HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.9% Overall Rating

450 out of 483 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2014)

"The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The events were great and brought a good atmosphere. The rooms are very tidy and good value for money"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.43 USD

Hostel 87.9% 401 reviews
George Fredric Handel
72.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
17.46 USD

Hostel 84.3% 983 reviews
Bridge House
28.55 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
28.05 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.84 USD

Hostel 75.0% 528 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.43 USD

Hostel 66.1% 143 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
10.75 USD

Hostel 88.2% 258 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

450 out of 483 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 353 of 469 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice new hostel, clean room

Disliked: window opens only 10cm, no kitchen, no breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and front reception area were very nice

Disliked: Rooms were far too hot

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a well run modern hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were very hot but this is only minor compared to how good the hostel is in other ways.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Kirby

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 July 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Capano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: The tours which left from Generator every day, billiard tables, great bar, and movie screenings made the stay extremely comfortable.

Disliked: Lucia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Louise Frost

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the coolest Generator Hostels I've stayed in, the bar atmosphere was awesome, and the girl's dorm was awesome!

Disliked: One of the girls in our dorm complained that her luggage was stolen in the luggage room earlier. Also, some guys were shouting out really loudly outside the hostel at 4AM in the morning, which was annoying.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean

Disliked: Very loud in reception area Toilets often unclean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lock boxes

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lotty Hall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2014 Lotty would recommend this property

Liked: atmoshphere, could have had a really good night with out even leaving the hostel. If was staying for longer then defienly would have done this. Also the beds were really comfy and the showers hot and powerful.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a little loud in communal areas, so when tired after a day sight seeing there was not quiet sofa to sit on and eat and be able to chat to a friend with out shouting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Ilori

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 July 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: I made the mistake of reading the reviews and nearly booked another hostel I took a chance on this it paid off I was so happy staying here

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, clean, free computers with internet, bar inside

Disliked: The ventilation of rooms is not that good. Breakfast needs to be purchased and is kind of expensive. If you buy food from outside there is no place to eat it. They tell you if you wanna eat on those tables you need to buy food inside (there is a guy cheking that). There is no common kitchen either. It's not very well located.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The design of the building was interesting. In my bunk bed I had two chargers and a light built into the bed itself which was sooo handy ! There is a huge lounge area also.

Disliked: I was staying on the 1st floor and I had to go to the 2nd floor to use the bathroom. The doors in the rooms cannot be closed quietly even when you try to.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hubbard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Has everything you need under one roof. Cafe, bar, entertainment and clean rooms

Disliked: Pillows are a bit flat. Bar prices are a bit expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area was great and range of fodd on offer was good.

Disliked: I thought it was a little bit more expensive than other hostels I've stayed in but I know Dublin is quite expensive.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paul mooney

Alone

City break

19 May 2014

Liked: It's like a factory

Disliked: Didn't feel like home

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: location and value for money

Disliked: price paid did not take account of the deposits already paid via hostelbookers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

gina perkins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014

Liked: For a place to go and hang out, totally! The bar area is very cool and there's plenty to eat/drink on offer. It's near a LUAS stop, though apparently in a sketchy part of town, or so we were told. there's a supermarket right across the street and the Cinnamon café nearby served the best soup I've ever had. Also, it was like 75% guys staying there, which I didn't mind at all. :)

Disliked: not as close to the city center as we had thought. We got put on a floor with no women's bathroom, so that was incredibly annoying. Because they have the bar/restaurant, you aren't allowed to bring outside food/drinks in unless you're sneaky about it. The staff, while not unfriendly, were not especially helpful and none of the typical map circling/advice giving happened here like it generally does at other places. I wouldn't personally stay here again, but I'm told it's the best place in town, so who knows...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Ingledew

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Real cosmopolitan feel about the place - loved the funky furniutre in lobby.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, not like what I thoughts hostles would be clean safe and very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Izzy Pulido

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Izzy would recommend this property

Liked: Generator Dublin is definitely the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. It really functions as a central location with a great bar and cafe and you have internet and a great location at your disposal. Smithfield Square is only a 15 minute walk away from the Temple Bar area, 20 minutes from Grafton Street and right next to the river. The hostel is literally right next door to the Jameson Distillery and 15 minutes from the Guinness Storehouse. I felt like I didn't have to go out into the city if I was too tired because the place was so lively.

Disliked: The only thing I have to comment on about the place is a lack of space. Staying in a completely booked 8-person bedroom made me feel claustrophobic. And there was a lack of luggage space, alloting people's personal belongings to be stored in a caged box no bigger than a small coffee table. Two of the guests in our rooms couldn't even fit their luggage in the box! Also this is not the place to meet new friends as it is so big so you lose the community feeling that most hostels offer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Kassel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The people at the front desk were helpful. I liked the extra security, such as the keycards and extra staff. The lunch was excellent.

Disliked: I wish lunch was served on weekends too. Also, the laundry machine was pretty ridiculous. We had to pay 14 euro total because one dryer coin wouldn't dry our clothes. When we complained about this, the front desk still charged us for the extra coins.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2014

Liked: -

Disliked: unkind and impatiant reception desk mass processing party guests

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, safe, clean

Disliked: No kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Chudley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bedrooms, frielndly staff, great location, fantastic food!

Disliked: Shower had 1 setting - scalding hot. Only negative about the hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design of bar and café, wifi, amount of bathroom facilities, lockers, clean and new beds that allow privacy (I especially liked the lamp and the plug), sink in room

Disliked: Location for included breakfast downstairs felt "third class" and uncomfortable compared to cafe upatairs, room without window or airing possibility (and with 8 people in it, it starts to get really hot and smelly at some point), toilets not cleaned enough, possibility to eat own food/kitchen with fridges (Its still a hostel, students don't have the money to buy overpriced meals every time they feel hungry)

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels