HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ostello Gallo D'Oro

Hostel | Via Cavour 104, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50129

93.6% Overall Rating

213 out of 219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2014)

Sandy Argyrides thinks…

"This is a really lovely hostel. It is in a nice neighbourhood, close to everything as well as the train station and buses. The staff are very nice and always helpful and eager to help you. The hostel…"

Read all Ostello Gallo D'Oro reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Benvenuti
29.53 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 108 reviews
Dany House
28.87 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 976 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
41.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 82.5% 52 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
39.37 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
23.62 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.4% 60 reviews
Locanda Gallo Guesthouse
39.37 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 156 reviews
Opera B&B
45.93 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 6 reviews
Casa di Giuseppe
28.87 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

213 out of 219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ostello Gallo D'Oro'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 185 of 197 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandy Argyrides

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Sandy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really lovely hostel. It is in a nice neighbourhood, close to everything as well as the train station and buses. The staff are very nice and always helpful and eager to help you. The hostel is also small enough that there is great atmosphere. It also provides an AMAZING included breakfast (the best I have had at a hostel) and the facilities are great (wifi, clean private bathrooms, laundry facilities on sites). Would definitely stay here again if I am ever in Florence again!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Matteo was so helpful in booking excursions from Florence, and makes a great cappuccino!

Disliked: bunk beds without rails were a little sketchy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the most friendly and helpful we've ever seen. The breakfasts are varies each day and the free coffee is the cherry on the sundae.

Disliked: There is work to be done on the quality of the wifi throughout the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Rodwell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Ostello Gallo D'Oro was fantastic. Lovely friendly staff who were very helpful, showing us what to see in Firenze, how to use the buses and recommending a great, good value and nearby restaurant for eating at in the evenings. The room was big and clean, with a fan to keep us cool, and the shared bathroom was not a problem. Breakfast is included and offered a range of food for everyone, and the staff even allowed us to leave our heavy luggage at the hostel after we checked out to save us carrying it till out train in the evening. Only a 15 minute walk along the road takes you straight to the Duomo. Plus, free wifi connection and computer use. Overall a very pleasant stay - we would definitely recommend to anyone wanting good value friendly accomodation in Florence!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a pretty good hostel in general!

Disliked: not the best location, you have to walk 15 min uphill to the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Fedi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, walking distance from all the sites. The staff are friendly and always willing to help and answer any questions or give advice at any time of the day/night. The bedroom and the bathrooms were always clean.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything I disliked. It was everything you needed a hostel to be when you're travelling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chanelle le sueur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 chanelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly amd helpful staff ...spacious rooms and its walking distance from the central

Disliked: chanelle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Maclean

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great. Breakfast was brilliant. Place was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like. Just one thing they could do to improve. Would be great if they provided info on what was local. We caught a bus to Greve, hired cycles and biked through the Chianti region. Highlight of my time there. But I wouldn't have known it was possible if one of the girls in my dorm hadn't told us about Greve.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from major sites and a supermarket. Reasonably close to train station. Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast and staff.

Disliked: This place was IMPOSSIBLE to find. It is on the second floor on the right side of an office building and I would have appreciated A LOT MORE SIGNS to point us the right way. My friend and I ran around the whole building before a staff member came out to rescue us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazing. They helped us with some great restaurant suggestions, as well as some general tips on navigating the city (thanks, Martina!). The breakfast was also quite nice, with some homemade items, bread, meat, cheese, jams, yogurt, tea/coffee and juice. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Location is a bit of a walk from the main area of the city (15-20 minutes from the city center and the train station), but it was fine.

Disliked: Our room (room 1) was literally right outside of the breakfast/common room and lobby. It was pretty noisy all of the time, with people checking in/out, people hanging out the common room late at night and then others up early eating breakfast the next morning. It wasn't a huge deal (it's a hostel), but light sleepers or families may want to see if they can request a room further away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. They did a full review of how to get to the sights as soon as I arrived. Also informed me what would be open and what was closed. Big lockers. Hostel rules are clearly posted. Clean.

Disliked: The sign for the hostel is very discrete, making it a little difficult to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic stay here. Would stay again. Friendly and very helpful staff. Very easy to meet other travellers due to the spacious dining area, which is a key when travelling alone like myself. clean. good facilities. no complaints

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was first rate. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. it may be the Golden Rooster, but the staff are the real gold of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. One of the most accommodating hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ting Zhao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Ting would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,24h acception and staff.

Disliked: A little far from the central part of city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Sharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean and a good location

Disliked: No real kitchen facilities and the common area was just the breakfast room so quite difficult to meet people as a solo traveller

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, convenient, professional

Disliked: inflexible with cancellation policy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can feel owner made extra effort to let you feel home. They have room cleaning every day, towels in your room. Breakfast is wonderful and fresh fruits and sandwich different every day. They even let my friends family to have breakfast with us for free. Extremely clean and well managed! Wi Fi is working in your room. Very centrally located and walking distance to major attractions.

Disliked: The window didn't have screen and we let the window open during the night . My daughters was bitten all over during the night. Next night we kept the window closed but it was very hot. I talked to the reception they put a fan in our room next day. That helped a lot. I was told it was unusually hot for Florence these few days.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ans Roelofsen

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 October 2012

Liked: friendly staff, good break fast

Disliked: very noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: todo excelente!! la atención del personal, la limpieza y la ubicación es lo que mas destaco.

Disliked: Nada negativo para comentar

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Safe rooms. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Could be a bit cleaner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was large and clean, the bathroom was perfect, amazing breakfast with a good range of items, good coffee and loads of fresh fruit! Nice!

Disliked: There was no air conditioning - with temperatures of 37 degrees+, it was unbearable and we did not sleep well at all. I would recommend the hostel, just not in the high temperatures in summer (unless you request a room at the back - they seemed cooler)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diana Bermudez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 August 2012 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, pleasant, the showers were warm, and everything was very peaceful and quiet despite it being a friday night (not a party hostel). It's a very simple route to get the the Duomo, although it is a good 15minute walk, but that's not a problem as it's a nice stroll. Matteo at reception is super helpful and really nice, there's a good variety for breakfast, strong wifi and 100% cotton towels that actually dry you!

Disliked: Diana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUNGJUN PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 SUNGJUN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Especially, Breakfast was excellent. Kind staffs were too! was great!

Disliked: NOTHING!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hyun-ju Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Hyun-ju would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs in Gallo D'oro are so friendly & nice :) Dorm is really clean By the way, Breakfast is really tasty :) Cappuccino by Melissa was unforgettable! Location is also really great. just go straight then you will see the Duomo.

Disliked: NOTHING.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Wee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Toilets were spacious, rooms were spacious. Staff was super welcoming and friendly. It's not difficult to see why they won so many awards. Definitely coming back here if I visit Florence again. There's breakfast included as well as laundry machines. This place is amazing.

Disliked: None to dislike really.