HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Woodquay Hostel Galway City Galway

Hostel

23/24 Woodquay, Galway, Ireland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 69%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • WiFi

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Galway?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 73%

Facilities 70%

Location 95%

Safety 69%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was quiet and close to the train station.

Disliked: No lights in the bathrooms which makes showering difficult at night. The staff are aware but still haven't put new lightbulbs. The drains are not great so you end up standing in water. There is an older woman working there that is really rude.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked everything. The bedrooms are tidy and well arranged. There is enough space for the luggage. What I love most is the attention to the detail: the bathrooms are constantly checked and cleaned, as well as the bathrooms, the showers and the living room. Breakfast is surprisingly abudant and the staff is very kind and does its best to help you out. I felt very comfortable and safe.Also the kitchen is well equipped with pans, pots and dishes to let you cook your own meal.

Disliked: The fridge is a bit tiny, considered the number of people staying.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The most I liked was the closeness to the city center.

Disliked: Maybe the security of the baggage is not the better with so many people in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I stayed here from 6th - 8th August in an 8 bed dorm while I was visiting Galway for a wedding and I was really happy with my choice! I've stayed in a LOT of hostels all over the world (Some were disgusting and some were awesome) and I'd definitely stay again if I ever visit Galway. The first things that stood out were that it's really central (about 5 minutes walk from the coach station, and less than two minutes to the park and all the main shops and things) and you have to ring the bell to get in so it's really secure - you won't just get random people walking in from the street. It's a 24 hour reception too, so if you want to go out drinking and come in in the early hours of the morning, it's not a problem at all.The staff are so welcoming and helpful! On the day of the wedding I was going to, I needed to Iron my shirt, so the lady showed me to the Ironing board and she was going to iron my shirt for me! (I politely told her I'd be fine of course!) She was so friendly, and so is the guy who runs things too (He's got long hair and Gaelic name - think it might be spelt 'Cole') Every time I passed reception, he'd make a bit of friendly conversation and was always really chilled out and cheerful. The rooms are kept really clean and tidy every day, and they have a bit of free breakfast on offer in the mornings (Toast, tea, jams) which I didn't get up early enough to try, but I thought it was great that it was included in the price.I really enjoyed my stay and felt welcomed there. It's obviously not the Radisson, if you're not looking for something posh, just a nice friendly place to get some sleep, you can't go wrong. And who wants to spend 150 Euros a night when you've got a little Gem like this place for a fraction of the price?

Disliked: I only spent two nights there, but I honestly can't think of anything I didn't like.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Locked roomsKitchen was fineVery secure building

Disliked: When some people in a our room made a huge mess the cleaners didn't clean it up before more people cameThe ensuite shower was broken and was not fixed even after many complaints from our roomNo lockers

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Really cheap and nice staff.Good wifi reception everywhere in the hostel.

Disliked: Nowere to lock your luggage. 2 plugs for 8 beds in the dormitory. No free coffee/teaNo computer avaiables

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: /

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability