We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Locanda Daniel

Guesthouse | Via Nazionale 22, Florence, Tuscany, Italy 50123

81.4% Overall Rating

462 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

"The room was huge, the bed was huge, view of the duomo from the balcony. Had a shared bathroom, but private sink, mirror, desk, extra chair. The room was really cute as well-so good for the money we paid."

Read all Locanda Daniel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Florence?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Florence

Aramis Guest House
23.78 USD

Guesthouse 90.5% 65 reviews
Hotel Ester
29.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.7% 386 reviews
La Residenza di Michelangelo
41.75 USD

Guesthouse 97.3% 17 reviews
Hotel Alinari
75.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.6% 9 reviews
Hotel Berna
30.36 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Maison de Charme
56.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Short Stop
31.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Il Ghiro
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 96.5% 485 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

462 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Locanda Daniel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
79.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 411 of 445 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: If you want a staff member around to give you tips etc this is the wrong place, but it was fine for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evan Hay

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Evan would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, spacious room, friendly staff with fluent english.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was huge, the bed was huge, view of the duomo from the balcony. Had a shared bathroom, but private sink, mirror, desk, extra chair. The room was really cute as well-so good for the money we paid.

Disliked: The ONLY downsides are the three flights of stairs to get to it, but it cant really be avoided, and that its a guesthouse, so it is not manned all the time. But they are very accomodating with making arrangements.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephen Widelski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Internet was poor and the staff not too friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Berndt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed overnight between train trips. The rooms was neat and clean. Although I was late to check in the staff were very helpful over the phone! The other guests were very friendly, so the atmosphere was nice. I will certainly stay there again, when I have more time in Firenze.

Disliked: It was hard to carry my heavy luggage up the stairs, but what can you do? :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yajai Wattanapreeda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2013 Yajai would recommend this property

Liked: Good and beautiful location Room for triple is very nice and big with kitchen and private bathroom. We love this room so much.

Disliked: No lift if you have big luggage, it's a bit tired to climb up!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and fuss free. The owners were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Great location! Short walking distance to a lot of attractions. Plenty of food around the area.

Disliked: Stayed at Studio Barbera an extension of Locanda Daniel. Just 2 mins walk away. It was located on the ground floor. Which is noisy as there are pubs and restaurants nearby. Hence we couldn't open the windows. But because of the high ceiling, it was still bearable. No air con. Which can be really uncomfortable if weather is hot.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Esther Teo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: There is hot shower and a kitchen .However, we need to throw our own rubbish and if we dont keep it clean, we need to pay additional 100 euros!

Disliked: Everything else, especially on the non-existent wifi and laundry facilities. We are left to our own device as reception is only available from 9-1 30pm!!!!! Even when we asked someone for help for a faulty kitchen light within reception, we are told simply they forgot!!!!!! Truly bad experience living in here! !!!!!!!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brian Provost

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: View from balcony, location

Disliked: 1 bathroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant and kind staff; they are very helpful and friendly as well. The reception hours are very limited, so a little coordination may be necessary. However, most things are labeled or there are instructions all over the place to guide and help you, and there is very little confusion. The rooms/bathrooms are cleaned daily and well stocked. Location is great; very close to the Firenze Santa Maria Novella and the central market.

Disliked: There is an elevator on premises, but it's broken and/or not being used. If they can discuss with the building managers about fixing it, would tremendously improve the overall experience of the hostel, as the hostel is on the 3rd floor (4th for Americans), and carrying luggage up 3 flights of staircases is not fun.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Subharthee Dutta

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Subharthee would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, secured, good to stay. Wifi connection at your bed. Though the checkin time is 8:00 - 13:00 hrs, staff sent me with the door codes to open the door through mail. There is kitchen and freedge, so you can cook your food.

Disliked: The location is hard to find, have to ask someone to get the exact location. Toilet flush is not working properly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location (5 minutes to station, duomo and good restaurants in area). Clean. The one member of staff we dealt with was accommodating and available (during limited reception hours). One computer in common area free of charge and towels free of charge. Sink and mirror in the rooms. Wifi worked from our room but we were right next to the common area.

Disliked: Limited reception hours (9am-1pm). Although clean, the sheets and mattresses are super old. Not much of a hostel feel, no organised group activites. Top floor of building without elevator = 6 flights of stairs, beware if you have heavy bags.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Double

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely owner, great location near station and within walking distance of major attractions. Clean and rooms are decent, have sinks and air con

Disliked: Strange check in hours but no problem for me!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012

Liked: It's close to the SMN termini and right around the corner from the cheap mercado. There is an English/Irish style university crowd type pub right by the entrance if that is your scene.

Disliked: The elevator DOES NOT work. I don't even think the elevator goes beyond one floor, so be prepared to carry your luggage by yourself up and down 4-5 floors. I found the staff rather rude. The girl who checked us in quickly gave us the key and was out even fast. I think she took the end of her shift seriously. She barely gave us any info. The girl who checked us out (different person) made it clear that we checking out before her shift even began. I couldn't believe the attitude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Euan Lovell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2012 Euan would recommend this property

Liked: Its a really nice and pleasant little building, the rooms are well kept and have a lovely feel and atmosphere to them.

Disliked: The times that the reception were open, however you re easily able to work around it to check in and out.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 June 2012

Liked: u

Disliked: la mala ventilación, el calor, el precio excesivo.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

jeimmy cuervo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 jeimmy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean, the stuff is friendly and there is free wifi!

Disliked: The common area isn't really big, but had not problems with that

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

SOL GIL OH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 SOL GIL would recommend this property

Liked: free internet

Disliked: no elevator (if you have heavy luggage, maybe you dislike about this)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne Thaila

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: I was really surprised by how nice the room looked. It was decorated beautifully and was really colorful. The lady who was there during the day seemed friendly. The bathroom and rooms are kept very clean. Even though I stayed for two nights (ended up staying three actually), my bed was made when I got back. After backpacking for a bit, free towels and a hairdryer was quite a luxury! The location is great, since it's a 5-10 min walk to the train station and right next to the major sites. I was able to walk everywhere from the hostel. There is also a really nice restaurant about three doors down, which had good food for a very low price. There was only one computer there, but it was never being used when I needed it. It's a really small place, so there weren't too many guests staying at one time.

Disliked: When I got there, they were out of maps. Also, the limited hours of reception is definitely a drawback. I wanted to book tours of Tuscany and Cinque Terre and they offer to make bookings, but it's inconvenient to be in the hostel between 9 and 1:30 because you should be outside! It's on the third floor and the lift wasn't working when I was there (not sure if that's a regular thing).

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2012

Liked: Great view from the "common" room.

Disliked: The staff were rude and unhelpful. No lockers for property.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVE the fact that there are no bunks but single beds. The location is pretty central and on a main street, so there are always a lot of people which makes it quite safe. The facilities were kept clean. The view from the balcony is just exceptional. You can see the Duomo and all the beautiful typical Tuscan orange rooftops.

Disliked: The only thing I can think of are the limited office hours. You had to make sure to be there within that time range in order to officially check-in and pay. However, staff were very helpful in making arrangements for your entry into the hostel outside of those hours. I received an email with the codes to the hostel doors and the key to our room was left somewhere accessible once we got inside. My friend wants to note that one of the showers lacked water pressure, but the one I used worked just fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hina Morjaria

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Hina would recommend this property

Liked: excellent everything was perfect :-) I'd definitely recommend it!

Disliked: nothing :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's is a nice and quite place, with a reasonable price and in a great location.

Disliked: The available time of the administration is really poor, you can contact only from 9am to 1.30pm, but at the same time it is not a big deal, because they help you anyway by mail.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very accomodating, will go far to make you comfortable. Loved the rooms and the service. Will return again.

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location walking distance from train station and most sites. The rooms were nice and bright.

Disliked: No common room, staff was only there certain hours.