We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Galway hostels

Reviews of Sleepzone Galway City

Hostel | Bothar na mBan, Galway, Ireland --

90.4% Overall Rating

364 out of 383 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2015)

"We were on a Stag party and I had never stayed in a hostel before, but I would definitely recommend this hostel, the location was excellent the staff were lovely very helpful and friendly and the beds were very comfy."

Read all Sleepzone Galway City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Photo ID is required at check-in; we cannot check you in without it. Check-in: 3pm. If you arrive earlier, you're welcome to leave your bags with us until then, chill out and have a cuppa. Check-out: 10am. Please note that Sleepzone Galway is an alcohol-free zone. Galway is a party town. Accommodating over 200 people/night, we feel our priority is to provide a fun, safe, clean, friendly , value for money accommodation - for groups, for individual travellers, for families , for people of all ages and nationalities. For group bookings of more than four people, we may charge a group security deposit of €25 per person. This is payable on arrival by cash or credit card and is fully refundable on departure, subject to adherence to our house rules, which can be emailed to you upon request. For group bookings of more than eight people, we request full payment a month before arrival. Payment can be made by card or bank transfer. All bookings are pre-authorized on the day of arrival. If the pre-authorization is not successful we reserve the right to cancel your booking YHA membership discounts only apply to our rack rate. Discounted online rates/group discounts and other discounted rates cannot be subject to further YHA membership discounts. All persons under 18 years of age must be in private accommodation i.e. not sharing with other people. A light breakfast is included each morning between 7.00am - 10.00am and complimentary tea and coffee is available all day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galway?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Galway

Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square
22.13 USD

Hostel 96.7% 78 reviews
Woodquay Hostel
11.05 USD

Hostel 73.5% 231 reviews
Savoy Hostel
22.13 USD

Hostel 94.6% 10 reviews
Galway City Hostel & Bar
27.66 USD

Hostel 97.1% 5 reviews
Snoozles Hostel
31.53 USD

Hostel 95.7% 124 reviews
Barnacles Galway 1 Bedroom Apartments
33.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Galway 2 bed Apartments
33.19 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Quay Street House
21.57 USD

Hostel 89.7% 278 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

364 out of 383 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleepzone Galway City'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 259 of 352 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andréanne robert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015 Andréanne would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were on a Stag party and I had never stayed in a hostel before, but I would definitely recommend this hostel, the location was excellent the staff were lovely very helpful and friendly and the beds were very comfy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the hole hostel is clean :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Garcia Retegan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 April 2015 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing it has are the common areas! Kitchen an multiples rooms for lying down. The kitchen is full of cups, platea, tea towrls, cutlery... Evrything you need! Everything works perfectly!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: management ran a tight ship: facility was kept spotless, staff were exremely helpful, free access to computers, quiet hostel, able to access a tv room and a reading room, ensuite bathroom

Disliked: very tiny room , only 1 window which was in the ceiling and difficult for 2 older adults like us to open in spite of there being a pole to use

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No sleep to be had before 04:00 with guests arriving back to other dorm.-rooms. Breakfast was tea/coffee and sliced pan; this is really poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elodie Alric

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2014 Elodie would recommend this property

Liked: Many chilling rooms to stay with friends, have some tea and play some music all together. Great kitchen! Hot water all the time, amazing! The beds are amazing, I had a really good night!!

Disliked: Breakfast is really too "light". Not many games to play.. Not enough forks in the kitchen, and bowls are really too small. We can't open the window in the room so we can't let some fresh air come inside sometimes. Music all the time in the speakers is kind of boring, and even more when it's always that pop radio music..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very comfortable there and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: the shower was very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, though one staff member did underestimate the walk time to the Galway Bay Hotel (for Trad on the Prom) by quite a bit. (Note: it can easily take over an hour to walk even at a somewhat brisk pace, if you stop to take pictures here and there)

Disliked: Large group of high school-age kids staying there at the same time. They were a bit loud in the common rooms and dining area, but we didn't have any problems with noise while trying to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In center of city but not loud at all. Very clean, nice facilities, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central to city and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm and safe. Nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Quintin Barritt-Cleary

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2014 Quintin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great location.

Disliked: The breakfast was not very good and the beds are too small if you are tall.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff were friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't hot water in the bathroom at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dejan Martincevic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: WiFi was only available at kitchen and loby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in one of the apartments that gave me some nice privacy, but I still felt very connected to the rest of the hostel. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, I was very happy with my stay here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Travis Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, kitchen, tv for World Cup safe and secure.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Heck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Right in the city.

Disliked: Directions to hostel were a bit confusing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and communal areas. The stuff were all very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really frendly. Because our Coach was leaving early in the morning, we asked for having breakfast a Little bit earlier and i was no Problem at all.

Disliked: The breakfast is Basic: only Margarine and one Kind of jam for the toast and also only normal Cornflakes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not much variety for breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly staff and useful facilities eg luggage storage

Disliked: Beds were very hard and uncomfortable, breakfast a bit basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, so are the facilities and everything else. It is probably one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at!

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. Though they have a few free small boxes by the reception. Oh, and it didn't bother me but some might nor like it, there are a lot of groups and families staying at the sleepzone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Novotny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Very kindly staff, near the citycentre

Disliked: 0

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014

Liked: It was clean, had friendly staff and was conveniently located.

Disliked: The showers were the push button style - very irritating.


See all Galway hostels