HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Emerald Fields

Hostel | Via Guelfa 59, 50129, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50100

90.9% Overall Rating

183 out of 207 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"Good location. Easy to go anywhere. Friendly and helpful stuff. Shower is very good. Offered the breakfast nice n simple...."

Read all Emerald Fields reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 34.51
  • Luggage Room USD 2.76
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Guelfa
48.32 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Collodi – Firenze
99.74 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
APPARTAMENTO LUCREZIA
27.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Affittacamere Freda Lucia
32.48 USD

Guesthouse 82.0% 24 reviews
Soggiorno Venere
34.17 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 122 reviews
Garden Florence B&B
40.49 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 42 reviews
Residenza IL CASTELLO ROSA
66.26 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Aline
28.99 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 27 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

183 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Emerald Fields'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 203 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Easy to go anywhere. Friendly and helpful stuff. Shower is very good. Offered the breakfast nice n simple....

Disliked: Room door has no lock. Only have locker for each person in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the city center, beautifully decorated and clean.

Disliked: They have a mandatory lock out time 11-2 in which you MUST leave your room for them to clean. I prefer to have my own schedule while on vacation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: The building we were in is by the markets, so it's a bit noisy early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

20 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly hosts! Perfect location! It was like having your own apartment right in the middle of the city and felt like just like at home! Showers here are top! Beds were amazingly comfy! Stayed here with my parents (ages 72 and 64) and they were very happy with the accommodation! The best hostel we have yet stayed in!

Disliked: No stove to cook but hey, you're surrounded by Italian food eateries!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely wonderful and so extremely helpful. The location was absolutely perfect and had easy access to everything in the city! The location felt very safe and we didn't have to worry about anything. I highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about this property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014

Liked: It is nice and central. Extra points for the mama who was lovely.

Disliked: I didn't really appreciate being changed hostel after my booking because they consider this low season and don't want to open all their places. However the place was nice big rooms ensuite and clean. It is not a good place to meet people or for travellers on a budget as you are literally kicked out from 10:30 to 2pm and their are no cooking facilities.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy running it was very nice and helpful about telling us where to go. It was clean and had a great atmosphere. It's a short walk to the center and I felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very happy with the price. Location was perfect, five minutes from the train station (S.M.Novella) and very close to the fantastic monuments, museums and nightlife Florence has to offer. Nice, spacious and clean rooms. Big lockers. Typical Italian breakfast. Friendly staff. The lockout was no big deal (you're usually out by then anyway).

Disliked: The staff are really nice and helpful when you are a customer and staying at the hostel, however upon return after checking out (for picking up baggage) this attitude changes drastically. Other customers who had checked out before me had the same experience. As a solo traveller I was disappointed with the common space. It lacked atmosphere and I found it difficult to make friends.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is great. I have not thought that it will be so amazing environment. And it is very close to the market , attraction and the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perim ISISAG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Perim would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything. Staff was very helpful, kind and cheerful, the room, the bathroom and the common areas were all very clean. We loved the Florence-rooftop view that we saw out of our window. I would absulutely recommend this hostel. Cheaper than most others in Florence, very close to the heart of everything.

Disliked: It was a bit cold at night, it would have been better if the heater was on. Other than that, it was great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

David Mcguigan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013

Liked: Easy to find and in a great location. Close to all the sites and the station. Food market is just around the corner. Hostel is also clean

Disliked: We booked a room with a private bathroom but when we arrived we were told it was not available as too many other people had also booked the room. Not sure if this is a problem with the hostel bookers site or the hostel itself. The guy 'discounted' the room back to the normal price of a shared bathroom room. There are only two bathrooms on each floor which also include the toilet so it is very difficult to get into the bathrooms in the morning. The beds are also very uncomfortable and I had to put the mattress on the floor to get a decent sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room at Emerald Fields. The very friendly staff suggested us an upgrade for a much nicer room for free. The room was very beautiful, close to central market and worth it's price. The staff was great, the owner war very nice and helpful - nice chats included. A special thanks goes to "Mama", she was awesome. That's how a hostel should be!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was less than 5-minutes from the train/bus station and less than 10 minutes to the Duomo. The staff was very friendly and glad to make recommendations for places to eat and things to do.

Disliked: The rooms were a little stuffy, so we had to keep the windows open at night. The hostel patio was directly below our window (our room was on the upper floor), so if you plan to be in bed before midnight you will be fighting the noise and smoke from the patio below.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closeness to the train station and other attractions in florence

Disliked: Showers could do with been updated

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel Free toast and coffee for breakfast 10 min walk from central station, quite close considering we used Florence as our base Room was a decent size

Disliked: 11am-2pm lock out Rooms are not locked so isn't good if your luggage doesn't fit in the locker. Not very safe No real common room besides the kitchen Not a social hostel Only 2 bathrooms on second floor for way too many people. Had to wait for showers or to even use toilet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train. Walking distance good to markets & shopping areas. Several eateries close by

Disliked: Shared bathroom shower had blocked drain/clogged up..nothing too major although found it a bit gross

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Serdar Kamaç

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Wi-Fi not working, our room was in a totally different building, it was impossible to open our windows because there was workers out there. they charged extra money for stuff like towel and leaving our luggages after check-out(for 3 hours). the young receptionist was good intentioned, but far away from being really informative.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalia Couto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: They actually didn't have the room we've asked for, and gave us a private room in a very near hotel which was lovely and very clean. So I cannot say much about the Emerald itself

Disliked: same as above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chyi June Khoo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013 Chyi June would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: Chyi June left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Orvis

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 June 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Stairs

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalie Low

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable with a lovely ambience located with a good location to attractions of Florence. Staff is also very helpful, patient and friendly!

Disliked: I was staying at an ensuite room located away from the main hostel office. After being shown around and the morning, there was no one at the reception thereafter, you are left alone and independent on your own throughout the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORDAN PATTERSON

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 JORDAN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect!! The hostel was clean, big and nice common aerea, the staff very kind and friendly. Very very close to station train and atractions!!

Disliked: JORDAN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilka Zant

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Ilka would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent

Disliked: Breakfast was simple but enough to get you going

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Common areas

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loong working hours of the reception and the guys who work here speak fluent english so commjnication was not a problem. The bed was awesome! So cousy we couldnt get up :O!! Breakfast was ok, free coffe and bread with butter and marmelade. Good value for a short stay

Disliked: -