We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca

Hostel | Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

82.3% Overall Rating

150 out of 176 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2015)

"The location is perfect. It was close to the main sights. The hostel itself has a lot of character. Staff was really friendly and welcoming and the property was clean throughout. Lockers are available which is always a…"

Read all Hostel Santa Monaca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Franz House
30.12 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 330 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
19.72 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 341 reviews
Florence Stay Apartments
30.67 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Pablo House Guest House
27.38 USD

Guesthouse 76.5% 22 reviews
Tasso hostel
29.57 USD

Hostel 89.9% 77 reviews
Hotel Pensione Ottaviani
19.72 USD

Hotel 1 star 67.2% 111 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
27.38 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 25 reviews
Tourist House
39.43 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 305 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

150 out of 176 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Santa Monaca'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 172 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Good location, quite close to the central station. Free wifi, although you had to get a ticket from reception that needed to be 'recharged'. Kitchen was decent sized, although there was only one hot plate to cook food. Fridges had plenty of room.

Disliked: Unfortunately there were bed bugs in my bed. I suffered a pretty bad allergic reaction, and as a result had swelling and rashes all over me. The hostel said it was just mosquitoes (definitely bed bugs) but they still changed my room and also washed my clothes for free (which seems an odd thing to so if t was mosquitoes, but oh well). Also, the lock out from 10-2 was annoying. The staff always came in and kicked you out, even if you were just in the bed and not in the way of them cleaning at all. Also there was one member of the cleaning staff, a man, who was so rude and aggressive it was almost scary. He would come in shouting and muttering in Italian, he was terrible! But ultimately it was an okay stay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and friendly staff

Disliked: Not clean and messy kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, within walking distance to all the big sites. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Curfew! And the room lock out between 10 and 2.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011

Liked: S

Disliked: E

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Hampson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice and helpful. It was also within walking distance of everything in the heart of downtown.

Disliked: The toilets are limited and on the other side of the building. I literally had to walk across the building and up two flights of stairs to get to the toilet. Im easy going but this may be problematic for other people. And there was never any toilet paper over the course of my two nights there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dickson Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Dickson would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently located. for males, good number of showers and toilets. unfortunately, no hangers. hence be creative. (for females, unfortunately, not enough showers and toilets). otherwise great stay.

Disliked: nothing, u pay what u get. more rooms = cheaper = noisier

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great size common area and bag store with good size kitchen. Helpful front desk staff, close to town centre and supermarkets! Good sized bathrooms and lots of showers and toilets. Good lockers.

Disliked: They lock the hostel dorm room for around four hours to "clean the rooms" the room itself was fine, however under my bed was full of dust, rubbish and hair, im not a fussy bloke and had i been able to access my room in the day i wouldnt be saying this. Four hours for cleaning, but cleaning what?! Hot room with one fan.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bicycle hire.

Disliked: Really hot rooms in summer

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adnan Tariq

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Adnan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the best thing about this hostel. Very friendly, polite & helpful. The location is excellent as well, near the station & most of the important places in Florence. Wi-Fi is free, so that's another plus, & they have a kitchen, washing machine & vending machines. They also give bikes for rent at low rates, but be VERY careful that you lock your bike securely wherever you park as it can go missing in an instant otherwise. Happened with me & I ended up paying a very heavy penalty to the Hostel!

Disliked: I guess not getting breakfast here & rooms being closed 10am - 2pm for cleaning were the only two downsides here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Loes Knopper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Loes would recommend this property

Liked: - The location was wonderful! It is on the main island, about 5-10 minutes from San Marco square. The hostel little hard to find, but as other people have commented: everything is in Venice! A good map helps a little bit, but it's still a hard job finding it in all those narrow streets. - The fan in the room keeping the light out at night. - Kitchen was good and nice for meeting people

Disliked: - There was only 1 bathroom for all the guests (about 12 people I think). That means you had to be a little quick in the mornings, but I'm used to that so for me it was no problem. - The rooms were also very noisy, if people were just talking in the kitchen, you could hear it very good in the bedrooms. - They charge you for all kinds of extra stuff: linnen (5 euros), 'service charge' (3 euros a day), luggage storage after check-out (5 euros)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just ok

Disliked: The last floor is like a laberint

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: nothing at all just maybe the helpfullness of the staff

Disliked: the rooms were without windows. the air conditioning was very poor, the dorms were unfashioned and the lockers were small. bathrooms were not enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center of town.

Disliked: Beds were extremely close together.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

AYANORI NODA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 AYANORI would recommend this property

Liked: location is good. It is easy to go to eat or to see something...

Disliked: little bit hot... in this season

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: The staff is really nice, they always helped me when i asked.

Disliked: The room is really hot, the lockers are too small and the only fresh area in the hostel, the terrace,closes too early.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a large common room.

Disliked: The "full guest kitchen" was actually just 4 hot plates and a fridge.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, laundromat across the street!

Disliked: Really stuffy and hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and walking distance to the centre and train station

Disliked: The cheaper rooms are shared with a lot of people, I think it's worth paying a bit more for a smaller room as someone else has said in another review.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best- organised hostel ever!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and the bathroom were clean. We had access to the kitchen.

Disliked: They don't offer breakfast.. and unless we have not look well, it's hard to find something close for a little breakfast.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011

Liked: nothing really..

Disliked: the staff is extremely rude and unfriendly, the showers were disgusting, the coffee machine doesn't return change. it was an awful experience. i spent one night there and then moved to another hostel where everything is so much better. awful place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very social, good location, good rooms, and good staff!

Disliked: the bathroom was extremely far away from the room, and none of the bathrooms had soap by the sinks

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful and friendly, free wi fi was cool. Perfect place to meet other travellers. Well situated just south of the river close enough to the centre for the walk to be enjoyable but far enough that the restaurants and shops in the immediate area were reasonable priced

Disliked: Rooms are closed between 10am and 2pm. Although not a major issue it would have been nice to be able to access my things during this period and have a long lie in. Kitchen is quite small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from most touristic places, staff was very helpful, big room en-suite and quite clean.

Disliked: The shower enclosures would be better with doors instead of courtains.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the big dining room- lots of room to spread out - and the free wifi was great. The staff were generally helpful, and the rooms were satisfactory. And like everywhere in Florence, the location was good.

Disliked: Had a bad night in a 20 person dorm - the smaller rooms are definitely worth the extra euros. Also, we were not informed about the fact that we needed to vacate the premises during the middle of the day, and when 11 o'clock rolled around were booted unceremoniously from the room, rather than asked politely to leave.