We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

85.0% Overall Rating

518 out of 563 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2015)

Anna Libey thinks…

"So nice and clean! No bunk beds, and clean towels provided. Also lots of space in the room, there were desks, mirrors, and large storage closets. Kitchen was large too. There is a backyard outdoor…"

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.” Important: Payment is only possible in cash upon arrival. And the city tax will be € 1,50 from 1th of April .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
35.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
35.88 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
20.66 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 424 reviews
New Ostel
17.73 USD

Hostel 72.2% 159 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
22.61 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 158 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
21.74 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 24 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
21.20 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.0%

Overall Rating

518 out of 563 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 436 of 543 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very much like a hotel -- this is an extremely upscale hostel with lots of ammenities.

Disliked: A lack of typical "hostel culture" where one is almost forced to interact with the other backpackers/travelers with corresponding visits.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms,kithcen and toilets. being safe. comfy beds. full equipped kitchen. people in the hostel - both guests and personnel.

Disliked: a little bit far away from the city centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a fully equipped kitchen and fridge for residents. The staff at the reception were very helpful and approachable. The hostel was also very well located, being a walkable distance from the central train station and other landmarks in the city.

Disliked: The shared bathroom was a little too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alvin Toh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Alvin would recommend this property

Liked: Peace and quiet. Clean toilets. Cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Alvin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sydney Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that there was a kitchen on every floor. Stayed in a private room which was nice because there was no lookers in the share dorms. Three keys to get in made it really very safe. The lift was very nice after a long day of walked and climbing. Would recommend that you should shower at night because the bathroom is cleaner than in the morning. Staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Location was a bit far out from main attractions, but we still able to walk in more than once a day. Only took metro once. Our balcony door didn't close all the way but we were on the third floor so not a huge deal. When it rained the door let in some water causing a minor fluid in our room but staff staying on the floor helped out right away! And took the towels away in the morning as soon as they could.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So far, this has been the best hostel I have stayed in during my travels in Italy. It was very clean and everyone working there was extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend Ciao Hostel to anyone wishing to visit Florence.

Disliked: My one and only complaint about this hostel is that there was no hand soap in the bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and new room with air conditioning, comfortable bed. =)))

Disliked: it's close to the ring road. so it's quite noisy actually..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsun Ho Lee

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Tsun Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Near the station, nice price

Disliked: lots of mosquitoes, big size and small size....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, and I liked that every floor has it's own kitchen. While it is a bit removed from the big sights they are still all within walking distance. Loved that it was so close to the train station. The hostel is well marked and easy to find. The room had air conditioning so we didn't have to open the windows and let Mosquitos in at nigh. The lady at the front desk was very helpful in answering all my questions.

Disliked: The only reall downside is that there weren't any lockers in the room. There was a key for the main door, the floor, and the room, so I felt safe, but it wish I had a place to lock up my belongings when I went out for the day. Make sure you bring bag locks if you stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, kept reception open for us to check in late. Very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesse Lucero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: It's a host was nice enough to wait after hours for our arrival.

Disliked: could be a little cleaner

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean, it has a very nice kitchen

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natcha Khupantavee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Natcha would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very nice! There is everythings we needed! There is a kitchen avalible 24 hrs. TV in the room and towel for you. There is an elevator in the hostel, that's very good for who have a big luggage. The reception looking good. If we have another night, we want to stay more :)

Disliked: The location still a bit far from the train station, the map from website isn't clear enough, we got lost. We took 20 minute walk to station (with luggage) But it's easy if you go with a bus from station,it's just 3 stop. The bathroom in the morning is a bit dirty because a lot of people use and it wet. Maybe they should have a rule, like clean the bath after using because another must use after you. So if you want a clean bathroom, you have to wake up the first :P When we checked out, there isn't anyone at the reception. So everyone who want to check out early, just put the key at the table :S

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hester Jackson Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Hester would recommend this property

Liked: Proper beds rather than bunks, and excellent kitchen facilities including stovetop, microwave, kettle and full range of pots, plates etc. Also heaps of fridge space and the place was always clean. There's a supermarket not far away so easy to prepare your own dinners/breakfasts and save money

Disliked: Walk from the station was ok with wheelie bags but would have been a bit far if we were carrying them-definitely more than a stones throw. When there are large groups of people the kitchen/dining room can fill up around dinner time-we ended up having to wait till 10 to cook on one night. Both fairly minor though, overall a good hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter FAKUDE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Among the best modern hostels in Italy & a very decent place.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sum Yi Photina Poon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Sum Yi Photina would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfortable. Toilets and kitchens are neat and clean

Disliked: The windows of the backyard didnt close so many mosqitoes came in. Wifi was ok when we first check in in the afternoon but when we came back at night, there's no wifi and there's noone at the desk to help.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like this hostel. The location is near the train station wich is not the best place to stay in Florence. But the hostel is excellent!

Disliked: Really like it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nga Yu Tsoi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Nga Yu would recommend this property

Liked: well-equiped kitchen

Disliked: our room at ground floor & a bit noise when car pass the road

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room, decent location, friendly staff, 24-hour access. Nice kitchen, though we didn't use it.

Disliked: Shared baths were clean for most part but bath mats got very grungy. Hot water ran out a couple of times. Lots of traffic noise in rooms facing the street (though you get a balcony here).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luca Bizzotto

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2014 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: The position of the hostel

Disliked: No parking close to the hostel

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the cleanest hostel I've ever been. Everything went smoothly. I'll highly recommend this place. This is not a party hostel.

Disliked: Location is a bit off.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivier Maquignaz

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, only a few minutes away from the main train station and the center. Also the beds are really comfortable.

Disliked: Haven't seen any place where I could lock my stuff in. Anyway, both the rooms and every floor are locked with different key sets, and have only 4 people, so the risk is still limited.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cooking facilities. Convenience to main centre.

Disliked: Very noisy with night traffic and difficult to sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious! Nice kitchen

Disliked: The service a bit slow

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, huge rooms, very secure buidling even if the neighborhood is rough, very very clean facilities.

Disliked: A bit out of the way of the city's attractions. A trek from the station if you have a lot of luggage.