HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of International Student House Florence

Hostel | Via Faenza 67, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

59.5% Overall Rating

218 out of 279 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/04/2013)

brooke cleggett thinks…

"Great location as is walking distance to the station and all landmarks . Is also located near many cheap places to eat out ."

Read all International Student House Florence reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.86
  • Linen USD 5.37
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

When you put the arrival time, beware that the system is in 24 Hours. It's important that this time is accurate. for example, if you arrive at 11:00 PM you need to put 23:00 When you make your booking please leave your arrival time and mobile number, where possible.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Hotel Nella
29.54 USD

Hotel 1 star 93.6% 217 reviews
Studio Barbera
42.97 USD

Apartment 88.8% 16 reviews
My Friends
42.97 USD

Guesthouse 96.8% 144 reviews
Central Hostel Florence
29.54 USD

Hostel 65.3% 113 reviews
Short Stop
33.57 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Residenza le Fonticine
40.28 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 34 reviews
Archi Rossi Hostel
36.26 USD

Hostel 89.7% 716 reviews
Locanda Daniel
26.52 USD

Guesthouse 80.3% 482 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.5%

Overall Rating

218 out of 279 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'International Student House Florence'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
44.0%
Value
57.6%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 171 of 196 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The International Student House Florence is very well located.

Disliked: In the last day we were woken up by the staff cleaning the corridor. The hostel is also noise at night as it is located in the center of the city.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hans Dosland

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Hans would recommend this property

Liked: Good price ans location.

Disliked: o Wi-Fi in rooms. Had to go back to main building for wifi

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and that is all.

Disliked: 1) The staff does not speak English so there was no way rhey could understand you. 2)>My room floor had never been cleaned with detergent and it was filthy. 3.) It was difficult to carry the luggage to the first floor. 4). Outside road has a tratorria and at two after midnight they would drag the tables and put chains to saveguard the tables-there went my sleep

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

brooke cleggett

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013

Liked: Great location as is walking distance to the station and all landmarks . Is also located near many cheap places to eat out .

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel for lone travellers looking to make friends . I stayed in a private room with a friend and rarely saw anyone else at this hostel as it is quite small and doesn't have a common area. Staff do not speak a word of English and are hard to find . I had blood on my blanket when I arrived and had to wait for the following day to locate a staff member . The staff member then didn't speak a work of English so I had to use google translate to ask for a new clean blanket.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

amelia salazar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 amelia would recommend this property

Liked: close to everything

Disliked: cold at night

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Edwin Setiawan

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 August 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: its awful!how can hostelbookers recomended this?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Ticiana Albuquerque

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012

Liked: O hostel é bem simples, quartos igualmente e o positivo é que fica muito bem localizado. Entretanto, as camas e a limpeza do ambiente deixam a desejar. As camas fazem ruido e tanto eu como minha amiga passamos a noite nos coçando com prováveis ácaros ou outro bichinho típico de instalações não mto bem higienizadas. Vc paga pela toalha, pelo ar condicionado, faltou papel no banheiro e o wifi quase não pega.

Disliked: comentarios acima.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Gretel Downey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012

Liked: Pretty close to everything, i walked everywhere

Disliked: I only saw one member of staff the entire time i was there (the cleaner who let me in), they just left me a letter telling me the rules with the keys and a map, then they just charged my credit card for the room and left the reciept on my bed for me to sign. The wifi was dodgy at best and only accessible at certain times. There were lots of rules set up, such as no washing clothes in the basin (so you would have to pay €5 for the washing machine) or youd have to pay a fine.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location could not be beat. 2 blocks away from everything!

Disliked: The man running it was rude and unhelpful. THE WIFI NEVER WORKED. If you could get it to connect, it would kick you off after a few minutes and it would be impossible to reconnect.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAYMOND DAYAN PIUS JAUA

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 RAYMOND DAYAN PIUS would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stay

Disliked: No fan...night was so hot so couldn't get good sleep...request for airconditioner but only when reception is open which is until 12pm only.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice rooms. Really close to the station and, with the description of the hostel, really easy to find. Very helpful staff as well. We arrived after reception hours, but after a phone call the door was opened for us (Make sure you've got the phone number). We found a map, a note and a key they left for us. Very thoughtful. Also, we just had to look out of our room window to be engulfed with the wonderful Florence atmosphere. And a very nice Italian family restaurant is located directly next to the hostel. Try the truffle pasta, it is amazing!

Disliked: Nothing bad, really. If I have to think of something, I'd say the shower wasn't that good. There was very little water coming out. Beside that, everything was great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thiago Freires Rodrigues

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to S.M Novella Station and easy access to most of the touristic spots. There are lots of places to eat and shop around. 3 minutes walking from tourist information centres. The bedroom is ample.

Disliked: Toilet had hidraulic problems and was not very clean, there was even mold in its curtains. Also, there were bugs in the place. Beds aren't comfortable at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

OMER-FARUK CAN

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 February 2012 OMER-FARUK would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very easy to find from train station ! the staff was friendly, he gave a detailed map of florance and showed us where to visit, confortable beds, clean linens

Disliked: OMER-FARUK left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,, price, kitchen

Disliked: there was nobody to open the door when we arrived (1pm) and we had to look for a phone to call.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kevin Vizcarra Paytak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The absence of staff during the check-in time, we call them and the gave us a code to enter in the Hostel and the keys with a note were there ready for us!!!

Disliked: Was really hard to find a public phone ( which was a few meters crossing the street)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, free internet

Disliked: no receptionist when i arrived, early check out, no AC (only paying)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: situated really near the SMN train station, just a few minutes' walk away from the mercato centrale and duomo - great! the owner also let us keep our luggage for free even though there was a stated charge. loved the free internet =)

Disliked: air conditioning was not working when we were there, but it wasnẗ too bad.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2011

Liked: It was near the train station so good for backpackers with heavy bags... other than that, not much to be said for this place!

Disliked: MOST THINGS. If you are considering going to this hostel, I cannot advise strongly enough that you DON'T. There are many other hostels in Florence, so keep looking!! It was dark, dreary, boring and quite frankly not clean (the shower curtain had mould growing on it). We paid for a private room and had to walk a long way to the bathroom. When the staff are there (which is a rarity) they are unhelpful and rude. When we asked permission to use the washing machine for our clothes (because you're not trusted to use it unless the owner is in the house- which by the way, will be between 9am and 1pm- a time when you want to go out and actually SEE FLORENCE) the owner was incredibly rude and continued typing away on the computer without even looking at us when he was speaking. Once you hand over your washing to this rude man, be prepared to hand over cash as well, and then receive your clothes back 2 sizes smaller, because, oh yes, he will shrink them. Be prepared to eat out every night too, because they won't tell you unless you ask but the oven doesn't work. The best night we had there was when all of us staying in this horrible hostel got together and moaned about it... PLEASE, if you value your holiday, PICK ANOTHER HOSTEL.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011

Liked: Met many great people, close tot he train station and not too far from other sites, kitchen was spacious.

Disliked: No elevator, owner barely there, there is a 5 euro key deposit that was not mentioned on their site.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Michaella Wilce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011

Liked: Good kitchen facilities, homely, good location

Disliked: Air con unit in room but no remote to switch on and when asked about it they refused to switch it on. The 6 people in our dorm all said how crazy hot it was but the staff didnt seem to care. As such I had to sleep with a wet towel on me because it was SO hot! On top of that, the beds themselves were just bits of foam. Worst bed I have ever slept on.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonard Lim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Leonard would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance of Firenze SMN station. The hostel is value for money, it has a kitchen, and it isn't too big so it does offer some privacy compared to bigger-scale hostels. Beds and toilets are good and clean.

Disliked: The free wifi connection available at this hostel is unstable or has limited connectivity issues. Can get rather frustrating just to get your internet connection going!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

javier hugo botta

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 June 2011 javier hugo would recommend this property

Liked: great build, so warm and cleanig

Disliked: no breakfast, but it´s also said on the web

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, hostel was easy to find.

Disliked: Their reception was only open for a few hours. So if you arrive after their check in time, you have to call them and the key will just be made available at the desk. Someone must be there if they are expecting guests to arrive. I find it very unprofessional and improper to have the guests call when they arrive. There was no representative at all to ask whatsoever information.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

11 May 2011

Liked: The location is good and the staffs are very kindly.

Disliked: The room are so small and poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, comfy beds, lovely people, good location.

Disliked: Powerpoints and kettle problematic in kitchen