HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

90.2% Overall Rating

497 out of 540 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

Michal Matuszewski thinks…

"A really nice and quiet hostel, the standard reminds more of a decent budget hotel than a hostel. All main attractions are within a walking distance. There is also a great restaurant nearby, in the…"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
52.68 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
30.29 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
28.97 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 422 reviews
New Ostel
19.76 USD

Hostel 73.0% 145 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
23.44 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
26.34 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
26.01 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
27.56 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

497 out of 540 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 420 of 520 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nermin Fenmen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Nermin would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean. Normal beds instead of bunks with a high ceiling gives one space - quite unusual for a hostel. Within walking distance to the train station, very convenient. Free, powerful WiFi in rooms. Highly advisable

Disliked: Nothing I disliked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walkable distance from Railway station, commutable to major attractions of Florence. Cheap and value for money

Disliked: There is a lift facility in the property, which is extremely small. Hardly one person could stand with two luggages. There is no handwash in washroom too. Even though they say that in their offical website that there is washing facitlity, we heard from the property manager that it is not avalable in house, but have to pay out seperately and is situated in the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Andersson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: My experiences of hostels have been bad in the past where sometimes i payed a lot of Money and when I arrived I would litteraly live in filth, Dirty beds and disgusting showers. So I had very low expectations Before I arrived to Ciao Hostel, thinking that this wouldn't be any different from the others. And boy- was I wrong! The staff was superfriendly and the room (4 mixed room, shared bathroom) was very nice. Fresh and Clean. And the air-conditioning was a gift from the gods, especially considering how hot it was outside. I enjoyed my stay very much and wouldn't say no staying there again.

Disliked: Showers - the water was Cold so there were no long showers to speak of. But when you have been outside all day the Cold showers was welcoming, but not so much if you wanted to shower in the morning or Before you go to sleep. But considering Everything else that was good with Ciao Hostel overshined what was bad about it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013

Liked: No problem with room itself (very nice), 2 communal showers on floor, Self catering facilities provided, but we didn’t make use of these. Close to the train station.

Disliked: Location - Located on a very busy main road so traffic noise was a bit of a problem. Quite far from the centre of town (30 minutes). It was walkable, but quite a distance after a long day of sightseeing. Reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. No breakfast provided. Door to one bathroom broken so couldn’t lock. Wouldn’t recommend because of the location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good - a 10 min walk to most sights and train station staff at reception very friendly good facilities for cooking

Disliked: the place does not seem to be managed as well as it could be. reception is not staffed till 9 am which means when there are problems i.e. no hot water in the morning or a broken bed frame discovered late at night, there is nobody to report to or help solve the problem. the front room was very noisy at night as next to busy road with 24/7 traffic

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location very near train station , clean and friendly.

Disliked: would like to have lockers in the room. Check in early is difficult. too close to traffic so that it is noisy almost all day.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and big. There was a good air conditionning in the room. Good wifi everywhere in the hostel. Only 10 minutes walk from the train station, but about 20 minutes walk to the center city. They have a complete kitchen. They let us put our bags in a room after our check-out the day we left because our train was later in the day.

Disliked: Be careful to tell them if you have to check in later then 8pm because there's no one after this time at the reception. We advised them by email because we were arriving at 9h30pm and at the same time we wanted to know what was the best way to go at the hostel from the train station at this time of the day. We were really disappointed by the girl who's answer was : "Take a taxi it will be easier for you and for us." Because in fact it was only an easy 10 minutes walk in straight line so we think that she told us that because she didn't want to wait for us at night. Washrooms were not so clean, there was always water on the floor and there was no hand soap.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Santa Maria Novella railway station (10-15 min by foot) with simple, clean 4-bed-dorms, kitchen facilities available, good "facilities/guest ratio".

Disliked: Quite functional, spartan atmosphere (does not need to be a disadvantage, it depends what you are looking for), no lockers in the bedrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MILDRED GABRIELA HERNANDEZ MARTINEZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 MILDRED GABRIELA would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were tidy and clean, they have everything that you need for cooking, the place is safe!

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The toilets were shared between rooms. When booking, I understood that the toilet is a shared toilet for the particular room. However when arriving I found out that 4 rooms had to share 2 toilets.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel that offers walking distance the best parts of Florence (according to me). Really friendly staff, they helped me a lot when my bag got stolen at the streets. This hostel is more like an hotel to be honest and that could be good or bad in some cases, it depends on what you're after. Comfortable beds but the AC did not functioning as it would so the temperature were pretty high in the room at nights (not too hot though). The place itself were clean and most of the interior looked great for the price of the hostel. Great kitchen with a lot of equipment and the bathrooms (2 per floor) were great too. I paid 150 EU for seven nights and for that price I would recommend this place without any doubt.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms/beds, close to the metro, only 4 people/room, outlet for each bed, free WiFi.

Disliked: No lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen is very nice

Disliked: The air conditioning is weak. Not recommend in Summer!!!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a really good feel about it and we really liked the outside garden area. It was really handy to have self-catering facilities in somewhere like Florence. They gave us a free map and all the main attractions were within walking distance and the train station was literally down the street.

Disliked: There were no computers or laundry facilities as we knew but other than that everything was great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bjørg Sandvik

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Bjørg would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The staff was friendly and helpfull with a honest smile :)

Disliked: I had been in contact with the straff about a late arrivel for the plane and I got a Mail back that They would waiting for us. I sent a mail to days before to ntell them that we would arrive Florenze as planned. We arrived Florence and after a short while the phone rang and it was from Ciao. we where waiting for a buss but they mentthat weshould take a taxi, it would be faster because the person had been waiting for there houers. Well, we took a taxi, but we had got a Mail where they confirmed that they would waiting for us, we couldnt know that they didnt like waiting. We couldnt rush the plane. The person we met at Ciao was friendly when we arrived.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with all amenities offered as expected

Disliked: Little bit expensive for where it was (outskirts of town) but still no more than a 15min walk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

renato cornacine

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

16 June 2013 renato would recommend this property

Liked: It the best hostel ever. I felt like I was home.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jun Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds and spacious room

Disliked: Bugs in summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms, like hotelroom standards, very comfortable beds, very nice and clean toilet/shower.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was reasonably clean and the beds were not stacked.

Disliked: The internet was pretty slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel we have lived. It is clean and tidy,with the chicken which canbe used

Disliked: Even though our room is faced to the street,wecan fall asleep easily because of the tiredness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ok, just a 10 min walk from the central station and easy to find. Friendly english-speaking staff and clean rooms. Each floor has a kitchen and the kitchen was good and well equipped (stove, fridge and plates, glasses etc, all you need). Bathrooms were also ok.

Disliked: I was in a 4-bed dorm, but by bed didn't have a socket which was annoying. There were also only 3 wardrobes in this room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place feels more like a hotel than a hostel. The rooms are wide and spacious, no bunk beds, with nightstands and a closet and even a tv in the room. It's quiet because there are only a few people per room, but multiple rooms share a couple of bathrooms. There is a professional cleaning staff that comes every day and cleans everything including two baths per floor, a common room per floor, and a big kitchen PER FLOOR. It's really one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at in terms of ammenities.

Disliked: It's not a very social place if you're looking to meet a lot of new people but I met some great people and then we could go back to our own little rooms and enjoy a comfortable bed without laying three high in bunk beds.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

STELLA DESSOY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: Lots of character. A converted old building.

Disliked: Reception only open from 9am to 11pm. I arrived, on the last airport shuttle, and despite having emailed to tell them I would be arriving late, couldn't get in all night. Not a good start to the holiday. Also, had an early flight to catch on day of departure so reclaiming my EUR4.00 key deposit was tricky. Small cramped common area. Long wait for showers.