HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Florence Youth Hostel

Hostel | Viale della Condotta n 4, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50122

83.2% Overall Rating

468 out of 481 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/05/2013)

"Staff were extremely friendly! We had three different people at the front desk who were all exceptionally nice"

Read all Florence Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

It is important to confirm by emaill your arrival time, especially when you arrive after 22.00. If you change your schedule or you just don't remember the time you wrote on your reservation, you must contact us urgently by phone or email otherwise you will not be able to check in because there will be no one here for you and you will have to wait outside, maybe for hours. All cancelations must be done at least 48 hours in advance beginning arrival day and only via mail. Credit cards not accepted! Please note that the property does not accept direct bookings for more than 10 People. Please contact our groups department .

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Condotta House
48.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Galigai Tower
87.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alex Rooms
55.33 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Alex House
45.65 USD

Hostel 88.5% 57 reviews
Hotel Bavaria
38.73 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Hostel Veronique
19.37 USD

Hostel 69.4% 45 reviews
Bed And Breakfast di Piazza del Duomo
41.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 33 reviews
Eurostudent Home
31.68 USD

Hostel 86.6% 385 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.2%

Overall Rating

468 out of 481 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Florence Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 401 of 454 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Christine Cheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The room is big but very eerie. The staff and manager drove us out cuz we wanted to book extra night but prefer another room as we are uncomfortable to stay in the room that we stayed for one night. Also they scolded us and was very rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonghyun kim

Alone

City break

19 February 2014 jonghyun would recommend this property

Liked: my perfect room in travel i will use again next visit

Disliked: There is no kitchen facilities

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

RICARDO NETO

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2013 RICARDO would recommend this property

Liked: The locality is amazing.

Disliked: There was no kitchen available.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central to everything we needed and very secure.

Disliked: The private rooms are in a separate building from the actual hostel so takes away from the atmosphere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Iago Cordal Carames

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Iago would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendliness (free breakfast!).

Disliked: Too many signs with rules and long queue for having a shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Bingley

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 June 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very clean. Quiet.

Disliked: It didn't have a hostel atmosphere. The check-in/check-out process was rather long and confusing. The rooms aren't in the actual hostel but down the street.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near many key attractions in florence.

Disliked: Only one bathroom to be shared amongst all the residents.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. Big bedroom. Clean bathroom.

Disliked: Rooms smell funny (perhaps because of the carpet that does not look very good), fortunatelly we could sleep with open windows and that was the solution. One day without notice they add one bed to the room so one more person could stay (for one night we were five instead of four). Beds unstable that make a lot of noise whe people move while sleeping.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Patterson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: It was as described. Staff very helpful.

Disliked: There was a lot of noise from the street in the room I shared as it was at front of hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly! We had three different people at the front desk who were all exceptionally nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valeria Spaziano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: it's a bit noisy at night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Looking at the location on the map I thought it would be a little bit off the interesting places. Quite on the contrary. We went walking from the train station pulling our trollies, and we found out, to our surprise, that all the interesting sites were absolutely within walking distance. We sometimes went back to our room to leave or take something during the day, or just to have a short rest. The hostel is located in a relatively small street, so you will stay away from the busiest ones. However, you will get to hear the ocasional passer-bys or taxis during the night, and specially in the morning. This was not disturbing to us, but might be to others. The room was also bigger than expected. I wouldn't say it was huge, but pretty comfortable for us. It didn't have a TV set, which was no problem for us. We did have wi-fi and a shared kitchen (also to our surprise). The bathroom was shared with two or three other people and it was very clean all the time.

Disliked: There is no single reason for me to complain about the property. If anything, I would say that our room was located in a different building than the main facility. This could be a plus, since our room was in a single flat with two other rooms, providing a very quiet atmosfere, or a minus, since we had to go to the other building for breakfast. Our room was on the third floor, with no lift. As I said, this is ok with us, but might be a concern for others. Actually, one downside to the place is that they don't take credit cards, I had to pay in cash. Even though this is stated in the reservation, I didn't realize it until I was there, so I spent most of my cash paying for our room. I should have noticed earlier, but paying with card is something I would have expected.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, the staffs are nice, the rooms are clean

Disliked: although the hostel is located in the center of the city, it still takes a little walk from the central station. Since you have too many bagages it might be a hard work.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good property

Disliked: when i arrived, it's 9:30pm and according to the website, i already sent an email to them and confirm about my arrival time. but when i got to the hostel, there was no one at reception, so i had to wait a long time downstairs. and luckily there was some guest from the hostel who happened to be back and he let me in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and clean

Disliked: Street cleaners very noisy and we had to be out at certain times...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Tonna

Alone

City break

03 April 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: I liked most the location, quiet area

Disliked: some guests were noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large room, good bed, good atmosphere, bathroom always clean and excellent location.

Disliked: Nothing to aim.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ali Guliyev

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: it is in very centre of the city, close to all main places

Disliked: in the morning there was very loud music in staff room and did not allow us to sleep properly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were in a Private double bed room and it was huge. The location was very near to the center of the spots. They kindly provided addional heater to us. Cleaniness was maintained.

Disliked: Since the room was big the central heater was not enough the staff gave us an additional heater which was very sweet of him but it makes the fuse jump out all the time even we did not switch it on till maximum. The fridge too. We requested for additional blankets coz the original one was not warm enough to us. One of the legs of the bed was broken and the bed was tilted. It was noisy at midnight and in the morning. These were all trivial matters but what we didnt like most was the compulsory lock out time for cleaning is 10am which was too early for us. The staff was not very friendly when we said that we need more time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Winsvold

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location!!! (!) Super central, actually between the Doumo and the Uffizi Gallery. This alone should be enough to choose this hostel. The hostel itself was also super nice, so friendly and helpful staff, and nice rooms and facilities. I failed to notice if there was any kind of kitchen available, but nothing I needed anyway.

Disliked: Liked it all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was in a fantastic location, just around the corner from uffizi gallery and the duomo. The staff were very friendly and eager to help with any requests and our room was enormous.

Disliked: There was some street noise overnight under our window and there wasn't much of a common area to socialise in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Bailey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Florence Youth Hostel was one of the most wonderful and unique places throughout all of Italy! The owners Magdalena and Francesco are kind, professional and well-versed in of all of the great local hot-spots too! There is a lovely dog Sky too. I FIRMLY recommend staying here as much and as frequently as possible. Ciao!

Disliked: I loved everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a lovely cosy little hostel in a very convenient location. the building is old but has character and is very well kept. the owners gave me a free upgrade to a single room (which was absolutely beautiful) and even made me pasta on my first night. i was initially nervous about staying there alone, but they made me feel right at home! would definitely recommend!!

Disliked: there was no lift, so carrying my luggage to the top of the stairs was a bit difficult.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kyle Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for being able to relax and explore on your own terms. Not a party hostel by any means but the staff was super friendly and helpful in telling me local places to check out and tourist traps to avoid. Central location to all the major sites of the city. Easy to walk everywhere.

Disliked: If you are looking to RAGE... this place is not for you.