HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Emerald Fields Florence Hostel

Via Guelfa, 59, Florence, Italy

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 78%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 28.09USD
  • Luggage Room 2.25USD
  • Towel 1.12USD

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 08:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Lockout
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 70%

Location 90%

Safety 81%

Staff 78%

Value 75%

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: 10 minutes walk from the station

Disliked: I want 5 more minutes to get ready to go to the station after I got my luggage back, but the lady from the reception told us to leave right away in a seemingly irritated voice. So I had to BEG her to use the toilet.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very friendly staff and nice to get breakfast included.

Disliked: Would have liked towels to be included. We had to rent them.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Proximity to train station.

Disliked: Staff availability on early checkout.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and a great location.

Disliked: Some of the staff were difficult to communicate with as they did not speak english.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Common area was good for meeting people, nice outside terrace and sitting area inside.The bathrooms were very clean.They wash and dry laundry for you, though we found 10 euros quite a steep price for this privilege!

Disliked: Every room bar the one we stayed in has air conditioning. I would recommend not staying here in summer as there is a chance you will get this room. We told them twice that we were extremely hot in the night and they did nothing about it. It was the most uncomfortable 3 nights of sleep I've ever had in a hostel. Incredibly unfair that others downstairs had air conditioning in their rooms while we had an ineffective fan. Laundry was expensive (10€ a load) but convenient. Have to pay €2 to leave your bags there past 1pm.There is a cleaning lock out from 11-2pm.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly helpful staff for the most part. One incident with staff was not so great, extremely rude when folks were just having a good time on the patio and had a small accident.

Disliked: May have been nice if staff was more proactive about things to do or see in the area

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was decent, 10 minutes to train station, 15 to Santa Maria del Fiore. Rooms were really nice and had beds made/bins emptied each day. Bathrooms were nice and were very clean. Kitchen area was really good with a large public fridge, I didn't get breakfast but it looked nice. Outdoor communal area in the back for smoking/sitting/eating was also really well kept. Staff were helpful, a couple of members didn't speak great English but that's not a big problem. Big thumbs up to them regarding rooming, I was with one friend and we paid for 4 bed dorm but got put in a twin room as it was free for our stay.

Disliked: Showers were either cold or inconsistent in temperature. Lock out between 11am and 2pm was quite inconvenient. Only way to use air con was by asking staff and you had no control on temperature.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was good about a 10-15 min walk to duomo and the main square and also close to the train station. The staff were nice and helpful. The bathrooms were nice and everything was always clean.

Disliked: I found it really frustrating that you had to be out of the hostel between 11 and 3. I would not recommended staying here if you are a solo traveller because there is abosolutely no atmosphere. Also there was no air con (only a fan) and Florence at the time was 40 degrees + so the room go really hot and stuffy.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly and laidback. I loved attempting to speak Italian with the woman who works the breakfast shift. Also, the location is pretty close to the train station.

Disliked: I didn't get a key for my room because somehow there's only 2 keys for it even though there's four beds. The gut at the desk helped me out and the problem want too big. Also, rules for the bathroom are strict-ish (not that they're rigidly held)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability