HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of C.C.ly Hostel

Hostel | Piazza Giovanni Falcone, 3, Catania, Italy 95131

92.3% Overall Rating

80 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

"people are friendly, great breakfast asnd coffee. Bathroom are clean and convinent."

Read all C.C.ly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Catania?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Catania

B & B De Curtis
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 3 reviews
Holland International Rooms
27.67 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 87 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
44.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Novecento
34.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.4% 15 reviews
Ivana B&B***
34.58 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B and B Opera
30.43 USD

Guesthouse 86.2% 47 reviews
Rigel Hotel
58.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Giuseppe Verdi
41.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

80 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'C.C.ly Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: people are friendly, great breakfast asnd coffee. Bathroom are clean and convinent.

Disliked: almost great in every part.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean nice staff, good breakfast

Disliked: far from center

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stefanie Winkelmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

23 March 2014 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ville Gustafsson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Ville would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff as in all of the hostels in Sicily. Spent only one night. (We stayed in the beginning of March which is low season & this probably lead to the fact there was time for customer care, OR Sicilians just are the most customer orientated and friendly people in the world!!) The curly haired receptionist-guy had a flu that sounded bad, but still he took time to let us now about Catania and gave us tips on our Sicily round trip. We had a spacious room with an en-suite bathroom and balcony. The common room seemed nice though we didnt have time to spend there. Breakfast was ok, a basic small Italian one.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious

Disliked: Shower a bit inconvenient - but hot and powerful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Stephenson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great friendly/family atmosphere and it appears to attract great travellers highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: view on Mt. Etna. train and bus stations nearby.

Disliked: untidy until late afternoon, shortage of toilet paper. little privacy in shower (but we did not have water anyway). groups behaving like they own the place. not everyone invited to dining out at a special place - as well as not asking everyone alike for deposit for a key.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

GILBERT BRIONES

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 GILBERT would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, chill out atmosphere and kitchen was big, good for anyone to cook their own meals, if they get sick and tired of the delicious Sicilian food!

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayita Sarkar

Alone

City break

05 January 2014 Jayita would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, cool decor, very friendly staff. Overall, a very good experience. The co-owners, Jetka and Rosario, make sure one feels welcomed and at home there. This is rare and good. I spent the New Years there, and the party, the afterparty and everything else was great. Besides, the view of Mt Etna from the balcony and windows is breathtaking on a clear day.

Disliked: The hostel is too small and so when there are too many guests, one feels crammed, especially in the kitchen. There was a water shortage on one day, which I am guessing was just bad fluke.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There's nothing I *didn't* like about the place! It's I think the best hostel I have stayed at. Nice and central, great view of Mount Etna (and I was there during an eruption!), warm staff which really makes a great vibe in the place, nice breakfast provided and good kitchen for use of travellers. The beds were really comfortable for some reason, and the blankets thick and clean. The water was hot and plentiful. The building is nice and secure too. Rosario was fantasic and has a great ethos in his place and it really shows in the quality of people that are attracted to the place. I felt that I became friends with all the travellers that came through to stay while I was there and I can't help but think that's due to the positive attitude of the place. Don't bother staying anywhere else in Catania, the other cheap hostel in the area is dingy! I'll be back next year!

Disliked: the girls showers needed a curtain to stop clothes getting wet

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

William Burnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: lovely, fun staff, friendly and helpful

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is centrally located, & within short walking distance to bus/train stations & the city centre. The hostel has a great feel about it-like you are staying in a friend's apartment-so good I ended up staying longer than expected. Also, the staff were extremely helpful & friendly, assisting with tour bookings/sightseeing/food & nightlife information.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Lebelt

Alone

City break

16 August 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at this hostel. Stuff is really friendly, everything was clean and it's just 7 walking minutes away to the main station and also to most of the attractions in Catania. I can reLly recoamend this hostel, for me the best one so far- and I travel a lot. You feel like you are in a big flat with friend's.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Bison

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: ----

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Sharp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: My favourite hostel EVER! Amazing staff, great atmosphere and super facilities!

Disliked: Liked everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldine Fay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Geraldine would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and the excellent staff.

Disliked: The shower situation is not very private but I would still stay there again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martyn Smith

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2013 Martyn would recommend this property

Liked: The view of Mount Etna over the included breakfast, those huge front doors and the evening meal (2euros) cooked by the excellent crew. The hostel is on the 3rd floor of a beautiful biulding and it really is like staying at a friends flat.

Disliked: The only negative point is that the neighbours want a quite life.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Hamp

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, everything else as well.

Disliked: Everything alright.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TIMUR TEFIKOV

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 TIMUR would recommend this property

Liked: This was really one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Location is great - only a three-minute walk from the bus terminal, and if you are in Catania and want to travel round and get to the nearby towns and sights, you can't be positioned better. Rooms are clean and toilets are also clean and spacious. Gents room had two showers and three toilets and were were kept very orderly at all times. Common room is very large and is equipped with everything you need really. There is a computer if you want to check you mail, a large TV, playstation... Kitchen is also large and light with two stoves. You can cook or bring your own food and eat there. Guys who run the place - Rosario and Jitka are very friendly and helpful. If you need any information about getting round, going out, whatever, just ask them ! + you see Mount Etna through the window ! Can it het any better than this?:)

Disliked: It's not about disliking it but wouldn't it be a great idea to put some Italian beer in the fridge in the common room ?... Drinking German beer in Sicily made me feel such a tourist (you know those people who always order Heineken wherever they are:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a fantastic hostel - the location is just a short walk away from the train station, maybe five minutes. The staff are relaxed and very friendly, and there is a good view of Mt. Etna, if you fancy a good sight to wake up to in the morning. Breakfast is free, and the wifi works flawlessly. There's a washer and dryer, if you're willing to pay, and the place is generally very clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really good hostel, feels like a friend's flat! Located in a nice palace-like building, with friendly atmosphere and a kitchen free to be used. We spend a New Year's Eve there and it was a great experience, with people cooking all kinds of food and having fun. And yeah, there's a direct view on Etna from the window.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a home away from home. The staff are very friendly , helpful and great to hang out with. It was like being part of a family! Great location close to the bus and train station. Clean, comfortable beds, nice breakfast. And the tours they recommended were well worth it!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yat Ming Mok

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Yat Ming would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice and friendly, great place to meet others, clean and tidy enough

Disliked: not really.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Between the train/bus station and center, breakfast included.

Disliked: I had a major problem with bedbugs which one of the employees told me had been a problem with my particular bed before I arrived. I changed beds for the 3rd night and had no problem that night. When I checked out I complained about the 2 nights of bedbugs and got the charges for the 3rd night waived. Then the manager emailed me a day or 2 later and told me they were charging my card anyway for the 3rd night anyway because there were no bedbugs. Unscupulous liar. Not only that, just how exactly did the property get my credit card number? I booked 2 nights on hostelbookers and paid for those nights. If hostelbookers was the source of providing my credit card number for the 3rd night which was not booked on hostebookers then the property must have lied in order to get that information. Why didn't hostelbookers contact me about the charges in question before giving the property my credit card information? Something similar happened to me using booking.com and before I was charged for an extra night, booking.com emailed me and I explained what happened and was not charged for a night that I had canceled. I'm sure the property will respond to this comment and say there were no bedbugs but that is patently false. Then why did I have no problems after I changed beds? Also the internet did not work for the 4 days I was there and before then too I was told.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Walter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Staff excellent - very friendly, efficient and clearly enjoyed working at the youth hostel. Most staff spoke excellent English and were able to provide good recommendations for places to visit and restaurants at which to eat. Strongly recommend that you stay here.

Disliked: Nothing.