HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Emerald Fields

Hostel | Via Guelfa 59, 50129, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50100

83.9% Overall Rating

194 out of 222 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms didn't smell like sewer. The showers worked very well. The wifi is quite good (mostly in the common areas). The place is quite clean and the atmosphere was very…"

Read all Emerald Fields reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.58
  • Luggage Room USD 2.69
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Guelfa
35.83 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Collodi – Firenze
48.36 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
APPARTAMENTO LUCREZIA
31.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Affittacamere Freda Lucia
31.61 USD

Guesthouse 82.1% 31 reviews
Soggiorno Venere
33.25 USD

Guesthouse 85.8% 124 reviews
Garden Florence B&B
34.50 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 43 reviews
Residenza IL CASTELLO ROSA
64.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Aline
25.52 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.0% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

194 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Emerald Fields'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 218 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms didn't smell like sewer. The showers worked very well. The wifi is quite good (mostly in the common areas). The place is quite clean and the atmosphere was very good.

Disliked: It was only a bit hard to find it. Doesn't have a sign outside saying "Emerald Fields", but it does have a Hostelworld sign outside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014

Liked: Very close to everything. Walking distance.

Disliked: Cleaners took my shoes and the staff were too interested in watching the football game on his computer to help. Literally held the phone to his ear without dialling and sat there like that watching the screen while I stood there and waited.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful. Bright, cheerful rooms-felt very homely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The entire property smells horrible at all times. The bathrooms are unclean. The staff is not friendly and not helpful. They do not accept credit cards. The only good thing was the location but for your money I'd recommend going elsewhere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice staff, the lockers in the rooms, the terrace, the kitchen

Disliked: The wi-fi is not very good when everybody try to connect but it's okay (and you can use the shared computer so...)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything. No curfew. Kitchen is good. Mexin guy working pm was amazing.

Disliked: Am manager Dan is very rude. Can't lock doors.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Easy to go anywhere. Friendly and helpful stuff. Shower is very good. Offered the breakfast nice n simple....

Disliked: Room door has no lock. Only have locker for each person in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the city center, beautifully decorated and clean.

Disliked: They have a mandatory lock out time 11-2 in which you MUST leave your room for them to clean. I prefer to have my own schedule while on vacation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: The building we were in is by the markets, so it's a bit noisy early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

20 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly hosts! Perfect location! It was like having your own apartment right in the middle of the city and felt like just like at home! Showers here are top! Beds were amazingly comfy! Stayed here with my parents (ages 72 and 64) and they were very happy with the accommodation! The best hostel we have yet stayed in!

Disliked: No stove to cook but hey, you're surrounded by Italian food eateries!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely wonderful and so extremely helpful. The location was absolutely perfect and had easy access to everything in the city! The location felt very safe and we didn't have to worry about anything. I highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about this property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014

Liked: It is nice and central. Extra points for the mama who was lovely.

Disliked: I didn't really appreciate being changed hostel after my booking because they consider this low season and don't want to open all their places. However the place was nice big rooms ensuite and clean. It is not a good place to meet people or for travellers on a budget as you are literally kicked out from 10:30 to 2pm and their are no cooking facilities.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy running it was very nice and helpful about telling us where to go. It was clean and had a great atmosphere. It's a short walk to the center and I felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very happy with the price. Location was perfect, five minutes from the train station (S.M.Novella) and very close to the fantastic monuments, museums and nightlife Florence has to offer. Nice, spacious and clean rooms. Big lockers. Typical Italian breakfast. Friendly staff. The lockout was no big deal (you're usually out by then anyway).

Disliked: The staff are really nice and helpful when you are a customer and staying at the hostel, however upon return after checking out (for picking up baggage) this attitude changes drastically. Other customers who had checked out before me had the same experience. As a solo traveller I was disappointed with the common space. It lacked atmosphere and I found it difficult to make friends.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is great. I have not thought that it will be so amazing environment. And it is very close to the market , attraction and the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perim ISISAG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Perim would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything. Staff was very helpful, kind and cheerful, the room, the bathroom and the common areas were all very clean. We loved the Florence-rooftop view that we saw out of our window. I would absulutely recommend this hostel. Cheaper than most others in Florence, very close to the heart of everything.

Disliked: It was a bit cold at night, it would have been better if the heater was on. Other than that, it was great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

David Mcguigan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013

Liked: Easy to find and in a great location. Close to all the sites and the station. Food market is just around the corner. Hostel is also clean

Disliked: We booked a room with a private bathroom but when we arrived we were told it was not available as too many other people had also booked the room. Not sure if this is a problem with the hostel bookers site or the hostel itself. The guy 'discounted' the room back to the normal price of a shared bathroom room. There are only two bathrooms on each floor which also include the toilet so it is very difficult to get into the bathrooms in the morning. The beds are also very uncomfortable and I had to put the mattress on the floor to get a decent sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked a double room at Emerald Fields. The very friendly staff suggested us an upgrade for a much nicer room for free. The room was very beautiful, close to central market and worth it's price. The staff was great, the owner war very nice and helpful - nice chats included. A special thanks goes to "Mama", she was awesome. That's how a hostel should be!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was less than 5-minutes from the train/bus station and less than 10 minutes to the Duomo. The staff was very friendly and glad to make recommendations for places to eat and things to do.

Disliked: The rooms were a little stuffy, so we had to keep the windows open at night. The hostel patio was directly below our window (our room was on the upper floor), so if you plan to be in bed before midnight you will be fighting the noise and smoke from the patio below.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Closeness to the train station and other attractions in florence

Disliked: Showers could do with been updated

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel Free toast and coffee for breakfast 10 min walk from central station, quite close considering we used Florence as our base Room was a decent size

Disliked: 11am-2pm lock out Rooms are not locked so isn't good if your luggage doesn't fit in the locker. Not very safe No real common room besides the kitchen Not a social hostel Only 2 bathrooms on second floor for way too many people. Had to wait for showers or to even use toilet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train. Walking distance good to markets & shopping areas. Several eateries close by

Disliked: Shared bathroom shower had blocked drain/clogged up..nothing too major although found it a bit gross

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Serdar Kamaç

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Wi-Fi not working, our room was in a totally different building, it was impossible to open our windows because there was workers out there. they charged extra money for stuff like towel and leaving our luggages after check-out(for 3 hours). the young receptionist was good intentioned, but far away from being really informative.