HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Assisi hostels

Reviews of Ostello della Pace

Hostel | Via di Valecchie, 4, Assisi, Italy 06081

90.6% Overall Rating

32 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/09/2013)

"I loved the people! I had an awesome time with the people I met there! The location was beautiful! I had a great time with my friends, and felt safe. Breakfast was delicious, and it was a wonderful time to meet people!…"

Read all Ostello della Pace reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Assisi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Assisi

Hotel Porta Nuova
50.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.5% 18 reviews
Hotel Berti
44.28 USD

Hotel 89.8% 26 reviews
Hotel Properzio
36.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Alexander
40.48 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 94.5% 64 reviews
Hotel Assisi Garden
37.95 USD

Guesthouse 86.3% 33 reviews
Agriturismo Il Noceto
50.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Affittacamere Assisana
36.37 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Cristallo Assisi
50.60 USD

Hotel 4 star 82.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

32 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ostello della Pace'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 32 reviews
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: The lady I don't know her name ia not friendly, I arrived at 3:30pm have stomachache due to my period, I called the hostel many times but not answer. According to them only can check in by 4pm. Waited to 4pm I saw she is at counter but do not open the door even I press the door bell until 4;20pm. 10am to 4m the hostel is locked , you are not allow to enter because of cleaning, think is too long. No kitchen and nit allow to cook. Not convenience to go out at night if you alone and no car

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the people! I had an awesome time with the people I met there! The location was beautiful! I had a great time with my friends, and felt safe. Breakfast was delicious, and it was a wonderful time to meet people! We were so tired from a full day in Assisi that the 11:30 curfew wasn't a problem.

Disliked: Renting a towel for a euro seemed odd. I wish we didn't have to do that!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the cleanliness, and the guitar/climbing tree

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikola Mery

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Nikola would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place!

Disliked: Nikola left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexis Redig

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: The staff working at the front desk was friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The rooms were a little too plain for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sol Magaña

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2012 Sol would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel ever in the best place! It was well located and the people attending the hostal were nice and warm, they just make you feel like home. I also met great people there. Bathrooms were always clear as well as the bathroom, the dinner was great and the breakfast good too. Wifi was perfect. It´s the dreamed hostel in the dreamed place.

Disliked: Everything was just great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to help us. Even to the extent when we arrived after all buses and there was no taxi available they came to rescue us. Going that extra mile! I would definitely recommend it to all my friends and given the chance would go there again!

Disliked: Nil dislikes

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Watson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: So beautiful and peaceful, staff very helpful and friendly and good breakfast

Disliked: found it hard to find

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and peaceful

Disliked: Staff are helpful but slightly tense

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Gertig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Dinner was great, very clean and amazing staff - very helpful!

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Olsson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location was exellent. Met so many nice people in the hostel. The food was well worth the price.

Disliked: No kitchen to use.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its nice, near nature

Disliked: a bit far off to walk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suze Smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Suze would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly home style vibe. the meals on offer were excellent, and the opportunity to eat with other travellers i enjoyed. the hostel has everything i needed from washing machine to welcoming owners.

Disliked: i didnt dislike anything here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Ostapeck

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the staff at this hostel. They were very helpful and had a lot of valuable information to give. The rooms were very spacious and incredibly clean. The bathrooms were also very large and wonderful. The property itself was gorgeous and in a great location. The breakfast was good but the really good thing was dinner that you could buy at the hostel. For not that much, you could eat an authentic italian meal with two courses and dessert. It was definitely worth it.

Disliked: They have a lock-out policy between 10 and 4 in the afternoon. This did not affect me as I was out and about all day but it could be a hassle if you do not know about it or like to rest in the middle of the day.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011

Liked: It's pretty much the only hostel in Assisi. It's an affordable place to sleep. It serves a very minimal breakfast for free.

Disliked: The 11pm curfew was strict. Lights out, both in the common rooms and dorm rooms. I think they turned off electricity in the rooms, so I couldn't even charge my camera battery or iPhone. My train was going to be late from Florence the first night (after 11pm), so I had to forfeit the deposit and find a place to stay in Florence. I hadn't had a good night sleep, and needed a shower, but when I arrived early the next morning, the staff was less than helpful. Also, a six-hour lockout (10am to 4pm) is too long - does it really take that long to clean the place? It started raining at 2pm, and I couldn't go in to get my jacket or hat. I recommend staying in nearby Perugia at the lovely Mario Spagnoli Youth Hostel, and making a day-trip to Assisi instead.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really beautiful. I was having trouble finding a place to stay that was in Assisi, so I thought this was a good compromise. It's a bit of a walk, but the walk is incredibly beautiful and not too hard. There is a bus you can pick up in the city that will take you around Assisi that is lovely. We payed for the home cooked dinner and it was perfect.

Disliked: There aren't lockers in the room, but the atmosphere is so safe that we didn't mind. The woman at the front desk told us that the money we payed as a "down payment" on hostel bookers is really just a fee, and that they don't actually get any of that money. They charged only 17 euro a person for a 6 bed dorm, so the prices and "down payment" on this site were a bunch of bull. If you can call and reserve a place with them by phone then you can save some money.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Smurr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most efficient hostel I was in. They are VERY organized and answer emails promptly. They also are VERY accomodating if you speak to them personally. Everything was incredibly clean and the internet is free if you have your own device. The dinners are reasonable and homey. They are also very helpful with info about Assisi which is very close (just a short 5 min walk up the hill and buses available after that). The atmostphere is good for people who are a bit more low-key. It is not a party destination at all, which I LOVE. The people who stay here are very nice and of all ages and groupings. I found this a very enjoyable stay.

Disliked: The only issue was having the place closed down for so long in the afternoon for cleaning. One family had small children who needed to nap. However, I have met the owners, and they are wonderful! I'm sure that if this issue arose, they would happily accommodate such needs if they were notified ahead of time. Just call them. They are usually home IN the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kaylin Laeha

19 May 2010 Kaylin would recommend this property

Liked: It was quaint, but it was really far away from bus stops and the actual city. It is a long haul with you bags down a narrow street. It doesnt open till 4'oclock so if you get there early you have to wait to check in, but you can store your bags in the back if you trust in human kindness.... They served dinner for 10.50 that was really good and had 4E wine. They close their doors and its pretty much lights out at 11:30, but theres not much to do in the city at night anyway. This hostel is for the easy going traveler who likes to eat and explore.

Disliked: Kaylin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Peña

11 May 2010 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente Hostal, me gusto mucho la ubicacion, la situacion, aunque si se me hace un poco lejos y puede ser que mejore con adecuados senalamientos para llegar. Pero un Excelente lubf

Disliked: Luis left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so kind.The supper is worth a try.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, tasty free breakfast, beautiful scenery

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very helpful, multilingual and proximity to transport and sights is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very peaceful. Fits better for older people and families than young backpackers who like to party.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very peaceful area. They offer you the option of eating meals at the hostel. The food was very delicious, and they also allowed you to do laundry for a small fee. It was beautiful! I would recommend young travelers to stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is NOT convenient to the Assisi train station; however, it is only a short walk up to Assisi; so it depends on what you are looking for if you think the location is good. The busses weren't running their normal route when we went because there was some construction, so we had to take a cab, which is about 12 Euro (there were four of us). The hostel locks its doors at 11:30 PM - so don't plan on taking the last train of the day (arrives at 11:35 PM). There is luggage storage, in the laundry room and they will call a cab for you if you ask them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Assisi hostels