We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Galway hostels

Reviews of Sleepzone Galway City

Hostel | Bothar na mBan, Galway, Ireland --

86.9% Overall Rating

356 out of 375 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

"Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, though one staff member did underestimate the walk time to the Galway Bay Hotel (for Trad on the Prom) by quite a bit. (Note: it can easily take over an hour to walk even at a…"

Read all Sleepzone Galway City reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Photo ID is required at check-in; we cannot check you in without it. Check-in: 3pm. If you arrive earlier, you're welcome to leave your bags with us until then, chill out and have a cuppa. Check-out: 10am. Please note that Sleepzone Galway is an alcohol-free zone. Galway is a party town. Accommodating over 200 people/night, we feel our priority is to provide a fun, safe, clean, friendly , value for money accommodation - for groups, for individual travellers, for families , for people of all ages and nationalities. For group bookings of more than four people, we may charge a group security deposit of €25 per person. This is payable on arrival by cash or credit card and is fully refundable on departure, subject to adherence to our house rules, which can be emailed to you upon request. For group bookings of more than eight people, we request full payment a month before arrival. Payment can be made by card or bank transfer. All bookings are pre-authorized on the day of arrival. If the pre-authorization is not successful we reserve the right to cancel your booking YHA membership discounts only apply to our rack rate. Discounted online rates/group discounts and other discounted rates cannot be subject to further YHA membership discounts. All persons under 18 years of age must be in private accommodation i.e. not sharing with other people. A light breakfast is included each morning between 7.00am - 10.00am and complimentary tea and coffee is available all day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galway?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Galway

Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square
21.51 USD

Hostel 97.3% 70 reviews
Woodquay Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 72.6% 214 reviews
Savoy Hostel
20.24 USD

Hostel 93.8% 6 reviews
Galway City Hostel
36.69 USD

Hostel 96.2% 3 reviews
Snoozles Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 94.9% 121 reviews
Barnacles Galway 1 Bedroom Apartments
34.79 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Galway 2 bed Apartments
31.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Quay Street House
15.18 USD

Hostel 90.9% 259 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

356 out of 375 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleepzone Galway City'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 252 of 344 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very comfortable there and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: the shower was very small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, though one staff member did underestimate the walk time to the Galway Bay Hotel (for Trad on the Prom) by quite a bit. (Note: it can easily take over an hour to walk even at a somewhat brisk pace, if you stop to take pictures here and there)

Disliked: Large group of high school-age kids staying there at the same time. They were a bit loud in the common rooms and dining area, but we didn't have any problems with noise while trying to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In center of city but not loud at all. Very clean, nice facilities, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central to city and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Calm and safe. Nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Quintin Barritt-Cleary

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2014 Quintin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and great location.

Disliked: The breakfast was not very good and the beds are too small if you are tall.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff were friendly.

Disliked: There wasn't hot water in the bathroom at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Dejan Martincevic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Dejan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: WiFi was only available at kitchen and loby.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in one of the apartments that gave me some nice privacy, but I still felt very connected to the rest of the hostel. Also the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing, I was very happy with my stay here.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Travis Young

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, kitchen, tv for World Cup safe and secure.

Disliked: Travis left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Heck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Right in the city.

Disliked: Directions to hostel were a bit confusing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and communal areas. The stuff were all very helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really frendly. Because our Coach was leaving early in the morning, we asked for having breakfast a Little bit earlier and i was no Problem at all.

Disliked: The breakfast is Basic: only Margarine and one Kind of jam for the toast and also only normal Cornflakes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not much variety for breakfast

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly staff and useful facilities eg luggage storage

Disliked: Beds were very hard and uncomfortable, breakfast a bit basic

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, so are the facilities and everything else. It is probably one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at!

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. Though they have a few free small boxes by the reception. Oh, and it didn't bother me but some might nor like it, there are a lot of groups and families staying at the sleepzone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaroslav Novotny

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Jaroslav would recommend this property

Liked: Very kindly staff, near the citycentre

Disliked: 0

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014

Liked: It was clean, had friendly staff and was conveniently located.

Disliked: The showers were the push button style - very irritating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Geddes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff . Very clean rooms and good showers

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee walker

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 May 2014 lee would recommend this property

Liked: very clean,great location

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff who were spot on

Disliked: Nothing really

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of sleepzone is very good. just a few minutes and you are in the town centre! The staff is very friendly and will help you if you have any questions. The room and bathroom were clean and we had everything we needed.

Disliked: At nighttime it was very loud (people didn't consider that other travellers would need some good sleep)!! I'd had prefered a biger selection of the breakfast, also for the child..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sociable, friendly place. It was clean and staff were nice

Disliked: price could be better i think

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly. Location was good. It was clean. Good kitchen. Not bad atmosphere -not drunk people shouting as in some other hostels in Galway-. I'd recommend it.

Disliked: The shower button had to be pressed every five seconds, quite annoying. They have lockers downstairs, but they are very small: if you want a bigger one you'll have to pay for it. A bit too hot during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, good sized kitchen and the free tea and coffee was a nice addition too. In a great location just a couple of minutes walk to the centre.

Disliked: Nothing at all


See all Galway hostels