We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ciao Hostel

Hostel | Via Guido Monaco 34, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50144

84.8% Overall Rating

536 out of 583 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

Michael Stuart C. Wilson thinks…

"Clean and ten minutes walk from train station. Daytime staff cheerful and helpful with suggestions etc. Clean kitchen and bathrooms and they have nice beds and towels provided."

Read all Ciao Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that the latest check-in for Ciao Hostel is at 8 pm.If you are planning to arrive later you should inform the property. If your arrival time after 22:00 will not be possible to make the check-in. Please check this detail before making your reservation. If during the trip there will be a delay of train or plane etc.. you must to inform the reception preferably by phone or via e-mail before hours 22:00.” Important: Payment is only possible in cash upon arrival. And the city tax will be € 1,50 from 1th of April .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alla Dimora Altea
36.46 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
28.05 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
25.80 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 425 reviews
New Ostel
18.30 USD

Hostel 72.9% 172 reviews
Soggiorno Primavera
24.68 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 160 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
21.31 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
19.35 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 27 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
31.41 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

536 out of 583 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ciao Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 450 of 563 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHI HIN WONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2014 CHI HIN would recommend this property

Liked: the room and kitchen are clean

Disliked: the hostel is located next to the main road, many cars passed by at nights, so I felt a little bit of noisy when sleeping

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and polite and kind. The rooms were clean, spacious and very nice. I've never been to a hostel that had televisions in the rooms:). I would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Honestly, nothing, everything was good.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location

Disliked: Towels are provided only on the first day of stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: #1 thing about this place is it's location - right near the train station. It's clean, the beds are relatively comfy. Each floor has their own common room with amazing kitchen facilities. No breakfast includes it who cares - plan ahead and spend $2 for eggs at the market e voila! Also has A/C. Would recommend this place.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't the cleanest and each floor with about 10-14 people share two bathrooms. Feint desk guy wasn't the most helpful.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Travis Parolin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Single bed was nice after having bunk beds for most of my stays elsewhere, staff are helpful, outside noise doesn't get in

Disliked: Bathroom floors got really wet for some reason

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Matuszewski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice and quiet hostel, the standard reminds more of a decent budget hotel than a hostel. All main attractions are within a walking distance. There is also a great restaurant nearby, in the san jacopino square.

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Self catering kitchen Liked how each floor was like a small apartment

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good size rooms, near the train station, very clean.

Disliked: No laundry, one bathroom with door that doesn't lock, access through meals area.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is pretty new and you have your own bed (as opposed to a bunk bed). Also lots of storage (but no locks on them so make sure to bring locks for your luggage).

Disliked: Having to carry keys around since staff is not always there.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Frank

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice hostel within walking distance to food, attractions, groceries, and laundry facilities. The building is secure and the rooms were very clean.

Disliked: We liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable sized rooms with facilities and storage for 4 people - ideal for just the one night we stayed there. They also had free wifi, a lift and good air con.

Disliked: No individual night lights near the beds. The floor towels in the bathroom were material meaning they got drenched and dirty after one use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's walking distance from the train station, which is great, and it was really clean and felt almost like a hotel and not a hostel. The fact that I shared a room with 3 people was the only hostel thing about it. There's also a kitchen, which was fantastic.

Disliked: The staff was more or less friendly, though there was one guy who kind of fussed at me for not closing the door behind me. Warning: the front door automatically opens, but apparently doesn't automatically close (which is ridiculous) so you have to close the door behind you. I didn't know this because what kind of stupid door automatically opens but doesn't automatically close? After leaving the door open like 5 times the guy at the front desk *tried* to be polite as he fussed at me to close the door. That was my only qualm, but I mean the staff was friendly enough and I don't really blame him for getting irritated after shutting the door behind me five times.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grace Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really nice and clean and you have your own bed rather than a bunk. The kitchen facilities are really good and we were able to store our bags there for awhile the day we left. We also had our washing hanging outside and the cleaning lady hung it up inside on a clothes horse for us which was really nice to come back to!

Disliked: There are no lockers in the room, I felt my stuff was pretty secure but just to be aware of. Breakfast is not provided and there is not a huge amount of atmosphere or social space.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station, very handy if your stopping over in Florence for a short while. Very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Not close to the main area of Florence, about a 15-20 minute walk. Trains passing were very loud in the morning

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very much like a hotel -- this is an extremely upscale hostel with lots of ammenities.

Disliked: A lack of typical "hostel culture" where one is almost forced to interact with the other backpackers/travelers with corresponding visits.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms,kithcen and toilets. being safe. comfy beds. full equipped kitchen. people in the hostel - both guests and personnel.

Disliked: a little bit far away from the city centre

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a fully equipped kitchen and fridge for residents. The staff at the reception were very helpful and approachable. The hostel was also very well located, being a walkable distance from the central train station and other landmarks in the city.

Disliked: The shared bathroom was a little too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alvin Toh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Alvin would recommend this property

Liked: Peace and quiet. Clean toilets. Cosy atmosphere.

Disliked: Alvin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sydney Williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Sydney would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that there was a kitchen on every floor. Stayed in a private room which was nice because there was no lookers in the share dorms. Three keys to get in made it really very safe. The lift was very nice after a long day of walked and climbing. Would recommend that you should shower at night because the bathroom is cleaner than in the morning. Staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Location was a bit far out from main attractions, but we still able to walk in more than once a day. Only took metro once. Our balcony door didn't close all the way but we were on the third floor so not a huge deal. When it rained the door let in some water causing a minor fluid in our room but staff staying on the floor helped out right away! And took the towels away in the morning as soon as they could.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So far, this has been the best hostel I have stayed in during my travels in Italy. It was very clean and everyone working there was extremely nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend Ciao Hostel to anyone wishing to visit Florence.

Disliked: My one and only complaint about this hostel is that there was no hand soap in the bathrooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and new room with air conditioning, comfortable bed. =)))

Disliked: it's close to the ring road. so it's quite noisy actually..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tsun Ho Lee

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2014 Tsun Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Near the station, nice price

Disliked: lots of mosquitoes, big size and small size....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, and I liked that every floor has it's own kitchen. While it is a bit removed from the big sights they are still all within walking distance. Loved that it was so close to the train station. The hostel is well marked and easy to find. The room had air conditioning so we didn't have to open the windows and let Mosquitos in at nigh. The lady at the front desk was very helpful in answering all my questions.

Disliked: The only reall downside is that there weren't any lockers in the room. There was a key for the main door, the floor, and the room, so I felt safe, but it wish I had a place to lock up my belongings when I went out for the day. Make sure you bring bag locks if you stay here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, kept reception open for us to check in late. Very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jesse Lucero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: It's a host was nice enough to wait after hours for our arrival.

Disliked: could be a little cleaner