We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Neptunes Town Hostel

Hostel | New St., Killarney, Ireland .

90.1% Overall Rating

445 out of 470 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2015)

"We stayed in the new building across from the main hostel in a 3-dorm private and it was excellent value and the quality of the room and facilities would match that of a budget 3 star hotel. The lad on reception was…"

Read all Neptunes Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Paddy's Palace Killarney
11.18 USD

Hostel 80.0% 219 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 11 reviews
Redwood B&B
44.72 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 9 reviews
Rivermere Suites
29.07 USD

Guesthouse 83.9% 25 reviews
Glena Suites
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 20 reviews
Railway Hostel
12.30 USD

Hostel 81.0% 273 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
19.01 USD

Hostel 77.9% 119 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
17.79 USD

Hostel 98.2% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

445 out of 470 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Neptunes Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 310 of 355 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, nice and central with really helpful staff

Disliked: No lockers in the room but they let me keep my laptop in their office which was easy enough. No dramas getting them to get it for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Neptune's is fantastic - can't rate it highly enough! Outstandingly clean, friendly, easy and enjoyable! Amazing value for money. They even upgraded me.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lisa-Marie Luft

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Lisa-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the atmosphere of the hostel and was sad I could only stay for one night. Killarney is a very sweet town.

Disliked: The room was showing a lot of signs of fungi (the wall had spots and the curtains were full of fox marks). The bathroom also showed signs of fungi and after showering you had a lake on the floor due to a leaking shower cabin. The isolator was really weak. The matress had something sharp sticking out so I had scratches (not too deep ones) on my leg when I woke up the next morning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and warm rooms. Very helpful staff and the location is great (but it's a small town so any location is great). Great spot for the National Park for walking around or as a starting point for the tours.

Disliked: The bathroom had a moudly/musty smell and the extraction fan doesn't do a very good job of taking away the moisture making it worse and giving the room a bit of a damp feeling. The wifi really needs to be accessible in the rooms. It makes for planning the next leg of journeys easier etc and you don't have to be in the common room if you want to chat with your friends etc incase it bothers other people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Nice surprise then checking-in: we booked a twin room without bathroom but we had a room with one!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with lots of tours and activities to do if you want to. Big, well equipped kitchen. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and 2 showers per gender for the entire floor, which wasn't really enough - there were queues for bathroom use both in the morning and evening...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly, great location for the National Park and shops/ pubs etc. Nice spacious and airy rooms and bathroom, free breakfast and lots of brochures/ info available

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, kicthen was a bit chaotic and not enough space for cooking when busy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shawn Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and bathrooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: Could use a little TLC, door handle in our dorm kept falling off.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Pahmeier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: kostenloses Internet, einfaches kostenloses Fruestueck, freundliches Personal

Disliked: zu wenig Duschen auf dem Gang (zwei pro geschlecht), keine Waermeregulierung,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security, friendliness

Disliked: It was nice for what was expected. Just don't expect 4 star hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the city center and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: We couldn't open the window in our room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff in a great location. Breafast included is simple but nice to have. Great value for money on a private double. Got upgraded to a private double with bathroom!

Disliked: Wifi only works in the common/reception room downstairs. Would have been nice to have it working in the TV room too to relax on the couches.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic and quite helpful in explaining how to get to different places around Killarney.

Disliked: Somewhat difficult to find at first, since it was up an alley.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sonja brentley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012 sonja would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,helpful staff,we could organise our trip to the ring of kerry through the hostel,free internet

Disliked: sonja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Szinte

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: generally wonderfull, only...

Disliked: ...not hot water at the showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alessio Morgana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and helpfull

Disliked: bathrooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Helena Berenthal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped kitchen, great location in Killarney, free WiFi

Disliked: Too noisy early in the morning and we booked a double but received a room with a double bunk bed, which was quite weird, but not a big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were very accommodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Danielle Zaborski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, helpful, and very easy to talk to.

Disliked: I would have liked for there to be more showers available. There was no space to change in the shower, and the water was cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Great location right in the middle of Killarney.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Edwards

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff was really helpful and made you feel very welcome about using the facilities they have there. Kitchen is very good lots of hobs and utensils to use.

Disliked: The only thing was the room did get a little cold but I didn't spend that much time in there and I had an extra sleeping bag with me but I am very sure if you asked one the staff about it they would do something about it because they was all very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and the building is ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilia Carlsson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 January 2012 Emilia would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, friendly staff

Disliked: Emilia left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2011

Liked: This hostel is super clean and in a great location (right on a bustling street, right near to the National Park). The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the kitchen is well-equipped.

Disliked: It was COLD. Which is exactly the opposite of what you want when you're back from a long day of hiking. (I know people who used two duvets at night, it was so cold in our room.) The only place you can access the WiFi is in the kitchen, which is the coldest place in the hostel, and it closes at 10:30p. to boot. No WiFi access in the reading/lounge room, and not nearly ample enough light to read by. Also, the pillows might as well have been cardboard, for how thin and hard they were, even doubled over. Overall, you're better off staying at a cheaper hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were just lovely - friendly, helpful, professional. Good common room, free wifi, free breakfast basic but appreciated, great quest kitchen, felt safe at all times. Oh and great location!

Disliked: Shower was a bit awkward but had hot water and was clean so it's not actually a bad point.