HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca

Hostel | Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

83.5% Overall Rating

139 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

Kiriah Shead thinks…

"There were lockers in the rooms, I stayed in the 16bed dorm and had no problems. The common eating area is big, opportunities to meet people though not much atmosphere. It is in a good location, an…"

Read all Hostel Santa Monaca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Franz House
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 328 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 332 reviews
Florence Stay Apartments
35.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Soggiorno Prestipino
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Pablo House Guest House
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 75.6% 19 reviews
Tasso hostel
37.95 USD

Hostel 91.9% 66 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
32.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.7% 24 reviews
Tourist House
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

139 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Santa Monaca'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 160 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adnan Tariq

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Adnan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the best thing about this hostel. Very friendly, polite & helpful. The location is excellent as well, near the station & most of the important places in Florence. Wi-Fi is free, so that's another plus, & they have a kitchen, washing machine & vending machines. They also give bikes for rent at low rates, but be VERY careful that you lock your bike securely wherever you park as it can go missing in an instant otherwise. Happened with me & I ended up paying a very heavy penalty to the Hostel!

Disliked: I guess not getting breakfast here & rooms being closed 10am - 2pm for cleaning were the only two downsides here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Loes Knopper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Loes would recommend this property

Liked: - The location was wonderful! It is on the main island, about 5-10 minutes from San Marco square. The hostel little hard to find, but as other people have commented: everything is in Venice! A good map helps a little bit, but it's still a hard job finding it in all those narrow streets. - The fan in the room keeping the light out at night. - Kitchen was good and nice for meeting people

Disliked: - There was only 1 bathroom for all the guests (about 12 people I think). That means you had to be a little quick in the mornings, but I'm used to that so for me it was no problem. - The rooms were also very noisy, if people were just talking in the kitchen, you could hear it very good in the bedrooms. - They charge you for all kinds of extra stuff: linnen (5 euros), 'service charge' (3 euros a day), luggage storage after check-out (5 euros)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just ok

Disliked: The last floor is like a laberint

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: nothing at all just maybe the helpfullness of the staff

Disliked: the rooms were without windows. the air conditioning was very poor, the dorms were unfashioned and the lockers were small. bathrooms were not enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center of town.

Disliked: Beds were extremely close together.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

AYANORI NODA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 AYANORI would recommend this property

Liked: location is good. It is easy to go to eat or to see something...

Disliked: little bit hot... in this season

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: The staff is really nice, they always helped me when i asked.

Disliked: The room is really hot, the lockers are too small and the only fresh area in the hostel, the terrace,closes too early.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a large common room.

Disliked: The "full guest kitchen" was actually just 4 hot plates and a fridge.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, laundromat across the street!

Disliked: Really stuffy and hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and walking distance to the centre and train station

Disliked: The cheaper rooms are shared with a lot of people, I think it's worth paying a bit more for a smaller room as someone else has said in another review.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best- organised hostel ever!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and the bathroom were clean. We had access to the kitchen.

Disliked: They don't offer breakfast.. and unless we have not look well, it's hard to find something close for a little breakfast.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011

Liked: nothing really..

Disliked: the staff is extremely rude and unfriendly, the showers were disgusting, the coffee machine doesn't return change. it was an awful experience. i spent one night there and then moved to another hostel where everything is so much better. awful place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very social, good location, good rooms, and good staff!

Disliked: the bathroom was extremely far away from the room, and none of the bathrooms had soap by the sinks

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful and friendly, free wi fi was cool. Perfect place to meet other travellers. Well situated just south of the river close enough to the centre for the walk to be enjoyable but far enough that the restaurants and shops in the immediate area were reasonable priced

Disliked: Rooms are closed between 10am and 2pm. Although not a major issue it would have been nice to be able to access my things during this period and have a long lie in. Kitchen is quite small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from most touristic places, staff was very helpful, big room en-suite and quite clean.

Disliked: The shower enclosures would be better with doors instead of courtains.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the big dining room- lots of room to spread out - and the free wifi was great. The staff were generally helpful, and the rooms were satisfactory. And like everywhere in Florence, the location was good.

Disliked: Had a bad night in a 20 person dorm - the smaller rooms are definitely worth the extra euros. Also, we were not informed about the fact that we needed to vacate the premises during the middle of the day, and when 11 o'clock rolled around were booted unceremoniously from the room, rather than asked politely to leave.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011

Liked: Cheap!

Disliked: We had the 23 beds dorm... It wasn't very clean, the washroom was kinda gross...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We arrived 2 hours before we could get into our room and they let us keep our bags in a locked room while we walked around until we could check in. They even let us keep our bags there after we checked out until we had to leave for our train. They offer lockers in the rooms so you can keep your stuff safe, for only a 5 euro deposit that you get back when you return the lock. They have a kitchen with a big fridge, vending machines, and a nice size common room, and a terrace. We met some really cool people hanging out there. They have 2 computers and a printer which was helpful when I needed to print my train ticket. It's only about a 15 minute walk from the center of Florence.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that you have to be in by 2AM. We went to a club and didn't make it in by 2 so you have to wait until 6 AM when they open back up. So if you're young and plan on going out, either plan to get home early or stay out til 6, which isn't too hard to do. You also have to be out of your room between the hours of 10 and 2. so if you're staying multiple days make sure you keep that in mind.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John O'Callaghan

Alone

Events / festivals

07 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is honestly described in their advertising. Also all of the facilities offered were easily accessible and the staff where happy to help. Secondly I got caught in a massive hail storm and was in danger of missing out as I was only in Florence for one day, I explained this to a staff member and she lent me a spare umbrella free of charge out of kindness.

Disliked: I was only there one night and found nothing to dislike at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good facilities in general.

Disliked: No breakfast offer

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its ok

Disliked: The lockers could be better.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

16 May 2011

Liked: Meet people

Disliked: bad reception and dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Not much character in the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was large and had large common area. Good location.

Disliked: It is next to an opera house, and they have concerts regularly. Difficult to go to bed before 11.