HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dany House

Guesthouse | Via Bolognese 8, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50139

94.9% Overall Rating

916 out of 969 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"Jonathan is very welcoming, rooms red and purple have a nice shared bedroom, had an awesome stay because of the people. Fridge and microwave for use. Generous breakfast for two euro."

Read all Dany House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.55
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation or a change to your booking is only possible 48 hours before your arrival only by email or fax Phone cancellation is not accepted and payment is in cash only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Benvenuti
25.98 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.2% 104 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
31.79 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.6% 58 reviews
Ostello Gallo D'Oro
38.01 USD

Hostel 92.7% 204 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
41.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 45 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
41.47 USD

Guesthouse 98.6% 4 reviews
Residenza Betta
23.50 USD

Guesthouse 92.7% 124 reviews
Opera B&B
44.23 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Plus Florence
33.17 USD

Hostel 88.8% 2216 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

916 out of 969 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dany House'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 840 of 876 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 33 | 34   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan is very welcoming, rooms red and purple have a nice shared bedroom, had an awesome stay because of the people. Fridge and microwave for use. Generous breakfast for two euro.

Disliked: Green rooms bathroom is right next to your bed if you stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan is a lovely, super kind and helpful host! His FREE wine in the evening was so delicious, made it very easy to meet other travelers. Location is a bit off the main tourist area, but that means you get to walk to the real local restaurants, which was great :)

Disliked: a bit of a wait for bathroom in the morning, as there was only one for 2 rooms. but it's a small thing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zili Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Zili would recommend this property

Liked: I could not express how much I love about Dany House. First, It has a very nice location: just about 15 mins (walking) away from the historic area. Second, Jonathan is such a good host!!! On the day of arrival, he prepared the drinks & cake and told you everything about Florence attractions. Also, we had a small party every single night to help us get to know each other. If you plan to stay in Florence and want to meet people ( taste loocal wines and italian cakes), Dany House is definitely your choice!

Disliked: Zili left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Clarenbeck

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Malin would recommend this property

Liked: It is amazing! One of the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The atmosphere is incredible, the staff so nice and helpfull, we felt like a huge family on our stay.

Disliked: There is nothing to complain about

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pranav Yadav

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 November 2013 Pranav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly people, they even helped me to change my booking.

Disliked: Pranav left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Raymond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in - fantastic value for money and atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rachael Dunne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, easy to get to know other guests.

Disliked: No kitchen, very small hostel, booked a 4 bed dorm but 6 people ended up sleeping in the room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathon, the owner, was absolutely fabulous! The hostel is only a 15 minute walk from everything in Florence and Jonathon will give you maps and point out all of the attractions in Florence. Someone is always at the hostel if you need anything and super willing to help out! We accidentally came after check in hours and were exhausted and were promptly given a liter of water, a run down of the hostel and shown our room. The hostel is very clean and breakfast is cheap. The social hour is really fun and we got to know so many awesome people.

Disliked: It was a bit far away but it is perfect in every other way so I did not mind at all. We were by a cheap gelato and cheap coffee place so that was great as well. Not at all unsafe!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mauro Biolé

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2013 Mauro would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel for 5 nights, I read the reviews before booking and I found every traveler staying here was happy about the hostel and the staff. After my stay in Dany House I can honestly say this is an excellent choice to stay in Florence, clean, safe, quiet, and with a lovely staff, Jonatan, Ella and Celeste will do anything to make your stay a really good time. Location is not in the city center, but it takes just 15 minutes walk to the Domo via a very quiet and safe street. I highly recommend this hostel in Florence.

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maysa Elmoustafa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Maysa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly, the rooms are very spacious and the atmosphere is the best I've experienced. The free wine each night is an excellent way to meet the other guests and make great friends. Clifford will sit with you and patiently go through a map of the city to point out all the places of interest and the best restaurants to go to. Pay attention to those as he recommended some absolute gems if a little bit out of the way, but completely worth it! Could not recommend more highly!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Bradley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: This was maybe the best hostel I've ever stayed at, and I travel A LOT. It's small and cozy in a decent location, but the real value is in the staff. Absolutely awesome people and they make it a lot of fun to stay there. Breakfast is good and the free wine at night is just an example of the type of guy the owner is. They keep the place super clean and the wifi is great and reaches all corners of the place. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Not a problem for me, but it's a 10 minute walk from the center FYI

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Smart

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly environment and extremely helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Roden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I've ever been to! The hosts were so helpful and friendly, we really felt so welcome. Free wine party every night at 9 is so much fun and great for meeting other people in the hostel. We told Jonathan (one of the hosts) we were interested in the food in Florence so he even came out with us to a deli to help us with our Italian so we could order what we wanted. Will definitely be back!

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've never felt more at home at a hostel. Being so small, you quickly knew everyone in the hostel and the 9pm wine time was excellent - even if not many turned up Cliff was still there to keep a solo traveller company! He even gave me my own mini tour of Florence when he finished work. Jonathan was lovely and so willing to share information about Florence and Tuscany. Will stay again!

Disliked: Too much nutella! ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is incredible; previous reviews talk of how eager Jonathon and Clifford are to help, and they go beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome. They provide free drinks and snacks on arrival whilst Jonathon points out everywhere you need to know about on the free city map. There is a great atmosphere in the hostel, due to the enthusiasm and helpfulness of the staff, and also the efforts they make to get everyone involved and meeting people with the free wine and snacks every night at 9. I would definitely recommend this hostel, even if it is a bit far from the main sights, but as there is a bus stop right outside it's not too difficult. Good value for money, great service and I'm already looking forward to going back!

Disliked: Nothing; this place is amazing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Ma

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, received the friendliest welcome as of yet. Johnathan, the owner, is a genuinely friendly and likeable guy. Even had some complimentary wine as he showed us all the key sites and places. There was a great atmosphere, everyone knew each other and the hostel had nightly get togethers in the common room with some snacks and wine. People seem to complain about the location but it's fine, Florence is a really small place and you can walk to the centre in 10-15 minutes. Pretty much perfect!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Lincoln

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Have never had such a warm welcome.. Jonathan is awesome and points out everything you need to know on the map.. Also suggests a really good Italian restaurant we were told is "not for tourists". It's was amazing. Great stay and only about a 15 min walk from the city center

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELAINE FUNG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 ELAINE would recommend this property

Liked: It really is like living in a home rather than a hostel. Jonathan, the owner of dany house, Clifford and Ella are all nice people. You would feel very welcomed and feel at home in here. The beds are really comfortable and showers are amazing! I would definitely come here again in the future.

Disliked: None really!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After having traveled so far, after seeing wonderful cities and hostels super equipped ... discover the Dany House was amazing. The structure is simple, colorful and welcoming, but inside there is magic! Jonathan Clifford and make everything wonderful, and when you're so much time on the road, away from home, the smile and the welcome and the help that you will make you feel as if you arrived at the home of friends. Welcome drink, illustration of the map of Florence, with all the tips for you directly reported by Jonathan, free wine and snacks every night, great breakfast with only 1 euro! In return I will stay again at Dany House. Super recommended.

Disliked: absolutely nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shauna Ward

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

13 March 2013 Shauna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about Dany House. Everyone, both employees and guests, were super friendly and helpful. I 100000% recommend this hostel to anyone going to Florence.

Disliked: It's a bit far from town, but it's walkable and absolutely worth it. Also, there are no lockers, but my things still felt very safe because it's a small hostel so I got to know everyone else who was staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel. the hosts go to extremes to make sure you have a good stay, and give tips on what to do and where to go etc.

Disliked: all good.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff and amazing atmosphere. The reviews about Cliff and Jonathan are true...great people.

Disliked: No lockers but I still felt my stuff was safe.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Darling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Loved here we booked another three nights! The staff are amazing and make you feel right at home! So helpful and incredible friendly. The free wine at night is a great touch and really creats a family like atmosphere between everyone at Dany House! Amazing stay!

Disliked: There are no lockers, but with such an amazing atmosphere I wasnt worried about my belongings.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the FRIENDLIEST people I have ever met; the breakfast is perfect and costs 1 euro; the free wine and dessert parties every night are so much fun and a GREAT way to meet people; the rooms are comfortable; the staff will do anything to help you...... etc. etc. EVERYTHING WAS AMAZING.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff! Clifford and Jonathon were great hosts that gave us good advice for traveling and provided us with whatever we needed. For example, we needed to print museum tickets and they provided us with free printing service. Additionally, the common room is right in the middle of the hostel and has a computer, speakers and music instruments. At night, they give free wine as a pregame to going out which was great. You will get to meet all the other travelers while taking down bottle after bottle.

Disliked: Dany House is a 30 minute walk from the bar scene. As a result, going out can be exhausting and really difficult when cold. Keep this in mind if your priority is to party in Florence.