HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel Florence

Hostel

Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 77%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 3.55USD

Important Information

You can check-in from 17:00 till 21:00

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 83%

Location 77%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 88%

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is beautiful. Francesco is a great guy, he definitely made my stay more enjoyable. Serves food and wine every night for real cheap. Non touristy location. Just beautiful.

Disliked: A little far from bus stop but it's worth it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for having been with us, it's been a real pleasure to welcome you here at Bigallo Hostel! You know if you ever come back you'll be welcome again! All the best, Bigallo Staff.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quite a unique experience, surrounded by vineyards and wilderness.

Disliked: Poor connectivity to the city center. Staff could have been a little more helpful and the atmosphere was quite poor. they didnt really organize any activities.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Thank you for writing and that you liked the location.
Indeed you arrived on a sunday and in august there are less busses than usually - sorry for that!
We do organize activities ( concerts, music, teatre ) but usually not on sundays and not every day but once a week during the whole summerseason.
I also apologize if you thought we were not helpful enough, usually we really try to help all our guests and give them our best assistance.
Have still a nice summertime - Best greetings

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Out of the way. Great views of Florence and Tuscany. Great facilities if you like 800 year old hospitals. Friendly staff that are more than willing to make your stay the best it can be. FREE BREAKFAST. Dinner for 7euro (bowl of pasta and pitcher of wine). Relaxing atmosphere.

Disliked: Long trek to get to if you don't have your own transportation. Bus system not very reliable. Lots of mosquitoes (bring bug spray).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for writing about us!
Indeed you need a hike uphill to get here - about 1 km - It si a good idea to ask us the time tables of the bus to get here so to avoid waiting.
Sorry for the mosquitoes; being in the middle of the nature surrounded by a big tuscan garden and some water fonts around the are present and it is surely a good idea to suggest to bring a spray to protect yourself
Best greetings from the Bigallo Team!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful! Beautiful property in a beautiful location. Free breakfast was good!

Disliked: A little far from Florence

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello!
Thanks for your comment.
Breakfast is always included in our rates.
Indeed we are just on the southern hills of Florence that makes the place really tuscan with a breathtaking view of FLorence.
Bigallo Staff sends you best greetings

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It‘s really a special experience to live here! Wonderful landscape and architecture.

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! It was really our pleasure to have you here! Hope you'll come back! Our best greetings, Francesco, Tommaso and Nathalie

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: You get up in the morning, open the shutters and see the whole panorama of Florence - amazing! Rooms very stylish, and the breakfasts on the terrace are unforgettable.

Disliked: Unfortunately, it often lacks hot water in the bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Fine to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hostel and appreciated the amazing view over Florence!
As to the the waterproblem you had, we really apologize for it as we had a tecnical problem in the period of your stay. This has been resolved now! so maybe you can come back! Would be nice!
We send you our best greetings and thanks for having stayed with us!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Being so far out of florence, this hostel really promotes togetherness. Pasta time dinners and minimal to do leads to everyone just hanging out and chatting. Loved the garden out back and sunsets at night. Met some really cool people.

Disliked: The location, while quiet, is really far out and be prepared to sweat it out hiking uphill with your pack or luggage. The wifi is seriously so spotty and fails when too many people are on it.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello! Indeed to get to our Bigallo Hostel you need to hike uphill and especially when hot that can be hard. We really work on the togetherness, which is an important part of our way of making Hospitality and appreciate that you liked it.
As to the wifi we are sorry indeed there has been some problems but we are fixing it so that it will improve in the common areas.
Thank you for your comment. Nice greeting from all of us Bigallo Staff

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great atmosphere lots of character, we liked that it was not in town among all the tourists

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good place to stay just for chill out in the middle of journey. Beautiful view on the toscany landscape and whole Florence. Very good breakfast, home made cakes, fruits. You need to have own padlock.

Disliked: Not best localisation if you want trawel around toscany. Far away from bus stop.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, I thank you for your comment and that you appreciated our place and breakfast. As to the padlocks you can get them at the reception.
Indeed the bus stop is 1 km from our Bigallo Hostel as indicated on our webpage in hostelbookers. To help our Guests to get to Florence, we are planning to organize bikes to rent at soonest.
Best greeting, Tommaso and Francesco

Check Availability