We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Sky Backpackers

Hostel | 2-4 Litton Lane, Dublin, Ireland 1

88.3% Overall Rating

125 out of 135 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"It was central and close to athe temple bar night life. It was also not a long way from the bus stop. The building itself had great character and was done up nicely."

Read all Sky Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Sky Apartments
56.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Abbey Court
17.08 USD

Hostel 85.1% 887 reviews
Abigails Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 84.1% 1397 reviews
Temple Bar Inn
45.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lynams Hotel
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
41.11 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.9% 101 reviews
Spire Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 75.0% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

125 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sky Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jeremy Ledoux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2014 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean, good staff and very central.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central and close to athe temple bar night life. It was also not a long way from the bus stop. The building itself had great character and was done up nicely.

Disliked: The beds were warn and springs could be felt through the matress. You also could not sit up on the bottom bunks. Apart from this the room was very nice. Breakfast I did feel was a rip off.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica barnett

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing, staff were fantastiic (very handsome man behind the desk at night too...) very clean, the rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets in the rooms, no bar so slightly more challenging to socialise when travelling alone.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere! Really clean and roomy!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location, comfortable bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, I was able to walk everywhere during my stay in Dublin. The staff are fun and friendly, and the free booze nights make it really easy to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms were great.

Disliked: The electrical outlets in the room were all clustered together, away from the beds, which was a pain. There weren't any hooks in the bathroom to hang clothes on.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly (for most part) and helpful, room was clean, beds were comfy, en suite shower room was really good! Location is excellent.

Disliked: When me and my friend were asleep in the room a member of staff entered without knocking to come abd get the glasses we used the night before. That was scary and he could barely speak English so didn't know when my friend told him he was being rude! Also a male reception staff was a bit rude to my friends when they entered the hostel, he was a bit accusatory towards them like they were entering illegally!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very colourful hostel, it was really nice relaxing in the lounge. I also really liked the location, close to many shops, pubs, resaturants...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free dinner on Wednesday night

Disliked: The kitchen could be cleaner

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Attrill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: That it has character whitin the building as it is a listed building, close to everything you possibly need. The place is easy to get to within walking distance from bus station. Plus the hostel put free sangria on for all backpackers ;-)

Disliked: I gueess having no elevators within the building to lug around a bag that I've been travelling with for the last 6 months took abit of effort as my room was on the top level. But hey I was notified by this when I booked it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Pedersen

Alone

Events / festivals

18 March 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I loved its' location. Right on the Liffy and the city centre, and was a great atmosphere for the short time that I was there!

Disliked: I didn't particularly like that there were no lockers in the rooms, and that the walls were a bit thin, if you know what I mean. But there was storage for stuff up at reception, so I still felt safe about my camera and tablet and passport and stuff being locked up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and saved a bottom bunk for me as I had recently had knee surgery. The ensuite bathroom was clean and modern.

Disliked: Could have done with lockers in the rooms

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bruna silva

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 February 2014 bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Refurbishment

Disliked: No towels

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, which is right by the Liffey river, a short walk from many great attractions. Compared to many hostels I've been to over my years if traveling, the rooms were very nice and clean and I was surprised by how nice the bathroom in our room was. There was hot water all the time. There's a good atmosphere in the hostel.

Disliked: The mattresses aren't the most comfortable (you can really feel the springs). Also, I am pretty sure it said in the description that there's free breakfast included but upon arrival I was told it costs 3 euros (I checked it out, it's nothing special- better to go to a nice bakery and grab something for that price).

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013

Liked: Staff was helpful and it was fairly close to everything. Also the shower was nice.

Disliked: The mattress was springy and the pillow was super flat. €3 for breakfast was a little much. Squeaky floors added for lots of noise at night and in the morning from floor above and the room you're in. Also next to a bar so that was really loud as well.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Kitchen was filthy, flies all over the place. Carpet filthy, torn up and in need of replacement, treads on stairs in disrepair, lighting in hallways is awful, kitchen stove impossible to use and you need to bring your own matches or lighter to use it. All in all, terrible place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian malaescu

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Good positioning, price, cleanliness, and staff.

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliet Elizabeth

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: We weren't expecting a full size flat! Excellent sized living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, bedroom and bathroom. Light and airy. It seemed expensive when I booked but when I realised what we were getting for our money it seemed like excellent value for money. Really centrally located near the river and Temple Bar. Nice and quiet in apartment block (except for seafulls outside)

Disliked: Shower water pressure was pretty dodgy but this seemed consistent across our stays in the UK. Couldn't get the dryer function to work on the washer/dryer

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and functioning! Beds were relatively comfy, bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Shower was completely erratic! Not great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Hundley

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: A bit odd, but ah well, comes with the territory, I suppose. I liked the friendly front desk folks a lot. They were quite helpful.

Disliked: Not enough private rooms, but then again, this is a hostile. Pls, location. I like it, but there were gypsies b/c I met them!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adrian McGurn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. It was in a perfect location.

Disliked: The men's showers were dirty and the corridor on the second floor didn't smell too good. There should be a bar at the hostel so tourists can socialize with other tourists.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great located just a few minutes walking from Temple Bar area. Nice and clean hostel with a big kitchen where you can cook. In the living room you can meet new people and having fun. Young and friendly international staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice, the location is great and room and bathroom are spacious.

Disliked: It was a bit too warm and just beside a very noisy pub.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels