HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Galway hostels

Reviews of Woodquay Hostel

Hostel | 23 - 24 Woodquay, Galway, Ireland 0000

75.9% Overall Rating

146 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

cian o sullivan thinks…

"Good company when I needed it. Staff were genuine. Location was better than described on the net you 2 minutes from bang centre of Galway and very comfortable!"

Read all Woodquay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galway?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Galway

Savoy Hostel
23.71 USD

Hostel 94.3% 5 reviews
Sleepzone Galway City
15.80 USD

Hostel 86.6% 371 reviews
Kinlay Hostel Eyre Square
22.39 USD

Hostel 97.6% 65 reviews
Barnacles Galway 1 Bedroom Apartments
39.51 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Galway 2 bed Apartments
36.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Barnacles Quay Street House
15.80 USD

Hostel 91.5% 255 reviews
Galway City Hostel
23.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Snoozles Hostel
19.76 USD

Hostel 93.6% 116 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.9%

Overall Rating

146 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Woodquay Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carol Lawless

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2014 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: It was in the center of the city. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cian o sullivan

Alone

Business / conference

19 August 2014 cian would recommend this property

Liked: Good company when I needed it. Staff were genuine. Location was better than described on the net you 2 minutes from bang centre of Galway and very comfortable!

Disliked: More showers please!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pretty close to the city hub. It also had parking available out front.

Disliked: I left my wallet at front desk, thinking it was going into a safe. The next morning the front desk lady pulled a few items from the desk drawer and asked me which one was mine. No questions asked. It didn't make me feel very secure. Front desk also didn't seem to know much when asked about lo al activities. Bathrooms need a reno, they are quite dingy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CAROLINA ROMERO ZAPIOLA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 CAROLINA would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, the door didn't close properly and it was inside a room of 8 people. We also booked this hostel because it said they had car parking, but when we got there there was none, and we had to park on the street and pay.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Carlton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful. On one of the nights I had a room by myself!

Disliked: Breakfast was pretty average

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No sharp knives in kitchen.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 June 2014

Liked: Helpful Staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

merryn mcinerney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

26 May 2014 merryn would recommend this property

Liked: It was more of a home than a hostel. They go out of their way to help you feel comfortable. I was laying on the lounge very cold and one of the hosts came in and gave me a blanket, now that's a comfort to know someone's looking out for me. My adaptor wasn't working, and again, they came to my aid. They are very thoughtful and kind.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small pokey room, no top sheet! Average breakfast, white bread only

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gina perkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 gina would recommend this property

Liked: The woman who owns this place is fantastic! She's very friendly and really knows a lot about Galway. The rooms were fine, as was the kitchen. The location is great. Generally speaking, we had a perfectly fine time at this hostel.

Disliked: The refrigerator isn't great and there's no freezer. Otherwise, no problems

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: my room was clean and big enough with a bathoom. It is located really good. Close to the city centre, a pub and the theatres but also in a quite place. The staff was really friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: There was no Beakfast inlcuded for such a high price.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014

Liked: It was clean

Disliked: There was not many people at the hostel and the staff was not friendly at all. I asked for a receipt and they gave me a sheet of paper that looked like a joke. I know that could be hard to find lots of people in low season but the staff should be the soul of the place and i think they didnt make any effort to improve the loneliness of the place. In my opinion, It was very quiet and even a bit creepy.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 March 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good -normal-.

Disliked: We did not have hot water, not in the evening, nor in the morning. The place was full of drunk Irish people: we were six in a room and two Irish guys came at 2am and they did not let us sleep: they were singing, laughing... one of them even attempted to orinate in the middle of the room. It was very, very noisy in the whole hostel until 5am. It was cold. Staff was not kind or nice. It was so overbooked that there was people sleeping in the staff room. One of my friends booked a bed and when he arrived the guy told him he did not have a bed for him -he made him a 5euro discount though, but he had to sleep in the staff room, where they had TV always on-. The main door is not locked, so everyone can enter and with some luck just go into your room or whatever. It's expensive, ugly, noisy.. It's the worst hostel I've ever been to. We stayed the day before in Sleepzone and even when it was not 100% worth rating, it was much better. Don't go to this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is wonderful and hostel has a lot of character and charm.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Coppola

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2013 Nadia would recommend this property

Liked: It was beautiful, and Julie was incredibly nice!!! Thank you so much Julie for be so patience!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013

Liked: The staffs were friendly and answered promptly when I needed something. They also helped to keep my luggage after I checked out from the hostel. The kitchen was spacious and linen was clean. Toilet and bathroom was alright.

Disliked: There was no personal lockers in the room, so I had to ask the staff to take care of my personal belongings which are more valuable. Also, the room smelled really bad due to some weird man who stayed in the room, and the light bulbs were stolen but the staffs replaced them once I reported to them. There was commotion when the drunk Frenchmen staying in the same room returned from the bars which was slightly annoying. I also realized that they actually charged me the original price of the bed, even though Hostelbookers had charged me 10% of the price during booking. So I actually paid additional 10% of the price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Lindblom

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and most of all the staff, especially the owner Julie, were extremely welcoming! Without this lovely warm and quirky welcome my stay would not have been as enjoyable. We got the entire history of the city in 10 minutes without even leaving our bedrooms, and any questions or queries about anything, Julie had the best answer! It added greatly to our trip. The building isn't as fancy as most of the other hostels, it's one of the oldest there but it has wonderful character and unlike the more modern hostels the people running it had time to chat to you and give you a proper welcome to the city.

Disliked: Gail left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a wonderful hostel in Galway, cheap and super clean, super friendly. I bought Galway prawns and oyster and can cook it in their clean and big kitchen (it tasted much better than in restaurants.). The staffs are super friendly with hair dryer, luggage storage, etc.

Disliked: if you are not an early bird, it is better to choose a room not facing the street, where traffic begins very early.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very nice and a short walk from everything. The staff was friendly!

Disliked: That the price for a dorm bed on a saturday night is the price of a night in a bed and breakfast....and we didn't get a breakfast!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

21 March 2013

Liked: Julie was alright, and there was no curfew.

Disliked: It was the worst hostel I've ever stayed in, I've never felt the need to write a review about anywhere I've stayed until now. On arrival the woman behind the desk (Julie) was very friendly, We didnt mind the fact the hostel was overpriced as it was St.Patricks weekend. We booked an 8 bed dorm. (1) I returned to my room that night at about midnight and went to bed. At about 2.30 A.M I was awoken by loud shouting in my room. One of the staff had gained access to our room without a prior warning ,and had become extremely aggressive. He began shouting, and threatening my friends about keeping the noise down (ironic that I wasnt awoken by them, but I was however awoken by him). When I asked him what was going on he became very abusive, threatened me and then left. The rest of the lads working there were friendly and were able to defuse the situation quickly. They also apologised on his behalf, but it was too late at that stage. (2) One of the bedroom doors in another room had been kicked in and was lying on the ground. (3) There was no hot water in the morning. (4) No lock on the bathroom door of our 8 bed dorm. Me or any of my friends will not be staying here again and I would strongly advise anybody else thinking about it to change their mind, particularly If you are travelling on your own. I cannot stress enough how uncomfortable our stay was. Take heed of this review.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Selby

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice stay!

Disliked: It was cold at night. No heat.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kirsty McCloskey

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

19 August 2012 Kirsty would recommend this property

Liked: I picked it because of the location; it is extremely close to the city centre. It was well laid out and was secure. The staff were so lovely particularly Julie and I will definitely be going back. Of course it is a little noisy but not enough to disrupt a nights sleep. There was kitchen facilities and shower facilities (with hot water). It was so cheap as well and I was satisfied with what I got for my money. All bedding and the rooms were clean.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner but not really a complaint more an observation.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kyle ferguson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 August 2012 kyle would recommend this property

Liked: location & staff

Disliked: not permitted to drink in hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location could not have been better :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Galway hostels