We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.7% Overall Rating

465 out of 501 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2014)

"It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 82.3% 1007 reviews
Bridge House
17.71 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
16.61 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 8 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 81.0% 542 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.5% 152 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 90.4% 271 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

465 out of 501 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 367 of 487 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014

Liked: None

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities, not even a fridge to store things you had purchased. Also breakfast was not included so it meant you had to buy every meal which becomes expensive. We stayed one more night and our 8 bed dorm was very stuffy & only a very small window with 8 people made it very very hot. Also the washing machine & dryer was extremely hot and shunk all our clothes.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common areas very much and the atmosphere I experienced there.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that breakfast was not included in the price.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Probably the position is not really central, but however is reachable on foot and positioned in a new, quiet and safe area of the city

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kay Fairclough

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2014 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff and comfy beds

Disliked: Location is a further away from Temple Bar than expected, quite noisey at night when we had a night in

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Josee Matte

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Josee would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the staff were helpful, and each bed had its own individual locker, reading light, and electrical socket. The elevator and rooms are key-card access only and there were lots of shower and toilet stalls, which means no waiting! The hostel had a very energetic and fun atmosphere and seemed to attract young travelers. If you're looking to party then Generator is a great fit for you.

Disliked: The showers were not very clean and did not drain properly. Additionally, each shower stall only had one door hook, which means towels or clothes had to be left on the floor and get wet. A simple basket or stool would help greatly. There was no male bathroom on the 2nd floor, which meant that guys had to go to the third floor. It's not a huge issue, just an inconvenience, especially in the middle of the night.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very modern and clean and well mantained

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Gabrieli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub. The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned.

Disliked: The showers are a bit too far from the room

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

David Eakins

Alone

Business / conference

11 August 2014

Liked: I liked the freshness of the sheets.

Disliked: The beer flies take up much of the ground floor. They are a regular interruption to the stay.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was so much going on. It was a cool place to just hang out. The live music was great.

Disliked: You had to pay for lockers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bailee Grob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Bailee would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great; clean, good location, friendly staff, nice facilities, grocery store across the street.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the wifi barely worked. Very frustrating at times!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, the fact that there was a bar was easy.

Disliked: Because of the warm weather our windows had tot stay open, so we had soms noise from other rooms where the windows were also open. Also, seagulls woke us up at 5 a.m because of their constant yelling.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in close proximity to the centre city. It had comfortable beds and showers and toilets that were cleaned several times daily. good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The events were great and brought a good atmosphere. The rooms are very tidy and good value for money

Disliked: No air conditioning, some of my friends were feeling ill from the heat. Not a wide choice on breakfast menu

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice new hostel, clean room

Disliked: window opens only 10cm, no kitchen, no breakfast

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar and front reception area were very nice

Disliked: Rooms were far too hot

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a well run modern hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were very hot but this is only minor compared to how good the hostel is in other ways.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Kirby

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 July 2014 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to fine, rooms are all we needed and more the bar, cafe are very convenient and affordable. The decor was top!

Disliked: Vanessa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Capano

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: The tours which left from Generator every day, billiard tables, great bar, and movie screenings made the stay extremely comfortable.

Disliked: Lucia left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Louise Frost

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 July 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the coolest Generator Hostels I've stayed in, the bar atmosphere was awesome, and the girl's dorm was awesome!

Disliked: One of the girls in our dorm complained that her luggage was stolen in the luggage room earlier. Also, some guys were shouting out really loudly outside the hostel at 4AM in the morning, which was annoying.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean

Disliked: Very loud in reception area Toilets often unclean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lock boxes

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lotty Hall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2014 Lotty would recommend this property

Liked: atmoshphere, could have had a really good night with out even leaving the hostel. If was staying for longer then defienly would have done this. Also the beds were really comfy and the showers hot and powerful.

Disliked: Sometimes it was a little loud in communal areas, so when tired after a day sight seeing there was not quiet sofa to sit on and eat and be able to chat to a friend with out shouting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brendan Ilori

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 July 2014 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: I made the mistake of reading the reviews and nearly booked another hostel I took a chance on this it paid off I was so happy staying here

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, clean, free computers with internet, bar inside

Disliked: The ventilation of rooms is not that good. Breakfast needs to be purchased and is kind of expensive. If you buy food from outside there is no place to eat it. They tell you if you wanna eat on those tables you need to buy food inside (there is a guy cheking that). There is no common kitchen either. It's not very well located.

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels