HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca Florence Hostel

Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 84%

Safety 80%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

ATTENTION PLEASE!
Starting from the 1st of July 2011 the Florence CITY TAX is not INCLUDED in the price of your bed according to the City Council resolution n. 230/33.
The amount is 1'50 EURO PER PERSON PER NIGHT and its payable directly in cash at the reception during check-in.


The reservation can be cancelled
or changed only by e-mail or fax at least 48H before the day of arrival (by 12 am of the day before)
After that time limit the cost of the first night will be charged on the credit card for NO-SHOW.
Check-in can be done between 6 a.m. and 2 a.m. .
After that time the reservation will be completely cancelled and the cost
of the first night will be charged on the credit card for NO-SHOW.

Check-in can be done between 6 a.m. And 2 a.m.
Rooms are available at 2 pm.
For arrivals prior to 2pm it's possible to use luggage room, kitchen and common room.
Dormitory rooms are closed between 10 am and 2 pm for cleaning.
Check-out is at 10 am

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 77%

Location 84%

Safety 80%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 21-30 of 44 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The front desk was helpful

Disliked: No elevator - It was hard getting my luggage upstairs to my room

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Spacious. You can leave luggages. Big fridge. Kitchen as what you need. 2 doors away from grocery.

Disliked: Far away from city center, but yet walkable/bikable. WIFI SUCK. You have to use the very slow computers(2). The 22 bed dorms are ok, I don't like the type of sheets. Terrace = 4 chairs place. The showers are nasty and very humide (no fan), very small shower (cold), no place to change. Nasty bathrooms in general (just the toilets are neat ). I survived sleeping there, but would not recommand or go again.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location near hip piazza santo spirito. Huge clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have a proper conference room with couches. But all in all I didn't have any real complaints

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The bathrooms

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was special. It was very clean. The location was great. The supermarket is next door so it doesn't really matter that they don't offer breakfast.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It's in a really interesting building, I think I converted convent. It's location is wonderful (just have to walk down a street and across the bridge and you're in the center) and staff were friendly enough. Lots of space in the room I was in, at least, despite the number of people. Clean enough, with decent sized lockers.

Disliked: These are all minor, but I wasn't a fan of the bed: I was on the top bunk with no frame, and as someone who moves in my sleep, it was a little scary. There wasn't a ladder although a stool was provided (I assume to be used as a step to get into the bed?) Also, for some reason, my locker was on the opposite side of the room to my bed. Just mine, I have no idea why. There were only two rows of plugs in the room itself, but it didn't matter because you could just go to the kitchen/dining area and use the ones there.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Quite

Disliked: Unnecessary staircase.Do not place female dorm next to male wash room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice staff, typical hostel with nice people to meet, free wifi, excelent location

Disliked: I go to a hostel to sleep and I slept terribly because it was horribly warm and stuffy in our dorm and I received plenty of mosquito bites. I went to Tasso hostel last year and I wish I had payed the extra 10 euros for a good night's sleep. But if you really have to save money I guess this is an OK option.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: pretty spacious room for 10 people, 24 hour reception is always great

Disliked: the bathroom wasn't super clean but I was only there for a night so it was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: There were lockers in the rooms, I stayed in the 16bed dorm and had no problems. The common eating area is big, opportunities to meet people though not much atmosphere. It is in a good location, an easy walk to all the main attractions.

Disliked: The kitchen was basic, utensils and plates were minimal and you had to just make do with what was there.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability