We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New Ostel

Hostel | Via Peri 3, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50100

69.5% Overall Rating

129 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2015)

Jodie Sloan thinks…

"I loved the location of this property. If you prefer to walk places over taking transport, because nothing important is over 40 mins walking away, with tons of places to stop in and look at along the…"

Read all New Ostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 55.53
  • Luggage Room USD 2.78
  • Towel USD 2.22

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Check-in Check-out Check in: from 08:00 a.m. to 09:00 p.m. Check out: within 12 p.m.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Soggiorno Primavera
24.21 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 158 reviews
Gemini Studios & Suites
27.77 USD

Apartment 78.8% 7 reviews
Soggiorno Fortezza Fiorentina
23.32 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 34 reviews
Guest House Amici Miei
16.38 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 26 reviews
Ciao Hostel
25.54 USD

Hostel 85.8% 580 reviews
Alla Dimora Altea
36.10 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Antica Posta B&B
44.42 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Madrid
26.65 USD

Guesthouse 90.1% 424 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.5%

Overall Rating

129 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Ostel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
68.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 159 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jodie Sloan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2015 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location of this property. If you prefer to walk places over taking transport, because nothing important is over 40 mins walking away, with tons of places to stop in and look at along the way. I also liked how clean the rooms were and how helpful the staff were.

Disliked: I didn't like how the WiFi didn't work inside the rooms, only in the common area, that was very frustrating. Also I'm a young female traveller and throughout my whole stay I was put in a room with all men. I never felt unsafe, but I didn't understand why I wasn't put in a room with other female solo travellers when I definitely saw others at the hostel, and I didn't see an all-female room option while booking. It wasn't a huge deal, but it would've been nice to meet some other women travellers.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good en-suite

Disliked: Flies

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camilo arrieta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2015 Camilo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked a lot the place! Really comfortable, the staff are really kind!

Disliked: No wifi at the rooms

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Theresa Stauder

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 February 2015

Liked: it was clean and really close to the center

Disliked: The staff was unfriendly, didn´t tell me anything ( e.g. where the kitchen is, Interent etc ) there was no lock in the bathroom and no lockers where you could put your stuff

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: staff dodging guest by saying that if you book vatican museum ticket with us you'll escape the long queue over there. While when I turned up actually there wasn't any queue. Plus breakfast rates are fluctuating. Some pays 1.50 and for someone they asking 3 euro

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lian Zhang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Lian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite near the train station

Disliked: The rooms are located at another building from the reception. If you want to use wifi, you have to go outside of the building to the common room inside reception

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Wai Cheung CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014 Wai Cheung would recommend this property

Liked: We stay in a private double bed room which located upstairs, beside the stairs is difficult for luggage traveller,the room is fine but the water supply for bath went down once. The design of the room is simple but fairly equipped , no room service is provided~ no towel supply The staff is friendly , and somehow renovation seems in place as I saw construction worker working in some room.

Disliked: The water supply for bath is unstable and the sink has water leakahe that causing the toilet got a bit wet on floor.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Myrlande Laine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Myrlande would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station and beautiful private rooms with outdoor space.

Disliked: No working toilet and a lack of care about it. The plumbers were out till the end of August you see. No working a.c. in one of the rooms I stayed in, but that didn't matter if it wasn't for the mosquitoes. There were outlet repellents, but they didn't seem to do much. I suggest net for the windows and doors. The a.c in the other room cut-on automatically after 11:30 I think and cut - out about 6 am.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kate Wood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014

Liked: It was close to the train station.

Disliked: Cleanliness of the bathroom was not great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bethany Bilston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014

Liked: Nice airy dorm with comfy beds and a fan. Lockers for each bed, lots of power points.

Disliked: There is no kitchen. Just a kettle fridge and microwave. The bathrooms were abominable. Tiny showers and really gross.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 August 2014

Liked: Good location close to the train station

Disliked: No kitchen and one shower for about 5 dorms is not enough

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were clean and the atmosphere was friendly. Nothing spectacular, but I felt safe and clean.

Disliked: The bathrooms were sub-par, you had to pay for towels, and the staff wasn't very social.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very cool atmosphere

Disliked: Cleaneness

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very social environment until 11.30pm

Disliked: All but one of the staff members were unhelpful or rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Malyarenko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2014 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Location is near the station, friendly staff, clean facilities, new facilities, quiet rooms, great wifi, secure, comfortable bed, has a fan for cooling the room, free maps.

Disliked: There are separate buildings and only one kitchen in main building. Thr kitchen has a small fridge, microwave and some plates and glasses, it doesn't have a stove.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Frances Cox-Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean hostel that is really easy to find. On the edge of the city but you can still reach everything in the city easily on foot. Good value.

Disliked: Sometimes the WIFI is somewhat erratic but pretty good mostly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and location

Disliked: Bed wasn't very comfy to sleep on

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hiromu Hattori

Alone

City break

09 June 2014

Liked: close to the train station

Disliked: the hotel located opposite direction of the city center. the staff did not calculate the fare correctly. I do not care any more because they got more 50 cent than needed. But if you want to evade such situation, be careful when you pay money)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amanda Taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bigger than normal bathroom.

Disliked: Amanda left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHENG CHEN

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 CHENG would recommend this property

Liked: Ok

Disliked: CHENG left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: terrace is nice

Disliked: no kitchen, staff very unfriendly, strange atmosphere, location is ok but not the best

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Felipe Molleda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014

Liked: The bed was very comfortable your own plug and night light for reading.

Disliked: My room was in another building, with cold water shower. And the two guys from the staff weren't very friendly, the girl was more nice in the check-in.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Carmen erazo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too much noisy, not clean, very small

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were extremely comfortable!

Disliked: All night long you can hear the city traffic, the bathroom was really dirtu and didn't even has a proper flush button for the toilet or a toilet roll dispenser. The staff were rude and sardonic, and there us barelyany rrestaurants or anything nearby.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

joseph Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 joseph would recommend this property

Liked: I was attracted to this hostel simply because I was on a budget. They provide linen. I booked a 4 bed mixed. Turned out 5 were booked there but there was a fifth bed so I just took that. Microwave downstairs, which makes it easy if you want to buy your own food etc. Lockers are available. Also the staff will hold your passport for you if you want. Place is close for the train station which in my case was good. Venice is tiny so it didn't bother me to walk all around, what I mean is the location could be more central etc. But doesn't really matter in terms of the size of the city. No breakfast. And have to buy your own towel to use for the stay. Could be a little cheaper or include towel. Don't forget to take into account Italy tax.

Disliked: Have to pay for towel and city tax (is normal for Italy though)