HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Galway hostels

Reviews of Sleepzone Galway City

Hostel | Bothar na mBan, Galway, Ireland --

87.5% Overall Rating

343 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

"I stayed in one of the apartments that gave me some nice privacy, but I still felt very connected to the rest of the hostel. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful."

Read all Sleepzone Galway City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that you must provide picture I.D. on arrival. Sleepzone may also charge a refundable security deposit on some group bookings.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galway?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Galway

Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square
26.87 USD

Hostel 97.4% 63 reviews
Woodquay Hostel
22.82 USD

Hostel 77.4% 207 reviews
Savoy Hostel
29.55 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
Galway City Hostel
25.52 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Snoozles Hostel
20.15 USD

Hostel 93.5% 113 reviews
Barnacles Galway 1 Bedroom Apartments
40.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Galway 2 bed Apartments
40.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Quay Street House
22.84 USD

Hostel 93.8% 249 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

343 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleepzone Galway City'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 330 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in one of the apartments that gave me some nice privacy, but I still felt very connected to the rest of the hostel. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, I was very happy with my stay here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Travis Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, kitchen, tv for World Cup safe and secure.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Heck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Right in the city.

Disliked: Directions to hostel were a bit confusing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and communal areas. The stuff were all very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really frendly. Because our Coach was leaving early in the morning, we asked for having breakfast a Little bit earlier and i was no Problem at all.

Disliked: The breakfast is Basic: only Margarine and one Kind of jam for the toast and also only normal Cornflakes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not much variety for breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly staff and useful facilities eg luggage storage

Disliked: Beds were very hard and uncomfortable, breakfast a bit basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, so are the facilities and everything else. It is probably one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at!

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. Though they have a few free small boxes by the reception. Oh, and it didn't bother me but some might nor like it, there are a lot of groups and families staying at the sleepzone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Novotny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Very kindly staff, near the citycentre

Disliked: 0

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014

Liked: It was clean, had friendly staff and was conveniently located.

Disliked: The showers were the push button style - very irritating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Geddes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff . Very clean rooms and good showers

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee walker

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2014 lee would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,great location

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff who were spot on

Disliked: Nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of sleepzone is very good. just a few minutes and you are in the town centre! The staff is very friendly and will help you if you have any questions. The room and bathroom were clean and we had everything we needed.

Disliked: At nighttime it was very loud (people didn't consider that other travellers would need some good sleep)!! I'd had prefered a biger selection of the breakfast, also for the child..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sociable, friendly place. It was clean and staff were nice

Disliked: price could be better i think

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly. Location was good. It was clean. Good kitchen. Not bad atmosphere -not drunk people shouting as in some other hostels in Galway-. I'd recommend it.

Disliked: The shower button had to be pressed every five seconds, quite annoying. They have lockers downstairs, but they are very small: if you want a bigger one you'll have to pay for it. A bit too hot during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, good sized kitchen and the free tea and coffee was a nice addition too. In a great location just a couple of minutes walk to the centre.

Disliked: Nothing at all

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location and its cleanliness

Disliked: the early check out. i would have preferred an 11am check out time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family Friendly

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ensuite bathrooms. Clolours. Staff. Pictures on walls. Lounge areas. Helpful friendly staff. Wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Olthof

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and very helpful, the facility is clean, the computers are free and the wi-fi works well. If there are any problems, such as a flagpole outside our window was loose and making a horrible noise because it was windy. When I mentioned it to the staff they immediately said they would move our room and put us in a larger room for the rest of our stay. I did not have to suggest the change and they did not make us feel guilty or act like we were putting them out. They were gracious and very kind. They have a wonderful newly remodeled kitchen with plenty of storage in cupboards and refrigerators. Their kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, silverware, utensils, dishes, glasses, cups, dish soap, and tea towels. There are four sitting rooms and a very large dining area with two long sidebars for laptop use. I would certainly stay there again and would highly recommend the Sleep Zone.

Disliked: I cannot say that there was anything I disliked.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly/ extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: the showers! most horrible showers in the world water isn't warm let alone hot, and I stays on for 12 seconds then you need to push to restart . Ruined my experience made me quite ill

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephanie Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to town and clean, toast provided

Disliked: Small bathrooms, noise from street loud!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Min-Pu Hsieh

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Min-Pu would recommend this property

Liked: clean and comfortable

Disliked: The shower room is totally without privacy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Hayman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed at this hostel twice, and I lovee it! Super friendly staff (shout out to Donna!), very clean and lots of facilities. It's also in a great location, close to massive supermarkets and the main parts of town (Galway is tiny anyway).

Disliked: Only slight downside is that during the times I've been there, there were mainly big groups staying at the hostel.. not too good for the solo traveler! but luckily the hostel has loads of little common rooms so it can be easy to meet other people if you want to! Just book to stay there! :)


See all Galway hostels