HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Railway Hostel

Hostel | dennehys bohereen, (Fair Hill), Killarney, Ireland --

76.3% Overall Rating

232 out of 257 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/06/2013)

Mardy Kidwell thinks…

"Close to town, friendly staff were very helpful. Good breakfast set up. Quiet at night (is block off main road) and has nice outdoor area with picnic tables. VERY GOOD INTERNET access and enjoyed…"

Read all Railway Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Glena Suites
34.54 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 17 reviews
Rivermere Suites
35.92 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 21 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
34.54 USD

Guesthouse 76.3% 7 reviews
Paddy's Palace Killarney
12.43 USD

Hostel 79.7% 196 reviews
Neptunes Town Hostel
19.34 USD

Hostel 91.2% 435 reviews
Redwood B&B
55.26 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 8 reviews
Black Valley Hostel
22.79 USD

Hostel 83.6% 11 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
19.34 USD

Hostel 74.7% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

232 out of 257 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Railway Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 163 of 190 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Great location

Disliked: Dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Lovely atmosphere there. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Valik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: alright everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andrew milward

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 July 2013 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: the receptionist was great

Disliked: noicey

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JOHAN PEPERMANS

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 JOHAN would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfull lady at reception

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Whiting

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, and great price. People were very friendly.

Disliked: The bathroom can get kinda gross.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mardy Kidwell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013 Mardy would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town, friendly staff were very helpful. Good breakfast set up. Quiet at night (is block off main road) and has nice outdoor area with picnic tables. VERY GOOD INTERNET access and enjoyed talking with other guests.

Disliked: Mardy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Desk staff were more than helpful. Just like visiting friends, when we told them our plans for the day, they mentioned things we would see or what else we could do in that area. Noise is inevitable in a hostel but ear plugs helped me sleep. Not too noisy after the weekend. People were respectful of others' property.. I saw, on 2 different days, unattended camera and phone..others asked who they belonged to, but left them for the owners to collect. Laundry was 5 euro charge and was in a basket on my bed after I spent the day out.

Disliked: Its located BEHIND the train station and across from the outlet mall. I didnt trust that the dishes had been properly cleaned by the previous users, so I rewashed before I used them...there was always dish soap available.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Norbert Fekete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful Ring of Kerry is close to Killarney and the hostel is very close to the pubs of the town. There is a kitchen, a common area and even a "light breakfast".

Disliked: There was not much of a heating in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Nowell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to bus station and main tourist area of town. Staff was very helpful when we tried to arrange a fairly last minute tour. Showers we're hot and clean, never had to wait to use the bathroom. They also have a luggage room so you can store your pack and go explore for the day.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alecia Burrows

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It's old run down hostel, the key cards stop working at any given time, the smoke alarm goes off throughout the night and no one does anything to stop the poeple smoking inside to prevent it from happening again. Internet doesn't work upstairs in the rooms, you can hear absolutely everything that goes on the walls are paper thin. Stay elsewhere seriously

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: looks good, sleeps well, cheap, great location and 24 hours incheck service!

Disliked: It looks clean but I had the feeling it was not the most hygenic athmosfere, it is cleaned to look clean so if your unlucky you may stumble on a bad smell or get sick (in my case). I have to add I am not sure if I got sick there or anywhere else. I would reccomend the place anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to transport and also centre.Spotlessly clean and friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and clean facilities.

Disliked: There are very few parking spot, so we had to park across the street. The 4-person dorm room was cramped, but it served it's purpose.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chris carr

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this place.The staff,especially Gerry,were friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome.Good location,near national park,lots of info on stuff to do in the area,quiet in the evening when you wanna sleep!,fairly clean and good breakfast. I'd recommend this hostel.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big room

Disliked: Bed mattress was very uncomfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. very warm atmosphere!

Disliked: the mixed bathrooms. there were lots of men using the toilets with the door open and then missing the toilet!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012

Liked: good location, 5 mins walk to the railway station.

Disliked: the reception girl in the afternoon strongly recommended us to a dying restaurant, which makes so-so food with extremely slow and arrogant manner but charges for a lot! We definitely found ourselves being fooled. NEVER to this so called authentic Irish restaurant on New street.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center and bus station. Helpful staff .

Disliked: Cleanliness, the floors where full of crap and the bathroom floors where disgusting, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned for weeks. The seven second lasting showers so you constantly had to keep pressing the button and same goes for the sink taps.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere Friendly Staff Large Common Room Location

Disliked: Could be a little cleaner, but it is mostly because it is an old building in a small town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Schweden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, cosy hostel - have been there many times and want to come back again and again!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Melbourn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 October 2011 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent customer care.

Disliked: The description of the location is a little misleading. Its not actually opposite the bus station, you need to turn left, cross the road and then walk up a little road on the right. I think this would help people find the location better but no complaints about the hotel. Brilliant.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicola Grant

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: decent, simple rooms good kitchen facilities

Disliked: small social area

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011

Liked: near to the town

Disliked: no parking facilities,needs more clean linen,heating system was not working

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dean Samuels

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: The two ladies at check-in on the afternoon of the 23rd were very friendly and helpful and answered all the questions we had regarding the area. Kitchen area is well set out even with up to 10 people cooking separate meals at the same time.

Disliked: Would be good to have lockers in the rooms