We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Emerald Fields

Hostel | Via Guelfa 59, 50129, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50100

84.5% Overall Rating

207 out of 236 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2015)

Ryan Down thinks…

"Close to the train station. Right in the heart of Florence. Breakfast is offered, although didn't sample it. Guy on the desk was helpful."

Read all Emerald Fields reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.77
  • Luggage Room USD 2.14
  • Towel USD 1.07

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Upon arrival cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Collodi – Firenze
49.26 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
APPARTAMENTO LUCREZIA
25.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Affittacamere Freda Lucia
25.20 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 33 reviews
Soggiorno Venere
21.42 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 125 reviews
Garden Florence B&B
28.91 USD

Guesthouse 77.6% 43 reviews
Residenza IL CASTELLO ROSA
51.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Aline
29.18 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.8% 33 reviews
Hotel Etrusca
24.63 USD

Hotel 68.7% 311 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.5%

Overall Rating

207 out of 236 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Emerald Fields'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 232 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ryan Down

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 April 2015 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station. Right in the heart of Florence. Breakfast is offered, although didn't sample it. Guy on the desk was helpful.

Disliked: No card payment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the offseason, so I stayed at Emerald Palace. The rooms are nice, great value for what I spent. The location is great, too.

Disliked: I don't like that you could end up staying at a different location that what is advertised. Also, breakfast was only toast and coffee.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ligia Silva

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome room, really big. I stayed in Emerald Palace, which seems to be even better than Emerald Fields. The private bathroom was big and clean. The owner is this very nice "mama", typically Italian, very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Maaaaaaany stairs!!! Difficult to carry the luggage. But it worths the effort.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ka Man Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 January 2015 Ka Man would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very clean and it smells good. The staff is nice and help out a lot (tho they are not very good in English). Homemade breakfast, value for money, recommend definitely.

Disliked: Ka Man left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tim Gemmell

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2014 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming staff. Excellent bathrooms. Good location close to station and easy walk to Palazzo Vecchio.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Sampson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was close to the train station and city centre. Doom was a good size with bunk beds. Lockers were large enough to fit my bags. Couldn't lock the door as was a mixed dorm. Many bathrooms so no queues. Helpful staff on reception. Lovely garden area

Disliked: The cooker and oven didn't work. The only way to cook was using the microwave.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

rebecca rendell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location. Close to station and everything is within walking distance.

Disliked: It was a bit dirty. I didn't like having share toilets with men... The door to our room was always left unlocked by other people from the room. So I didn't feel like I could leave anything out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brittney Lemon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Brittney would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing. Everything about this hostel was amazing. The private triple we shared was incredible. It was a loft style wit a new bathroom that had great water pressure. The room overlooked the market square and we could see the duomo from our room! It also had AC. Breakfast was included and you were served by a lovely, motherly woman. All staff were great to deal with. An overall very welcoming experience, I will recommend this hostel to anyone I know who will be traveling to Florence. The best hostel I have been to!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms didn't smell like sewer. The showers worked very well. The wifi is quite good (mostly in the common areas). The place is quite clean and the atmosphere was very good.

Disliked: It was only a bit hard to find it. Doesn't have a sign outside saying "Emerald Fields", but it does have a Hostelworld sign outside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014

Liked: Very close to everything. Walking distance.

Disliked: Cleaners took my shoes and the staff were too interested in watching the football game on his computer to help. Literally held the phone to his ear without dialling and sat there like that watching the screen while I stood there and waited.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful. Bright, cheerful rooms-felt very homely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The entire property smells horrible at all times. The bathrooms are unclean. The staff is not friendly and not helpful. They do not accept credit cards. The only good thing was the location but for your money I'd recommend going elsewhere.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice staff, the lockers in the rooms, the terrace, the kitchen

Disliked: The wi-fi is not very good when everybody try to connect but it's okay (and you can use the shared computer so...)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything. No curfew. Kitchen is good. Mexin guy working pm was amazing.

Disliked: Am manager Dan is very rude. Can't lock doors.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Easy to go anywhere. Friendly and helpful stuff. Shower is very good. Offered the breakfast nice n simple....

Disliked: Room door has no lock. Only have locker for each person in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the city center, beautifully decorated and clean.

Disliked: They have a mandatory lock out time 11-2 in which you MUST leave your room for them to clean. I prefer to have my own schedule while on vacation.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: The building we were in is by the markets, so it's a bit noisy early in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

20 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and friendly hosts! Perfect location! It was like having your own apartment right in the middle of the city and felt like just like at home! Showers here are top! Beds were amazingly comfy! Stayed here with my parents (ages 72 and 64) and they were very happy with the accommodation! The best hostel we have yet stayed in!

Disliked: No stove to cook but hey, you're surrounded by Italian food eateries!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely wonderful and so extremely helpful. The location was absolutely perfect and had easy access to everything in the city! The location felt very safe and we didn't have to worry about anything. I highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked about this property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014

Liked: It is nice and central. Extra points for the mama who was lovely.

Disliked: I didn't really appreciate being changed hostel after my booking because they consider this low season and don't want to open all their places. However the place was nice big rooms ensuite and clean. It is not a good place to meet people or for travellers on a budget as you are literally kicked out from 10:30 to 2pm and their are no cooking facilities.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy running it was very nice and helpful about telling us where to go. It was clean and had a great atmosphere. It's a short walk to the center and I felt safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very happy with the price. Location was perfect, five minutes from the train station (S.M.Novella) and very close to the fantastic monuments, museums and nightlife Florence has to offer. Nice, spacious and clean rooms. Big lockers. Typical Italian breakfast. Friendly staff. The lockout was no big deal (you're usually out by then anyway).

Disliked: The staff are really nice and helpful when you are a customer and staying at the hostel, however upon return after checking out (for picking up baggage) this attitude changes drastically. Other customers who had checked out before me had the same experience. As a solo traveller I was disappointed with the common space. It lacked atmosphere and I found it difficult to make friends.