HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of CCLy Hostel Catania

Hostel

P.zza G.Falcone 3, Catania, Italy

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 85%

Safety 82%

Staff 88%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 11.97USD

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Please send us an email with the check-in time because we not have a 24 reception

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 22:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Catania?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 79%

Location 85%

Safety 82%

Staff 88%

Value 79%

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: N/A

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Everything was great- info, room and service

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff meant well and tried their best to be friendly. Repeatedly asked if we were happy. Top floor of an old building. Quiet, but due to lack of people staying there.

Disliked: Maybe OK for one night, but do not recommend.It was mostly empty while we stayed there, which made the staff overbearing on us. One morning wwe were as followed out of the hostel, asking where we were going, without explanation. Made us very uncomfortable. Wish we had not checked in and gone to find another place. It was extremely off-putting. They count the cups and cutlery, and went on an investigation with everyone at the hostel for who had "the last cup." We had it, in the room, while we were sleeping. We realize that rules apply to the hostel and we knew to wash and put it away, but we were using it for drinking water... there were many more cups and very few people staying there. Could not believe we were being "tracked" like that or that they spent so much time counting cups instead of mopping the floor.Photos to not show what the place looks like. Everything needs a paint job, a good clean, or just to be replaced. Oval-shaped furniture made out of styrofoam, pull of puncture marks. Depressing decor. Breakfast was not good, some expired off-brand jelly and chocolate spread, small rolls, On top of it all, the place is very, very dirty, which is confusing because it seems that most of the staff actually live there full-time. I figure more time would have been spent cleaning. We had a private room and shower. The bathroom always smelled of sewage, and the drain overflowed. When we put a towel down on the floor to mop up the water, it turned black with dirt from the floor. Unelieveable. Bed was two twin beds from ikea, paint chipped, a little rusted out, and the slats kept falling out of the bottom. Bad location, walking distrance from the trains and buses but not safe-feeling. Did not feel like I was in Catania. 15 minutes walk to downtown, but would not have been comfortable doing it alone. Would never stay here again, and I don't think anyone else should. They need to completely remodel.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good if you want to be near the stations, only 5 mins walk and the building is realy nice but the neighbourhood itself doesn't feel very safe, many immigrants hanging around and I saw some prostitues on one of the streets leading to the hostel.

Disliked: The staff is very unfriendly and don't speak english, therefore they can't help you if you have any questions. The only Italian guy working there also doesn't speaks english and he walked into female bathroom without knocking on the door. Rest of the staff is from India or Pakistan, they don't speak english nor Italian, they live in the hostel and they constantly stare at you if you hang around, it's very unpleasant. One of the guy was also very rude and was trying to convince me that they don't have female only dorm, although it was clearly stated on my booking that I booked female only dorm.If you plan to stay only one night near the station then go for it but other then that don't bother.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: quietdecent location

Disliked: having things(passport/Green card,money,clothes) stolen from my room twice during my stay!!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is simply the best hostel i've stayed in while i was in sicily. The extras: wifi, kitchen, etc... are fine. Marco, the owner, is simply one of the most friendly,respectful, genuine and sincere host (and human beings) i've encountered in my travels, he's definitely the reason why this hostel is above the average, and you certainly appreciate the efforts he makes to transform your stay in a pleasant and comfortable one. I would strongly recommend it to other travellers without hesitation.Ciao Marco

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The hostel is very close to the station, which is great if you are coming in from the train at night. It is a relatively short walk into the main part of the city. The dorms were clean and tidy and there was a common room and kitchen to make your own food if you want. The owner was very friendly and helpful - I had several great chats with him. The view of Mt Etna from the dorm window is spectacular!

Disliked: I stayed in winter, which is obviously the low season, but there was only 1 other person staying at the hostel, which was way too quiet and weird. The price for a night was too expensive for the low season when there was nobody else staying and no atmosphere. The next night I moved to another hostel for half the price and double the guests, and closer to the city centre, which I enjoyed a lot more.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in a beautiful old mansion with views to Etna. The staff is very kind and helpful.

Disliked: No lockers, few power outlets.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is a nice small hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful, everything is clean. Possibilty of washing clothes. Large and well equipped kitchen. Well located to the city center. The house is really beautiful. Its a good place to start for a visit to the Etna. You can see the Etna from the kitchen's window.

Disliked: I disliked that there is no Car Parking although it is announced! Staff tells us not to park on the street because its not safe, and thats how it seemed to me aswell. I asked for the car parking and was told to use a private place next to the hostel. You have to pay a lot of money there....10€ to 15€ a day....each day was different...this is not what i expect!

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: calm around

Disliked: eight bed in small room. that was worst.

Check Availability