HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Citadel Guesthouse

Hostel | Saint Mark Road 22, old city, Jaffa gate, Jerusalem, Israel 51602

83.1% Overall Rating

75 out of 94 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2014)

Eric Mas Casas thinks…

"Very nice and cozy hostel. The view from the roofs is amazing. Staff were extremely helpful and even offered us an additional heater on a cold day. Wonderful atmosphere in the communal areas.…"

Read all Citadel Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Jerusalem?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Jerusalem

New Swedish Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 65.9% 106 reviews
Jaffa Gate Hostel
33.00 USD

Hostel 74.5% 406 reviews
Citadel Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 80.6% 574 reviews
Hashimi Hotel and Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.6% 119 reviews
Palm hostel
20.70 USD

Hostel 65.5% 119 reviews
Rivoli Hotel
36.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.6% 7 reviews
King Solomon Hotel Jerusalem
85.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Capitol Hotel
48.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

75 out of 94 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Citadel Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 87 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Mas Casas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and cozy hostel. The view from the roofs is amazing. Staff were extremely helpful and even offered us an additional heater on a cold day. Wonderful atmosphere in the communal areas. Excellent location and atmosphere!! We really liked it

Disliked: we did not have hot water in the shower a coupe of times. The kitchen facilities are very basic and the tiny fridge was packed with food and produced no cold. There is not internet in the rooms but in the reception and lounge

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jason lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 jason would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right in the old city. Perfect for exploration

Disliked: Wifi in the hostel is very sketchy at best. It does say only in the lounge and reception area which is ok but even right next to the router my laptop or ta let would often get booted. Not such an issue really but when your trying to book tickets and arrange transfers etc it can be a bit of a pain. That being said this did not detract me from booking here for a second time. Also the young guy that often works nights is also a really cool guy. The old guy and girl are ok but not as friendly as the night guy. He has travelled a lot so i think he just gets it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BARRY DRELINCOURT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 BARRY would recommend this property

Liked: Position within Jerusalem.

Disliked: Showers could do with revitalisation. Unable to lock room. It was only upon departure that I realised there were lockers near the reception, which I had not been made aware of.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it all, especially the location and the view.

Disliked: Everything was fine.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 December 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: no calefac tion in winter The water is cold some time

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, atmosphere

Disliked: Poor cleaning, stincy towels I had private room with no windows, very poor bathroom Very thin walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location Nice stuff Nice room

Disliked: Tiny showers without hot water

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rodrigo Varas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2013 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. The staff was very helpful and have good knowledge of the city. Nice rooms.

Disliked: The showers were so narrow, sometimes without hot water. Rooms were not ready at the time of check in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

David Swindlehurst

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good location , very nice , helpful staff

Disliked: It is a bit tatty, the bedroom was tiny- especially the bathroom inc shower

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooftop, great room, cosy athmosphere of the big rock walls.

Disliked: small bathrooms, toilett and shower all in one

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Emanuele Colombo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Emanuele would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good and the building has a good character. Terrace is a cool place to enjoy an awesome view of the city and to relax, chilling out with a beer and other travellers.

Disliked: Tiny rooms and toilets, more suitable to dwarves than men and women. During our stay the line was down (no wi fi) for two days and moreover for this reason staff did not help us in any way with a booking of a tour advertised by them. Their booking system had a trouble and the gusesthouse was overcrowded with people sleeping even on the roof and the service was harmed by that fact: in an hot day of August they finished their stock of water bottles at 4 pm...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lisa dundas

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous central location in a quirky building. Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: That there were no snacks or soft drinks available (although there was water) The room was very small, but actually adequate for what we needed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great location in the old city close to Jaffa Gate. A good budget option in Jeresalem.

Disliked: I received an e-mail from the hostel to say that the single room I booked for 4 nights on Hostelbookers wasn't available for the whole 4 nights. However the owner gave me a double room at a slightly cheaper price. The room was a bit small but I think it represented decent value compared to other hostels in Jerusalem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Groenestijn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED to stay here. The building is so magical and the people who work here are incredibly friendly. Location couldn't be better.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Brittain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value and an excellent location. It is very good for what it is which is a hostle not a hotel. There is free internet and a great veiw over the old city from the roof. The toilet / showers are basic and the shower is in the corner of the toilet so you won't linger long but they work and they are clean. You get a towel but bring your own soap. I would stay here again.

Disliked: It is an old stone building which when it is wet outside and it was during my stay is slightly damp. The matress and pillow were both passed it and should have been replaced.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jakub Szmigiel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Jakub would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect location in the old city.

Disliked: Jakub left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micah Fiedler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Micah would recommend this property

Liked: The workers were pleasant and fantastic conversation. The sleeping arrangements were good and the setting was fantastic.

Disliked: The rooming was slightly packed (being in the 12 person dorm) and the beds uncomfortable. Everything came at a price and there were very few accommodations besides bedding and internet (only located in the lobby)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Górski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe Hostel with great location. Very helpful and friendly staff who give good advices and lot of useful informations.

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in old city, helpful staff, awesome view from the top of the hostel, free Internet.

Disliked: No heating at room, so it was very cold especially at night. Hot water in bathroom is only sometimes. Cleanliness and equipment could be better. All hostels in old city of Jerusalem are definitely overpriced.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013

Liked: Only the location and proximity to the old city.

Disliked: The review on HostelBookers did not say the following: that the receptionist only takes cash, and that there is no soap in the bathrooms. The property was not clean and the bed was very uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep on the mattress because it was so lumpy and I could feel the wires against my skin. I had to sleep downstairs in the common area on a sitting mat. The bathrooms are cramped and unclean. The only good thing about this hostel is the location in the old city, but it's in a dark alley.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Nicolas Castellon Machado

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Mario Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: I scanned many other hostels in Jerusalem- picked this one for its price and location, Its roof top view is amazing.

Disliked: I have no complaints.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location to the sites in the old city Helpful email pre-arrival with directions and suggested travel from ben Gurion airport View from our private balcony - unbeatable!

Disliked: "Left luggage" non existent Cash only Room 90% taken up with bed "Ensuite" is a little generous when describing the toilet / shower cupboard

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace has an amazing view over the old city!

Disliked: The showers and toilets are tiny and not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Wood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location! In the old city. Very friendly staff, always able to help with questions and point us in the right direction. All the bathrooms were really clean except for only one on the 2nd floor - so avoid that one. Saw all the others being cleaned though. The place is awesome and really old. It feels like you're going back in time. A very authentic experience. There are also great alcoves on the ground floor where you can hangout, read a book or use the WIFI. Also the view from the roof top is insane - especially just before sunset. I would recommend staying here, it is such a great location.

Disliked: -