HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca

Hostel | Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

78.9% Overall Rating

126 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

"Firendly staff that spoke English fluently, free towels with a refundable 5 Euro deposit."

Read all Hostel Santa Monaca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Franz House
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 326 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
24.88 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 326 reviews
Florence Stay Apartments
38.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Soggiorno Prestipino
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Pablo House Guest House
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 72.4% 14 reviews
Tasso hostel
37.32 USD

Hostel 92.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Pensione Ottaviani
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.4% 94 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
44.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.1% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

126 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Santa Monaca'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 145 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firendly staff that spoke English fluently, free towels with a refundable 5 Euro deposit.

Disliked: Advertised free padlocks but they had run out when I got there (in the early afternoon), so I had to buy one.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Whatley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: I found this hostel fun-- not particularly high standard, but clean with a basic appearance, but still witha a lot of character. I loved the guy on reception- he was very personable and he really added to my experience at the hostel- chat to them if you go. Godo location- about 15 mins walk from the station- and it's a very pretty walk. The beds were bunk beds, with no railings- but I didn't fall out and they were fun to jump up to. Computers for your use. Large bathrooms with good facilities. Great kitchen. Computers for use. Wifi in rooms. RECOMMEND

Disliked: There are a lot of stairs, which were KINDA dangerous, but fun all the same. Just one plug in the 12-bed room, but plenty downstairs in the communal dining area. Additional city tax.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a

Disliked: a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jayne Bond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Jayne would recommend this property

Liked: The size of the rooms, kitchen and dining area where sizeable too made it easier to mix with others

Disliked: Internet connection

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

PUI YI LAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 PUI YI would recommend this property

Liked: The people I met here are nice and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: a bit old and we need to climb to the second floor by stairs .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, stayed in female 16 person dorm, and it was great, met fabulous people, and the rooms were always clean, and they offered a locker that you use for your belongings. The location is really good, just across the bridge from most of the sites, but on the site with the best nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing. Clean and friendly environment.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katherine Gray

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers in the bedrooms were really handy - as was the lovely sun terrace located next to my 22 bed dorm. The location is fantastic - it's next to a square, Spirito, which is great to go for a drink in and has a really lively atmosphere at night. I met some great people there and though a 22 bed dorm sounds a lot, there is lots of space in the corridors to root through your backpack! The building itself is fantastic, lots of steps though so if you aren't too mobile do be careful. The kitchen facilities were superb - pots pans and crockery all provided. You can make a risotto in there quite comfortably!

Disliked: The 2am curfew was a bit annoying, as we wanted to stay out - plus they close the social spaces at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Coelho Mendes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Practical, economical, good facilities

Disliked: The ceiling fan didn't work proplely. The lockers could be bigger

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ho Man Yue

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Ho Man would recommend this property

Liked: Its good.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a great location - close to nice bars, restaurants and the odd cool shop around Santo Spirito, and just over the beautiful bridges to the busier and no doubt less peaceful centre of the city. Staff were helpful and I had everything I needed.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the girls' bathrooms had no ventilation - it was permanently hot, steamy and a bit stinky in there! But they were clean which is the main thing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sheradyn Dekker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Sheradyn would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, close to everything and a pleasant stay.

Disliked: The opera next door one night was quite loud, and the room is very light.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2013

Liked: Staff is friendly but not solving the wifi problem.

Disliked: We should be able to charge anything in the room...not by leaving it with reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff. Good location, right off the bridge and within walking distance to all the main tourist sites. Includes a luggage room and guest kitchen.

Disliked: The bathroom was dorm-style and consisted of six showers for the whole hostel. It wasn't too bad waiting for a shower, if you showered at the right time and avoided peak hours. There was only one outlet in a dorm for 22 people, which was inconvenient. Wi-Fi is pretty slow and spotty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staaf, cleanliness, big eating room, good atmosphere... we liked this place

Disliked: the kitchen was not very equipied there was no living room

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: location bad

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was nice and the building itself was interesting because it was a former monastery. Not too far from the major sights, but in a quiet area. The front staff guy at night was very helpful and recommended a good and cheap pizzeria nearby.

Disliked: Not much community life - it was pretty hard meeting people. At 8pm all the lights go out and then come back on at a very low level as "night lights." They were so low that I couldn't read a map in my room unless I was standing directly under the light - and even then it was hard. Found a weird bug crawling around in my sheets when I was checking out. So many stairs! Wasn't really a problem for me, but was for a few other people when the halls were incredibly narrow as well.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location.

Disliked: Lockers in our room didn't work although the staff did offer to store valuable for us. The kitchen only has two portable burners and one was not working while we were there so there was often a queue to use them.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefanie Prossinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice building, lacking a bit of character but overall not a bad value for money. The place they recommend for dinner (tiny restaurant near the hostel where you have to obtain a membership card first) is awesome!

Disliked: Lock out during the day and closure during the night :-(

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet.

Disliked: There were only two cooking rings in the kitchen, so if it was busy there was a bit of a wait to get a turn. Although the reception closed at night inconsiderate backpackers were allowed to stay up in the communal area without curfew. This unfortunately led to alot of noise outside dorm rooms until late and then them stumbling into the dorm at 2.30am, without consideration for those trying to sleep. I know this has more to do with individuals selfish behaviour, but I would have liked staff to have been more proactive in dealing with late night noise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, the maps they supply are great and they recommend great restaurants. The rooms are pretty secure with good sized lockers. Rooms, bathrooms and sheets are nice and clean.

Disliked: No air con in the rooms made it very hot at night but there were fans that were on most of the time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012

Liked: you felt like your stuff was safe

Disliked: in the end of june it was way way too hot for sleeping - one fan in a room that felt about 30 degrees all night with a dozen people in it. not much atmosphere, didnt find it a great place to go to as a solo traveller

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jamie Birmingham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to walk to the main sights of Florence. Staff were always happy to help with any issues and was good value for Italy in peak-season. Seemed fairly clean.

Disliked: Dorm was crammed with beds which made it very hot. Only one(?) plug socket in a dorm of 22 people.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erin Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel, felt safe, friendly hostelmates.

Disliked: being on top bunk and room door was hard to open/unlock.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brooke Chudleigh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: It had a large kitchen and eating area so it was good to meet people. The location was great and easy to find. The gelato place two streets back on the bridge is amazing. The staff were friednly and very easy to communicate withwhich made it an enjoyable stay.

Disliked: It isn't as personal because it is a massive hostel with no aircon but that is a minor minor issue

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

raquel santos

Alone

City break

24 July 2012

Liked: staff

Disliked: yes it's true that the staff is polite and helpful. but what is the point of having a great staff if you can't sleep at night? i stayed in the 16-bed female dorm. be aware, in the summer time you will not be able to sleep. the window is locked, i believe due to outside noise. the 2 ceiling fans are not nearly enough for a 16 bed room. not only they are not enough but they were barely working. i swear it's really bad. i tried everything, even dumping my bedsheets in cold water and still could not sleep. even if it was free, i would not spend another night there. what's the point in paying 18 euros and not being able to sleep? the point of hostel is that you can get a good night of sleep.