HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

83.0% Overall Rating

460 out of 502 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/01/2014)

"Great kitchen, huge rooms, very secure buidling even if the neighborhood is rough, very very clean facilities."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
55.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
55.22 USD

Guesthouse 84.9% 42 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
35.89 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 419 reviews
New Ostel
30.37 USD

Hostel 82.7% 110 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
29.82 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
33.13 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
31.06 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 17 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
30.49 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

460 out of 502 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 389 of 482 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location very near train station , clean and friendly.

Disliked: would like to have lockers in the room. Check in early is difficult. too close to traffic so that it is noisy almost all day.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and big. There was a good air conditionning in the room. Good wifi everywhere in the hostel. Only 10 minutes walk from the train station, but about 20 minutes walk to the center city. They have a complete kitchen. They let us put our bags in a room after our check-out the day we left because our train was later in the day.

Disliked: Be careful to tell them if you have to check in later then 8pm because there's no one after this time at the reception. We advised them by email because we were arriving at 9h30pm and at the same time we wanted to know what was the best way to go at the hostel from the train station at this time of the day. We were really disappointed by the girl who's answer was : "Take a taxi it will be easier for you and for us." Because in fact it was only an easy 10 minutes walk in straight line so we think that she told us that because she didn't want to wait for us at night. Washrooms were not so clean, there was always water on the floor and there was no hand soap.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Santa Maria Novella railway station (10-15 min by foot) with simple, clean 4-bed-dorms, kitchen facilities available, good "facilities/guest ratio".

Disliked: Quite functional, spartan atmosphere (does not need to be a disadvantage, it depends what you are looking for), no lockers in the bedrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MILDRED GABRIELA HERNANDEZ MARTINEZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 MILDRED GABRIELA would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were tidy and clean, they have everything that you need for cooking, the place is safe!

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable.

Disliked: The toilets were shared between rooms. When booking, I understood that the toilet is a shared toilet for the particular room. However when arriving I found out that 4 rooms had to share 2 toilets.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel that offers walking distance the best parts of Florence (according to me). Really friendly staff, they helped me a lot when my bag got stolen at the streets. This hostel is more like an hotel to be honest and that could be good or bad in some cases, it depends on what you're after. Comfortable beds but the AC did not functioning as it would so the temperature were pretty high in the room at nights (not too hot though). The place itself were clean and most of the interior looked great for the price of the hostel. Great kitchen with a lot of equipment and the bathrooms (2 per floor) were great too. I paid 150 EU for seven nights and for that price I would recommend this place without any doubt.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms/beds, close to the metro, only 4 people/room, outlet for each bed, free WiFi.

Disliked: No lockers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the kitchen is very nice

Disliked: The air conditioning is weak. Not recommend in Summer!!!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The property had a really good feel about it and we really liked the outside garden area. It was really handy to have self-catering facilities in somewhere like Florence. They gave us a free map and all the main attractions were within walking distance and the train station was literally down the street.

Disliked: There were no computers or laundry facilities as we knew but other than that everything was great!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bjørg Sandvik

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2013 Bjørg would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. The staff was friendly and helpfull with a honest smile :)

Disliked: I had been in contact with the straff about a late arrivel for the plane and I got a Mail back that They would waiting for us. I sent a mail to days before to ntell them that we would arrive Florenze as planned. We arrived Florence and after a short while the phone rang and it was from Ciao. we where waiting for a buss but they mentthat weshould take a taxi, it would be faster because the person had been waiting for there houers. Well, we took a taxi, but we had got a Mail where they confirmed that they would waiting for us, we couldnt know that they didnt like waiting. We couldnt rush the plane. The person we met at Ciao was friendly when we arrived.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with all amenities offered as expected

Disliked: Little bit expensive for where it was (outskirts of town) but still no more than a 15min walk

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

renato cornacine

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

16 June 2013 renato would recommend this property

Liked: It the best hostel ever. I felt like I was home.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jun Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Clean beds and spacious room

Disliked: Bugs in summer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent rooms, like hotelroom standards, very comfortable beds, very nice and clean toilet/shower.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was reasonably clean and the beds were not stacked.

Disliked: The internet was pretty slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel we have lived. It is clean and tidy,with the chicken which canbe used

Disliked: Even though our room is faced to the street,wecan fall asleep easily because of the tiredness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was ok, just a 10 min walk from the central station and easy to find. Friendly english-speaking staff and clean rooms. Each floor has a kitchen and the kitchen was good and well equipped (stove, fridge and plates, glasses etc, all you need). Bathrooms were also ok.

Disliked: I was in a 4-bed dorm, but by bed didn't have a socket which was annoying. There were also only 3 wardrobes in this room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place feels more like a hotel than a hostel. The rooms are wide and spacious, no bunk beds, with nightstands and a closet and even a tv in the room. It's quiet because there are only a few people per room, but multiple rooms share a couple of bathrooms. There is a professional cleaning staff that comes every day and cleans everything including two baths per floor, a common room per floor, and a big kitchen PER FLOOR. It's really one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at in terms of ammenities.

Disliked: It's not a very social place if you're looking to meet a lot of new people but I met some great people and then we could go back to our own little rooms and enjoy a comfortable bed without laying three high in bunk beds.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

STELLA DESSOY

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: Lots of character. A converted old building.

Disliked: Reception only open from 9am to 11pm. I arrived, on the last airport shuttle, and despite having emailed to tell them I would be arriving late, couldn't get in all night. Not a good start to the holiday. Also, had an early flight to catch on day of departure so reclaiming my EUR4.00 key deposit was tricky. Small cramped common area. Long wait for showers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chertova Lyudmila

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Chertova would recommend this property

Liked: Attentive staff, hotel type small apartment, but the living is virtually invisible, except for those in the room. Cozy, clean and comfortable!

Disliked: No supermarket next to the hotel, a bit far from the historic center

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Germán Rodríguez Góngora

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Santiago Germán would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen well equiped. Very good location (close to train station). It had elevator.

Disliked: They never cleaned the room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Gill

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: A kitchen is offered so you can refrigerate water, heat up leftovers, etc. The price is excellent, the beds are moderately comfortable, and the hostel is mostly very clean. I did find some ants in the bathroom, but that may be unavoidable in sultry April. For what it's worth, the shower is very nice. The hostel is near the bus/train station. It's a decent walk into the city.

Disliked: The staff did not impress me--they spoke passable English, but they could not provide details for how to get to the airport, what to see in the city, etc. Don't expect a breakfast or anything special from the service. Be warned that Italian electric outlets are shaped differently from American and UK outlets, and this hostel doesn't have any converters.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: I would like the bathroom to be more clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bruce Benson

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern facilities and friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Location is just outside the city center and a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. Not bad but abouta the farthest I want to go when I've got a lot of luggage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very accommodating since we had two separate reservations for three people and were given a three person private on the spot, the kitchen was clean and had everything we needed, towel included, television in the room, the showers were AMAZING.

Disliked: Really nothing, it was excellent!