We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Neptunes Town Hostel

Hostel | New St., Killarney, Ireland .

89.3% Overall Rating

427 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2014)

Jason Groom thinks…

"Neptune's is a great hostel. The staff is absolutely amazing. They will help with just about anything you need. There are lots of places around town that offer discounts for staying here and the…"

Read all Neptunes Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Paddy's Palace Killarney
11.39 USD

Hostel 80.1% 208 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 9 reviews
Redwood B&B
50.60 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 8 reviews
Rivermere Suites
32.89 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 24 reviews
Glena Suites
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 18 reviews
Railway Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 76.5% 266 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
20.24 USD

Hostel 76.8% 115 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
19.84 USD

Hostel 98.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

427 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Neptunes Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 336 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Groom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Neptune's is a great hostel. The staff is absolutely amazing. They will help with just about anything you need. There are lots of places around town that offer discounts for staying here and the front desk is more than happy to point you in the right direction.

Disliked: Being such a great hostel, they tend to draw big crowds. And most of these crowds come in the form of 50 passenger bus loads of young teenagers who are in town for one night and want to get completely wasted. If you can sleep through 50 people pouring in at any hour of the night it's not a big deal, but just don't expect quiet weekends here.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, clean, staff was helpful, nice atmosphere.

Disliked: People were loud some of the nights, showers were weird

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is very nice

Disliked: I liked everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helen Bassett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff, especially considering it's high season and they are so busy all the time. Kitchen thoroughly cleaned every day after breakfast (probably before too but I was never up that early!). Great kitchen and 2 fridges so easy to store your food.

Disliked: It's a big hostel (something like 130 beds) so there were a lot of groups of kids when I was there and it got a bit annoying in the kitchen when there was little space and it took a long time to cook all their dinner, so it also wasn't that easy to avoid their time there. as I tried to do. No lockers in rooms, but rooms are card-controlled. Showers had so little water pressure.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorm style character with nice breakfast area and common area

Disliked: Floors need to be cleaned

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: No negative feedback

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Très très bien situe, wifi et facile dacces , pas loin gare des trains et des bus. Sympa petite cuisine, chambre aérée. Salle de bain très petite par contre et douche un,peu sale , staff sympathique

Disliked: Lit dur et douche un peu sale

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostelbookers or hostelworld

Disliked: Small beds.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a social atmosphere about the hostel. I also like how close it is to the national parks.

Disliked: There is a building being constructed beside the hostel so it can be noisy in the morning on that side. There are no lockers in the rooms either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hayes

Alone

Business / conference

10 May 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private room with shower and sink and a toilet beside the room. For the price of 25e I had what some hotels offer for twice that price.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, location, kitchen and common area

Disliked: No place to leave clothes while showering

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man who welcome them at the reception desk was very friendly and helpfull. The room was clean and calm.

Disliked: Nothing, we enjoyed everything !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, central, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms & great location.

Disliked: The curfew at 3am..it would be better, if one could come and go at will.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, good tv and wi fi, supermarket nearby and ability to use a common kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Wehrmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel - free breakfast, wifi, luggage room etc. showers that work and are hot, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff - and great value for money.

Disliked: nothing disliked. Had a great time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and very hospitable. We ended up checking out later than the required time and they had no problem with it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The dining room was nicely decorated.

Disliked: No space to get dressed in the women's shared showers (but this wasn't a big deal).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Haxby

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Its location: Killarney is a great place to hang out. The staff were friendly - and a free breakfast was also appreciated.

Disliked: The single room didn't have a window in the walls. (Light came in through a window in the ceiling.) I like a draft when sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sascha Thimme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Sascha would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Had a three bed room for our own that night.

Disliked: Sascha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

I WEI YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 I WEI would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly there.

Disliked: the room is a little bit humid.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean hostel

Disliked: ,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: キッチンがつけるのがありがたかった

Disliked: シャワーが使いにくかった。部屋の数に対してトイレ。シャワーの数が少ないと思った。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Kennedy

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of my favourite hostels on the planet. The staff are very friendly and professional. I stayed at Neptunes because I was cycling the Ring of Kerry. Others were here for the same reason. The staff then served breakfast and a more comprehensive, filling breakfast than normal especially for the occasion and from 5.30am (as opposed to from 7.30am as is the norm here). So all credit is due to them for that. The breakfast was free as usual. Plus, I'd only booked in for the Friday night and I stored my luggage at the hostel during the cycle. I came back and given my sweaty state after the cycle I asked them if they could do me a big favour-if I could have a shower. I could-no problem at all and they provided me with a clean towel-they offered to do so immediately. Plus, they told me I had access to the hostel up until I left. Fair play to them. Its much appreciated. Plus, I told them that the internet didn't seem to be working the best last night and they definately fixed it since. Its working the finest now. Fair play Neptune Hostel, Killarney. It wasn't my first time staying here this time and it won't be my last either. Keep up the good work.

Disliked: Nothing. See above. I've no negative comments to make.