HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Railway Hostel

Hostel | dennehys bohereen, (Fair Hill), Killarney, Ireland --

77.4% Overall Rating

238 out of 264 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2014)

Laura Murillo thinks…

"One of the best hostels Ive ever been, it is really cool. I loved the concept it has for each room with its own name and drawings, its a very very friendly hostel, clean, good people, everything was…"

Read all Railway Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Glena Suites
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 18 reviews
Rivermere Suites
34.14 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 22 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 9 reviews
Paddy's Palace Killarney
11.82 USD

Hostel 80.1% 208 reviews
Neptunes Town Hostel
21.01 USD

Hostel 89.0% 448 reviews
Redwood B&B
52.53 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 8 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
21.01 USD

Hostel 76.8% 115 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
20.59 USD

Hostel 98.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

238 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Railway Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
80.0%
Value
76.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 197 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: The toilets are unisex and stink. There are no lockers in the rooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Murillo

Alone

City break

31 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels Ive ever been, it is really cool. I loved the concept it has for each room with its own name and drawings, its a very very friendly hostel, clean, good people, everything was so cool. Also my room has a window on the roof so I could see the sky while in my bed, so great.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is well located, clean, small hostel. it is good for the price.

Disliked: it could be renovated

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Louise Curtis

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet at night time, clean and spacious

Disliked: Poor breakfast for the price of a private double room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Great location

Disliked: Dirty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Lovely atmosphere there. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jan Valik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: alright everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

andrew milward

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

15 July 2013 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: the receptionist was great

Disliked: noicey

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JOHAN PEPERMANS

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 JOHAN would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpfull lady at reception

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachel Whiting

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, and great price. People were very friendly.

Disliked: The bathroom can get kinda gross.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mardy Kidwell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013 Mardy would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town, friendly staff were very helpful. Good breakfast set up. Quiet at night (is block off main road) and has nice outdoor area with picnic tables. VERY GOOD INTERNET access and enjoyed talking with other guests.

Disliked: Mardy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Desk staff were more than helpful. Just like visiting friends, when we told them our plans for the day, they mentioned things we would see or what else we could do in that area. Noise is inevitable in a hostel but ear plugs helped me sleep. Not too noisy after the weekend. People were respectful of others' property.. I saw, on 2 different days, unattended camera and phone..others asked who they belonged to, but left them for the owners to collect. Laundry was 5 euro charge and was in a basket on my bed after I spent the day out.

Disliked: Its located BEHIND the train station and across from the outlet mall. I didnt trust that the dishes had been properly cleaned by the previous users, so I rewashed before I used them...there was always dish soap available.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Norbert Fekete

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Norbert would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful Ring of Kerry is close to Killarney and the hostel is very close to the pubs of the town. There is a kitchen, a common area and even a "light breakfast".

Disliked: There was not much of a heating in the room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Nowell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to bus station and main tourist area of town. Staff was very helpful when we tried to arrange a fairly last minute tour. Showers we're hot and clean, never had to wait to use the bathroom. They also have a luggage room so you can store your pack and go explore for the day.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alecia Burrows

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It's old run down hostel, the key cards stop working at any given time, the smoke alarm goes off throughout the night and no one does anything to stop the poeple smoking inside to prevent it from happening again. Internet doesn't work upstairs in the rooms, you can hear absolutely everything that goes on the walls are paper thin. Stay elsewhere seriously

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: looks good, sleeps well, cheap, great location and 24 hours incheck service!

Disliked: It looks clean but I had the feeling it was not the most hygenic athmosfere, it is cleaned to look clean so if your unlucky you may stumble on a bad smell or get sick (in my case). I have to add I am not sure if I got sick there or anywhere else. I would reccomend the place anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location close to transport and also centre.Spotlessly clean and friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and clean facilities.

Disliked: There are very few parking spot, so we had to park across the street. The 4-person dorm room was cramped, but it served it's purpose.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

chris carr

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this place.The staff,especially Gerry,were friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome.Good location,near national park,lots of info on stuff to do in the area,quiet in the evening when you wanna sleep!,fairly clean and good breakfast. I'd recommend this hostel.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big room

Disliked: Bed mattress was very uncomfortable

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. very warm atmosphere!

Disliked: the mixed bathrooms. there were lots of men using the toilets with the door open and then missing the toilet!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012

Liked: good location, 5 mins walk to the railway station.

Disliked: the reception girl in the afternoon strongly recommended us to a dying restaurant, which makes so-so food with extremely slow and arrogant manner but charges for a lot! We definitely found ourselves being fooled. NEVER to this so called authentic Irish restaurant on New street.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city center and bus station. Helpful staff .

Disliked: Cleanliness, the floors where full of crap and the bathroom floors where disgusting, it looks like it hasn't been cleaned for weeks. The seven second lasting showers so you constantly had to keep pressing the button and same goes for the sink taps.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere Friendly Staff Large Common Room Location

Disliked: Could be a little cleaner, but it is mostly because it is an old building in a small town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristina Schweden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 November 2011 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, cosy hostel - have been there many times and want to come back again and again!

Disliked: nothing!