HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alex House

Hostel | Via Borgo Dei Greci 13, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50122

88.5% Overall Rating

53 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2014)

"Really enjoyed our stay at Alex House. Alex and his colleague were lovely and helpful. However they were sometime hard to find and there wasn't always someone at the front desk. The location was excellent and the room…"

Read all Alex House reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Alex Rooms
55.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Florence Youth Hostel
38.46 USD

Hostel 83.2% 481 reviews
Condotta House
48.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Bavaria
38.73 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Galigai Tower
87.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Il Magnifico B&B
37.35 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 150 reviews
Bed And Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
41.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 33 reviews
Hostel Veronique
19.37 USD

Hostel 69.4% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

53 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alex House'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
91.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay at Alex House. Alex and his colleague were lovely and helpful. However they were sometime hard to find and there wasn't always someone at the front desk. The location was excellent and the room very safe. Walking distance to everything and three different locked doors to get to our room. We required a doctor during our stay and the staff were incredibly helpful with organising one one to come in under an hour. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it if you don't need luxury accommodation.

Disliked: The room was clean, but the shower had rappers of old soaps and a soap on the floor, which made me think that it may not have been cleaned (we had a private bathroom).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: our room was practically an apartment. very centered location.

Disliked: in the amount we payed, I would expect the stove to work and wi-fi to be 24/7 and not ending at 23:00 [very low signal in the upper floor]

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

catherine buscone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about this hotel. The staff treated us like we were the only guests in the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The terrace view is stunning.Great area - within walking distance of most sights and shopping.

Disliked: Not a thing. It is a wonderful property

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanna Bengtsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location big room and friendly and helpfull staff!

Disliked: I do not have any complains.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Chris Sjolander

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: The location was in the center of town less than 10 minutes from all of the major museums. The beds were comfortable and we had lots of space.

Disliked: The fridge, stove, and TV did not work so we were unable to cook. The heat was inaccessbile as well and we were freezing at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly smiling staff, very clean & well-kept, comfortable beds. Well-located but still not too loud, considering the area is smack in the midst of all the nightlife & my room was just above the street - still slept well even with open windows. You have the feeling as if you are staying in someone's apartment, which I like.

Disliked: I don't think the value was so great at 100euro/night for a double bedroom without its own bathroom (though I never even saw another person go in or out of the "shared" one down the hall from my room). The ease of location & check-in/check-out (you pay on arrival & can leave your keys in the room for check-out) made it nice for my brief 2 day stay, but I'm pretty confident I'll continue to seek & find better values in future visits to Florence.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with clean and spacious rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful in pointing out things to do around the city as well as places to eat.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Kirby

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely apartment in the heart of Florence...

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nichole Racelis

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Nichole would recommend this property

Liked: This property exuded charm and comfort! Our room was complete with a large leather sofa, coffee table, extra chair and 2 nightstands. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Our room was next to the check-in/check-out desk, so there was heavily traffic occasionally just outside our door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice and VERY clean! Loved our stay. Perfect location as well.

Disliked: Just be aware that there is no sign or anything out front, so know the address well!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Tock

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Duomo and the Uffizi museum were all nearby. Wifi included as well.

Disliked: No breakfast.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very center location Helpful staff (if you available on spot, see negative comments)

Disliked: Wifi works only between 6am and 10pm, in the night it is disconnected Towels are extra paid Reception assistant was available only after 11am Lift is not working

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Bastoni

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever Alex was the best,absolutely loved our stay here totally exceeded our expectation. Staff cool helpful and gets involved in nightly events, clean and large room,the bathroom were fine,really clean. If you are going to Florence go here!

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muholan Kanapathy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Muholan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cosy environment. We liked our room. It has a nice small balcony to allow some fresh air to come in as we did not have any air conditioning in our room during the warm summer. The location is also good for us to walk around to several places. We were also given idea on places go and was given a good map in our hotel.

Disliked: Only 1 toilet was available in our floor. It was very clean though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marc Ward

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was a really pleasant suprise.We chose it for its location near the train station and main sites, and for its price . We were delighted with the quality of the room and clean.Bed was really comfortable .staff friendly

Disliked: Marc left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Bowen Shi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2012

Liked: the staff were reasonably friendly and they provided free wifi

Disliked: when we checked in on the 1st day after walking across half the old city from the train station, we were told that they have rent our room out. after almost an hour we had to move to another house close to the station. We were told that it is only a short distance 2 min walk away, once we agreed it turns out the place we are relocated to is near the train station (~20min walk). Seriously it is not fun to walk 5 plus km under the hot sun with all your belongings. next day we were woken up with rude loud quarreling from the hostel owners and they seemed can't wait to get us out. 2nd night at Alex house was better but there were a bunch of leftover bananas in the kitchen which starts to smell. Although they offered a 70 euro discount for our trouble, but i do not recommend this for future travellers. for all these trouble it is not worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephan Panzariello

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located hostel ,clean with helpful staff. My room was really well decorated and clean.I would definitely go there again!

Disliked: Stephan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, huge room, and a great location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best reception person for the job, place is clean and central to all the sights, stayed another 2 days, bravo!

Disliked: No tea and coffeen facilities

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dave tyler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 dave would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing Hostel .beautiful so clean and friendly ,perfect location. My room and bathroom was spotless ,nicer than a lot hotels i've been to! Thanks !!!!

Disliked: dave left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012

Liked: The room and location is absolutely fantastic. In the heart of the city and the actual space is incredible.

Disliked: We were only given 4 bed for 6 people originally and had to push hard to get another cot (only one of the beds could even have passed as a double, but the woman said since there was an extra pillow on the bed that it counted as double?!) The woman who worked with us was not nice at all. We were not allowed to use the porch/kitchen even though they were in the room. Friendliness was VERY lacking and I didn't appreciate being told it was a 6 person room when it clearly didn't have enough beds. No WIFI in the rooms. Also, be aware of early check-out (10 AM) and lack of hostel environment. You will not see anyone else staying at the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the middle of the city. Helpful staff in beautiful building. Good water pressure in bathroom.

Disliked: The walls were thin and we could hear the other guests coming in late at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location with hospitality service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert tatomovich

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012 robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was absolutely fantastic in every way,awesome and helpful staff,great location,soft beds. I would stay there again and I'm recommending it to all my friends.

Disliked: Free wifi connection only in lobby