HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Casa Del Melograno

Guesthouse | via San Giuseppe, Malfa, Isola di Salina Aeolian Islands, Italy 98050

88.2% Overall Rating

30 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2013)

Katrin Lammers thinks…

"The location is great and the host is really friendly and helpful. It was a very nice stay in the little paradise of Salina! Thanks!"

Read all La Casa Del Melograno reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Aeolian Islands?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Aeolian Islands

Casa Corallo
34.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Villa Enrica
51.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Amarea
96.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Mea****
77.77 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Villa Diana
46.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Cutimare
101.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

30 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Casa Del Melograno'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 26 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrin Lammers

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Katrin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the host is really friendly and helpful. It was a very nice stay in the little paradise of Salina! Thanks!

Disliked: Katrin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Emanuele came to pick us in the harbour and give us plenty of information: really nice person and helpful ! The room is nice, really near the main streat, the island is very quite.

Disliked: Nothing really disturbing but maybe I would add a curtain to the shower so the water doesn't spread in the bathroom, but this is really not a big deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, host, and of course the whole S.M.Salina island!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Walton-Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Emanuele is a lovely man and he made us feel very welcome. Everybody was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: The property is very nice, but Salina does not have a white sandy beach... the islands are volcanoes and are pretty rocky around the coast although we had a wonderful fresh walk up the mountain into a nature reserve.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

30 July 2012

Liked: Facilities

Disliked: not clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justyna Gromada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Justyna would recommend this property

Liked: The place is located in heart of Salina Island - the most beautiful place I have ever been to. You can easily reach the beach, supermarket, some restaurants from here. Also 2 minutes walking from there, there is a bus stop (important if you want to move to other parts of the island by public transport), the Internet point and the place you can rent a scooter. The place is very comportable, quite and has everything you may want. The owner - Emanuele is very friendly and can recommend you places to see, to eat at - we ate at the best restaurant thanks to him! I would higly recommend this place to everyone!!

Disliked: Everything was awesome:)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, had a great time, wish I could have stayed longer! Emanuele is the nicest guy ever, very helpful and available for any info or recommendations!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved it!!! The owner was really helpful and friendly!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was not in the hostel in Santa Maria Salina, but in another B&B in Santa Maria. Great location, easy personnell and everything you need for a vacation on this great island. If you want to stay in Santa Maria, be sure to make this clear with your reservation!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: all the rest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Reynolds

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

30 June 2010 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Location, view, quiet place, great base to travel to other islands. Told the person at Ustica lines, ticket office just off the boat,

Disliked: Could do with a little painting in parts, but this is a small concern as everything was excellent.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lindsey coeur-belle

14 October 2009 lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: great views and very friendly host who couldnt do enough in finding out excursion info

Disliked: lindsey left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic place but good value for the islands. The guy is really friendly and helpful. Good outdoor area to relax and eat meals we cooked in the kitchen. Almost died in the heat during the evening though, as the bottom floor rooms only have a single small square window (not even a fan unfortunately), but I think it was unseasonally still and warm while we were there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabrielle Lawson

09 July 2009 Gabrielle would recommend this property

Liked: excellent friendly and helpful host. pick up and drop off at ferry port. Organised Stromboli excursion. location has great views, but a steep walk in the heat. Don't try walking to the hostel because there are no street signs or the name of the hostel anywhere, phone for collection.highly recommended.

Disliked: Gabrielle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Longmate

19 May 2009 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: PLEASE remember this is a hostel. The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful - and is more than happy to offer suggestions on what to do and where to eat. . The views from the top are amazing! And if, like me, you are a female travelling alone, you feel incredibly safe. It is basic - but full of character. I would definitely suggest people try this place. One warning - I am not a young person - you need to be fit and healthy - it is up a very long, steep hill. I would still say go for it. I could not recommend it more highly if you are looking for a fairly priced place to stay and as long as you love "quirky"

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeremy reddington

14 September 2008 jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view of all of the islands from the room, had a huge private balcony, heaps of room, perfect way to visit all of the aeolian islands

Disliked: jeremy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terezia Gazova

26 August 2008 Terezia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosfere of the hostel as well as the owner who was a great fun and very helpfull as well.briliant with his recomendations and advice. I would recomend to everyone to stay there as long as they can!

Disliked: Terezia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Birkett

07 June 2008 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic classic style building, big spacious equipped rooms. Very friendly, helpful and generous owner.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Jacques

05 October 2007 William would recommend this property

Liked: great little place on a beautiful island, the owner lives there as well and he is a great guy who speaks perfect english. the house is only 5 min walk from centre of town. if you do stay here you should hire a mini car or scooter so you can see the rest of the island

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 October 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a beautiful location and is a great base from which to explore the Aeolian islands

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 September 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Opportunity to live like the locals!Emmanuelle is very helpful and picked us up from the port and helped us with times for buses/ ferries etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Galo

27 July 2007 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: location, view from the terrace

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Smalling

17 July 2007 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Emanuele, the owner, was so great! He met us at the ferry dock when the boat came in, drove us up to the hostel and gave us all the info we needed about the town. He was really nice and helpful, which was great when the power went out that first night we stayed there - he was back to the hostel immediately and within a half hour, the local power company came over to fix it. He was always only a text message away, which was helpful when we had questions about when the last ferries left other islands to take us home, and where to catch a train from. Very friendly! The location was amazing, with a great view of the harbor of Salina and the other islands, such as Stromboli (we could see the volcano smoking from our balcony!). The hostel was for the most part clean, but it was just old and on an island, so some of the facilities were not the most up to date (ie the bathroom was not connected to the room, so you had to walk downstairs to shower, and the kitchen was outside as is the typical style on Salina). Overall, this was an amazing place to stay, and great value for the money - especially because we could use the kitchen to cook, which saved a lot of money! Also, we felt VERY safe here, we had a key to the room and to the main entrance to the hostel, but even if we did not, the island was a very safe environment and we would have felt just as safe. It was a wonderful way to experience the Aeolian islands!!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorothy Kuipers

02 July 2007 Dorothy would recommend this property

Liked: It's more like a farmhouse than a hostel - it's really rustic and romantic! It wouldn't suit anyone looking for luxurious stay, but I thought it was really charming and the guy who runs it is very friendly and helpful There are only 4 rooms, so whether you meet people to party with depends on who happens to be staying there. I would very much recommend it, a beautiful place to stay.

Disliked: Dorothy left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

emilie fontaine

02 May 2007 emilie would recommend this property

Liked: Owner so nice and helpfull. Great location in a quiet island

Disliked: emilie left no negative feedback.