HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Agora Hostel

Hostel | Piazza Curro, 6, Catania, Italy 95121

84.6% Overall Rating

282 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

Adela Jordakova thinks…

"I was absolutely satisfied, in my dorm i've met many different interesting people from all over the world. Staff there is very friendly and helpful."

Read all Agora Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Catania?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Catania

B&B Duca di uzeda
131.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Bad B&B and Design
26.25 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 5 reviews
B&B Globetrotter Catania
19.69 USD

Guesthouse 92.5% 38 reviews
Sicily House
32.81 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
City Lounge B&B
23.62 USD

Apartment 93.0% 32 reviews
Ostello degli Elefanti Hostel Catania
22.30 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Globetrotter Apartment Catania
15.75 USD

Apartment 80.0% 6 reviews
5 Balconi B&B
36.75 USD

Guesthouse 95.2% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

282 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Agora Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 256 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

María victoria Retondaro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 María victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, excellent location, helpful staff.

Disliked: María victoria left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014

Liked: This location is near city center. Near bus center.

Disliked: Too hot. Especialy in bed room. I had sleep dificulty. There are mosquitos in rounge. I was biten sometimes

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: Location is good. You could leave your package after check out.

Disliked: Really dirty bathrooms. I am not a picky person and I already travelled through South-East Asia, Central and South America, but such a dirty bathroom (smell like pee, really filthy and dirty) is really unique. Please hire more cleaning women! After checking out at least I was able to leave my package at the place, BUT after checking out they kick you out of the hostel and you are not allowed to use the facilities anymore (toilets), I was not even allowed to sit in the kitchen and read my book. Really not usual!!! And no air-con. Which normally is not a big problem, but when you share a small room with 8 people and you have only one ventilator and one window, it IS a problem. In addition you can sleep on the sofas in the living room for half of a price for a bed, is that a usual procedure? I doubt it.. At least some of the stuff were very friendly, but the majority not.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Joschka Khaniani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014

Liked: staff was ok

Disliked: Very poor place. I've stayed in more than 100 hostels in my life but the bathrooms are definately one of the worst I've ever seen. At arrival, the hostel staff hands out some vouchers for their own pizzeria and bar where you are going to save incredible 50p on a 10 Euro menu (and the place is still way more expensive than most others places in town). The rooms are very poor, none is equipped with aircon which makes it basically impossible to sleep in the summer...very disappointing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adela Jordakova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

29 July 2014 Adela would recommend this property

Liked: I was absolutely satisfied, in my dorm i've met many different interesting people from all over the world. Staff there is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Adela left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in general, good facilities, helpful staff.

Disliked: Noise - room overlooks a busy bar, and windows need to be kept open due to the heat.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun bar outside, nice and open layout

Disliked: Average help from reception. Not very good English spoken. Terrible breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located at town center and it's perfect for backpackers

Disliked: Non

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: fridge doesnt work properly (not cold)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Werner Bonadio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Werner would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Werner left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAKSYM PISARIEV

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 MAKSYM would recommend this property

Liked: Этот хостел: и постояльцы и персонал - одна большая семья Очень хорошая атмосфера!

Disliked: MAKSYM left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best location

Disliked: bad lockers

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Markus Berthold

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013

Liked: It's located in the center

Disliked: The room was really small and looks like a prison cell, not enough space for two people. There are rails around 15 m far from the hostel, that's why it's very noisy (train goes from 5 a.m. until 22 p.m,). There is no air-conditioner in the room and as it was very hot we had to keep the window open the whole night. Our room was on the first floor and that's why we felt like we sleep right in the street. Transport and talking people gave us that feeling (there is a bar on the right side of the hostel and it was open until 2 or 3 a.m.)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a bar and a restuarant at the hostel, unfortunatley it took 90 minutes to get a pizza there, drinks are well priced. There's also no curfew so you can come and go, there's a big market nearby

Disliked: The doors to the room don't lock. Also the bathrooms weren't in good shape, there was only 2 sinks and nowhere to hang a towel, there also wasn't any toilet seats in the bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Isaksson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2013 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. And a great and crowded bar-restuarant just outside!

Disliked: Nothing.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, 15/20min walk from train station, right next to piazza dumo, very close to bars, the bus station is 2mins away, the fish market is right next to it, I reccomend going to this, its crazy. You get a happy hour card for meals an drinks. The staff where generaly helpful. Breakfast was pretty good.

Disliked: Cleanliness was a slight issue, mainly in toilets. Also for breakfast there was no tea, only coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krystyna Paszek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2013 Krystyna would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bar in the outside where a lot of people stay at evening/night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, helpfulness staff and good price, good place for sleep (its near railway, but I didnt hear trains at night).

Disliked: I have no comments, everything was ok.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

anna szeszko

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel with a cool bar, lockers available-don't forget to take a lock from home

Disliked: could be a little bit loudly, but it's bearable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff

Disliked: - too much noise outside, the train runs nearby - but, if tired enough, one can sleep efortlessly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No keys for the dorms, cold water

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Joana Fernandes

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2013 Joana would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the restaurant.

Disliked: It wasn't very clean and there were some remodelations going on, so there was some dust and noise around. The bathrooms weren't very nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ali Maghsoumi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 February 2013 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: It is really good place for stay.

Disliked: It is not to easy to find the hostel for the first time.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Showers were hot!

Disliked: Sheets were washed with irritating products. No good for sensitive skin.