We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca

Hostel | Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

80.8% Overall Rating

154 out of 180 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

James Cunningham thinks…

"Atmosphere was great, I turned up alone and by the first night was drinking with loads of the other people staying there, the kitchen and big common area makes it very easy to meet people. Staff were…"

Read all Hostel Santa Monaca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Franz House
33.40 USD

Guesthouse 94.1% 331 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
20.04 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 341 reviews
Florence Stay Apartments
31.17 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Pablo House Guest House
27.83 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 22 reviews
Tasso hostel
30.06 USD

Hostel 91.3% 79 reviews
Hotel Pensione Ottaviani
15.59 USD

Hotel 1 star 66.3% 112 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
35.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 25 reviews
Tourist House
43.97 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

154 out of 180 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Santa Monaca'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 176 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, big common area and staff is helpful

Disliked: Extremely hot during the summer, no Fan. The access to the rooms is a bit complicated if you have big luggage. There is toooo many beds on the rooms, so very reduce personal space.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Landry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity

Disliked: They lock the rooms at 10:30am. Way to early. Should be at like 11:30am, at least. Most travellers I met do as I do stay up late and sleep in. Only 10% of the pop get up before 10am.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Cunningham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 James would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was great, I turned up alone and by the first night was drinking with loads of the other people staying there, the kitchen and big common area makes it very easy to meet people. Staff were really chilled.

Disliked: The room could get rather hot at night - though I did stay at the very height of summer, I would have slept better if there was some kind of air con. Also the toilets were a bit of a walk, I thought especially a 22bed room might have its own.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect. It was close to the main sights. The hostel itself has a lot of character. Staff was really friendly and welcoming and the property was clean throughout. Lockers are available which is always a plus when staying in a hostel. Bedsheets were fresh clean. Kitchen was big enough with all the equipment you need.

Disliked: Perhaps because it is a big hostel with a lot of space people don't talk to each other much so there is not much of an atmosphere there. I'd like to recomment getting another fridge for the kitchen. Also our 10-bed dormitory was very hot as only a simple fen for such a big room was provided which was not sufficient.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk was helpful

Disliked: No elevator - It was hard getting my luggage upstairs to my room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a really interesting building, I think I converted convent. It's location is wonderful (just have to walk down a street and across the bridge and you're in the center) and staff were friendly enough. Lots of space in the room I was in, at least, despite the number of people. Clean enough, with decent sized lockers.

Disliked: These are all minor, but I wasn't a fan of the bed: I was on the top bunk with no frame, and as someone who moves in my sleep, it was a little scary. There wasn't a ladder although a stool was provided (I assume to be used as a step to get into the bed?) Also, for some reason, my locker was on the opposite side of the room to my bed. Just mine, I have no idea why. There were only two rows of plugs in the room itself, but it didn't matter because you could just go to the kitchen/dining area and use the ones there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2015

Liked: Spacious. You can leave luggages. Big fridge. Kitchen as what you need. 2 doors away from grocery.

Disliked: Far away from city center, but yet walkable/bikable. WIFI SUCK. You have to use the very slow computers(2). The 22 bed dorms are ok, I don't like the type of sheets. Terrace = 4 chairs place. The showers are nasty and very humide (no fan), very small shower (cold), no place to change. Nasty bathrooms in general (just the toilets are neat ). I survived sleeping there, but would not recommand or go again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Clarke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near hip piazza santo spirito. Huge clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have a proper conference room with couches. But all in all I didn't have any real complaints

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agneta Runkel

Alone

City break

20 April 2015 Agneta would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was special. It was very clean. The location was great. The supermarket is next door so it doesn't really matter that they don't offer breakfast.

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paloma Opazo Reyes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2014 Paloma would recommend this property

Liked: I think the best thing about this place is that it's really really cheap, compared to other hostels. To me location and price are key features, and this hostel has both. After a 10 min walk you can find the best touristic places in Florence, and I couldn't ask for more.

Disliked: I didn't dislike it, but you need to consider that the place used to be a convent, so the architecture of the place it's like that. Really old, really gray, not many friendly spaces, but it depends on what you are looking for. You feel in an (old) boarding school at times because of the showers, the rooms and the dining room, but it's clean, and the staff is friendly.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

YIING MUN KHIM

Alone

City break

12 September 2014 YIING MUN would recommend this property

Liked: Quite

Disliked: Unnecessary staircase. Do not place female dorm next to male wash room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kiriah Shead

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Kiriah would recommend this property

Liked: There were lockers in the rooms, I stayed in the 16bed dorm and had no problems. The common eating area is big, opportunities to meet people though not much atmosphere. It is in a good location, an easy walk to all the main attractions.

Disliked: The kitchen was basic, utensils and plates were minimal and you had to just make do with what was there.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sean Gray

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2014

Liked: Nice staff, typical hostel with nice people to meet, free wifi, excelent location

Disliked: I go to a hostel to sleep and I slept terribly because it was horribly warm and stuffy in our dorm and I received plenty of mosquito bites. I went to Tasso hostel last year and I wish I had payed the extra 10 euros for a good night's sleep. But if you really have to save money I guess this is an OK option.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kristie Koo

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Kristie would recommend this property

Liked: pretty spacious room for 10 people, 24 hour reception is always great

Disliked: the bathroom wasn't super clean but I was only there for a night so it was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HSU CHAO PENG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

25 July 2014 HSU CHAO would recommend this property

Liked: 台灣港澳的朋友來這間住就對了!這邊有自行車可以租,漫遊佛羅倫斯阿

Disliked: Thereis no air condition in the room, but it's ok

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. walking distance to everything. Lady working here this morning was really nice. Average cleanliness. Have computers and lockers

Disliked: stupid early check-out (9am)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good services, kitchen to use, patio, laundry, wifi, female only rooms, lockers in room (just bring your own lock)

Disliked: Bunk beds but at least they were comfee Lack of plug ins

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only a walk away from all the attractions in Florence. Has a kitchen for use with everything you'd need - toaster, kettle, stove, microwave. Right next door to a supermarket which is handy. Nice and accommodating reception staff.

Disliked: Rooms are really hot, only fans so in the heat of Summer you really feel it. Barely any power points in the whole hostel - one in the room and only about 6 in the common room - for a hostel of so many people this isn't enough. Bathrooms were oddly placed and rooms were difficult to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ayla Hedrich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Ayla would recommend this property

Liked: I thought this hostel had a great location! You can easily walk to all of the attractions from here. At night they showed fifa which I loved! Whati I probably loved the most was how friendly the staff were especialy Ida! Ida was always in a good mood and was always able to answer all of our questions. She is just a lovely person! They also give you locks and towels for a 5 euro deposit each. When you leave you just give them back and you get your money back. Essentially it's a free towel and lock to use. I would recomend this hostel:-)

Disliked: The wifi isn't that great and for pretty much 20 euros a night in a 16 bed female dorm I would atleast expect some good wifi. Also the showers had no door it was just a curtain and there wasn't anywhere in the shower that you could hang your stuff so you had to hang it outside of the shower.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The communal areas and facilities were excellent here. Washing machine, dryer, two fridges and lots of cooking equipment and utensils. Also has a large dining room with plugs and a tv which showed the World Cup games while we were here which was fun. I can't speak for the guys, but there is a sort of shower/toilet block for the girls with a good number of toilets and showers. The wifi is great and the staff are really nice. Also in a great location, not that far at all to walk from the train station and to all the main attractions. They also give you a free map which is a life saver! I'd definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Only problem would have to be that there are no plugs in the rooms so you have to charge your phones/cameras etc in the dining room. Also, noise could be a problem. We were in a dorm of 22 and it could get quite disruptive in the morning with people rustling about. And there was a school trip here who were so noisy well into the night and early in the morning. It's not the hostels fault, and I slept better here than any other smalle dorm I've been in, but yeah, if you're a light sleeper, you might struggle.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Vassallo

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: Very well organized space eg big sinks with a lot of shelving in bathroom lots of hooks and soap holder inside shower. Good make up mirror for people with glasses (no long distance from mirror) full length mirror in bathroom and quite clean considering amount of people using shower at same time. Beds ok and safe in bedroom good as well 😎 quite environment supermarket next door makes life easy and bus stop as well . Thanks for free towel and linen

Disliked: Bathroom too hot some toilet seats broken kitchen usually lacks forks knives and teaspoons. To say the truth next morning after i reported lack of utensils there were some plastic knives etc there. Something harder to scrub dishes with could make life easier. A kettle could also be handy

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maciej Studniarz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Maciej would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap as for Florentian standards Kitchen and luggage room for guests Very close to Arno and the city centre, mini-market just near a hostel

Disliked: Fans working during the first night were quite disturbing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Margo Gervais

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: Directions to get there could've been a little more clear. Especially when your from another country, the more detail, the better!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firendly staff that spoke English fluently, free towels with a refundable 5 Euro deposit.

Disliked: Advertised free padlocks but they had run out when I got there (in the early afternoon), so I had to buy one.