HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Sky Backpackers

Hostel | 2-4 Litton Lane, Dublin, Ireland 1

85.6% Overall Rating

111 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

"It is a very colourful hostel, it was really nice relaxing in the lounge. I also really liked the location, close to many shops, pubs, resaturants..."

Read all Sky Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Sky Apartments
62.12 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Abbey Court
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.3% 833 reviews
Abigails Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1335 reviews
Lynams Hotel
69.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.5% 12 reviews
Temple Bar Apartments
41.41 USD

Apartment 78.1% 3 reviews
Oliver St.John Gogarty
16.57 USD

Hostel 84.5% 97 reviews
Spire Hostel
17.95 USD

Hostel 82.1% 76 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
20.02 USD

Hostel 86.4% 239 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

111 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sky Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very colourful hostel, it was really nice relaxing in the lounge. I also really liked the location, close to many shops, pubs, resaturants...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free dinner on Wednesday night

Disliked: The kitchen could be cleaner

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Attrill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: That it has character whitin the building as it is a listed building, close to everything you possibly need. The place is easy to get to within walking distance from bus station. Plus the hostel put free sangria on for all backpackers ;-)

Disliked: I gueess having no elevators within the building to lug around a bag that I've been travelling with for the last 6 months took abit of effort as my room was on the top level. But hey I was notified by this when I booked it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Laura Pedersen

Alone

Events / festivals

18 March 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I loved its' location. Right on the Liffy and the city centre, and was a great atmosphere for the short time that I was there!

Disliked: I didn't particularly like that there were no lockers in the rooms, and that the walls were a bit thin, if you know what I mean. But there was storage for stuff up at reception, so I still felt safe about my camera and tablet and passport and stuff being locked up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and saved a bottom bunk for me as I had recently had knee surgery. The ensuite bathroom was clean and modern.

Disliked: Could have done with lockers in the rooms

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bruna silva

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 February 2014 bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Refurbishment

Disliked: No towels

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, which is right by the Liffey river, a short walk from many great attractions. Compared to many hostels I've been to over my years if traveling, the rooms were very nice and clean and I was surprised by how nice the bathroom in our room was. There was hot water all the time. There's a good atmosphere in the hostel.

Disliked: The mattresses aren't the most comfortable (you can really feel the springs). Also, I am pretty sure it said in the description that there's free breakfast included but upon arrival I was told it costs 3 euros (I checked it out, it's nothing special- better to go to a nice bakery and grab something for that price).

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013

Liked: Staff was helpful and it was fairly close to everything. Also the shower was nice.

Disliked: The mattress was springy and the pillow was super flat. €3 for breakfast was a little much. Squeaky floors added for lots of noise at night and in the morning from floor above and the room you're in. Also next to a bar so that was really loud as well.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Kitchen was filthy, flies all over the place. Carpet filthy, torn up and in need of replacement, treads on stairs in disrepair, lighting in hallways is awful, kitchen stove impossible to use and you need to bring your own matches or lighter to use it. All in all, terrible place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian malaescu

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Good positioning, price, cleanliness, and staff.

Disliked: Adrian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliet Elizabeth

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Juliet would recommend this property

Liked: We weren't expecting a full size flat! Excellent sized living room, full kitchen, washer/dryer, bedroom and bathroom. Light and airy. It seemed expensive when I booked but when I realised what we were getting for our money it seemed like excellent value for money. Really centrally located near the river and Temple Bar. Nice and quiet in apartment block (except for seafulls outside)

Disliked: Shower water pressure was pretty dodgy but this seemed consistent across our stays in the UK. Couldn't get the dryer function to work on the washer/dryer

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and functioning! Beds were relatively comfy, bathrooms were clean.

Disliked: Shower was completely erratic! Not great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Hundley

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: A bit odd, but ah well, comes with the territory, I suppose. I liked the friendly front desk folks a lot. They were quite helpful.

Disliked: Not enough private rooms, but then again, this is a hostile. Pls, location. I like it, but there were gypsies b/c I met them!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Adrian McGurn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly. It was in a perfect location.

Disliked: The men's showers were dirty and the corridor on the second floor didn't smell too good. There should be a bar at the hostel so tourists can socialize with other tourists.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great located just a few minutes walking from Temple Bar area. Nice and clean hostel with a big kitchen where you can cook. In the living room you can meet new people and having fun. Young and friendly international staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was nice, the location is great and room and bathroom are spacious.

Disliked: It was a bit too warm and just beside a very noisy pub.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sean walsh

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 May 2013 sean would recommend this property

Liked: The cool vibrations!!

Disliked: My 2nd stay and still no dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: En-suite bathrooms are good. Very clean rooms, and helpful staff.

Disliked: Kitchen is small and gets pretty crowded. They charge to use the desktop computers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2013

Liked: The staff and location were great, and I did meet some lovely people staying in my room. There was a decent kitchen and a nice common room.

Disliked: I could feel every bed spring in the mattress, it was one of the most uncomfortable beds. The rooms were stuffy, and there was always one person who closed the window despite protest so every night we'd wake up sweating. The toilets rarely flushed (so disgusting) & there was mould in the showers. Showering was a nightmare.. no privacy at all, and most of the time in the shower was spent dodging sudden streams of scalding or freezing water, then waiting for the temperature and pressure to return to something usable. The atmosphere wasnt as great as I'd expected, the group of residents was quite cliquey.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsey Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Chelsey would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms were all themed, beds very comfy, shower rooms and toilet room clean and sufficient for floor. Large and clean self-catering kitchen, burger nights!

Disliked: Chelsey left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anna Rejmanová

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location - it is near very city center. I also liked the price. They are also using cards instead of keys.

Disliked: Less cleanliness of the room and bathroom, low bunks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura López Pérez

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: todo, muy buen ambiente

Disliked: nada

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly and helpful staff, and a fun place to stay; there was live music and free drinks on our first night, as just one example. We also loved the free tea and took plenty of opportunities to have a cup and chill in the living room.

Disliked: Noisy roommates, though that can hardly be helped. The showers were a complete pain, there was no steady flow and the water oscillated between scalding and freezing. The kitchen was not the cleanest either--there was a *very* dirty sponge for dishes when we arrived and I never saw it replaced during the four nights we were there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so clean and the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The atmosphere is very laid back. The beds were comfortable and though it got very cold while I was there, the room was toasty warm. I really had a lovely stay there.

Disliked: The floorboards were old wood and creaked so bad when I walked on them I thought they'd give out. The hot water would go in and out maybe 10 times during my showers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Iga Pielichowska

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Iga would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice and socialable common room area

Disliked: It is not very clean, bathrooms are terrible!


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels