We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Galway hostels

Reviews of Woodquay Hostel

Hostel | 22 Woodquay, Galway, Ireland 0000

71.2% Overall Rating

151 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2015)

Helen Baggett thinks…

"The location was excellent and the beds, rooms and bathrooms were always clean and to an acceptable standard."

Read all Woodquay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galway?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Galway

Savoy Hostel
19.65 USD

Hostel 94.7% 7 reviews
Sleepzone Galway City
13.10 USD

Hostel 88.3% 381 reviews
Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square
18.56 USD

Hostel 96.7% 78 reviews
Barnacles Galway 1 Bedroom Apartments
32.75 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Galway 2 bed Apartments
32.21 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Quay Street House
15.28 USD

Hostel 89.6% 274 reviews
Galway City Hostel & Bar
18.56 USD

Hostel 96.4% 4 reviews
Snoozles Hostel
16.38 USD

Hostel 95.7% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.2%

Overall Rating

151 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Woodquay Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 147 of 190 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Muhammad Jamaluddin

Alone

Business / conference

14 May 2015 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorm Location to the city Ample after hours parking space

Disliked: Main door closed after 1am.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015

Liked: The women at the check in desk was friendly.

Disliked: I paid for a six bed room with a shared bathroom and instead got an eight bed with a bathroom down the hallway. The showers were absolutely dreadful they was pubic hair that someone shaved on the floor. The toilets were just as disgusting with feces smeared on the side of the bowl with no toilet paper. I will absolutely never recommend this place to anyone.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Baggett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 April 2015 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the beds, rooms and bathrooms were always clean and to an acceptable standard.

Disliked: Some staff were slightly abrasive and not as accommodating as you may hope. No lockers in the room were provided and we were advised never to leave any valuables in the rooms, making me a little uneasy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2015

Liked: Its cheap, good location

Disliked: Not good atmosphere, everything else is average

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 March 2015

Liked: Friendly welcome to the property by a lady who told us not to leave our phones or valuables anywhere in the building... Nice location off the main roads by the cathedral and 5 mins walk to the centre.

Disliked: Everybody we met lived at the hostel, many of them were rude towards us. When we arrived the hostel was overbooked so we ended up staying in a staff dorm, woken up every ten minutes by people getting beer out of the fridge next to our heads and by every customer coming into the hostel (the bell for reception was obviously in our room). No discount was offered. Moved to another room on our second night with very strange angry fellows who didn't once respond to our 'hellos'. The communal showers provide tepid water for an hour a day, are shared M/F with no privacy screens, could be an almighty shock for a lady travelling alone. Toilets had a standard '30 guys living in a hostel together sharing one toilet' smell to it. All in all, we moved to another hostel and it was then a brilliant trip to Galway. This place might be great if you're in a big group, but for the two of us, we didn't feel safe or welcome at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and residents makes this place a Home from Home. This is a long established family run business and that is reflected in the easy-going pace of this hostel.

Disliked: There is nothing here for me to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 September 2014

Liked: It was very clean.

Disliked: People were not friendly in the reception. Felt without assistance.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carol Lawless

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of the city. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cian o sullivan

Alone

Business / conference

19 August 2014 cian would recommend this property

Liked: Good company when I needed it. Staff were genuine. Location was better than described on the net you 2 minutes from bang centre of Galway and very comfortable!

Disliked: More showers please!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty close to the city hub. It also had parking available out front.

Disliked: I left my wallet at front desk, thinking it was going into a safe. The next morning the front desk lady pulled a few items from the desk drawer and asked me which one was mine. No questions asked. It didn't make me feel very secure. Front desk also didn't seem to know much when asked about lo al activities. Bathrooms need a reno, they are quite dingy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CAROLINA ROMERO ZAPIOLA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 CAROLINA would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, the door didn't close properly and it was inside a room of 8 people. We also booked this hostel because it said they had car parking, but when we got there there was none, and we had to park on the street and pay.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Carlton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful. On one of the nights I had a room by myself!

Disliked: Breakfast was pretty average

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No sharp knives in kitchen.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014

Liked: Helpful Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

merryn mcinerney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

26 May 2014 merryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was more of a home than a hostel. They go out of their way to help you feel comfortable. I was laying on the lounge very cold and one of the hosts came in and gave me a blanket, now that's a comfort to know someone's looking out for me. My adaptor wasn't working, and again, they came to my aid. They are very thoughtful and kind.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small pokey room, no top sheet! Average breakfast, white bread only

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gina perkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 gina would recommend this property

Liked: The woman who owns this place is fantastic! She's very friendly and really knows a lot about Galway. The rooms were fine, as was the kitchen. The location is great. Generally speaking, we had a perfectly fine time at this hostel.

Disliked: The refrigerator isn't great and there's no freezer. Otherwise, no problems

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my room was clean and big enough with a bathoom. It is located really good. Close to the city centre, a pub and the theatres but also in a quite place. The staff was really friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: There was no Beakfast inlcuded for such a high price.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: There was not many people at the hostel and the staff was not friendly at all. I asked for a receipt and they gave me a sheet of paper that looked like a joke. I know that could be hard to find lots of people in low season but the staff should be the soul of the place and i think they didnt make any effort to improve the loneliness of the place. In my opinion, It was very quiet and even a bit creepy.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good -normal-.

Disliked: We did not have hot water, not in the evening, nor in the morning. The place was full of drunk Irish people: we were six in a room and two Irish guys came at 2am and they did not let us sleep: they were singing, laughing... one of them even attempted to orinate in the middle of the room. It was very, very noisy in the whole hostel until 5am. It was cold. Staff was not kind or nice. It was so overbooked that there was people sleeping in the staff room. One of my friends booked a bed and when he arrived the guy told him he did not have a bed for him -he made him a 5euro discount though, but he had to sleep in the staff room, where they had TV always on-. The main door is not locked, so everyone can enter and with some luck just go into your room or whatever. It's expensive, ugly, noisy.. It's the worst hostel I've ever been to. We stayed the day before in Sleepzone and even when it was not 100% worth rating, it was much better. Don't go to this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is wonderful and hostel has a lot of character and charm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Coppola

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful, and Julie was incredibly nice!!! Thank you so much Julie for be so patience!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013

Liked: The staffs were friendly and answered promptly when I needed something. They also helped to keep my luggage after I checked out from the hostel. The kitchen was spacious and linen was clean. Toilet and bathroom was alright.

Disliked: There was no personal lockers in the room, so I had to ask the staff to take care of my personal belongings which are more valuable. Also, the room smelled really bad due to some weird man who stayed in the room, and the light bulbs were stolen but the staffs replaced them once I reported to them. There was commotion when the drunk Frenchmen staying in the same room returned from the bars which was slightly annoying. I also realized that they actually charged me the original price of the bed, even though Hostelbookers had charged me 10% of the price during booking. So I actually paid additional 10% of the price.


See all Galway hostels