HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sky Hostel

Hostel | Ben Yehuda 34, Tel Aviv, Israel .

69.4% Overall Rating

136 out of 229 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2013)

"Staff were very friendly and helpful - suggested restaurants and places to see. Room was small but nice and had a balcony"

Read all Sky Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.40

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tel Aviv?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tel Aviv

Central Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 5 reviews
Sea side Hotel
31.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 63.9% 8 reviews
Momo's Hostel
25.16 USD

Hostel 69.0% 280 reviews
Momo's Guesthouse
39.14 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Best Western Regency Suites
210.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Black&wild boutique hostel
29.18 USD

Hostel 80.2% 14 reviews
Imperial Hotel
65.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Beachfront Hostel
27.50 USD

Hostel 87.0% 89 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

136 out of 229 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sky Hostel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
64.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 174 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bed, clean sheets, clean floor.

Disliked: Pretty run down like many buildings in the area. Noisy area.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

22 May 2014

Liked: Only the location, close to the beach and the city

Disliked: The property is very old, very dirty and very insecure. The kitchen is not a kitchen at all, only a small room with a sink and a fridge. Internet is only available in the lobby.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jan Willem ten Brinke

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Jan Willem would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Jan Willem left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Tetiana Gavryliuk

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Tetiana would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Tetiana left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gyan Fernando

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Gyan would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and friendly staff. The staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013

Liked: Central location and easy to find.

Disliked: Grubby and slightly smelly. Stained mattress. Poorly ventilated. If this is one of the 'best budget options' as advertised by lonely planet I dread to think what the others were like.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful - suggested restaurants and places to see. Room was small but nice and had a balcony

Disliked: The shower in the bathroom flooded into the room every time someone used to shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

kevin anthony whitehill

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

12 July 2013 kevin anthony would recommend this property

Liked: the location and staff were helpful

Disliked: kevin anthony left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday

06 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price. Near the beach and downtown core.

Disliked: Not much space in common area. Next door neighbours loudly making out.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location but a bit noisy.

Disliked: My room was more raunchy than on the photos uploaded by the property.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennifer Wehrmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, lockers in dorm, 24 hr

Disliked: lots of stairs and shower water not hot by time I got to shower, common room just foyer so not so nice to chill in

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The two liter water bottles are incredibly cheap which is very important in Tel Aviv. It is also very very close to the beach which is wonderful!

Disliked: The room smelled like smoke and other funkiness. Perfectly fine when the window was open and the fan was on, but it was very loud from the cars and street outside.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Room very tired but this was expected. Staff could be deeply unhelpful and unfriendly - But others were pleasant enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very much lived up to expectations, staff was helpful.

Disliked: lived up to expectations, you get what you pay for, which is cheap and worth the value

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Schomann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Thanks for the pleasant week in your hostel.

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, near to the beach, cheapest in this neighborhood

Disliked: conditions are far from we used to call "nice & clean" in Europe

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Olivia Cotterill

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 August 2012 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: keeping in mind that you get whay you pay for - this hostel gives you everything you need. I had a private room (with shared bathroom - which was right next door to my room anyways so it felt like it was my private bathroom) on the 3rd floor and I was impressed that the staff were really insistant on trying to help me carry my large suitcase up the 6 flighs of stairs - I appreciated that - I've been in nicer more expensive hotels that didnt offer any help. And upon leaving, they also offered to get me a taxi to the airport as it would be cheaper for me than getting it on the street myself, also appreciated. It was nice to also get breakfast in the morning - it may only be small- but a coffee and a croissant was perfect for me. And its in easy walking distance of the beach and Upper Ben Yehuda, which as a great mix of restaurants (Mexican, Thai, Steak houses, burger joints) and boutiques - so plenty of places to see and find what you need.

Disliked: Its hard to really dislike anything because you can not expect too much when you are getting such cheap accommodation in the heart of Tel Aviv - sure the shower could have been a bit cleaner - but they are shared bathrooms-so again what can you expect. With only a small fan in the room it can get quite hot and stuffy - but on the plus side it forces you to get out and explore Tel Aviv as its cooler outside than inside, or you can always take advantage of the A/C and free internet access in the lobby. It would have been nice to also have either a fridge in the room, or maybe one on every floor - cos drinks stay cold for all of 5 mins in the heat of the room - and its a bit of a pain having to go up and down 6 flights of stairs (from the 3rd floor) just to get the shared fridge in the lobby - but again atleast there is one for use. So for whatyou are paying - its very satisfactory.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Suzanna Hendrika Molendijk

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

30 July 2012 Suzanna Hendrika would recommend this property

Liked: the room was dark (lot of shadow),small windows, very quiet

Disliked: that you have to take the cake and the koffie for breakfast in an other hostel

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great. Having a 24/7 friendly and helpful concierge was wonderful.

Disliked: The room descriptions were slightly misleading.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Vesselin Genadiev

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2012

Liked: It is more or less very central

Disliked: The rooms are vert worn out, the bathrooms in the private rooms are with an incredible small sink not suitable even for teethbrushing and the cleanness is absolutely unacceptable. After one leaves a rooms they just change the sheets, trow away the trush bin and that is all. We even had empty bottles under our bed from the people before us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean sheets and friendly atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and outdoor balcony

Disliked: Shower was broken,

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Olga Mikityuk

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: location free Internet Hot water is always work in the Sabbath

Disliked: breakfast is a croissant and a cup of tea is strictly and nothing that I would not call continental breakfast at a nearby hotel It was cold in the room was broken glass Internet only near the reception desk luggage room fee shower on the floor of the creepy and not closed to the castle balcony in the photo with chairs, chairs on the balcony, we did not find in general only the table

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It smells - the rooms are run down and fit for squatters. The bedding is dirty & Stained. The windows didnt close - so was freezing. Substandard - BIG WARNING - stay here at your own risk!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roman Kolesnikov

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: People! Great guys working at stuff and interesting people as guests. Great location - near the sea with warm sand and the center of Tel Aviv. Everything could be reached by feet, not more than 30 minutes walk near the sea or beautiful Tel Aviv houses.

Disliked: We had ensuite bathroom. It was in the corner of the room behind the small wall. We were surprised at first but it was OK actually.