HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

89.0% Overall Rating

489 out of 532 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"Close to the train station, very handy if your stopping over in Florence for a short while. Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
53.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
33.49 USD

Guesthouse 85.4% 44 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
29.47 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 421 reviews
New Ostel
17.42 USD

Hostel 69.8% 137 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
24.92 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 157 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
29.47 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
26.13 USD

Guesthouse 81.3% 22 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
29.60 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

489 out of 532 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 412 of 512 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great kitchen, huge rooms, very secure buidling even if the neighborhood is rough, very very clean facilities.

Disliked: A bit out of the way of the city's attractions. A trek from the station if you have a lot of luggage.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrew Larsen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Easy walk into town, beds were nice.

Disliked: No lockers for your stuff and staff is out by 9pm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

BUN CHIN TOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 BUN CHIN would recommend this property

Liked: There is a full equipped kitchen just outside the door. I really feels like I am at home!! 3 cheers for Ciao hostel.

Disliked: The distance from the train station is a bit far. But walkable still, just need a 10 mins walk for slower walker.. ;)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karen Docking

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 December 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Easy walking distance to city centre and main sites and close to train station. Secure.

Disliked: Traffic noise was loud and continuous. Shutters on the windows meant no natural light in the room. Room was cold.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need to do your own cooking. Fridge space No bunks Nice and clean bathrooms, no mould

Disliked: Noisy during the night, traffic No nearby supermarkets No lock on kitchen bathroom Could not open kitchen door from outside if someone shut itit

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building was very quite and very clean.

Disliked: We were woken up by a worker to inform us that a water pipe had burst. In addition, a new guest came into the room very late at night to stay and proceeded to unpack very loudly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellie McGrath

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen!!!!

Disliked: Ellie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was well equipped - fridge, microwave and fridge.

Disliked: Distance from Termini was more like 15 minutes when you have a bag.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff at the front desk is really helpful. She helped us book a day tour to Cinque Terre and filed a complaint to the tour agentcy for us the next day.

Disliked: Our room as an eery old socks smell, but I cannot tell if it's from the other traveller or from the room itself.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Florin Lal

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 Daniel Florin would recommend this property

Liked: good location(close to the Central Statione), large room, stuff ok, free wi-fi, kitchen at each floor

Disliked: ideea of improvment: instal a jukebox with water, juice, cofee, sweets,.. I stay at ground and I didn't see something like this. It can be usefull in the night if you didn't bought something to drink from the town.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jana bahor

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals

07 October 2013 jana would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel in Florence ( this price level) for the last years

Disliked: parking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really Nice and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Robinson

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Everything including location, super helpful staff and wonderful aircon. Big fluffy towels! very easy to find - turn right out of the station and keep going. I made a mistake with my train time and was going to arrive too late but phoned and they were completely fine about it - and in English too. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Can't recommend them highly enough. Superb spacious place.

Disliked: trafiic noise but that's Florence for you! impossible to avoid.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Barragán Chávez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Sooo clean :) nice place. It looks more as a Hotel than a Hostel so is perfect!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private room was very comfortable and the Internet was fast and reliable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

STEPHANIE KA YING LAI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 STEPHANIE KA YING would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, each floor has a well-equipped kitchen. It feels more like a hotel with shared bath than a hostel.

Disliked: A bit far from city center, but still walkable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nermin Fenmen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Nermin would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean. Normal beds instead of bunks with a high ceiling gives one space - quite unusual for a hostel. Within walking distance to the train station, very convenient. Free, powerful WiFi in rooms. Highly advisable

Disliked: Nothing I disliked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walkable distance from Railway station, commutable to major attractions of Florence. Cheap and value for money

Disliked: There is a lift facility in the property, which is extremely small. Hardly one person could stand with two luggages. There is no handwash in washroom too. Even though they say that in their offical website that there is washing facitlity, we heard from the property manager that it is not avalable in house, but have to pay out seperately and is situated in the city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean and quiet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Andersson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: My experiences of hostels have been bad in the past where sometimes i payed a lot of Money and when I arrived I would litteraly live in filth, Dirty beds and disgusting showers. So I had very low expectations Before I arrived to Ciao Hostel, thinking that this wouldn't be any different from the others. And boy- was I wrong! The staff was superfriendly and the room (4 mixed room, shared bathroom) was very nice. Fresh and Clean. And the air-conditioning was a gift from the gods, especially considering how hot it was outside. I enjoyed my stay very much and wouldn't say no staying there again.

Disliked: Showers - the water was Cold so there were no long showers to speak of. But when you have been outside all day the Cold showers was welcoming, but not so much if you wanted to shower in the morning or Before you go to sleep. But considering Everything else that was good with Ciao Hostel overshined what was bad about it.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013

Liked: No problem with room itself (very nice), 2 communal showers on floor, Self catering facilities provided, but we didn’t make use of these. Close to the train station.

Disliked: Location - Located on a very busy main road so traffic noise was a bit of a problem. Quite far from the centre of town (30 minutes). It was walkable, but quite a distance after a long day of sightseeing. Reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. No breakfast provided. Door to one bathroom broken so couldn’t lock. Wouldn’t recommend because of the location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good - a 10 min walk to most sights and train station staff at reception very friendly good facilities for cooking

Disliked: the place does not seem to be managed as well as it could be. reception is not staffed till 9 am which means when there are problems i.e. no hot water in the morning or a broken bed frame discovered late at night, there is nobody to report to or help solve the problem. the front room was very noisy at night as next to busy road with 24/7 traffic

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location very near train station , clean and friendly.

Disliked: would like to have lockers in the room. Check in early is difficult. too close to traffic so that it is noisy almost all day.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was clean and big. There was a good air conditionning in the room. Good wifi everywhere in the hostel. Only 10 minutes walk from the train station, but about 20 minutes walk to the center city. They have a complete kitchen. They let us put our bags in a room after our check-out the day we left because our train was later in the day.

Disliked: Be careful to tell them if you have to check in later then 8pm because there's no one after this time at the reception. We advised them by email because we were arriving at 9h30pm and at the same time we wanted to know what was the best way to go at the hostel from the train station at this time of the day. We were really disappointed by the girl who's answer was : "Take a taxi it will be easier for you and for us." Because in fact it was only an easy 10 minutes walk in straight line so we think that she told us that because she didn't want to wait for us at night. Washrooms were not so clean, there was always water on the floor and there was no hand soap.