We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Neptunes Town Hostel

Hostel | New St., Killarney, Ireland .

89.3% Overall Rating

427 out of 450 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/10/2014)

Jason Groom thinks…

"Neptune's is a great hostel. The staff is absolutely amazing. They will help with just about anything you need. There are lots of places around town that offer discounts for staying here and the…"

Read all Neptunes Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Paddy's Palace Killarney
11.39 USD

Hostel 80.1% 208 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 9 reviews
Redwood B&B
50.60 USD

Guesthouse 95.7% 8 reviews
Rivermere Suites
32.89 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 24 reviews
Glena Suites
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 18 reviews
Railway Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 76.5% 266 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
25.30 USD

Hostel 76.8% 115 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
19.84 USD

Hostel 98.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

427 out of 450 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Neptunes Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 336 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dana liberts

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 dana would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. The guy on the front desk was extremely helpful and recommended great places to eat and go for a drink.

Disliked: dana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Pita

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really good.

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Sutherland

Alone

City break

29 April 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Would stay again, no problem.

Disliked: Leaving!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right by all the shops, pubs and restaurants in Killarney, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was pretty good. The hostel could also book a great tour for us at a discount

Disliked: Breakfast was extremely basic, even by hostel standards (and I've stayed in a lot) - there were only corn flakes and bread for toast (mostly white bread), plus some pretty bad-tasting coffee. But, it was free, so I guess you can't complain too much. Showers also didn't have any place to put your things while you showered without them getting wet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Casey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: staff r just wonderful everything is "no problem" everything is just spotless all the time staff working very hard

Disliked: nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff Good showers Good security (hotel style door locks)

Disliked: No parking by hostel. Had to leave car 10 min walk away (although can drive up to bring in bags)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Widmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: located in town center but off side of street making it more quiet

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JOE CASEY

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2013 JOE would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, friendly staff. large clean rooms. large kitchen and tv room.

Disliked: the noise from other people in rooms next door. 1st room window was broken and heating not working but i was moved to new room after 2nd complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Hancock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the BEST hostels we've stayed. The staff went truly above and beyond, just well of information. Made you feel at home instantly. Great big kitchen and lounge room, lots of books and couches and tv with ALL the channels you cold want once the sun goes down. Killarney town is gorgeous and the hostel is located RIGHT in the heart. The perfect base for the ring of Kerry and gap of dunloe. Very affordable day trips available through the hostel, but we had our own car so the guys at the hostel were brilliant in getting us maps and tips on which way to go and what to see. We had such a wonderful time here, we will never stay anywhere other than neptunes on our next visit. Perfection.

Disliked: There is nothing you can dislike about this property!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, nice and central with really helpful staff

Disliked: No lockers in the room but they let me keep my laptop in their office which was easy enough. No dramas getting them to get it for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Neptune's is fantastic - can't rate it highly enough! Outstandingly clean, friendly, easy and enjoyable! Amazing value for money. They even upgraded me.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lisa-Marie Luft

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Lisa-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the atmosphere of the hostel and was sad I could only stay for one night. Killarney is a very sweet town.

Disliked: The room was showing a lot of signs of fungi (the wall had spots and the curtains were full of fox marks). The bathroom also showed signs of fungi and after showering you had a lake on the floor due to a leaking shower cabin. The isolator was really weak. The matress had something sharp sticking out so I had scratches (not too deep ones) on my leg when I woke up the next morning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and warm rooms. Very helpful staff and the location is great (but it's a small town so any location is great). Great spot for the National Park for walking around or as a starting point for the tours.

Disliked: The bathroom had a moudly/musty smell and the extraction fan doesn't do a very good job of taking away the moisture making it worse and giving the room a bit of a damp feeling. The wifi really needs to be accessible in the rooms. It makes for planning the next leg of journeys easier etc and you don't have to be in the common room if you want to chat with your friends etc incase it bothers other people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Nice surprise then checking-in: we booked a twin room without bathroom but we had a room with one!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with lots of tours and activities to do if you want to. Big, well equipped kitchen. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and 2 showers per gender for the entire floor, which wasn't really enough - there were queues for bathroom use both in the morning and evening...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly, great location for the National Park and shops/ pubs etc. Nice spacious and airy rooms and bathroom, free breakfast and lots of brochures/ info available

Disliked: No lockers in rooms, kicthen was a bit chaotic and not enough space for cooking when busy

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shawn Friesen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Shawn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and bathrooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: Could use a little TLC, door handle in our dorm kept falling off.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Pahmeier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: kostenloses Internet, einfaches kostenloses Fruestueck, freundliches Personal

Disliked: zu wenig Duschen auf dem Gang (zwei pro geschlecht), keine Waermeregulierung,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security, friendliness

Disliked: It was nice for what was expected. Just don't expect 4 star hotel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the city center and the staff was very friendly.

Disliked: We couldn't open the window in our room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff in a great location. Breafast included is simple but nice to have. Great value for money on a private double. Got upgraded to a private double with bathroom!

Disliked: Wifi only works in the common/reception room downstairs. Would have been nice to have it working in the TV room too to relax on the couches.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic and quite helpful in explaining how to get to different places around Killarney.

Disliked: Somewhat difficult to find at first, since it was up an alley.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sonja brentley

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2012 sonja would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,helpful staff,we could organise our trip to the ring of kerry through the hostel,free internet

Disliked: sonja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Szinte

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2012 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: generally wonderfull, only...

Disliked: ...not hot water at the showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alessio Morgana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2012 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really friendly and helpfull

Disliked: bathrooms