We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Emerald Fields

Hostel | Via Guelfa 59, 50129, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50100

81.6% Overall Rating

215 out of 250 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

Sarah Saliba thinks…

"The location was good about a 10-15 min walk to duomo and the main square and also close to the train station. The staff were nice and helpful. The bathrooms were nice and everything was always clean."

Read all Emerald Fields reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.95
  • Luggage Room USD 2.24
  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Collodi – Firenze
39.97 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
APPARTAMENTO LUCREZIA
26.31 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Affittacamere Freda Lucia
26.31 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 34 reviews
Soggiorno Venere
21.80 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 125 reviews
Garden Florence B&B
30.19 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 43 reviews
Hotel Aline
20.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 82.9% 34 reviews
Hotel Etrusca
25.72 USD

Hotel 68.8% 313 reviews
Tourist House Liberty
24.60 USD

Hostel 79.4% 122 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

215 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Emerald Fields'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 246 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Kerr-Ridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2015 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and a great location.

Disliked: Some of the staff were difficult to communicate with as they did not speak english.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Saliba

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015

Liked: The location was good about a 10-15 min walk to duomo and the main square and also close to the train station. The staff were nice and helpful. The bathrooms were nice and everything was always clean.

Disliked: I found it really frustrating that you had to be out of the hostel between 11 and 3. I would not recommended staying here if you are a solo traveller because there is abosolutely no atmosphere. Also there was no air con (only a fan) and Florence at the time was 40 degrees + so the room go really hot and stuffy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff for the most part. One incident with staff was not so great, extremely rude when folks were just having a good time on the patio and had a small accident.

Disliked: May have been nice if staff was more proactive about things to do or see in the area

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 August 2015

Liked: Common area was good for meeting people, nice outside terrace and sitting area inside. The bathrooms were very clean. They wash and dry laundry for you, though we found 10 euros quite a steep price for this privilege!

Disliked: Every room bar the one we stayed in has air conditioning. I would recommend not staying here in summer as there is a chance you will get this room. We told them twice that we were extremely hot in the night and they did nothing about it. It was the most uncomfortable 3 nights of sleep I've ever had in a hostel. Incredibly unfair that others downstairs had air conditioning in their rooms while we had an ineffective fan. Laundry was expensive (10€ a load) but convenient. Have to pay €2 to leave your bags there past 1pm. There is a cleaning lock out from 11-2pm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jake Jennings

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Location was decent, 10 minutes to train station, 15 to Santa Maria del Fiore. Rooms were really nice and had beds made/bins emptied each day. Bathrooms were nice and were very clean. Kitchen area was really good with a large public fridge, I didn't get breakfast but it looked nice. Outdoor communal area in the back for smoking/sitting/eating was also really well kept. Staff were helpful, a couple of members didn't speak great English but that's not a big problem. Big thumbs up to them regarding rooming, I was with one friend and we paid for 4 bed dorm but got put in a twin room as it was free for our stay.

Disliked: Showers were either cold or inconsistent in temperature. Lock out between 11am and 2pm was quite inconvenient. Only way to use air con was by asking staff and you had no control on temperature.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely friendly and laidback. I loved attempting to speak Italian with the woman who works the breakfast shift. Also, the location is pretty close to the train station.

Disliked: I didn't get a key for my room because somehow there's only 2 keys for it even though there's four beds. The gut at the desk helped me out and the problem want too big. Also, rules for the bathroom are strict-ish (not that they're rigidly held)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Junya Zhao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2015

Liked: walking distance to the train station and most of the sites

Disliked: Lock out for cleaning: kitchen 10:00 to 14:00, rooms 11:00 to 14:00 Landury for 10 Euro while the laudury shop on the street next to hostel costs 6 No shelf or anything in the shower to hold shampoo bottels Door to the first floor makes loud nosie when being locked and unlocked

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Quiet, Clean.

Disliked: No proper inside communal area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

21 April 2015

Liked: Just a good location.

Disliked: Wifi doesn't reach every room. There isn't a lot to choose for the breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Down

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 April 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station. Right in the heart of Florence. Breakfast is offered, although didn't sample it. Guy on the desk was helpful.

Disliked: No card payment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the offseason, so I stayed at Emerald Palace. The rooms are nice, great value for what I spent. The location is great, too.

Disliked: I don't like that you could end up staying at a different location that what is advertised. Also, breakfast was only toast and coffee.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ligia Silva

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome room, really big. I stayed in Emerald Palace, which seems to be even better than Emerald Fields. The private bathroom was big and clean. The owner is this very nice "mama", typically Italian, very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Maaaaaaany stairs!!! Difficult to carry the luggage. But it worths the effort.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ka Man Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 January 2015 Ka Man would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very clean and it smells good. The staff is nice and help out a lot (tho they are not very good in English). Homemade breakfast, value for money, recommend definitely.

Disliked: Ka Man left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tim Gemmell

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent bathrooms. Good location close to station and easy walk to Palazzo Vecchio.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Sampson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to the train station and city centre. Doom was a good size with bunk beds. Lockers were large enough to fit my bags. Couldn't lock the door as was a mixed dorm. Many bathrooms so no queues. Helpful staff on reception. Lovely garden area

Disliked: The cooker and oven didn't work. The only way to cook was using the microwave.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rebecca rendell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location. Close to station and everything is within walking distance.

Disliked: It was a bit dirty. I didn't like having share toilets with men... The door to our room was always left unlocked by other people from the room. So I didn't feel like I could leave anything out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittney Lemon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Brittney would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing. Everything about this hostel was amazing. The private triple we shared was incredible. It was a loft style wit a new bathroom that had great water pressure. The room overlooked the market square and we could see the duomo from our room! It also had AC. Breakfast was included and you were served by a lovely, motherly woman. All staff were great to deal with. An overall very welcoming experience, I will recommend this hostel to anyone I know who will be traveling to Florence. The best hostel I have been to!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms didn't smell like sewer. The showers worked very well. The wifi is quite good (mostly in the common areas). The place is quite clean and the atmosphere was very good.

Disliked: It was only a bit hard to find it. Doesn't have a sign outside saying "Emerald Fields", but it does have a Hostelworld sign outside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014

Liked: Very close to everything. Walking distance.

Disliked: Cleaners took my shoes and the staff were too interested in watching the football game on his computer to help. Literally held the phone to his ear without dialling and sat there like that watching the screen while I stood there and waited.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful. Bright, cheerful rooms-felt very homely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The entire property smells horrible at all times. The bathrooms are unclean. The staff is not friendly and not helpful. They do not accept credit cards. The only good thing was the location but for your money I'd recommend going elsewhere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -