We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Durban Residence

Hostel | 69 Lower Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland 1

78.2% Overall Rating

31 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Melanie Qin thinks…

"The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night due to our delayed flight; however, the gentleman named Adam was expecting us and was very warm and welcoming. Furthermore, all our…"

Read all Durban Residence reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Backpackers Citi Hostel
15.53 USD

Hostel 52.8% 212 reviews
Backpackers D1 Hostel Dublin
12.95 USD

Hostel 53.4% 89 reviews
The Glen Guest House
42.07 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 49 reviews
Abraham House
11.65 USD

Hostel 79.1% 1089 reviews
Maple Hotel
37.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.8% 100 reviews
Adelphi Guesthouse
64.08 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 36 reviews
Paddy's Palace Dublin
21.36 USD

Hostel 75.5% 328 reviews
Anchor Guesthouse
77.67 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 25 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

31 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Durban Residence'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
84.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melanie Qin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night due to our delayed flight; however, the gentleman named Adam was expecting us and was very warm and welcoming. Furthermore, all our questions were answered, and we were also given a map to help us locate the closest attractions of Dublin. Finally, when we left the hostel early in the morning, we were given breakfast despite the fact that it is usually served later. Overall, we had a great experience with Durban House and we were very pleased with its location.

Disliked: The only small issue we had were the narrow stairs... it would have been more convenient to have access to an elevator because of our heavy luggage. Another small detail would be the fact that there was no small desk and chair in our room. We would have liked to have those!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV in the room

Disliked: small chamber

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good and friendly 24 h service, breakfast good, perfect location, all important places within walking distance, and surprising security system for a hostel :)

Disliked: The windows are very old so it can be a bit cold inside, but there is a heating so no big problem and typical for old Irish houses, of course heating costs are not your problem:), the shower was not comfortable, minimal water power, a bit annoing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 July 2013

Liked: It was a very central location and good value for money to be in the city centre. The room itself was clean and tidy, apart from a big hole in the bathroom! We were also allowed to check in early which was very helpful.

Disliked: There was a strong smell of smoke in the entire building and in the bedroom, as non-smokers we really disliked this. We also had to wait outside late at night pressing the buzzer for almost a half hour as the person working who we needed to let us in was asleep!!! Breakfast was not very appealing and the milk was a bit sour!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, free wi-fi,

Disliked: room10= broken bedframe, other bed had broken matress, gap between floor and the door was 5 cm, so we could hear everything and everybody, at 9 am there was no breakfast left, only some bread and jam, lock window in our room was broken so anybody could open it from outside!, no wardrobe or anything in the room where to put our staf, nobody take the phone if you try to call, the basement floor smels pretty bad, they asked me to pay more then I should pay..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were wonderful; they made every possible effort to make us welcome and make our stay comfortable, including offering to make us an early breakfast on hearing that we would be leaving early in the morning. The location is very convenient for tourist attractions, bars, restaurants and the Central Bus Station, and is also close to the red LUAS tram line. The hotel itself is in a lovely old house and the rooms, while basic, are clean and mostly nicely done up.

Disliked: Some of the rooms were cramped and could use a coat of paint and some minor repairs, as could the hallways. The area, being near Temple Bar, can also get a bit noisy at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Declan McGarrity

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 July 2012 Declan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quick check in, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet place - 5 min from city center

Disliked: There was no double glazing in the bedroom nor remote for the TV.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, very close to bus station and easy walk to centre of town. Excellent breakfast supplied.

Disliked: It was quite a bit of noise from the street. It didn't really worry us but some people could find it a bit intrusive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The care and helpfulness of the manager

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Duggan

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff here, helped with anythingwe asked for! Best breakfast we had in Ireland so amazing value. Great location, 5 min walk to the Spire, 2 min's to the bus station. Good wifi

Disliked: Our room faced the street so it was pretty noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chanel Gray

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2012 Chanel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Very friendly family running the place, they offered us a free upgrade on arrival from shared bathroom to en-suite. Room was good size, tv, tea & coffee facilities and very clean bathroom. Free wifi and also a computer to use just outside the room. Just a knock on the door and they will help you with whatever you need, they are there 24hours. Breakfast was included which was an added bonus, it was great with cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast & preserves, cold meat, cheese, juice, tea & coffee. Great location, just 5 minutes walk to O'connell street and less than 10 minutes to cross the River Liffy to Temple Bar. The day of check out we had to leave around 4.30am to catch our flight and Jimmy even prepared some breakfast 4 hours early just for us before we left!!! Highly recommend!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, with TV and private shower. The Irish staff were very friendly and talked a lot.

Disliked: The WC in the basement. (very small)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tristan Bradshaw

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

27 December 2011 Tristan would recommend this property

Liked: Location great. Character of rooms. Price.

Disliked: Room smelled of cigarettes. Floor noisy and gritty under foot (i.e. could have been cleaned better). Bathroom facilities could have been cleaner too.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast and the room

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Meika Sunnucks

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Meika would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly. Great value for money, breakfast included etc.

Disliked: Small things such as paintwork and decoration could be criticised, but for £19 each a night it was better than we expected.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Annemarie Wittkaemper

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

12 September 2011 Annemarie would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect to get into the city center. there is free wifi and also a pc to use.

Disliked: windows couldn't be opened or closed. to lift.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Fraser

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful - OK for a night in Dublin. Don't expect too much at the price you are paying. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were OK.

Disliked: Booked 2 rooms with en-suite and on arrival got 2 rooms (one without any windows) which were not en-suite. Had to share shower room and toilet with 2 other rooms. Not really suitable fior children

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The welcome,Good old fashioned Irish hospitality in abundance,refreshing to see the property owned and run by Irish natives,and better still Dublin lads,knowledge of Touristy stuff second to none,and also what hidden gems like small parks, inexpensive places to,eat,are to be found in the innercity center,wifi in the building,and a computer with internet acess24hr(free).the room fine,toilet,shower,tv,tea and coffee,towels,all provided,own 24hr acess,so it doesnt feel if ur da is letting you in at night,but a 24hr reception service available,breakfast substantial Continental,while we were there waiting in the lobby,for to meet a friend,the sign for full house,appeared, yet people still rang the bell,looking for a room,and instead of being told the usual garb,of full,the people who called french i think,were given courteousness and information of where to try some,which included the neighboring b and b,s,and we had a hilarious bit of Dublin bantering,between i think jimmy and Arthur,good comedic pairing, My female companion was treated as she is ,a special lady,well done , he dublin lads have a way of expressing themselves in sheer good humour,all in all decent,pleasant stay,also the owner of durban is alocal,and a seasoned ,traveller himself and gave some good advice,thanks all for the genuine hospitiality ,no paddywhackery here,just good old customer interaction and service

Disliked: The only regrettable thing we had,the short stay,and we couldn't bring Arthur and jimmy with us,

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: Hated it all. The only halfway reasonable thing was the ONLY (emphasis on "ONLY") friendly staff member who let us keep our bags there after we checked out.

Disliked: THIS PLACE IS HORRIBLE, DO NOT STAY HERE. I have to list our grievances, there are just too many: 1. The man who checked us in was very drunk. Since the owner had to leave the property that night, he turned over responsibility to an incompetent drunkard who doesn't even work there. 2. The room SMELLED FOUL. We realized that there was a huge festering trash pile right outside our window. Since the drunken non-employee was useless, we bought air freshener, which failed to mask the disgusting odor. 3. The next morning, we approached the owner about the smell. The OWNER WAS RUDE and unapologetic about it, and he threatened that we should "just check out." 4. The advertised "breakfast" is yogurt left out without refrigeration, rancid orange juice, and convenience store bread with jam. 5. The shower would cycle between cold, warm, and scalding hot regardless of what temperature you set it as. This recurred for all five of us. 6. Because of the trash heap, EVERYTHING SMELLED DISGUSTING. The towels and sheets, on top of having cigarette burns, were sickening to use. Durban Residence nearly ruined a very pleasant stay in Dublin. DO NOT PUT YOURSELF THROUGH THIS-- find somewhere else.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Caitlin Boyd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: A computer and internet were available at all times to guests without an extra charge, the man who checked us in was very helpful, and there was a code on the outside door so we could come in at any time and still feel safe.

Disliked: The bathrooms in the basement were itty bitty and only one shower actually worked.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Miia Salminen

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Miia would recommend this property

Liked: good that also had brown bread at breakfast! :)

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lovrenc Kocbek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Lovrenc would recommend this property

Liked: The staff. The occupant was kind, friendly and helpfull. He told us everything, where to go, which places to visit. And the room was ok too. Not a nice wiew but we had our own bathroom with the shower and a tv in the room. I think it was the best b&b i've ever been to.

Disliked: A lot of stairs, but you can't do anything about it - the occupant said he can give us another room if we would want to.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 July 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Uninterested staff, poor breakfast.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels