HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca

Hostel | Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

78.9% Overall Rating

126 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

"Firendly staff that spoke English fluently, free towels with a refundable 5 Euro deposit."

Read all Hostel Santa Monaca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Franz House
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 326 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
24.88 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 326 reviews
Florence Stay Apartments
38.70 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Soggiorno Prestipino
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Pablo House Guest House
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 72.4% 14 reviews
Tasso hostel
37.32 USD

Hostel 92.5% 30 reviews
Hotel Pensione Ottaviani
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.4% 94 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
44.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.1% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

126 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Santa Monaca'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 145 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very social, good location, good rooms, and good staff!

Disliked: the bathroom was extremely far away from the room, and none of the bathrooms had soap by the sinks

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful and friendly, free wi fi was cool. Perfect place to meet other travellers. Well situated just south of the river close enough to the centre for the walk to be enjoyable but far enough that the restaurants and shops in the immediate area were reasonable priced

Disliked: Rooms are closed between 10am and 2pm. Although not a major issue it would have been nice to be able to access my things during this period and have a long lie in. Kitchen is quite small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from most touristic places, staff was very helpful, big room en-suite and quite clean.

Disliked: The shower enclosures would be better with doors instead of courtains.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the big dining room- lots of room to spread out - and the free wifi was great. The staff were generally helpful, and the rooms were satisfactory. And like everywhere in Florence, the location was good.

Disliked: Had a bad night in a 20 person dorm - the smaller rooms are definitely worth the extra euros. Also, we were not informed about the fact that we needed to vacate the premises during the middle of the day, and when 11 o'clock rolled around were booted unceremoniously from the room, rather than asked politely to leave.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011

Liked: Cheap!

Disliked: We had the 23 beds dorm... It wasn't very clean, the washroom was kinda gross...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We arrived 2 hours before we could get into our room and they let us keep our bags in a locked room while we walked around until we could check in. They even let us keep our bags there after we checked out until we had to leave for our train. They offer lockers in the rooms so you can keep your stuff safe, for only a 5 euro deposit that you get back when you return the lock. They have a kitchen with a big fridge, vending machines, and a nice size common room, and a terrace. We met some really cool people hanging out there. They have 2 computers and a printer which was helpful when I needed to print my train ticket. It's only about a 15 minute walk from the center of Florence.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that you have to be in by 2AM. We went to a club and didn't make it in by 2 so you have to wait until 6 AM when they open back up. So if you're young and plan on going out, either plan to get home early or stay out til 6, which isn't too hard to do. You also have to be out of your room between the hours of 10 and 2. so if you're staying multiple days make sure you keep that in mind.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John O'Callaghan

Alone

Events / festivals

07 June 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is honestly described in their advertising. Also all of the facilities offered were easily accessible and the staff where happy to help. Secondly I got caught in a massive hail storm and was in danger of missing out as I was only in Florence for one day, I explained this to a staff member and she lent me a spare umbrella free of charge out of kindness.

Disliked: I was only there one night and found nothing to dislike at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good facilities in general.

Disliked: No breakfast offer

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its ok

Disliked: The lockers could be better.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

16 May 2011

Liked: Meet people

Disliked: bad reception and dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Not much character in the rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was large and had large common area. Good location.

Disliked: It is next to an opera house, and they have concerts regularly. Difficult to go to bed before 11.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap

Disliked: no breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Bell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: This was the second time I'd stayed at Santa Monaca, and it was great! Friendly staff, good kitchen facilities, lockers, internet, and on the more Italian side of Florence so you get away from the tourist stuff. The heart of the city is just across the river, about a 10 minute walk.

Disliked: Bed bugs...not so good, but it's getting to be that time of year, so what can you do?

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice kitchen, good location, staff helpful

Disliked: Not enough shower and toilet facilities. Large school/college groups meant it was very noisy at night as they tended to congregate outside dorms and went to bed late. The leaders were the worse as they were always shouting at the youngsters!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lilian Angus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Lilian would recommend this property

Liked: Room was nice and spacious and staff were really helpful. Is really close to all sights as well.

Disliked: Lost some perfume. It was in my room and disappeared. When I asked about it .i.e if it had been broken by accident or if anyone had seen it a bit evasive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yue wan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011 yue would recommend this property

Liked: i met one guy who's working in reception,and he's very friendly and helpful with my plan

Disliked: the room was freeze during the night,the heater was not working

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice clean friendly place. A little Spartan but so you definately got that 'used to be a convent' vibe. Very clean for a hostel. Showers were hot with good pressure and the kitchen facillities were good. Was walking distance to eveything. A nice clean quiet place to stay.

Disliked: The directions to the hostel taking the bus were wrong. The no 11 bus was running an ulternate route. Lucky I wasn't too far away when I realised but walking back mildly lost in the rain was not a good way to arrive in Florence. Other than that my only complaint was a minor issue with the fact the showers had curtains but no doors however in a same se. Bathroom it hardly mattered.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a big common area room and a nice kitchen.

Disliked: It's kind of a labyrinth to get around but pretty neat none the less.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to meet people and stay in and have dinner.

Disliked: kitchen not big enough for everyone to use. too many people trying to cook at once. i was cold in bed every night. so stupid that the rooms and bathrooms are locked between 10am-2pm. means you HAVE to be out of bed and showered and cannot get into the rooms to get your stuff if you need it between those hours. so inconvenient.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valery Miskevich

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2010 Valery would recommend this property

Liked: Many available facilities. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Valery left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

David Lodge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2010

Liked: Good Kitchen that is open all day and big common room to meet fellow travellers. Very cheap as well and you don't get charged for sheets. Short walk to major sites and a supermarket, bakery and cheap restaurants just around the corner. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: The lock out is way to early - you have to be out of the dorms by 10am and can't get back in until 2pm. There is a night curfew of 2am which isn't too bad but crap if you want to see the night life. The showers are pretty bad and water is almost always covering the floor in the bathrooms. The wi-fi connection is terrible and constantly connects and then disconnects.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Soledad Venier

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010 Soledad would recommend this property

Liked: Cerca del centro. Pero es Florencia, todo está cerca del centro!!

Disliked: No tienen desayuno y la conexión a internet es sumamente lenta e incómoda.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Cox

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2010 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. And the stuff was very sweet.

Disliked: Wi-Fi was not strong wherever I tried it. The whole place was a little anti-social. And curfew was a major bummer.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and central, very friendly staff, common kitchen.

Disliked: No breakfirst.