We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Locanda Giovanna

Guesthouse | Via Faenza 69, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

84.7% Overall Rating

112 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

"The location couldn't be any better. Affordable price. Relatively quiet room. Excellent internet (although not free of charge) Simply but functionally furnished room."

Read all Locanda Giovanna reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Monica
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.3% 15 reviews
Hotel Mia Cara
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Paola
17.71 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.3% 90 reviews
Hotel Serena
35.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.0% 12 reviews
Hotel Beatrice
56.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.0% 15 reviews
Albergo Bencidormi
44.28 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Hotel Stella Mary
21.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Il Ghiro
19.92 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 485 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

112 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Locanda Giovanna'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 118 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elise Rotsztain

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really nice service. Simple but clean

Disliked: No air conditioning or fans, carrying luggage up to the third floor with no lift (but this is on description)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, and it's very peaceful.

Disliked: I miss internet, but if it is peace what you are looking for is a very good option.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: had to leave or emergency and lady still charged extra night and one hour for every hour late froom time told we were checking in.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

King To Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 King To would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station

Disliked: The name of the property was not identical which cause confusion when I tried to look for it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best located in the heart of the historic city, all sightseeing-locations are in walking distance. From the train station it's only 5 minutes walk. The rooms are simple and clean, all in all best value for money!

Disliked: As Locanda Giovanna is in the 3rd. floor without elevator, you are well advised not to carry too much luggage... The 3 single rooms going to the street side are rather noisy, so you can't sleep with open windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inga Lenshina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Inga would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly, immaculate clean, close to railway station, very helpful and nice owner, great value for money and one of very rare places where you can book single private room, not paying double. the room was cleaned every day, as well as the bedsheets changed - did not expect this from a hostel.

Disliked: wifi was not working (not sure if they have it at all)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chantelle Ni Chroinin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Chantelle would recommend this property

Liked: My partner and I were only staying one night in Florence, so the central location of this hotel was perfect for us. The room was big enough, clean, and though I didn't expect breakfast to be included, they served us a coffee and cake each in the morning. The staff were friendly and good to recommend sights, supply maps, etc.

Disliked: The three flights of stairs...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Glen Vomacka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Glen would recommend this property

Liked: close to station and all the major sites. was a good value - an entire room (albeit small) to myself. One bathroom for entire hostel but i never had a problem with it.

Disliked: there were no towels provided but that's not something i ever expect anyway.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jean-christophe dansereau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

26 June 2011 jean-christophe would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place and quiet. Good location. Staff really nice

Disliked: Not the best place for making friends

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Giovanna is a very friendly lady. Try to speak French with her, she understands it better :)

Disliked: Up on the third floor, not the best if you have a lot of stuff. Not much of a socializing place but clean and good for rest.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Novica Grgic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Novica would recommend this property

Liked: Quite cheap,very good location,very clean apartment

Disliked: I wish there was at least a TV,an air condition or a clean towel every day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to the railway station as well as other sight seeing locations. The lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No breakfast :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near the Santa Maria Novella station, a very friendly owner, good value for money.

Disliked: Everything was fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kriti Chidambaram

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Kriti would recommend this property

Liked: The lady and her daughter made the place very comfortable, helping with directions and tips for travel in Florence. Johanna had even baked a cake for us on Easter Sunday as a gesture of goodwill!

Disliked: It was a small affair in a rather sad location, and the fact that there was no signboard calling out "Locanda Giovanna" on the street made it very tough to locate.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: Near the station

Disliked: Very poorly equipped

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is centrally located and good value for money. It is clean and comfortable with all the basics required. The staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JACOBUS PIETERSE

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 April 2011 JACOBUS would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very very clean and nice hostel. The smell is really agreeable! The location is very good, 5 minutes to the railway station and 10 minute to main sights. I really recommend it!

Disliked: Everything was good!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

André Almeida

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010 André would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente lugar. Tudo muito limpo. Com certeza foi um local muito agradavel para ficar em Florenca. Os unicos problemas foram - é muito alto o apartamento e nao existe elevador, nao se oferece café da manha, um banheiro somente para varios quartos. Contudo, eu indico, podem ir porque o lugar é muito bom.

Disliked: Ja comentei la em cima. Os unicos problemas foram - é muito alto o apartamento e nao existe elevador (muitas escadas até chegar la), nao se oferece cafe da manha e, finalmente, um banheiro somente para varios quartos.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, and very close to both the train station and to main sights, such as the uffizi and duomo. The lady who ran the place was very sweet, and allowed us to keep our luggage even until 7pm the day we checked out.

Disliked: When you leave the hostel you have to replace your room key on the key hook, but, although it was a bit strange and not what i would have liked to do, there wasn't a big problem and everyone seemed trustworthy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED the woman who ran this place. She is wonderful! So nice and so helpful! The location is great, and also a very nice and quiet night sleep. Also, the sheets on the beds smelled amazing. They were always clean and very charming to sleep in! The rooms are just like the pictures, very basic, but with everything you need to have a great stay!

Disliked: Up three flight of stairs. No air conditioning, but we stayed in Sept and did not need it. Left the window open and still got cold at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. The owner is gentle and friendly. Very good value. Recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the ensuite with our own bathroom and were very comfortable. Giovanna makes you feel very welcome. The place is very clean and even smelled good. It is in an area with many other hotels - so there are a lot of places to eat nearby. The location was also great compared to the attractions in Florence, such as the Duomo.

Disliked: The only thing we did not like about staying there was no safe in the room, and we were asked to leave our key in the hall when we left each day. Luckily, we had honorable neighbors and nothing was stolen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sergiusz Szczepanski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

12 August 2010 sergiusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Lady owner with friendly atmosphere and beautiful daughter Andrea. sweet:)

Disliked: No questions

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was conveniently located near the main train station and was within walking distance to the city center. It was a five minute walk to the Duomo and the leather market. Rooms were small but clean.

Disliked: No wireless internet access. The hotel was located up four flights of stairs and there was no elevator. Shared bathroom.