HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Santa Monaca

Hostel | Via Santa Monaca 6, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50124

78.9% Overall Rating

126 out of 148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

"Firendly staff that spoke English fluently, free towels with a refundable 5 Euro deposit."

Read all Hostel Santa Monaca reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Franz House
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 326 reviews
Soggiorno Pitti
24.90 USD

Guesthouse 77.3% 326 reviews
Florence Stay Apartments
38.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Soggiorno Prestipino
27.67 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Pablo House Guest House
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 72.4% 14 reviews
Tasso hostel
37.35 USD

Hostel 91.4% 32 reviews
Hotel Pensione Ottaviani
31.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 74.4% 94 reviews
Hotel Curtatone
44.96 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.1% 23 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

126 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Santa Monaca'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 145 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Lopes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: has every facility needed for a good price

Disliked: its very quiet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decent, no complaints

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly hostel. Nice communal dining area--feels a bit like summer camp.

Disliked: Cooking area is small for the number of guests (just two hot plates). Always a line at dinner time...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: One hot plate

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Good location, quite close to the central station. Free wifi, although you had to get a ticket from reception that needed to be 'recharged'. Kitchen was decent sized, although there was only one hot plate to cook food. Fridges had plenty of room.

Disliked: Unfortunately there were bed bugs in my bed. I suffered a pretty bad allergic reaction, and as a result had swelling and rashes all over me. The hostel said it was just mosquitoes (definitely bed bugs) but they still changed my room and also washed my clothes for free (which seems an odd thing to so if t was mosquitoes, but oh well). Also, the lock out from 10-2 was annoying. The staff always came in and kicked you out, even if you were just in the bed and not in the way of them cleaning at all. Also there was one member of the cleaning staff, a man, who was so rude and aggressive it was almost scary. He would come in shouting and muttering in Italian, he was terrible! But ultimately it was an okay stay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and friendly staff

Disliked: Not clean and messy kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, within walking distance to all the big sites. Staff were helpful.

Disliked: Curfew! And the room lock out between 10 and 2.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2011

Liked: S

Disliked: E

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Hampson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice and helpful. It was also within walking distance of everything in the heart of downtown.

Disliked: The toilets are limited and on the other side of the building. I literally had to walk across the building and up two flights of stairs to get to the toilet. Im easy going but this may be problematic for other people. And there was never any toilet paper over the course of my two nights there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dickson Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Dickson would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently located. for males, good number of showers and toilets. unfortunately, no hangers. hence be creative. (for females, unfortunately, not enough showers and toilets). otherwise great stay.

Disliked: nothing, u pay what u get. more rooms = cheaper = noisier

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great size common area and bag store with good size kitchen. Helpful front desk staff, close to town centre and supermarkets! Good sized bathrooms and lots of showers and toilets. Good lockers.

Disliked: They lock the hostel dorm room for around four hours to "clean the rooms" the room itself was fine, however under my bed was full of dust, rubbish and hair, im not a fussy bloke and had i been able to access my room in the day i wouldnt be saying this. Four hours for cleaning, but cleaning what?! Hot room with one fan.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bicycle hire.

Disliked: Really hot rooms in summer

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adnan Tariq

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Adnan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the best thing about this hostel. Very friendly, polite & helpful. The location is excellent as well, near the station & most of the important places in Florence. Wi-Fi is free, so that's another plus, & they have a kitchen, washing machine & vending machines. They also give bikes for rent at low rates, but be VERY careful that you lock your bike securely wherever you park as it can go missing in an instant otherwise. Happened with me & I ended up paying a very heavy penalty to the Hostel!

Disliked: I guess not getting breakfast here & rooms being closed 10am - 2pm for cleaning were the only two downsides here.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Loes Knopper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Loes would recommend this property

Liked: - The location was wonderful! It is on the main island, about 5-10 minutes from San Marco square. The hostel little hard to find, but as other people have commented: everything is in Venice! A good map helps a little bit, but it's still a hard job finding it in all those narrow streets. - The fan in the room keeping the light out at night. - Kitchen was good and nice for meeting people

Disliked: - There was only 1 bathroom for all the guests (about 12 people I think). That means you had to be a little quick in the mornings, but I'm used to that so for me it was no problem. - The rooms were also very noisy, if people were just talking in the kitchen, you could hear it very good in the bedrooms. - They charge you for all kinds of extra stuff: linnen (5 euros), 'service charge' (3 euros a day), luggage storage after check-out (5 euros)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was just ok

Disliked: The last floor is like a laberint

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: nothing at all just maybe the helpfullness of the staff

Disliked: the rooms were without windows. the air conditioning was very poor, the dorms were unfashioned and the lockers were small. bathrooms were not enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the center of town.

Disliked: Beds were extremely close together.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

AYANORI NODA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 AYANORI would recommend this property

Liked: location is good. It is easy to go to eat or to see something...

Disliked: little bit hot... in this season

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: The staff is really nice, they always helped me when i asked.

Disliked: The room is really hot, the lockers are too small and the only fresh area in the hostel, the terrace,closes too early.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a large common room.

Disliked: The "full guest kitchen" was actually just 4 hot plates and a fridge.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find, laundromat across the street!

Disliked: Really stuffy and hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and walking distance to the centre and train station

Disliked: The cheaper rooms are shared with a lot of people, I think it's worth paying a bit more for a smaller room as someone else has said in another review.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best- organised hostel ever!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room and the bathroom were clean. We had access to the kitchen.

Disliked: They don't offer breakfast.. and unless we have not look well, it's hard to find something close for a little breakfast.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2011

Liked: nothing really..

Disliked: the staff is extremely rude and unfriendly, the showers were disgusting, the coffee machine doesn't return change. it was an awful experience. i spent one night there and then moved to another hostel where everything is so much better. awful place.