HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of PLUS Camping Michelangelo

Hostel | viale Michelangiolo, 80”., Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50125

78.3% Overall Rating

1030 out of 1143 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/10/2013)

Judy Randall thinks…

"Close to Florence but on the hills overlooking the city. Only a 10 minute walk down to the city.Has a bar and restaurant for nice outdoor sitting, as well as a superette for groceries. It is…"

Read all PLUS Camping Michelangelo reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Car parking is available at 6.20 Euros per night. Please note that your parking space may not be near to your tent. From 1 July 2011 the City of Florence by resolution of the City Council No. 230/33 of 06.20.2011, integrated by resolution No. 21/2012, has established the “'tourist tax”. The tax is applied to non-residents overnight stays in the city of Florence and for a maximum of 7 consecutive nights. The tax rate for this tourist structure is _______ euro per person per night. There are the following exemptions: a) children up to twelve years old ; b) people who care for patients admitted to local hospitals, including outpatient care, for a maximum of two assistants per patient; c) patients who make hospital care in outpatient care; d) students of the University of Florence It is also provided a 50% reduction of the tourist tax in the following cases: a) groups of lower and upper secondary schools in Florence in teaching visit; b) athletes under the age of 16 years, members of groups participating in sporting events and tournaments organized in collaboration with the Municipal Administration.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel D'Azeglio
26.23 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.9% 55 reviews
Hotel Rita Major
28.99 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 94.3% 4 reviews
Hotel Arizona
55.22 USD

Hotel 3 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
47.97 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Alex House
45.55 USD

Hostel 88.5% 57 reviews
Il Magnifico B&B
37.27 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 150 reviews
Alex Rooms
55.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Farina Apartments
50.04 USD

Apartment 90.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

1030 out of 1143 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'PLUS Camping Michelangelo'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 754 of 810 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judy Randall

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Judy would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Florence but on the hills overlooking the city. Only a 10 minute walk down to the city.Has a bar and restaurant for nice outdoor sitting, as well as a superette for groceries. It is interplanted with olive trees and bay hedges to give it a nice green feel.

Disliked: There is no kitchen to cook in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tents we stayed in were clean and the food was really good and was cheap for what we had, it was in brilliant walking distance of Florence main town and the walk down was lovely. The washing machines were really big which ment I could wash eveything at once and there were lots of spaces to dry clothes. The best thing about this hostel was deffinatly the view of Florence from the resturant, it was amazing

Disliked: The shower was cold and they were not as clean as the other facilities, the shop opening times were a bit restricted as well however it was a bonus to have it in the first place

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013

Liked: Food at the restaurant was cheap and very good. Location was pretty good.

Disliked: Tents had no power plugs. Canvas was ripped so bugs got in and was bitten like mad. Bar just up the hill music was cranking every night we were there until about 3.30. Hills carried sound so was impossible to sleep with that and motorbikes.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Benjamin Kingsbury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013

Liked: The view

Disliked: No power outlets as with other plus campsites. This meant we had to share 9 outlets for entire camp. No dry areas in shower to keep clothes dry, unless you kept them on the rack in main room which was open to view from outside. Tent doors were badly damaged could be easily opened even when supposedly locked. Blankets were inadequate for cold nights. Were told by staff that usual check out was between 7 and 11am but if wanted to depart earlier could check out "night before" which as we tried were then we were told had to be done between 7 and 11am. Which was also contradictory to advertised on the window of reception. Tent had difficult accessibility narrow path and poor lighting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and nice accommodation. City center is about 20 minutes away by walking. Nice view and kind staffs.

Disliked: It was a bit cold during the night even though it was middle of June. Be prepared with extra blankets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Everett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting other travelers, the house wine from the cafe was excellent, and good value & location for the budget traveler. I must mention the man that works in the cafe in the morning rocks! Great attitude and makes a delicious caffe latte. His smile and hospitality really gets your day off to a great start!

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: comfy

Disliked: the noise

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013

Liked: Good view

Disliked: Bad location, club nearby very loud until early hours

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Sarah de Man

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Besides the next door night club that runs every night of the week till 4am, but we don't mind music much.

Disliked: They try to keep up with the cleaning but it is self evident that they need more staff during peak times to keep up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Location, bar/cafe area is great!

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandre Monich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: There are not frenquent buses and it's really hot in the summer

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Florence City Centre, only about 15min walk. Also, it's located on a hill, so there's a really good view over the whole city.

Disliked: It can be quite loud during the night as people are partying close by, and obviously the campsite itself is quite crowded as well (due to the good location I assume).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent view of Florence, good atmosphere

Disliked: Bad Wifi, noise from neighbouring disco

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the view is amazing, the atmosphere great and it's not so expansive but you have to like or get along with camping, even if you stay in one of those tents for three there's enough space in the tents and even though it get's quite hot in there during the day, it cools done at night as well

Disliked: the showers and toiletts weren't that clean, it's quite a walk to the city, even though I knew that before you have to charge you phone etc. at the bistro area so you have to stay there the whole time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lokation, the view was amazing. We liked the idea of the tents it has nice breeze during hot nights. Bathroom and showers are in the right amount so there were no queues. Bar served good food and wine.

Disliked: We liked everything. Maybe didn't satyed long enough to see any weaknesses :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price considering it's in florence. Location was pretty good, though still required a bit of a walk. Nice to have a supermarket.

Disliked: The wifi was so slow you basically couldn't do anything which was a problem because we needed to book accommodation and transportation for the next few days. There weren't any computers to use either.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Shengchao Yang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Shengchao would recommend this property

Liked: 空气和环境很好,在山上,住的年轻人很多,工作人员很热情。出营地不远即米开朗基罗广场,可俯瞰佛罗伦萨全景,个人感觉比置身佛罗伦萨的八街九陌之中更为开阔、迷人。

Disliked: 住的是帐篷,7月的白天,帐篷里很捂热(晚上会比较凉快)。帐篷里没电源,洗漱得走小100米去共用浴室。 蚊子很厉害,一定要带防蚊物品! 从firenze smn出来,建议坐公车抵达,暴走还是有一定距离的,若是晚上,估计会找不到路。

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauricio Cárdenas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 Mauricio would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice camping, facilities and no that far from the city. A really nice experience!

Disliked: Mauricio left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kathryn Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, just up the road from Piazzale Michelangelo and nice walk into the centre. Hostel itself also has a lovely view, bar and restaurant really nice and good value, as was the supermarket

Disliked: We stayed in a tent and it was unbearably hot during the day - we couldn't step inside it at all! But it cooled down at night so not too bad

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and view!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Karina Burton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for Money. Great location, good facilities, friendly staff.

Disliked: Tents aren't fully closed, big gaps for lots of mossys!! Take spray and be prepared.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

sasha buchanan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013

Liked: The onsite bar offered free salad buffet with a drink. Not too far to walk to centre. Helpful staff.

Disliked: Very overpriced compared to the other Plus camping sites. No plug socket in tent whereas there are in Plus camping Jolly and Roma. No swimming pool. Only one bar and one onsite shop. If this site offered tents at €8 pppn it would be very good and worth money. But offered half the facilities of other camping sites by Plus at double the cost.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a beautiful part of Florence! Had a friendly atmosphere and facilities were ideal.

Disliked: After having stayed at Plus camping Roma and Plus camping Jolly we felt that this Plus hostel was not as well kept as the others. This may have been because it was up in the hills, but we felt the campsite was aimed primarily at camper vans rather than travellers. The toilets were always dirty and showers very old. We're not fussy travellers, it is simply by comparison to the other Plus hostels that we felt Florence was below the usual standard. We booked well in advance and were given a tent the furthest away from anything whereas friends who booked that day were placed in a great location which was annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Dani Jackson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Dani would recommend this property

Liked: So unique! It had a really great atmosphere, the best possible view of Florence, and easily in walking distance of downtown (if you don't mind a steep walk downhill and then a steep climb on the way back). We also appreciated the reasonably-priced restaurant on site, and the market they had was well-stocked with a wide variety of things that were surprisingly cheaper than you could get them in the city. Internet was a bit slow, again, that's not the most important thing on vacation, right? I do wish they'd had a pool like all of the other PLUS hostels, but that's not a deal breaker :) Go here! You won't regret it.

Disliked: Not much. Obviously, staying in tents means it can get hot during the day, but when you're in Florence you should be out enjoying the city during the day, not holed up in a tent. I also thought it was a little pricey for a campsite, but it was one of the cheapest places in Florence, so I guess it's just a more expensive location in general.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean and it's different experience.

Disliked: I arrived at night and was so difficult for me to find my tent, they should have better lighting or give you a lamp in those cases.