We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Neptunes Town Hostel

Hostel | New St., Killarney, Ireland .

88.3% Overall Rating

439 out of 463 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/05/2015)

"Neptunes is a very clean and friendly place. I stayed with my friend in a six bed mixed dormitory and the room was nice. The location of the hostel is just perfect and the staff was helpful and friendly (funny too;))."

Read all Neptunes Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Killarney?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Killarney

Paddy's Palace Killarney
10.98 USD

Hostel 78.6% 214 reviews
Kingscourt - Harmonyinn
27.45 USD

Guesthouse 82.0% 10 reviews
Redwood B&B
43.93 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 9 reviews
Rivermere Suites
28.55 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 24 reviews
Glena Suites
27.45 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 20 reviews
Railway Hostel
12.08 USD

Hostel 80.2% 271 reviews
Killarney International (An Oige)
18.67 USD

Hostel 76.8% 115 reviews
Dunloe View Hostel
17.47 USD

Hostel 98.3% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

439 out of 463 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Neptunes Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 304 of 348 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 12 | 13   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, good tv and wi fi, supermarket nearby and ability to use a common kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Wehrmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel - free breakfast, wifi, luggage room etc. showers that work and are hot, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff - and great value for money.

Disliked: nothing disliked. Had a great time.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and very hospitable. We ended up checking out later than the required time and they had no problem with it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Kaelin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The dining room was nicely decorated.

Disliked: No space to get dressed in the women's shared showers (but this wasn't a big deal).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Haxby

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Its location: Killarney is a great place to hang out. The staff were friendly - and a free breakfast was also appreciated.

Disliked: The single room didn't have a window in the walls. (Light came in through a window in the ceiling.) I like a draft when sleeping.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sascha Thimme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Sascha would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Had a three bed room for our own that night.

Disliked: Sascha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

I WEI YU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 I WEI would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly there.

Disliked: the room is a little bit humid.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean hostel

Disliked: ,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: キッチンがつけるのがありがたかった

Disliked: シャワーが使いにくかった。部屋の数に対してトイレ。シャワーの数が少ないと思った。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aileen Kennedy

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 July 2013 Aileen would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of my favourite hostels on the planet. The staff are very friendly and professional. I stayed at Neptunes because I was cycling the Ring of Kerry. Others were here for the same reason. The staff then served breakfast and a more comprehensive, filling breakfast than normal especially for the occasion and from 5.30am (as opposed to from 7.30am as is the norm here). So all credit is due to them for that. The breakfast was free as usual. Plus, I'd only booked in for the Friday night and I stored my luggage at the hostel during the cycle. I came back and given my sweaty state after the cycle I asked them if they could do me a big favour-if I could have a shower. I could-no problem at all and they provided me with a clean towel-they offered to do so immediately. Plus, they told me I had access to the hostel up until I left. Fair play to them. Its much appreciated. Plus, I told them that the internet didn't seem to be working the best last night and they definately fixed it since. Its working the finest now. Fair play Neptune Hostel, Killarney. It wasn't my first time staying here this time and it won't be my last either. Keep up the good work.

Disliked: Nothing. See above. I've no negative comments to make.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dana liberts

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2013 dana would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. The guy on the front desk was extremely helpful and recommended great places to eat and go for a drink.

Disliked: dana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan Pita

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really good.

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Sutherland

Alone

City break

29 April 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel. Would stay again, no problem.

Disliked: Leaving!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right by all the shops, pubs and restaurants in Killarney, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was pretty good. The hostel could also book a great tour for us at a discount

Disliked: Breakfast was extremely basic, even by hostel standards (and I've stayed in a lot) - there were only corn flakes and bread for toast (mostly white bread), plus some pretty bad-tasting coffee. But, it was free, so I guess you can't complain too much. Showers also didn't have any place to put your things while you showered without them getting wet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Casey

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: staff r just wonderful everything is "no problem" everything is just spotless all the time staff working very hard

Disliked: nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff Good showers Good security (hotel style door locks)

Disliked: No parking by hostel. Had to leave car 10 min walk away (although can drive up to bring in bags)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Widmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: located in town center but off side of street making it more quiet

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JOE CASEY

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2013 JOE would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, friendly staff. large clean rooms. large kitchen and tv room.

Disliked: the noise from other people in rooms next door. 1st room window was broken and heating not working but i was moved to new room after 2nd complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Hancock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the BEST hostels we've stayed. The staff went truly above and beyond, just well of information. Made you feel at home instantly. Great big kitchen and lounge room, lots of books and couches and tv with ALL the channels you cold want once the sun goes down. Killarney town is gorgeous and the hostel is located RIGHT in the heart. The perfect base for the ring of Kerry and gap of dunloe. Very affordable day trips available through the hostel, but we had our own car so the guys at the hostel were brilliant in getting us maps and tips on which way to go and what to see. We had such a wonderful time here, we will never stay anywhere other than neptunes on our next visit. Perfection.

Disliked: There is nothing you can dislike about this property!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, nice and central with really helpful staff

Disliked: No lockers in the room but they let me keep my laptop in their office which was easy enough. No dramas getting them to get it for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Neptune's is fantastic - can't rate it highly enough! Outstandingly clean, friendly, easy and enjoyable! Amazing value for money. They even upgraded me.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lisa-Marie Luft

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Lisa-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the atmosphere of the hostel and was sad I could only stay for one night. Killarney is a very sweet town.

Disliked: The room was showing a lot of signs of fungi (the wall had spots and the curtains were full of fox marks). The bathroom also showed signs of fungi and after showering you had a lake on the floor due to a leaking shower cabin. The isolator was really weak. The matress had something sharp sticking out so I had scratches (not too deep ones) on my leg when I woke up the next morning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lisa Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds and warm rooms. Very helpful staff and the location is great (but it's a small town so any location is great). Great spot for the National Park for walking around or as a starting point for the tours.

Disliked: The bathroom had a moudly/musty smell and the extraction fan doesn't do a very good job of taking away the moisture making it worse and giving the room a bit of a damp feeling. The wifi really needs to be accessible in the rooms. It makes for planning the next leg of journeys easier etc and you don't have to be in the common room if you want to chat with your friends etc incase it bothers other people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Nice surprise then checking-in: we booked a twin room without bathroom but we had a room with one!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with lots of tours and activities to do if you want to. Big, well equipped kitchen. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Only 2 toilets and 2 showers per gender for the entire floor, which wasn't really enough - there were queues for bathroom use both in the morning and evening...