We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ostello Gallo D'Oro

Hostel | Via Cavour 104, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50129

93.3% Overall Rating

225 out of 232 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2015)

Celeste Nunez thinks…

"It felt very homey! The fresh baked pastries every morning were amazing! The staff really treated you like family."

Read all Ostello Gallo D'Oro reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Benvenuti
20.13 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 109 reviews
Dany House
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 992 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
25.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.8% 59 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
33.54 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
20.13 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 62 reviews
Opera B&B
31.31 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 10 reviews
Casa di Giuseppe
22.36 USD

Guesthouse 83.0% 131 reviews
Plus Florence
24.60 USD

Hostel 86.4% 2300 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

225 out of 232 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ostello Gallo D'Oro'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 211 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julio Nicolas dos Santos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Julio Nicolas dos would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very kind, the hostel is located near everything.

Disliked: The wifi needs improving, air conditioner is a must have. We went in summer, august, and it was very Hot, the fan did not work properly and the air was very Hot. The staff is kind and wonderful, we loved them. Thanks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Celeste Nunez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2015 Celeste would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very homey! The fresh baked pastries every morning were amazing! The staff really treated you like family.

Disliked: Far from the train station, (we couldn't find the bus and had to walk with luggage there and needless to say that was no fun). Once you find the bus, its super easy though

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast! Cereals, yoghurt, pastries, fruit, coffee/tea. Meats and cheese, toast... and more pastries! It was a valuable feed.

Disliked: Our bathroom in room 3 smelled of sewage and I think the design of the toilet is strange - I know that a lot of the toilets in Italy dip in the front of the bowl. There was a seat, which is a rarity but because it was the disabled room, the seat was higher, and made your time a little distressing with this gap in the bowl (to put it nicely and without super amounts of detail).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Kapica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was so so friendly and accommodating! Plus nice facilities and a good location! Fabulous place!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

per Viberg

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 per would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful!. I had my best stay in Italy here. Ask the staff to get a reservation for you at the restaurant Trattoria da Tito and make sure you sit "where the action is", you'll never forget! :).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trish Spence

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Trish would recommend this property

Liked: OMG the staff was so welcoming and went out of their way for us all the time. It was such a pleasure to stay there. The hostel is a little bit of a walk from all the sights but it's not bad. There are many nice restaurants nearby. They don't have AC but did provide a nice fan for our room (2 beds) and it totally did the trick. It was a nice and comfortable stay with breakfast provided in the morning. They also provided towels which always makes me so happy. 10/10 would recommend.

Disliked: Trish left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and very friendly and helpful, very clean, great breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014

Liked: Very friendly staff (they called me by name after meeting me once!), good free breakfast (which I stole and had for lunch too), easy walk to the city center

Disliked: No bar, bad wifi, long walk from the train station.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast (including cappuccinos), towels and linen included, map of the city with basic information provided at check in, large room with lockers. Showers with hot water. They did switch us to a different room for the 2nd night of our stay to a room that had wifi.

Disliked: Based on the amazing reviews, we expected this hostel to be on par with other well reviewed hostel experiences we've had in different cities, but it fell short. Check in took longer than most (30 mins or so) and when we asked if we could use the wifi while he was copying info from our passports, he said the wifi doesn't work well and he would get to that at the end of check in. We later discovered we didn't get any wifi in our room and had to stand in the balcony of the kitchen to get connected. All the furniture was dated and when we moved two twins together (as instructed) we uncovered a lot of dust under the beds. Lastly, we chose this hostel because of the rooftop dinners during the summer and made plans to be back at the hostel in time for the dinner. When we inquired about dinner for the night (per their posted schedule), they told us it was cancelled.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandy Argyrides

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Sandy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really lovely hostel. It is in a nice neighbourhood, close to everything as well as the train station and buses. The staff are very nice and always helpful and eager to help you. The hostel is also small enough that there is great atmosphere. It also provides an AMAZING included breakfast (the best I have had at a hostel) and the facilities are great (wifi, clean private bathrooms, laundry facilities on sites). Would definitely stay here again if I am ever in Florence again!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Matteo was so helpful in booking excursions from Florence, and makes a great cappuccino!

Disliked: bunk beds without rails were a little sketchy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is the most friendly and helpful we've ever seen. The breakfasts are varies each day and the free coffee is the cherry on the sundae.

Disliked: There is work to be done on the quality of the wifi throughout the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Rodwell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2014 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Ostello Gallo D'Oro was fantastic. Lovely friendly staff who were very helpful, showing us what to see in Firenze, how to use the buses and recommending a great, good value and nearby restaurant for eating at in the evenings. The room was big and clean, with a fan to keep us cool, and the shared bathroom was not a problem. Breakfast is included and offered a range of food for everyone, and the staff even allowed us to leave our heavy luggage at the hostel after we checked out to save us carrying it till out train in the evening. Only a 15 minute walk along the road takes you straight to the Duomo. Plus, free wifi connection and computer use. Overall a very pleasant stay - we would definitely recommend to anyone wanting good value friendly accomodation in Florence!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a pretty good hostel in general!

Disliked: not the best location, you have to walk 15 min uphill to the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Fedi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, walking distance from all the sites. The staff are friendly and always willing to help and answer any questions or give advice at any time of the day/night. The bedroom and the bathrooms were always clean.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything I disliked. It was everything you needed a hostel to be when you're travelling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chanelle le sueur

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 chanelle would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly amd helpful staff ...spacious rooms and its walking distance from the central

Disliked: chanelle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Maclean

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great. Breakfast was brilliant. Place was clean and tidy.

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like. Just one thing they could do to improve. Would be great if they provided info on what was local. We caught a bus to Greve, hired cycles and biked through the Chianti region. Highlight of my time there. But I wouldn't have known it was possible if one of the girls in my dorm hadn't told us about Greve.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from major sites and a supermarket. Reasonably close to train station. Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast and staff.

Disliked: This place was IMPOSSIBLE to find. It is on the second floor on the right side of an office building and I would have appreciated A LOT MORE SIGNS to point us the right way. My friend and I ran around the whole building before a staff member came out to rescue us.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazing. They helped us with some great restaurant suggestions, as well as some general tips on navigating the city (thanks, Martina!). The breakfast was also quite nice, with some homemade items, bread, meat, cheese, jams, yogurt, tea/coffee and juice. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Location is a bit of a walk from the main area of the city (15-20 minutes from the city center and the train station), but it was fine.

Disliked: Our room (room 1) was literally right outside of the breakfast/common room and lobby. It was pretty noisy all of the time, with people checking in/out, people hanging out the common room late at night and then others up early eating breakfast the next morning. It wasn't a huge deal (it's a hostel), but light sleepers or families may want to see if they can request a room further away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. They did a full review of how to get to the sights as soon as I arrived. Also informed me what would be open and what was closed. Big lockers. Hostel rules are clearly posted. Clean.

Disliked: The sign for the hostel is very discrete, making it a little difficult to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fantastic stay here. Would stay again. Friendly and very helpful staff. Very easy to meet other travellers due to the spacious dining area, which is a key when travelling alone like myself. clean. good facilities. no complaints

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was first rate. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. it may be the Golden Rooster, but the staff are the real gold of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. One of the most accommodating hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ting Zhao

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Ting would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,24h acception and staff.

Disliked: A little far from the central part of city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Sharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean and a good location

Disliked: No real kitchen facilities and the common area was just the breakfast room so quite difficult to meet people as a solo traveller