HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Durban Residence

Guesthouse

69 Lower Gardner Street, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 77%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 74%

Location 91%

Safety 77%

Staff 85%

Value 78%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night due to our delayed flight; however, the gentleman named Adam was expecting us and was very warm and welcoming. Furthermore, all our questions were answered, and we were also given a map to help us locate the closest attractions of Dublin. Finally, when we left the hostel early in the morning, we were given breakfast despite the fact that it is usually served later. Overall, we had a great experience with Durban House and we were very pleased with its location.

Disliked: The only small issue we had were the narrow stairs... it would have been more convenient to have access to an elevator because of our heavy luggage. Another small detail would be the fact that there was no small desk and chair in our room. We would have liked to have those!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: TV in the room

Disliked: small chamber

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good and friendly 24 h service, breakfast good, perfect location, all important places within walking distance, and surprising security system for a hostel :)

Disliked: The windows are very old so it can be a bit cold inside, but there is a heating so no big problem and typical for old Irish houses, of course heating costs are not your problem:), the shower was not comfortable, minimal water power, a bit annoing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: It was a very central location and good value for money to be in the city centre. The room itself was clean and tidy, apart from a big hole in the bathroom! We were also allowed to check in early which was very helpful.

Disliked: There was a strong smell of smoke in the entire building and in the bedroom, as non-smokers we really disliked this. We also had to wait outside late at night pressing the buzzer for almost a half hour as the person working who we needed to let us in was asleep!!! Breakfast was not very appealing and the milk was a bit sour!

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location, free wi-fi,

Disliked: room10= broken bedframe, other bed had broken matress, gap between floor and the door was 5 cm, so we could hear everything and everybody, at 9 am there was no breakfast left, only some bread and jam, lock window in our room was broken so anybody could open it from outside!, no wardrobe or anything in the room where to put our staf, nobody take the phone if you try to call, the basement floor smels pretty bad, they asked me to pay more then I should pay..

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Great location, quick check in, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were wonderful; they made every possible effort to make us welcome and make our stay comfortable, including offering to make us an early breakfast on hearing that we would be leaving early in the morning. The location is very convenient for tourist attractions, bars, restaurants and the Central Bus Station, and is also close to the red LUAS tram line. The hotel itself is in a lovely old house and the rooms, while basic, are clean and mostly nicely done up.

Disliked: Some of the rooms were cramped and could use a coat of paint and some minor repairs, as could the hallways. The area, being near Temple Bar, can also get a bit noisy at night.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Quiet place - 5 min from city center

Disliked: There was no double glazing in the bedroom nor remote for the TV.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Convenient location, very close to bus station and easy walk to centre of town. Excellent breakfast supplied.

Disliked: It was quite a bit of noise from the street. It didn't really worry us but some people could find it a bit intrusive.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The care and helpfulness of the manager

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability