HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Spire Hostel

Hostel | 90-93 Marlborough Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland D1

81.0% Overall Rating

73 out of 87 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

Craig Hanratty thinks…

"Honestly loved it! Staff are so helpful and lovely... great atmosphere in the hostel I had lots of fun meeting all kinds of people"

Read all Spire Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Pillar Guesthouse
29.54 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 52 reviews
Clifton Court Hotel
34.91 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Lynams Hotel
67.13 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Abbey Court
21.48 USD

Hostel 81.7% 866 reviews
Amberley Guesthouse
73.17 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Avondale Guesthouse
35.35 USD

Hostel 70.5% 88 reviews
The Holyhead
25.17 USD

Hostel 74.9% 66 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
21.48 USD

Hostel 82.6% 271 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

73 out of 87 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spire Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 83 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen area, location

Disliked: Hot room, lack of sockets, mirror, bathroom on different floor

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: Not a great deal to like!

Disliked: This is a very average over priced hostel. The 20 bed dorm looked & felt like some people lived there as there was stuff (crap) everywhere. The person on the bunk below me had stuff everywhere - hanging from all over my bunk. Even clothes and a wet towel on my bunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Hanratty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly loved it! Staff are so helpful and lovely... great atmosphere in the hostel I had lots of fun meeting all kinds of people

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the people and the atmosphere. I felt safe and as part of the crowd. Very friendly people. The staff were always helpful.

Disliked: no dislikes

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Genoveva Maldonado

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Genoveva would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the location of the hostel was convenient and close to Oconnel st

Disliked: I stayed there to get a good nights rest the night before my departure which I had to be out the door by 6:00 am. The Hostel indicated a 12:00 am curfew. The excessive noise from the tenants continued until at least 2:30 am. It was awfully noisy. Needless to say I got about 2-1/2 hrs of sleep.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jane Heath

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but the toilets and showers were clean. Bed was comfortable enough.

Disliked: Breakfast is very basic indeed. There seem to be people living there semi-permanently, which makes for a weird atmosphere as they all know each other and you sometimes feel like you're intruding. There's nowhere to get dressed or undressed when you go for a shower (at least in the female facilities on the 2nd floor) so you have to strip off where everyone can see and step straight into the cubicle - not much privacy. It wasn't noisy in my room, but I was glad I wasn't near the common areas as when we walked past those on our way to bed in the small hours there was a lot of noise coming from them. It would be good if there were individual lamps for each bed so that at night you wouldn't have to stumble around the room in the dark to avoid waking people by turning on the main light.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located, slightly noisy but expected. very good value for money

Disliked: toilets were not clean all along the stay

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephen Sues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: Easily the best reason to go here is the location. Just a block from O'Connell St, and a short walk from Temple Bar, I was able to check out plenty of Central Dublin without wearing out my feet.

Disliked: I will first get out of the way the fact that "Free Breakfast" was a total ripoff; some cereal, toast, and milk put out in the kitchen, with the expectation that you clean your dishes at the end. Not even any coffee. But the real reason I will NOT be returning to Spire Hostel next time I go to Dublin, is the noise. Both nights, I was awoken at 5am by my roommates, plus one or two, very drunk, and even after seeing I was trying to sleep, continued talking at well above anything that could be considered an appropriate volume. It seems silly and petty to blame the hostel for its customers, but every other hostel I've stayed at enforces, to one degree or another, keeping noise down after 10pm, give or take an hour. Spire Hostel clearly takes a laissez-faire approach to managing its guests, a style that may suit some, but does not suit me.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

marco spinetti

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2014 marco would recommend this property

Liked: POSITION STAFF HELPFUL

Disliked: KITCHEN TOO SMALL

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larissa Murador Blanco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Location, easy to find

Disliked: Commom area quite small. no lifts

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Krupa Kanji

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Krupa would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant staff- decent sized rooms, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Lounge area was a bit cramped and rooms a bit dirty but as hostels go, it was one of the better ones i've stayed in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. Employees were super helpful.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. Good kitchen, porch, lots of people there and some really cool ones!

Disliked: Good hostel. Smelled a bit in the bed room, but that was more due to the occupants than staff error.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2014

Liked: great location, cheap.

Disliked: room was very small for a 6 person dorm, my room was right next to the stairs, people sounded like elephants running up and down the stairs, very noisy.. bedding was not the cleanest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: all round great stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Linda Gislén

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 November 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Italo Amorim Queiroz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2013 Italo would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanlinees, most of facilities are free, really good location in the heart of Dublin. Good atmosphere, nice staff, new furnishings. Perfect

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff - all facilities look new and are really great

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

22 July 2013

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: We were booked in a 6 bed dorm, but when we arrived we were put into a 10 bed dorm with no warning or apology. The fridges are also supposedly cleaned twice a week (at least), looking in the fridges, this can't be true. They are disgusting, with old food left in there and puddles of strange liquid pooled on the shelves. The toilets were always clogged with toilet paper or vomit. The bedrooms were so hot (due to overcrowding and no aircon) that you wake upon the morning covered in sweat and going to sleep is near impossible. The rooms also have paper thin walls and the windows in our would slide down during the night, meaning you cant shut out all the street noise (and there's a lot, because the hostel is on a busy road for trucks and buses).

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Clare Rogers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Nicola Clare would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Staff were lovely and the hostel was so clean and tidy. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nicola Clare left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Schrader

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, super nice staff, very new and clean even in a dorm. good times

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new and clean and even though the staff weren't locals, they did everything they could to help me out. They even helped me book a day trip and a cab since I didn't have a working phone. The full working kitchen was wonderful and I wish we could have used it more but one group seemed to always dominate that area and the refrigerator space (so if you are lucky and this place isnt crowded I would recommend it)

Disliked: Very very loud. The halls echo and the doors slam so if its a weekend dont plan on getting much sleep. If you are a heavy sleeper or like being out until 5am then you will be fine.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Dumitru Andrei Brinzila

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: The location, and cleanliness.

Disliked: They didn`t had a vending machine for soft drinks, or at least a fridge. If you are thirsty at 1 am in the morning, there is no place from where you can buy some water. Also the taps from the toilets are both running on hot water, so once again, imposiblle to drink water. The shower did not had any hangers or anything , so you had to improvise as to where you were to leave your clothes or towel whilst inhe shower.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels