town, beds were nice.

Disliked: No lockers for your stuff and staff is out by 9pm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BUN CHIN TOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 BUN CHIN would recommend this property

Liked: There is a full equipped kitchen just outside the door. I really feels like I am at home!! 3 cheers for Ciao hostel.

Disliked: The distance from the train station is a bit far. But walkable still, just need a 10 mins walk for slower walker.. ;)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karen Docking

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 December 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Easy walking distance to city centre and main sites and close to train station. Secure.

Disliked: Traffic noise was loud and continuous. Shutters on the windows meant no natural light in the room. Room was cold.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need to do your own cooking. Fridge space No bunks Nice and clean bathrooms, no mould

Disliked: Noisy during the night, traffic No nearby supermarkets No lock on kitchen bathroom Could not open kitchen door from outside if someone shut itit

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was very quite and very clean.

Disliked: We were woken up by a worker to inform us that a water pipe had burst. In addition, a new guest came into the room very late at night to stay and proceeded to unpack very loudly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellie McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen!!!!

Disliked: Ellie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was well equipped - fridge, microwave and fridge.

Disliked: Distance from Termini was more like 15 minutes when you have a bag.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff at the front desk is really helpful. She helped us book a day tour to Cinque Terre and filed a complaint to the tour agentcy for us the next day.

Disliked: Our room as an eery old socks smell, but I cannot tell if it's from the other traveller or from the room itself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Florin Lal

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 Daniel Florin would recommend this property

Liked: good location(close to the Central Statione), large room, stuff ok, free wi-fi, kitchen at each floor

Disliked: ideea of improvment: instal a jukebox with water, juice, cofee, sweets,.. I stay at ground and I didn't see something like this. It can be usefull in the night if you didn't bought something to drink from the town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jana bahor

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

07 October 2013 jana would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel in Florence ( this price level) for the last years

Disliked: parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really Nice and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.