We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Spire Hostel

Hostel | 90-93 Marlborough Street, Dublin 1, Dublin, Ireland D1

75.0% Overall Rating

83 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

"Location, very close to downtown and bus stops to airport. Safe and secure. Clean."

Read all Spire Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

The Pillar Guesthouse
18.03 USD

Guesthouse 80.8% 52 reviews
Clifton Court Hotel
32.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 71 reviews
Lynams Hotel
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Abbey Court
17.08 USD

Hostel 85.6% 885 reviews
Avondale Guesthouse
21.51 USD

Hostel 70.4% 89 reviews
The Holyhead
15.81 USD

Hostel 75.2% 69 reviews
Globetrotters Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 283 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

83 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Spire Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
65.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 66 of 97 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2014

Liked: Stuff is not bad, but the toilets are really bad.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Glynn Dean

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Glynn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very secure

Disliked: Was so large and lots of people appeared to be long term Tennants so it was difficult to make friends

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Miguel Angel Cabrera moya

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: I would prefer to sleep at the street that on that hole

Disliked: Noisy, bad service, dirty, small rooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HARRY GUTTRIDGE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 HARRY would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen facilities were good.

Disliked: Atmosphere was lackluster. Place felt a bit like a hospital. Would be better with more group activities and better decor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very close to downtown and bus stops to airport. Safe and secure. Clean.

Disliked: Depending on which floor you're on your may have to go up or downstairs to use the appropriate bathroom.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matej ?osi?

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 August 2014 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: Spire hostel have a very friendy atmosphere, very helpfull staff and it's very close to center, so you can go wherever you want from there.

Disliked: There are to many people, so you don't have too much privacy, but this is only minus side I could find

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Archer Lalu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014

Liked: Archer

Disliked: Archer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Close to the center.

Disliked: The backapacker is located right to a busy street so it's quite noisy. It is said that alcoholo is not allowe on the premises but people were drinking every night. Not a lot of showers/toilets. And really bad disposition of the showers, you basically shower in front of everyone in the bathroom, especially since one of them doesn't have this blurry material to hide you!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very kind and helpful service, great atmosphere. Tidy rooms and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Price for a 20 bed dorm was too high.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 August 2014

Liked: friendly rooms

Disliked: very noisy!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

WiLLIAM Raaijmakers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2014 WiLLIAM would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly and clean. However expensive compared to others, no free baggage lock and no room bag lock.

Disliked: Lacking facilities. Only one shower and one bathroom per floor.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen area, location

Disliked: Hot room, lack of sockets, mirror, bathroom on different floor

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014

Liked: Not a great deal to like!

Disliked: This is a very average over priced hostel. The 20 bed dorm looked & felt like some people lived there as there was stuff (crap) everywhere. The person on the bunk below me had stuff everywhere - hanging from all over my bunk. Even clothes and a wet towel on my bunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Hanratty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly loved it! Staff are so helpful and lovely... great atmosphere in the hostel I had lots of fun meeting all kinds of people

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the people and the atmosphere. I felt safe and as part of the crowd. Very friendly people. The staff were always helpful.

Disliked: no dislikes

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Genoveva Maldonado

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Genoveva would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that the location of the hostel was convenient and close to Oconnel st

Disliked: I stayed there to get a good nights rest the night before my departure which I had to be out the door by 6:00 am. The Hostel indicated a 12:00 am curfew. The excessive noise from the tenants continued until at least 2:30 am. It was awfully noisy. Needless to say I got about 2-1/2 hrs of sleep.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jane Heath

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 May 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but the toilets and showers were clean. Bed was comfortable enough.

Disliked: Breakfast is very basic indeed. There seem to be people living there semi-permanently, which makes for a weird atmosphere as they all know each other and you sometimes feel like you're intruding. There's nowhere to get dressed or undressed when you go for a shower (at least in the female facilities on the 2nd floor) so you have to strip off where everyone can see and step straight into the cubicle - not much privacy. It wasn't noisy in my room, but I was glad I wasn't near the common areas as when we walked past those on our way to bed in the small hours there was a lot of noise coming from them. It would be good if there were individual lamps for each bed so that at night you wouldn't have to stumble around the room in the dark to avoid waking people by turning on the main light.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located, slightly noisy but expected. very good value for money

Disliked: toilets were not clean all along the stay

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephen Sues

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014

Liked: Easily the best reason to go here is the location. Just a block from O'Connell St, and a short walk from Temple Bar, I was able to check out plenty of Central Dublin without wearing out my feet.

Disliked: I will first get out of the way the fact that "Free Breakfast" was a total ripoff; some cereal, toast, and milk put out in the kitchen, with the expectation that you clean your dishes at the end. Not even any coffee. But the real reason I will NOT be returning to Spire Hostel next time I go to Dublin, is the noise. Both nights, I was awoken at 5am by my roommates, plus one or two, very drunk, and even after seeing I was trying to sleep, continued talking at well above anything that could be considered an appropriate volume. It seems silly and petty to blame the hostel for its customers, but every other hostel I've stayed at enforces, to one degree or another, keeping noise down after 10pm, give or take an hour. Spire Hostel clearly takes a laissez-faire approach to managing its guests, a style that may suit some, but does not suit me.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

marco spinetti

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 April 2014 marco would recommend this property

Liked: POSITION STAFF HELPFUL

Disliked: KITCHEN TOO SMALL

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Larissa Murador Blanco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: Location, easy to find

Disliked: Commom area quite small. no lifts

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Krupa Kanji

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Krupa would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant staff- decent sized rooms, great atmosphere.

Disliked: Lounge area was a bit cramped and rooms a bit dirty but as hostels go, it was one of the better ones i've stayed in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great. Employees were super helpful.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels