HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ostello Gallo D'Oro

Hostel | Via Cavour 104, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50129

92.7% Overall Rating

198 out of 204 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/10/2013)

"I had a fantastic stay here. Would stay again. Friendly and very helpful staff. Very easy to meet other travellers due to the spacious dining area, which is a key when travelling alone like myself. clean. good…"

Read all Ostello Gallo D'Oro reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Benvenuti
25.95 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 105 reviews
Dany House
30.37 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 969 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
41.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
41.41 USD

Guesthouse 98.6% 4 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
31.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.6% 58 reviews
Locanda Gallo Guesthouse
41.41 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 156 reviews
Residenza Betta
23.47 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 124 reviews
Opera B&B
45.55 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

198 out of 204 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ostello Gallo D'Oro'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 183 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic stay here. Would stay again. Friendly and very helpful staff. Very easy to meet other travellers due to the spacious dining area, which is a key when travelling alone like myself. clean. good facilities. no complaints

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was first rate. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. it may be the Golden Rooster, but the staff are the real gold of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. One of the most accommodating hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ting Zhao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Ting would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,24h acception and staff.

Disliked: A little far from the central part of city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Sharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean and a good location

Disliked: No real kitchen facilities and the common area was just the breakfast room so quite difficult to meet people as a solo traveller

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, convenient, professional

Disliked: inflexible with cancellation policy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can feel owner made extra effort to let you feel home. They have room cleaning every day, towels in your room. Breakfast is wonderful and fresh fruits and sandwich different every day. They even let my friends family to have breakfast with us for free. Extremely clean and well managed! Wi Fi is working in your room. Very centrally located and walking distance to major attractions.

Disliked: The window didn't have screen and we let the window open during the night . My daughters was bitten all over during the night. Next night we kept the window closed but it was very hot. I talked to the reception they put a fan in our room next day. That helped a lot. I was told it was unusually hot for Florence these few days.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ans Roelofsen

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 October 2012

Liked: friendly staff, good break fast

Disliked: very noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: todo excelente!! la atención del personal, la limpieza y la ubicación es lo que mas destaco.

Disliked: Nada negativo para comentar

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Safe rooms. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was large and clean, the bathroom was perfect, amazing breakfast with a good range of items, good coffee and loads of fresh fruit! Nice!

Disliked: There was no air conditioning - with temperatures of 37 degrees+, it was unbearable and we did not sleep well at all. I would recommend the hostel, just not in the high temperatures in summer (unless you request a room at the back - they seemed cooler)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diana Bermudez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, pleasant, the showers were warm, and everything was very peaceful and quiet despite it being a friday night (not a party hostel). It's a very simple route to get the the Duomo, although it is a good 15minute walk, but that's not a problem as it's a nice stroll. Matteo at reception is super helpful and really nice, there's a good variety for breakfast, strong wifi and 100% cotton towels that actually dry you!

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUNGJUN PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 SUNGJUN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Especially, Breakfast was excellent. Kind staffs were too! was great!

Disliked: NOTHING!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyun-ju Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Hyun-ju would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs in Gallo D'oro are so friendly & nice :) Dorm is really clean By the way, Breakfast is really tasty :) Cappuccino by Melissa was unforgettable! Location is also really great. just go straight then you will see the Duomo.

Disliked: NOTHING.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Toilets were spacious, rooms were spacious. Staff was super welcoming and friendly. It's not difficult to see why they won so many awards. Definitely coming back here if I visit Florence again. There's breakfast included as well as laundry machines. This place is amazing.

Disliked: None to dislike really.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were amazing and friendly. Also, has a TV.. It's the little things that count.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raymond Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2012 Raymond would recommend this property

Liked: Every damn thing.

Disliked: Raymond left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelley Liebfried

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 August 2012 Kelley would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great breakfast, friendly travellers, clean and very well taken care of in a safe place!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alissa Abdelkader

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012 Alissa would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff. Great breakfast included. Huge ensuite bathroom!

Disliked: Slightly further out of the way, but Florence is so small it doesn't matter

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

chang-hwan mun

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 August 2012 chang-hwan would recommend this property

Liked: it was great

Disliked: NO equipped self to cook

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eric Toledo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 July 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: great staff and wonderful help that made our stay even that more enjoyable.

Disliked: no ac

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole McAllister

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was clean and comfortable with very friendly, helpful staff. The location was also good- only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Florence.

Disliked: The room we stayed in was not air conditioned and was very very hot at night! There was a fan but it was shared between the end of two beds so it couldn't rotate to be effective for both of us.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kenneth rushe

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel were extraordinarily helpful in the most sincere and genuine way. Matteo and Melissa in particular were outstanding. From the moment we came in the door my girlfriend and I could feel the warm atmosphere of the place. I will return to Florence in the coming years and I will definitely stay here if I can.

Disliked: The bed could have been a tad harder for my back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! When we said it was too hot in the room on the first night, we got an additional fan, and it was much cooler. The free breakfast is amazeballs.

Disliked: The mosquito screen for our second room had a hole in it, so both of us got a few bites overnight.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: building work outside

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, helpful and hospitable. They served a grand breakfast each day and facilitated opportunities for travelers to meet each other.

Disliked: It was a bit of a hike from the city center and we had trouble finding the correct bus to take.