HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca Florence Hostel

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 81%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

ATTENTION PLEASE!
Starting from the 1st of July 2011 the Florence CITY TAX is not INCLUDED in the price of your bed according to the City Council resolution n. 230/33.
The amount is 1'50 EURO PER PERSON PER NIGHT and its payable directly in cash at the reception during check-in.


The reservation can be cancelled
or changed only by e-mail or fax at least 48H before the day of arrival (by 12 am of the day before)
After that time limit the cost of the first night will be charged on the credit card for NO-SHOW.
Check-in can be done between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. .
After that time the reservation will be completely cancelled and the cost
of the first night will be charged on the credit card for NO-SHOW.

Check-in can be done between 6 a.m. And 2 a.m.
Rooms are available at 2 pm.
For arrivals prior to 2pm it's possible to use luggage room, kitchen and common room.
Dormitory rooms are closed between 10 am and 2 pm for cleaning.
Check-out is at 10 am

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 81%

Safety 79%

Staff 85%

Value 76%

Showing 21-30 of 42 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's in a really interesting building, I think I converted convent. It's location is wonderful (just have to walk down a street and across the bridge and you're in the center) and staff were friendly enough. Lots of space in the room I was in, at least, despite the number of people. Clean enough, with decent sized lockers.

Disliked: These are all minor, but I wasn't a fan of the bed: I was on the top bunk with no frame, and as someone who moves in my sleep, it was a little scary. There wasn't a ladder although a stool was provided (I assume to be used as a step to get into the bed?) Also, for some reason, my locker was on the opposite side of the room to my bed. Just mine, I have no idea why. There were only two rows of plugs in the room itself, but it didn't matter because you could just go to the kitchen/dining area and use the ones there.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Quite

Disliked: Unnecessary staircase.Do not place female dorm next to male wash room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice staff, typical hostel with nice people to meet, free wifi, excelent location

Disliked: I go to a hostel to sleep and I slept terribly because it was horribly warm and stuffy in our dorm and I received plenty of mosquito bites. I went to Tasso hostel last year and I wish I had payed the extra 10 euros for a good night's sleep. But if you really have to save money I guess this is an OK option.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: pretty spacious room for 10 people, 24 hour reception is always great

Disliked: the bathroom wasn't super clean but I was only there for a night so it was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There were lockers in the rooms, I stayed in the 16bed dorm and had no problems. The common eating area is big, opportunities to meet people though not much atmosphere. It is in a good location, an easy walk to all the main attractions.

Disliked: The kitchen was basic, utensils and plates were minimal and you had to just make do with what was there.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa

Liked: 台灣港澳的朋友來這間住就對了!這邊有自行車可以租,漫遊佛羅倫斯阿

Disliked: Thereis no air condition in the room, but it's ok

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great location. walking distance to everything.Lady working here this morning was really nice.Average cleanliness.Have computers and lockers

Disliked: stupid early check-out (9am)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap and good services, kitchen to use, patio, laundry, wifi, female only rooms, lockers in room (just bring your own lock)

Disliked: Bunk beds but at least they were comfee Lack of plug ins

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only a walk away from all the attractions in Florence. Has a kitchen for use with everything you'd need - toaster, kettle, stove, microwave. Right next door to a supermarket which is handy. Nice and accommodating reception staff.

Disliked: Rooms are really hot, only fans so in the heat of Summer you really feel it. Barely any power points in the whole hostel - one in the room and only about 6 in the common room - for a hostel of so many people this isn't enough. Bathrooms were oddly placed and rooms were difficult to find.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I thought this hostel had a great location! You can easily walk to all of the attractions from here. At night they showed fifa which I loved! Whati I probably loved the most was how friendly the staff were especialy Ida! Ida was always in a good mood and was always able to answer all of our questions. She is just a lovely person! They also give you locks and towels for a 5 euro deposit each. When you leave you just give them back and you get your money back. Essentially it's a free towel and lock to use. I would recomend this hostel:-)

Disliked: The wifi isn't that great and for pretty much 20 euros a night in a 16 bed female dorm I would atleast expect some good wifi. Also the showers had no door it was just a curtain and there wasn't anywhere in the shower that you could hang your stuff so you had to hang it outside of the shower.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability