We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

88.9% Overall Rating

489 out of 526 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

Michael burton thinks…

"I have stayed quite a few times and every time the staff treat you as one of thier best customers so friendly and very helpfull"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

White Sands Hotel
28.23 USD

Hotel 88.1% 11 reviews
Kingston Hotel
55.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.6% 10 reviews
Brookville Guest House
79.05 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
50.25 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 8 reviews
Glenmore House
28.80 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 42 reviews
Glenshandan Lodge
28.23 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 17 reviews
Lucyswell B&B
37.27 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 14 reviews
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
50.82 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.4% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

489 out of 526 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 384 of 512 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael burton

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 August 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed quite a few times and every time the staff treat you as one of thier best customers so friendly and very helpfull

Disliked: NOTHING

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was so impressed by this hostel - definitely one of the best I've stayed in. Gorgeous bar/lounge and cafe area. Rooms were really well equipped with two plugs and a light per bed as well as a huge lockable (if you have a padlock) storage box under the beds. Everywhere kept very clean.

Disliked: We were on the first floor on the entrance side of the hostel so it could be a little noisy when people went out to smoke as they would hang out directly under our window. Window's did well to block out sound but not entirely - couldn't sleep with windows open due to this.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 August 2015

Liked: The location, and the few staff who were kind. The design was interesting. They tried to keep things secure. Try is the operative word.

Disliked: The manager needs sensitivity training. He was angry and abrupt very time I spoke with him, and was hard others, as well. A mentally ill woman who needed help was dragged off screaming on my first night, and the situation could have been so much better if he had just spoken calmly. Instead, he yelled at her and scared her, escalating the situation. Some might say that she "deserved" it, but thank God the police in Canada have what we call "non-violent crisis intervention" and "mental health first aid". It was barbaric, the way she was treated. Several people I met were so uncomfortable about the atmosphere that they left early. I read that certain travels era felt like the atmosphere was prison-like. Well, for one, they watch everything you do on the security cameras, and discuss it the next day. It's abominable. The staff are angry, tired and stressed out, with little room to move with these ridiculous business practices. I am currently in a beautiful rooming house with kitchen, laundry, washing and a private room in a safe neighbourhood, all for LESS than the generator. The minute I got to the new place, I was finally able to sleep. It might not be party central, but it is so much better, and run by a sweet woman who attends to every need. I own my own business, so I know bad practice when I see it. If you want to sleep, feel safe, and save your money, are over 30 and really aren't that interested in loud music and parties, if you like cooking in shared kitchens and meeting new people over food, if you are a woman traveling alone, don't go here. If you don't care about these things, by all means, stay at the Generator. P.s. I had accidentally left food and a bottle of unopened Jameson's at this hostel in my rush to get out, and not even 24 hours later they had taken my things. They refunded me the Jameson, and the staff who helped me looked a little sad, for me, but it speaks to a climate of very, very unhappy people. Just look at Costco- the owner treats his employees like gold and helps them out, and his business is booming. It doesn't take a lot to respect your clients, and I saw very, very little of this in the Generator. I feel they should be completely honest about their policies, or change them, so travellers can prepare accordingly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely helpful - before arrival and during my stay. I was able to book a great day trip to the Cliffs of Moher through the front desk. The lockers in the rooms held all my stuff easily and were secure.

Disliked: The breakfast didn't open early enough for me, so I went to Cinnamon Cafe across the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. It's location is in a very open, modern and clean area of Dublin right across of Lighthouse Cinema and nearby the Coca-Cola bike share rental stations. The front-desk staff were friendly, the design of the place was cool, and the amenities were well-kept. There were social events almost every night too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Michael Kleinsasser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and big lounge make it really comfortable . Supermarket across the street with a cafe , perfect for budget travellers .

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katie Warnock

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 July 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: A short walk to all the main attractions, good atmosphere to chill at night in the bar area (where the drinks are a lot cheaper than a lot of the bars in the Temple Bar region!) We stayed in 418 and it was clean and comfortable, quite basic but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: The building isn't very signposted, it took us a while to realise that it was the hostel from the outside!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool vibe and great location

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: Shared dorm rooms too small

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff. Brilliant social areas with good bar and sitting areas. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly staff, great food

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I ever stayed at.

Disliked: Shower could be a liiiiitle bit cleaner.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence De Sousa

Alone

City break

09 April 2015 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. The staff are friendly and informative. The food is delicious and well priced. The bar has a great atmosphere. All rooms, bathrooms and general areas were exceptionally clean. Would definitely visit again!

Disliked: Nothing! Great place!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrea Penna

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2015 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Really big, clean and central

Disliked: It's an hotel which tries to be an hostel, basically an hotel with common rooms. You pay for everything and the the personal is not really easy going, 4-6€ to let your lugguage, 3-4 € for the breakfast (i didn't know it and they wait I put a toast in my mouth to say it to me as I had to pay; I don't use to put food in a dish and then let it there so if they had wanted to be correct they would have to inform me earlier), there is no common kitchen and no fridges or places to put food but only an hostel-kitchen which cooks pizzas and sandwiches

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great style and decor. It looks impressive and modern. There is a great bar with pool table plus lots of tables and seating spread around the lobby. Clean rooms including bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Friendly, approachable staff - checking in was easy and they were very accommodating.

Disliked: Noise was excessive - from about 16.30 the music volume level in the main lobby was very loud - I had ordered a drink and was working on my laptop but I had to leave and return to my room due to the noise being so distracting. I looked around and saw at least 4 or 5 other people with a similar look of frustration (note - you can't bring food or drink into your rooms so it seems like there is no option for a quiet, relaxing social space after mid afternoon). Similarly, at night, I could hear the music from the bar up in my room. It was not excessively loud or distracting and didn't stop me from sleeping but if I could hear it up on the 4th floor, I can imagine how it must sound on the lower floors. I'm not saying they should change the volume levels - it seems like most of their vistors were in their early 20's but if you don't want that "party" atmosphere, then better look elsewhere. Windows in my room were filthy, both on inside and outside. Bathroom door was damaged, looked like it was going to fall off after a few more uses (probably due to the door springs being too tight - you really need to pull on the door to open it).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great location near to the city center and in the same building than the Jameson destillery. Its a nice bar downstairs which is quite good to meet new people!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amy tighe

Alone

Family Holiday

28 December 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a GOOD hostel. The layout of the bar / cafe downstairs is great, dark and cosy, a bit hipster but not too loud or expensive. The rooms are small but not poky - my 6 bed female dorm had its own bathroom with a great shower, lockable drawers under each bed and all the modern trappings such as two plugs behind each pillow and a personal light. I arrived at 9 am and was politely told that check in as at 2pm, however they checked to see if my room had been cleaned and told me to wait in the bar - within half an hour the lovely women at reception had come to find me and give me my key! The location is great - about 8 minutes walk to Henry Street, maybe 12 minutes to O'Connel Street.

Disliked: It is a shame that they can't offer a kitchen for guests but then if you want one make sure you search for a hostel that has one! I saw people eating their own food (Coco Pops etc) in the hostel's bar and nobody complained. It's true that they charge extra for a lock for your under-bed storage, and also charge to store luggage after you have checked out, but you can bring your own lock.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014

Liked: None

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities, not even a fridge to store things you had purchased. Also breakfast was not included so it meant you had to buy every meal which becomes expensive. We stayed one more night and our 8 bed dorm was very stuffy & only a very small window with 8 people made it very very hot. Also the washing machine & dryer was extremely hot and shunk all our clothes.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common areas very much and the atmosphere I experienced there.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that breakfast was not included in the price.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Probably the position is not really central, but however is reachable on foot and positioned in a new, quiet and safe area of the city

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kay Fairclough

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2014 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff and comfy beds

Disliked: Location is a further away from Temple Bar than expected, quite noisey at night when we had a night in

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Josee Matte

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Josee would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the staff were helpful, and each bed had its own individual locker, reading light, and electrical socket. The elevator and rooms are key-card access only and there were lots of shower and toilet stalls, which means no waiting! The hostel had a very energetic and fun atmosphere and seemed to attract young travelers. If you're looking to party then Generator is a great fit for you.

Disliked: The showers were not very clean and did not drain properly. Additionally, each shower stall only had one door hook, which means towels or clothes had to be left on the floor and get wet. A simple basket or stool would help greatly. There was no male bathroom on the 2nd floor, which meant that guys had to go to the third floor. It's not a huge issue, just an inconvenience, especially in the middle of the night.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very modern and clean and well mantained

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Gabrieli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub. The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned.

Disliked: The showers are a bit too far from the room

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels