HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Paddy's Palace Killarney

Hostel | 31 New Street, Killarney, Ireland --

79.1% Overall Rating

158 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

"The location of the hostel is very good. Staff was very nice and helpful. As it's very small, there's a very personal atmosphere."

Read all Paddy's Palace Killarney reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

No stag party 50 beds

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Neptunes Town Hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 91.2% 435 reviews
Black Valley Hostel
22.81 USD

Hostel 83.6% 11 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 76.3% 7 reviews
Rivermere Suites
35.94 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 21 reviews
Glena Suites
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 17 reviews
Redwood B&B
55.29 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 8 reviews
Railway Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 76.3% 257 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
19.35 USD

Hostel 75.4% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.1%

Overall Rating

158 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paddy's Palace Killarney'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 165 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was friendly, simple and second to none in terms of value for money.

Disliked: It isn't finished yet. There was refurbishment work going on and this led to a number of little niggles like the lights not working in the shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011

Liked: Free Night

Disliked: Security was very poor. You have one key for the room which the last person leaves at reception. You don't need to show id to collect your key so in theory anyone could go into your room. This wouldn't be so bad if there were lockers in the room. I nearly didn't get my free night as I didn't say when I made the booking, even though it didn't state you had to. My booking got messed up and I was moved to a different room for the second night. This happened to other guests as well so it seems a regular occurrence and not a one-off mistake. Cristina could be a bit more friendly, but she may have been having a bad day though as she was a bit more nicer the other two days. One of the toasters only toasts one side of the bread.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah thompson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff/receptionist Cristina was great! Very helpful and friendly. Awesome location and yummy breakfast! Small hostel so you feel like you are staying at a house rather than a busting budget accomodation. Would stay there again!

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Chancerelle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2011 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: For me it was one of the cleanest hostel i have seen and the Personal is really friendly and warm hearted. (Thank you Cristina ) Also the room and the breakfast is really good. You can reach everthing really fast from the hostel. In summary you can feel a little bit like home even if you are in holidays

Disliked: everthing was very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Levi Coleman

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Very clean and professional. The manager, Cristina I believe, was great, friendly and very helpful. Incredible price for the value.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent value for the price

Disliked: the single staff member, while exceptionally nice, was overworked which doesn't reflect well on management

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerzy Domaradzki

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 June 2011 Jerzy would recommend this property

Liked: staff, food, location

Disliked: I had a bad experience with room mates inviting people to the room at night and disturbing sleep

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Ingram

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money as we booked one night online and got the second night free! Good common room, felt very safe and good location

Disliked: Kitchen was not very big and on a different level to the common room but apart from that was all good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great price even without the free night stay. good facilities and great location, would recommend to any budget traveller.

Disliked: only one key per room but not a problem as keys get left with reception staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: value for money: we booked one night and got the second night free. The staff (especially Christina) were really helpful and gave us some good tips for trips. Nice breakfast. Would recommend.

Disliked: liked everything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Kafka

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2011 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: If we travel sometimes back to Killarney (and surely yes), the "Paddys twin room" will be the right choice. We were very satisfied with the room, shared rooms, breakfast, staff and of course with the price including one night for free.

Disliked: Just one thing... There was a little space overhead on the top bed :-)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Getting a free night made the hostel really cheap. When we stayed in the four person with ensuite bathroom, we had a good experience.

Disliked: Even though there were other empty rooms, the hostel manager put us into a twelve person dorm with 10 teenagers from the Paddywagon group. They were drinking the entire time in the room and then came back at 3 in the morning and loudly talked, yelled and played music until 5 in the morning with no intention of stopping when we asked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Rossiter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: NIce place to stay, central but a bit quiet. Cristina the receptionist was excellent and very helpful.

Disliked: Could have been a bit more atmosphere but outstanding value for money.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean

Disliked: All was ok

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Gillian Doherty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the facilities were pretty good. We stayed in off-peak but I think during peak it would be a good place to meet people.

Disliked: The lady at reception didn't even know what the Ring of Kerry was which I'd imagine would be what most people come to this place for. She didn't really know anything about the town. She was friendly though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free night was a great plus, so we paid 40 Euros for two persons for two nights. The living room was comfortable and we could watch several movies on a big screen. The heating in our room worked very well.

Disliked: The bed linen did not look very clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Richard Lodge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010

Liked: Location was good and the staff were friendly however check the dislike. Close to free overnight parking if driving around.

Disliked: Booked a double room and when we arrived were told the hostel didnt have any double rooms. Staff knew very litle about Killarney and so had to get all information from tourist information. Couldnt check in till 4pm which is because the staff take a break between 2pm-4pm. Whilst there we went passed Neptune hostel which looked alot better and more organised so maybe consider staying there. Its not often I dont recommend a hostel but I couldnt recommend this to anyone.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and friendly, with couches and a tv, you almost felt at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2010

Liked: -

Disliked: 2 nights before we stayed there for 1 night. Then we traveled around the ring of kerry. When we came back, they wondered why we are there and thought we won't arrive (I booked an arrival at 8 o'clock in the evening and we were at 7 there). Of course our room had been given to somebody else and we got an 14 room dorm (ok, for us alone). The person at the desk was quite unprofessional!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul bates

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2010 paul would recommend this property

Liked: had a great time...looking forward to going back.

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location location location.....and it's right next to a dunnes store where you can shop for food

Disliked: the bathroom in our room was pretty good and clean, however the bed....and the sheets....or sheet i mean (we only get one sheet that's folded in half to sleep in), was raggedy and a little dirty

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

angelica rocio magaña arias

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2010 angelica rocio would recommend this property

Liked: It´s great, it´s cheap and the staff are really friendly and fun

Disliked: Facilities are a bit old.. but is all grand

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a