We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Neptunes Town Hostel

Hostel | New St., Killarney, Ireland .

88.3% Overall Rating

439 out of 463 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/05/2015)

"Neptunes is a very clean and friendly place. I stayed with my friend in a six bed mixed dormitory and the room was nice. The location of the hostel is just perfect and the staff was helpful and friendly (funny too;))."

Read all Neptunes Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Paddy's Palace Killarney
10.92 USD

Hostel 78.6% 214 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
27.29 USD

Guesthouse 82.0% 10 reviews
Redwood B&B
43.66 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 9 reviews
Rivermere Suites
28.38 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 24 reviews
Glena Suites
27.29 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 20 reviews
Railway Hostel
12.01 USD

Hostel 80.2% 271 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
18.56 USD

Hostel 76.8% 115 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
17.37 USD

Hostel 98.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

439 out of 463 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Neptunes Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 304 of 348 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly, great location for the National Park and shops/ pubs etc. Nice spacious and airy rooms and bathroom, free breakfast and lots of brochures/ info available

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, kicthen was a bit chaotic and not enough space for cooking when busy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shawn Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and bathrooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: Could use a little TLC, door handle in our dorm kept falling off.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Pahmeier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: kostenloses Internet, einfaches kostenloses Fruestueck, freundliches Personal

Disliked: zu wenig Duschen auf dem Gang (zwei pro geschlecht), keine Waermeregulierung,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security, friendliness

Disliked: It was nice for what was expected. Just don't expect 4 star hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the city center and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: We couldn't open the window in our room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff in a great location. Breafast included is simple but nice to have. Great value for money on a private double. Got upgraded to a private double with bathroom!

Disliked: Wifi only works in the common/reception room downstairs. Would have been nice to have it working in the TV room too to relax on the couches.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic and quite helpful in explaining how to get to different places around Killarney.

Disliked: Somewhat difficult to find at first, since it was up an alley.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sonja brentley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012 sonja would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,helpful staff,we could organise our trip to the ring of kerry through the hostel,free internet

Disliked: sonja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Szinte

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: generally wonderfull, only...

Disliked: ...not hot water at the showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alessio Morgana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and helpfull

Disliked: bathrooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Helena Berenthal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped kitchen, great location in Killarney, free WiFi

Disliked: Too noisy early in the morning and we booked a double but received a room with a double bunk bed, which was quite weird, but not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were very accommodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Danielle Zaborski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, helpful, and very easy to talk to.

Disliked: I would have liked for there to be more showers available. There was no space to change in the shower, and the water was cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Great location right in the middle of Killarney.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Edwards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff was really helpful and made you feel very welcome about using the facilities they have there. Kitchen is very good lots of hobs and utensils to use.

Disliked: The only thing was the room did get a little cold but I didn't spend that much time in there and I had an extra sleeping bag with me but I am very sure if you asked one the staff about it they would do something about it because they was all very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and the building is ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilia Carlsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 January 2012 Emilia would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, friendly staff

Disliked: Emilia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2011

Liked: This hostel is super clean and in a great location (right on a bustling street, right near to the National Park). The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the kitchen is well-equipped.

Disliked: It was COLD. Which is exactly the opposite of what you want when you're back from a long day of hiking. (I know people who used two duvets at night, it was so cold in our room.) The only place you can access the WiFi is in the kitchen, which is the coldest place in the hostel, and it closes at 10:30p. to boot. No WiFi access in the reading/lounge room, and not nearly ample enough light to read by. Also, the pillows might as well have been cardboard, for how thin and hard they were, even doubled over. Overall, you're better off staying at a cheaper hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were just lovely - friendly, helpful, professional. Good common room, free wifi, free breakfast basic but appreciated, great quest kitchen, felt safe at all times. Oh and great location!

Disliked: Shower was a bit awkward but had hot water and was clean so it's not actually a bad point.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodney knott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 rodney would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and very friendly staff will to help you nothing was a bother

Disliked: possable the car situation having the car left up the street overnight but it was perfectly safe

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Massimiliano Turrini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2011 Massimiliano would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Staff!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Salisbury

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely fantastic, Pete especially was always going out of his way to help people, and knew everything about the area - the best receptionist we've met in 4 months of hosteling in Europe. Great kitchen that inspired you to cook something good, all the facilities were cleaned regularly, lots of space to chill out, comfy dorms, great value for money!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bar on the front door step. It has room to park 25 motorbikes. alot of nite life, and the Ring of Kerry right beside you. What more could you ask for, brilliant.

Disliked: The only prob. i had was the double socket in my room was not working, so i just used the one in the hall.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CEDRIC PINTURAULT

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2011 CEDRIC would recommend this property

Liked: Very dynamic,'its a touristic city because of the ring of kerry.. So you will meet many people ...

Disliked: May be .. Too many people at the same time for breakfast , for example ..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, price and atmosphere ..

Disliked: the kitchen is so busy ..