We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Killarney

Hostel | 31 New Street, Killarney, Ireland --

80.0% Overall Rating

174 out of 219 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2015)

"The private ensuite room was perfect and a great price. The location is so close to the centre."

Read all Paddy's Palace Killarney reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

No stag party 50 beds

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Neptunes Town Hostel
20.13 USD

Hostel 90.1% 470 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 11 reviews
Rivermere Suites
29.07 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 25 reviews
Glena Suites
50.31 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 20 reviews
Redwood B&B
44.72 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 9 reviews
Railway Hostel
12.30 USD

Hostel 81.0% 273 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
19.01 USD

Hostel 77.9% 119 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
17.79 USD

Hostel 98.2% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

174 out of 219 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paddy's Palace Killarney'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 187 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good value, especially with the bonus free night and breakfast included. Andrew was very helpful and hospitable. I happened to be one of the only guests at the time and he bumped me up to a private room. The hostel is also very close to Killarney National Park.

Disliked: It was an older building that seemed to have some problems with mould, though it was acceptably clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugh Pope

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Hugh would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the cheapest hostel in Ireland and definitely the cheapest in Killarney. Within a very short walk of the national park and the main street of Killarney. The Aussie bloke on reception was great so thumbs up. You can jump on a Ring of Kerry tour for 15 euros which is a bargain. All in all, impressed.

Disliked: I would suggest e-mailing them to confirm booking as I think they have a technical hitch with this website, no worries I got a room upgrade as a result.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super cheap and central to the town but it's about a 10-15min walk from the main busstop. Andrew was helpful, made some good recommendations and joined us for a night out too. Definitely recommend the Ring of Kerry tour with the hostel - only 15 Euros - worth every penny especially if the weather is good!

Disliked: Didn't see any lockers?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, and a good place for a night's rest at a very reasonable price. Location in downtown Killarney is excellent: Good shopping in town and easy access by road to the beauty of the Ring of Kerry

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked. There is no luxury, but I did not expect anything more than I got.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Shields

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Andrew was very helpful, rooms are all clean, close to all shops an pubs.

Disliked: No plugs for either sinks or bath. No washing machine or dryer to clean your clothes if you are there for a long stay, tv room to small if there are a lot of guests, wifi limited to one floor an best reception in tv room, very bad if a lot of people want to use it in tv room. Kitchen opened til 10pm an tv room opened til 11pm. Security lockers very small if you have a large laptop.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff :) Very accommodating and helpful in my planning

Disliked: It wasn't the cleanest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Gray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were EXTREMELY helpful! the rooms were big and clean. the location is great. The whole place was very laid back it made it feel very homely.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebekka Will

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2011 Rebekka would recommend this property

Liked: Die Gästeküche war in Ordnung, das Früstück ebenfalls. Die Mitarbeiter sind total hilfsbereit und freundlich. Es war sauber genug und es liegt ganz nah am Stadtzentrum und ebenso am Nationalpark. Dunnes ist gleich daneben und es gibt auch freies W-Lan. Auch ein kleiner Fernsehraum mit DVDs ist da.

Disliked: die Bäder für die Zimmer im Erdgeschoss waren in der 1. Etage.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cecilia De Ita

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2011 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Is very well located, and in a very lovely Village. Andrew was awesome and we did feel like being home with an old friend. We had the room for ourselves and was warm and comfortable.

Disliked: They could take more care of details like decoration or maintenance.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (Cristina) was very helpful and friendly. There was breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Only 1 key per room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jillian Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: The free night is nice.

Disliked: There was a lot of mould in our room (on the curtains, in the washroom). We let the staff know though and the washroom was cleaned while we were gone for the day. I was also told the curtains were going to be washed, so it was nice to see that my concern was taken seriously.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Susan Sikora

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2011

Liked: The location was great, near everything I wanted.

Disliked: cluttered and not kept up too well.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Logan Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Logan would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money (2 nights for the price of one) and friendly staff.

Disliked: Breakfast was weak.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

glenn burling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011

Liked: cheap and central. suited us for 1 night

Disliked: 2nd night free deal did not exist for us. it is subject to availability. check this before booking. security is a bit suss with only 1 key available for all people in 10 bed dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kellie butler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 kellie would recommend this property

Liked: Extra cheap, free breakfast, helpful friendly staff.

Disliked: No laundry facilities..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly, simple and second to none in terms of value for money.

Disliked: It isn't finished yet. There was refurbishment work going on and this led to a number of little niggles like the lights not working in the shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Free Night

Disliked: Security was very poor. You have one key for the room which the last person leaves at reception. You don't need to show id to collect your key so in theory anyone could go into your room. This wouldn't be so bad if there were lockers in the room. I nearly didn't get my free night as I didn't say when I made the booking, even though it didn't state you had to. My booking got messed up and I was moved to a different room for the second night. This happened to other guests as well so it seems a regular occurrence and not a one-off mistake. Cristina could be a bit more friendly, but she may have been having a bad day though as she was a bit more nicer the other two days. One of the toasters only toasts one side of the bread.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah thompson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff/receptionist Cristina was great! Very helpful and friendly. Awesome location and yummy breakfast! Small hostel so you feel like you are staying at a house rather than a busting budget accomodation. Would stay there again!

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Chancerelle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2011 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: For me it was one of the cleanest hostel i have seen and the Personal is really friendly and warm hearted. (Thank you Cristina ) Also the room and the breakfast is really good. You can reach everthing really fast from the hostel. In summary you can feel a little bit like home even if you are in holidays

Disliked: everthing was very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levi Coleman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Very clean and professional. The manager, Cristina I believe, was great, friendly and very helpful. Incredible price for the value.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent value for the price

Disliked: the single staff member, while exceptionally nice, was overworked which doesn't reflect well on management

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerzy Domaradzki

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2011 Jerzy would recommend this property

Liked: staff, food, location

Disliked: I had a bad experience with room mates inviting people to the room at night and disturbing sleep

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Ingram

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money as we booked one night online and got the second night free! Good common room, felt very safe and good location

Disliked: Kitchen was not very big and on a different level to the common room but apart from that was all good