HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Leonardo’s Land

Hostel | Via Vecchia Maremanna 3, San Baronto, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 51035

89.8% Overall Rating

100 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

"AMAZING. More resort like with gorgeous lounge areas and a huge infinity pool. Location is far off the beaten path but easy to reach the cities. within 2km walk in south there is the best gocer/coffee shop I've ever had…"

Read all Leonardo’s Land reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we have an age policy for dormitory rooms. Only guests between 17 - 40 years can stay in dorms. All dorm bookings for guests outside this age group will be cancelled without a refund of the 10% payment.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Borgo Villa Castelletti
65.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Eurohome Rama
36.94 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 20 reviews
Casa Leda
23.75 USD

Apartment 73.3% 3 reviews
Hotel Indicatore
52.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.7% 11 reviews
Hotel Centro
27.43 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Casa Donatello
19.79 USD

Apartment 89.1% 5 reviews
Garibaldi 's Relais
7.92 USD

Guesthouse 53.1% 10 reviews
EurHotel
22.76 USD

Hotel 78.8% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

100 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Leonardo’s Land'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING. More resort like with gorgeous lounge areas and a huge infinity pool. Location is far off the beaten path but easy to reach the cities. within 2km walk in south there is the best gocer/coffee shop I've ever had to pleasure to frequent where the staff know your preferred coffee after the first visit, perfect sandwiches made to order at better than reasonable prices. 2km north is a larger town where you can catch the bus to train station for day trips in the region. Buses do not run on the road where Leonardo's land is during July and August but are beautiful to walk. I went for 4 days and extended my stay to 7. Worth it.

Disliked: Guido is a bit of a character. He is very friendly, and it will go a long way to be friendly back to your host. Everything he makes for the suppers you have the option to buy are "special for you, only the best, from my garden" some are probably true but you hear it a lot. Ask for a price list, only breakfast is free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucian Stellati

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Lucian would recommend this property

Liked: We have been to many hostels around Europe and this one definitely takes the cake. I would consider it more a luxury resort than a hostel. Guido was a fantastic host and highly recommend his hostel to other travelers. The location is absolutely stunning and the food and wine is to die for. We ended up staying four nights instead of two and will be back.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: Beautiful atmosphere

Disliked: Owner is terrible. Does not make the guest feel at home and wants everything to be at his convenience. Will only take you to the train in his shuttle after 10 am so he can sleep in and will pick you up at night when it works for him, not you. We had friends over for a glass of wine and he threatened to call the police. He will not answer his phone or email if you need him when he is "not working" and you can very easily be stranded in the middle of nowhere and it will be "your problem." We had to pay 30 euro for a taxi to pick us up at 7:30 am the day of departure because he didn't want to wake up before 10 am. I would not recommend staying here.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Roman

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 February 2014 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: the view is amazing

Disliked: Gabriela left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2013

Liked: The property is on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley and surrounded by olive groves. The vila was lovely and quiet, we had a very relaxing few days. The free night was appreciated.

Disliked: We visited in late October and the weather was quite cold. We weren't allowed to use the heater in the room because it was too expensive to run. The fire place was lit our first night creating a lovely ambiance. However for the remainder of our stay it was decided there weren't enough guests to warrant a fire : ( The description indicates there are self catering facilities, but we didn't have a kitchenette in our room. We had to use the dorm next door and were told to be super quiet so as not to alert the owner. If you say you offer self catering facilities, offer them or remove them from the description. Not sure what they do when the place is fully booked. Cooking was also made difficult by the complete lack of utensils. There were rules posted on every available surface, relatively normal for a hostel but most rules were backed up with a threat to charge. It gave our stay a uncomfortable and slightly foreboding sense that we would be charged for something unknown on checkout. For example the kitchen rules stated if we used up all the gas we would be charged. Unlucky for you if you happen to be the one who runs the last of the gas. This place is very cheap in the expensive Tuscan countryside but the whole management of the place felt slightly out of touch. It's weird to expect budget travellers to pay €9 for a pasta and €10 for a bottle of wine and forbid them from using the common areas when money isn't spent in the wine bar. We ate in our room every night except the first when we were given a cold pasta on arrival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Barrett

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Wow!!! What an Amazing place and I had the absolute best holiday in tuscany. As soon as I arrived I was made to feel at home and what an Amazing home it was for two weeks. Tucked away in the beautiful Tuscan hills, Leonardos Land is a gem of a place. I was collected by Fabio in the complimentary shuttle from the train station. After a lovely drive the property awaited. I was met by Alice the beautiful hostess who greeted me with a glass of wine and checked me in, thouroughly explaining what was on offer. Three nearby towns to stroll to or a bike to hire if a meander through the tuscan hills is needed. I can even rent a car and visit Florence, Lucca, Pisa or the like. With all the options buzzing around my head I am taken to beautiful villa Mimosa; home for two weeks. I feel like pinching myself. The views are amazing and that's coming from someone who lives in a World Heritage area. The next two weeks are spent in total bliss. I can venture out and eat pizza and gnocchi to my heart's content as well as enjoy leisurely walks through the nearby towns soaking up all the amazing history of each place. If I feel like just lounging at the property there are so many nooks to relax; strolling through the olive groves until I find a bench or lounging at the (jaw droppingly beautiful) infinity pool overlooking the valley below. As an avid reader I loved all the various 'cabanas' and garden swings dotted around. The staff are are extremely friendly and I always enjoyed practicing my Italian with them. Fabio who collected me and Fatimah who looked after the villas were always ready with a smile. Alice who looks after the guests could not help enough and was even happy to help on her precious hours off duty. The two wonderful owners of the property Guido and Adele made me feel like part of the family and were so sweet and full of local knowledge, I felt like I never wanted to leave. I must mention the food. I did go between dining out, dining in at my villa (lovely kitchen) and dining at the main house with the amazing food from Adele. Fresh herbs in the garden and 'the House olive oil' complimented my take on traditional italian fare and although I could eat out until my hearts content in the nearby villages by heart was stolen by Adele's food. Very reasonable and just delizioso and coupled with the combination of the fantastic main house setting, the holiday atmosphere from the other guests and the presence of Guido, Alice and Adele, I did find myself dining in quite a lot. The wonderful sangiovese wine produced by Guido's vinyards may have helped as I thought it a very frine drop. I did not want to leave but I am looking forward to next time I visit. Please do yourself a favour and go for as long as you can. It can take a few days to really settle in and start living the tuscan Life. Top stars to all, what an Amazing place. Thank you for Everything. Mary

Disliked: Nothing at all :o)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was literally the greatest place I could have ever stayed. It is located in the middle of the most beautiful hills in Tuscany, you get picked up from the train station by Fabio (who is a WONDERFUL man) because it is so remote. For the price you are paying to stay in beautiful villas with an infinity pool, it feels like you are stealing. It is very laid back, you are free to just relax, walk into town for groceries to cook in the kitchenettes, use the wifi and connect with great people in the common room, work on the tan, hike, swim, buy wine from Alice (THE best receptionist ever! She facilitates the free breakfast, for-cost dinners, wine tasting excursions, and she's more than happy to talk to you). Do yourself a favor and STAY HERE for as long as you can.I promise you will thank me. It was the best 5 days I ever had, I still keep in touch with the people I met there.

Disliked: Mosquitos, but that's just Italy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Ellis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Where do I start? Well from the moment I was greeted by Fabio (the driver) and a couple of the guests I knew I was in for a treat. As soon as I arrived, I was welcomed by the most friendliest receptionist who throughout my stay couldn't do enough to help and make me feel so welcome. The hostel is in the most breathtaking part of Tuscany with fabulous views looking onto olive groves and grapevines. The facilities are kept very clean, if you choose to have food at the hostel I can definitely recommend, delicious. If you choose to self cater, there's a choice of food stores both within walking distance or you can hire a bike if you'd like. The gardens within the hostel are well maintained and the infinity pool is amazing, this look down onto the stunning landscape. I felt like part of a family with my fellow travellers who were passing through, it was sad day to leave and most definitely will be returning.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamila Zaborowska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Kamila would recommend this property

Liked: There is so many good things to tell about Leonardos Land!! The surrounding view - breathtaking. People at the hostel - friendly, helpful and so enthusiastic!!! Just what you expect while you are on holiday. Hostel itself - authentic Tuscan villa even decorated with such a lovely taste. Hostel provides an opportunity to rent a bicycle so whoever loves to discover a bit of Tuscany and maybe have some adventures, this is just the right place!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. If you came to spend some time under the Tuscan sky and to breath the Tuscan air, this is the place!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Mercer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Please do yourself a favour and stay at Leonardos land, you won't regret it. If you enjoy breathtaking views, a family atmosphere, good food, conversation and vino.. Then this is the place to be. You will find yourself in the heart of Tuscany, where time moves a bit slower. It is by far one of the most relaxing and special places I have visited so far on my trip, it is no ordinary hostel experience. Its hard to say goodbye. The hospitality was impeccable, Alice the fine young lady on reception not only goes out of her way to make your stay as comfortable and good as possible, she also generously offers her time and company and genuinely cares about each and every one of her guests. Guido, the owner of this amazing property, is fantastic. He too, goes out of his way to make your stay memorable, and has many interesting stories to share about the history of this place which is fascinating. By the end of my stay I felt like I was part of big family. It has been an experience I will never forget, and I can't wait to go back. Thank you!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Schneider-Neumann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: prettiest hostel ever! it is stunning, staff are awesome and has an amazing pool! value for money is amazing as rooms are like little apartments! will definitely be coming back

Disliked: Miranda left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ashley Burk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The view is amazing and you are in real Tuscany!

Disliked: I felt like an inconvenience to the staff all the time. The woman running the reception would rather be at the pool than doing her job and every time our group wanted to eat outside, we were moved because we were being too loud to be close to the building. They charge you for every little thing, including a swim cap that is required if you are getting in the pool!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful with everything. Its really nice when you go to a place where the staff actually enjoy and love their job. Was a great place to relax and enjoy the tuscan air. For as little as 9 euro you can get real authentic homemade pasta made for you at the hostel from the owners. Loved staying here. Will recomend it to all my friends

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere gallore!!! This was a real villa, they were picking olives and making olive oil! Everything was authentic Tuscany, authentic old, no Ikea here. The place had been in the owners family for 700 years and was full of history and stories of the area. A true Tuscan experience. I will return.

Disliked: It was hard to find, even the 2nd and third time, get a GPS, but locals are wonderful about giving you help. Oh and its really called Villa Rosa, People keep stealing the Leonardo Land sign, and is really known locally and signed as Villa Rosa.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, beautiful view of vineyards and olive trees. Make sure to go accompanied though, the view would be even better when shared with someone special.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great for an escape out of cities, it is rural and great for cycling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful location in the Chianti hills

Disliked: Restricted access to any surrounding areas via public transport

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Bettiol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to spend some time. The villa is located in the heart of the Tuscan countryside. The views are breathtaking especially when lounging by the infinity pool. Dinner served at the restaurant is lovely and kitchens in rooms are a plus for lunches. Wine on offer is of great standard & value, especially important when staying in the wine region. Guido is a great host with a wealth of knowledge about the area and where to find great markets!

Disliked: Erica left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alan Bicanic

As a family with children

Romantic getaway

27 September 2012

Liked: location (although remote) and a beautiful view

Disliked: poor maintenance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Arvanitis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

05 September 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: This place was truly incredible. I traveled to nine countries in six weeks. During my trip I stayed in about 12 different Hostels/Hotels and this place BY FAR was the most scenic, pleasant and memorable. The staff is beyond thoughtful and the accommodations are ridiculous. The room I shared with my friend was overlooking the hills of Tuscany and it only cost us about 20 euros a night. The place offers a wine tasting trip, which was legitimately one of the coolest parts of my six week trip. This place is the genuine Italian experience, relatively inexpensive and truly unforgettable. I wouldn't leave it out of my trip.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a beautiful property overlooking the tuscany countryside and it helps that you can do that in an infinity pool.

Disliked: Its kinda far from everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, wonderful location. The pool is absolutely amazing. Good local town with great food.

Disliked: Issues initially finding the place due to sign posting...currently being resolved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Hart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Rustic charm, lovely hill top position, friendly helpful staff, great pool.

Disliked: Mosquitos!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bahar seirafi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 bahar would recommend this property

Liked: visionary is unique, if you need a nice and calm place for a bit rest, with a nice sweeming pool, its much more than that, grab it !

Disliked: bahar left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, this hostel is a great value. It is absolutely beautiful, the infinity pool is awesome, and you are basically in the heart of Tuscany. Guido, the owner, is very hospitable and friendly and genuinely wants you to enjoy your stay. The property itself is wonderful, it was a very social atmosphere when I stayed there and that made it really fun.

Disliked: The location, while beautiful, is also a huge negative at times. You are very far from the nearest train station and have to rely on a shuttle from the property that only runs twice a day. I would not stay longer than two days here, as it can become a bit restrictive to get away and see other places in the area. Also, the little extras do add up. I was charged 2.50 per day for a towel, not just a one-time fee. I enjoyed my stay here but would say just keep track of what you are spending so there are no issues at checkout time.