We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dany House

Guesthouse | Via Bolognese 8, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50139

94.4% Overall Rating

934 out of 987 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2015)

Graham Stout thinks…

"Been traveling over a year now, one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Laura is amazing, helps you out with anything you need. Smaller place, easy to meet other people and connect. Incredibly clean,…"

Read all Dany House reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.18
  • Breakfast USD 2.17
  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation or a change to your booking is only possible 48 hours before your arrival only by email or fax Phone cancellation is not accepted and payment is in cash only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Masaccio
23.92 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.3% 61 reviews
Ostello Gallo D'Oro
32.62 USD

Hostel 93.9% 222 reviews
Soggiorno Michelangelo
32.62 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 7 reviews
Hotel Benvenuti
15.76 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 109 reviews
Opera B&B
29.35 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 8 reviews
Plus Florence
17.40 USD

Hostel 87.4% 2278 reviews
Sogni d'Oro
27.18 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 6 reviews
Locanda Gallo Guesthouse
32.62 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 156 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

934 out of 987 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dany House'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 857 of 894 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Stout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Been traveling over a year now, one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Laura is amazing, helps you out with anything you need. Smaller place, easy to meet other people and connect. Incredibly clean, great atmosphere. True, it is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the city center, but c'mon, it's Florence - embrace the walk and drink in the city amd culture. Can't say enough about this place.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paige Crowley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Paige would recommend this property

Liked: Dany House was the best hostel me and my friends stayed at during our 2 weeks in Italy. Laura and her husband are SO nice and friendly and make you feel at home during your stay. Me and my friends shared the 5 bedroom room and it was clean, cute, and homey. The hostel is around a 15 minute walk to the center but the walk is easy and I enjoyed staying a little further out because it wasn't as loud. They offer a breakfast for 2 euros and its SO worth it - you won't find anything cheaper anywhere in Italy. We were sad to say bye to Dany House and wished we could have stayed here our whole trip. Thanks so much for the great stay <3

Disliked: Paige left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shreyas Krishnaswamy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2015 Shreyas would recommend this property

Liked: Liborio and Laura are FANTASTIC owners of this small hostel. VERY FRIENDLY AND CARING! they gave the hostel a very homely feel. One thing i appreciate was that they took the time to provide a city map and highlight the must see attractions as well as good places for shopping as well as savouring the italian delicacies (gelato, pizza, pasta, paninis) to help avoid the many tourist traps. overall the best and most caring owners I have seen in the 7 hostels that I stayed with during my trip

Disliked: the only small issue is that it is a bit far from the historic centre (about 20mins walk) and it was located off a rather annoying road intersection that required going around it to cross

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liborio and Laura were very friendly!! They were very helpful and responsive to all my enquiries, it felt like staying with my own brother and sister :) However, it seems like I missed the legendary evening wine party? :( Maybe I will come back to Florence for that!! :) P.S.: I'm sorry for the explosion I made in the microwave :(

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Vass

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Laura and Liborio are the best hosts I've ever had. They are accomodating, friendly, kind, honest, and always willing to help. Liborio went out of his way to look up information on opening times for the Duomo for me, and prepared the breakfast early for me every day! The lockers were good-sized, and the general atmosphere is clean, colorful, and welcoming, which brought out the friendliness in everyone! Definitely the best hostel experience I've ever had! Thank you Dany House!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was really kind and helpful!!! He made map for each people who is staying there and it was quite useful!!! Also their's customers were good. I could meet very nice people!

Disliked: The street in front of Dany House was a little bit noisy, but it was not their fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dalton Bobek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2015 Dalton would recommend this property

Liked: Liborio and Laura were some of the most genuine and nicest people I had the pleasure of meeting. I soon as I arrived in Florence early one morning, Liborio had checked me in and mapped out everything I had wanted to see in the city. He was extremely helpful to me. The atmosphere of the Dany House makes it really easy to meet other travelers as well.

Disliked: Nothing, if you're in Florence stay at the Dany House!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laura and Liborio are THE NICEST PEOPLE and such great hosts! It's such a comfy and laid-back place to stay. You actually get to know the owners and other guests, much much more than in a normal hostel.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk to all the art, historical stuff, etc. (but not extravagantly so - Florence is a fairly small city.) The upside is that it's in a normal neighborhood with more reasonable food prices, regular folks, etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Fraser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2014 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as all the other comments. The owners are super friendly and welcoming, willing to answer any questions and sit you down with a map showing you all the places to go in Florence. Bathroom was spotless, rooms were nice, and the wine party every night was fantastic! Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts.

Disliked: No lockers and only bathroom for the whole hostel. On arrival breakfast was added to the bill without us asking for it! The bill came to more than we anticipated.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff Liberio and Laura were very friendly. I was serve orange juice when I first arrived (from his grandfathers place I was told) and wine in the evening. They suggest all the nice place to see and place to eat in Florence. The bathroom was clean and the internet speed was decent.

Disliked: Not the closest place to the city center

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benoit Richer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Benoit would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay at Dany's. Helpful staff, clean, cheap breakfast, free information for the city, I can only recommend other travellers to stay there in Florence.

Disliked: Benoit left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Genevieve Kotarska

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2014 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: The hostels owners were so lovely and friendly, they helped me practice my Italian. It was very homely and we would definitely return in the future

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Thomas

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

07 July 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and free wine and nibbles provided

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the interior design of it. The room is also spacious. Snacks are also provided.

Disliked: It is a bit difficult finding the location as the signage is confusing and the instructions are clear enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Moon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathon is an amazing host! From the moment you enter the hostel you feel welcomed and are offered juice. He sits down with you and a map and gives you an introduction to Florence with all his personal recommendations for food, which were all very amazing! Every night there is a 'party' with free wine which was a great way to meet other travellers. The facilities are clean, the beds comfortable and the service above and beyond what you would expect from a hostel!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Dany House!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher O'Rourke

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: First, Jonathan set a new, and VERY high standard, for my hostel stays. Upon arriving, he welcomed me in with offers of juice and water. He told me a bit about Dany House, sat me down with one of his staff, and talked me through everything there was to know or do in Florence. David (I hope I have that right), was very knowledgeable and equipped me with an assortment of odds and ends including an update map which he circle various locations on. The dorm style rooms were extremely comfortable and they provided adapters to the sockets because mine, from Albania, did not quite fit. It was very kind of them! Breakfast was simple but very nice and inexpensive. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean with wonderfully hot water in an enclosed stand-up shower. It was a great way to start my morning!

Disliked: I've got nothing. An amazing hostel!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan is very welcoming, rooms red and purple have a nice shared bedroom, had an awesome stay because of the people. Fridge and microwave for use. Generous breakfast for two euro.

Disliked: Green rooms bathroom is right next to your bed if you stay there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan is a lovely, super kind and helpful host! His FREE wine in the evening was so delicious, made it very easy to meet other travelers. Location is a bit off the main tourist area, but that means you get to walk to the real local restaurants, which was great :)

Disliked: a bit of a wait for bathroom in the morning, as there was only one for 2 rooms. but it's a small thing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zili Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Zili would recommend this property

Liked: I could not express how much I love about Dany House. First, It has a very nice location: just about 15 mins (walking) away from the historic area. Second, Jonathan is such a good host!!! On the day of arrival, he prepared the drinks & cake and told you everything about Florence attractions. Also, we had a small party every single night to help us get to know each other. If you plan to stay in Florence and want to meet people ( taste loocal wines and italian cakes), Dany House is definitely your choice!

Disliked: Zili left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malin Clarenbeck

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Malin would recommend this property

Liked: It is amazing! One of the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The atmosphere is incredible, the staff so nice and helpfull, we felt like a huge family on our stay.

Disliked: There is nothing to complain about

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pranav Yadav

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 November 2013 Pranav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly people, they even helped me to change my booking.

Disliked: Pranav left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Raymond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in - fantastic value for money and atmosphere. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rachael Dunne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, easy to get to know other guests.

Disliked: No kitchen, very small hostel, booked a 4 bed dorm but 6 people ended up sleeping in the room.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathon, the owner, was absolutely fabulous! The hostel is only a 15 minute walk from everything in Florence and Jonathon will give you maps and point out all of the attractions in Florence. Someone is always at the hostel if you need anything and super willing to help out! We accidentally came after check in hours and were exhausted and were promptly given a liter of water, a run down of the hostel and shown our room. The hostel is very clean and breakfast is cheap. The social hour is really fun and we got to know so many awesome people.

Disliked: It was a bit far away but it is perfect in every other way so I did not mind at all. We were by a cheap gelato and cheap coffee place so that was great as well. Not at all unsafe!

The property's response is...