HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of New Swedish Hostel

Hostel | David ST.29, Jaffa Gate, p.o.box.19084 Jerusalem, Israel 91190

65.9% Overall Rating

74 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Gordon Celender thinks…

"I felt the staff were friendly, helpful and honest. I liked the fact that the kitchen was open until 12midnight, and that free hot drinks were offered. I used the internet on 2 occasions at their…"

Read all New Swedish Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Jerusalem?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Jerusalem

Citadel Guesthouse
31.85 USD

Hostel 83.1% 94 reviews
Jaffa Gate Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 406 reviews
Citadel Hostel
19.00 USD

Hostel 82.2% 573 reviews
Hashimi Hotel and Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.0% 118 reviews
Palm hostel
25.48 USD

Hostel 64.8% 117 reviews
Rivoli Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 7 reviews
King Solomon Hotel Jerusalem
100.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Capitol Hotel
48.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.9%

Overall Rating

74 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'New Swedish Hostel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
52.0%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
62.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Petr Prochazka

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, fair price, nice staff, free maps, free tea or coffee.

Disliked: Petr left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gordon Celender

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 March 2014 Gordon would recommend this property

Liked: I felt the staff were friendly, helpful and honest. I liked the fact that the kitchen was open until 12midnight, and that free hot drinks were offered. I used the internet on 2 occasions at their modest cost of 4NIS for 30min. I was satisfied with the general level of service.

Disliked: The toilets were quite small and the dorm area a bit cramped for space. Sometimes there were converations in the dorm rather late at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rice Ng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2014 Rice would recommend this property

Liked: The owner has a strong character and is a very knowledgeable man. He even knows the triad society of Hong Kong and Korea! I read negative comments of him before my stay but it turned out he was very welcoming and funny like a father to us. He made us delicious chicken from an Arabic oven and we shared views on religions in the heart of old town Jerusalem. It was a small old hostel (don't expect a high standard) but the atmosphere made it cozy and homey.

Disliked: The shower is very very weak but for the price and location and atmosphere it is tolerable.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Отличное предложение за самую низкую цену. Расположен в 2 мин ходьбы от Храма Гроба Господня, в старом городе - так что все рядом. - Интересно пожить в одном из исторических зданий старого города. - Бесплатный чай-кофе-вода, хороший бесплатный WiFi, удобная кровать, есть холодильник и вентилятор в комнате. - Без проблем заехали в шаббат , да к тому же глубокой ночью с пт на сб. Несложно найти.

Disliked: Крохотные душевые и туалеты(2 и 3 шт , соответственно), слабоватый напор воды.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Wouter Kooijman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: hostel was very dirty, no hot water, very unhelpful staff one who was rather inappropriate to the woman staying there

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Derek Emson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Too many things to mention but immediately put off by the very bad attitude of the guy at the reception. No real windows in the dorm and looked very dirty. I moved out as fast as possible, losing my payment for one night. The sacrifice was worth making.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Although it is in the middle of a souk, it's quiet. No mosque prayer calls around.

Disliked: Although it has everything mentioned, it's a bit messy. The dorm is overcrowded with beds. Toilet and shower cabins are small. Dorm beds too. Don't search for it by address number, because it is in the middle of a souk. Look for it's sign or ask someone where it is (everybody knows).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, just around the corner from the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.

Disliked: The manager was very fussy (although he's also quite a character, and can be an entertaining person to listen to). The showers were hard to get into - basically, they're trying to use very little space and, compared with some of Jerusalem's other hostels, it makes for quite a cramped experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Starr Lederer

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Starr would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. It is in the middle of the old city, right one David St. So it is literally in the markets of the old city. I was woken up by the call to pray. It was cool to be sleeping in the old city.

Disliked: The room was cramped, so many beds in one room. There was a curfew but the staff was easy going about it. After making a reservation on hostelbooker.com they called me to make sure I was coming because they wanted to give our beds away.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Hagen Knofe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Hagen would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of the old city, nice atmosphere!

Disliked: Very tiny rooms, not the cleanest, but OK

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alexander Tytarenko

Alone

Business / conference
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 December 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here 2 nights, between 02 December 2011 and 04 December 2011. The hostel is situated in very old building which reminds me atmosphere of ancient epoch.

Disliked: Shower room and especially 2 bathrooms are too small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefanie Quin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice and warm and in a great location in the Old City.

Disliked: The shower and toilet rooms were very small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zheng Jia

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Zheng would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Cheap for the dorm. The atmosphere is friendly and they have all the basic facilities. Staffs are not as bad as what was described in previous reviews. They are just friendly in a strange way, from my understanding.

Disliked: The toilets and shower rooms are too small. The dorm is small and narrow, too.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011

Liked: nice staff (especially cleaning lady), great location

Disliked: Everything there looks like very old and never cleaned, the conditions are very, very bad. The toilets are too small... and the showers are really disgusting! I slept in the bunk bed and it has no ladder!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011

Liked: Free tea and coffee

Disliked: The hostel owners were disgruntled by our presence, and we felt as though we were inconveniencing them. We had booked online in advance, and the room we were shown to was not at all what we had booked. We booked a double bed and got bunk beds instead. When we told that it was not what we had booked, we were told that under hotel law we could either take what they had or go somewhere else. The shower cabins felt claustrophobic. There was nowhere to put your things while you were in the showers, unless you wanted to leave them unattended in the shared bathroom. Also, the clerks office sat opposite the bathroom door which was slightly unnerving.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good.

Disliked: too small room and bathroom even I stayed in private room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011

Liked: The location was good in a heart of old city Jerusalem. There was cold in a room but we asked heeting to put on and we got some warmer. We could leave our rucksack and a bag in a room after we left a hostel and could take them with us later to our next hostel. Stuff was frienfly and helpful if you asked some help.

Disliked: very tiny toilets and not much privacy in them becauce of the rolled thin doors with no good locks in them. Toilets and a tiny little kitchen were very near neighbors so it didn´t feel comfortable eating in a kitchen. All the other space vas tiny as well. Beds were really narrow and blankits and matresses very old and worn-out. There was a feeling like in a grotto. It was an interestig experience once. But not another time the same place, unless big renoverings are not made. We don´t know if it was dirty there but we really much felt that. Maby also because of a bad shape of the building.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011

Liked: It was available

Disliked: Rude staff, small cramped bathrooms, Kind of felt like a prison. Very uncomfortable beds!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, CLEAN, FREE COFFEE AND TEA, SMALL BUT NICE KITCHEN

Disliked: ROOM WAS LITTLE BIT COLD EVEN HAS HEATER

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svetlana Shelokhvostova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2011 Svetlana would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, price.

Disliked: Not very friendly staff.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Arietta Lotz

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Arietta would recommend this property

Liked: The chance to meet a lot of nice people you can hang out and o course the setting.

Disliked: it is very very small especially the bathrooms and he limit of time in the nights to return.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I Lines the location and tjat there is free coffee and water

Disliked: There weed ants at the roof in shower. We actually killer a larger bug in out room. To be fair its the forstå hosten if stayd at so i would'nt know if This is the normal standard

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jennifer Himmelreich

15 January 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: well it was in the old quarter thats good, but I would hate to be there if it was full, way too many beds and the kitchen way way too small. When will hostel management understand that dirty toilet paper bins must be emptied sometimes twice a day. In the '4 nights I stayed they were not emptied just pressed down further by me, maybey I should have let them overflow on the floor. It is overpriced for what you get, but its small and its Israel, nothing is of value except local buses.It was okay.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: OK for the price. nothing special but its clean enough, warm water and an OK place to stay. You get what you pay for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.