We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

88.6% Overall Rating

485 out of 521 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

Michael Kleinsasser thinks…

"Bar and big lounge make it really comfortable . Supermarket across the street with a cafe , perfect for budget travellers ."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

White Sands Hotel
27.37 USD

Hotel 88.1% 11 reviews
Kingston Hotel
54.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 9 reviews
Brookville Guest House
76.64 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
48.72 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 8 reviews
Glenmore House
27.37 USD

Guesthouse 82.5% 38 reviews
Glenshandan Lodge
27.37 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 17 reviews
Lucyswell B&B
36.13 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 14 reviews
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
49.27 USD

Hotel 4 star 89.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

485 out of 521 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 379 of 507 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Michael Kleinsasser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and big lounge make it really comfortable . Supermarket across the street with a cafe , perfect for budget travellers .

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Katie Warnock

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 July 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: A short walk to all the main attractions, good atmosphere to chill at night in the bar area (where the drinks are a lot cheaper than a lot of the bars in the Temple Bar region!) We stayed in 418 and it was clean and comfortable, quite basic but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: The building isn't very signposted, it took us a while to realise that it was the hostel from the outside!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool vibe and great location

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: Shared dorm rooms too small

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff. Brilliant social areas with good bar and sitting areas. Loved it.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly staff, great food

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I ever stayed at.

Disliked: Shower could be a liiiiitle bit cleaner.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence De Sousa

Alone

City break

09 April 2015 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. The staff are friendly and informative. The food is delicious and well priced. The bar has a great atmosphere. All rooms, bathrooms and general areas were exceptionally clean. Would definitely visit again!

Disliked: Nothing! Great place!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Andrea Penna

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2015 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Really big, clean and central

Disliked: It's an hotel which tries to be an hostel, basically an hotel with common rooms. You pay for everything and the the personal is not really easy going, 4-6€ to let your lugguage, 3-4 € for the breakfast (i didn't know it and they wait I put a toast in my mouth to say it to me as I had to pay; I don't use to put food in a dish and then let it there so if they had wanted to be correct they would have to inform me earlier), there is no common kitchen and no fridges or places to put food but only an hostel-kitchen which cooks pizzas and sandwiches

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great style and decor. It looks impressive and modern. There is a great bar with pool table plus lots of tables and seating spread around the lobby. Clean rooms including bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Friendly, approachable staff - checking in was easy and they were very accommodating.

Disliked: Noise was excessive - from about 16.30 the music volume level in the main lobby was very loud - I had ordered a drink and was working on my laptop but I had to leave and return to my room due to the noise being so distracting. I looked around and saw at least 4 or 5 other people with a similar look of frustration (note - you can't bring food or drink into your rooms so it seems like there is no option for a quiet, relaxing social space after mid afternoon). Similarly, at night, I could hear the music from the bar up in my room. It was not excessively loud or distracting and didn't stop me from sleeping but if I could hear it up on the 4th floor, I can imagine how it must sound on the lower floors. I'm not saying they should change the volume levels - it seems like most of their vistors were in their early 20's but if you don't want that "party" atmosphere, then better look elsewhere. Windows in my room were filthy, both on inside and outside. Bathroom door was damaged, looked like it was going to fall off after a few more uses (probably due to the door springs being too tight - you really need to pull on the door to open it).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great location near to the city center and in the same building than the Jameson destillery. Its a nice bar downstairs which is quite good to meet new people!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amy tighe

Alone

Family Holiday

28 December 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a GOOD hostel. The layout of the bar / cafe downstairs is great, dark and cosy, a bit hipster but not too loud or expensive. The rooms are small but not poky - my 6 bed female dorm had its own bathroom with a great shower, lockable drawers under each bed and all the modern trappings such as two plugs behind each pillow and a personal light. I arrived at 9 am and was politely told that check in as at 2pm, however they checked to see if my room had been cleaned and told me to wait in the bar - within half an hour the lovely women at reception had come to find me and give me my key! The location is great - about 8 minutes walk to Henry Street, maybe 12 minutes to O'Connel Street.

Disliked: It is a shame that they can't offer a kitchen for guests but then if you want one make sure you search for a hostel that has one! I saw people eating their own food (Coco Pops etc) in the hostel's bar and nobody complained. It's true that they charge extra for a lock for your under-bed storage, and also charge to store luggage after you have checked out, but you can bring your own lock.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite good value for money, good social areas and the place does have quite a bit of character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014

Liked: None

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities, not even a fridge to store things you had purchased. Also breakfast was not included so it meant you had to buy every meal which becomes expensive. We stayed one more night and our 8 bed dorm was very stuffy & only a very small window with 8 people made it very very hot. Also the washing machine & dryer was extremely hot and shunk all our clothes.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common areas very much and the atmosphere I experienced there.

Disliked: I disliked the fact that breakfast was not included in the price.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel.

Disliked: Probably the position is not really central, but however is reachable on foot and positioned in a new, quiet and safe area of the city

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kay Fairclough

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 August 2014 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, helpful staff and comfy beds

Disliked: Location is a further away from Temple Bar than expected, quite noisey at night when we had a night in

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Josee Matte

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Josee would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, the staff were helpful, and each bed had its own individual locker, reading light, and electrical socket. The elevator and rooms are key-card access only and there were lots of shower and toilet stalls, which means no waiting! The hostel had a very energetic and fun atmosphere and seemed to attract young travelers. If you're looking to party then Generator is a great fit for you.

Disliked: The showers were not very clean and did not drain properly. Additionally, each shower stall only had one door hook, which means towels or clothes had to be left on the floor and get wet. A simple basket or stool would help greatly. There was no male bathroom on the 2nd floor, which meant that guys had to go to the third floor. It's not a huge issue, just an inconvenience, especially in the middle of the night.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very modern and clean and well mantained

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Gabrieli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub. The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned.

Disliked: The showers are a bit too far from the room

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

David Eakins

Alone

Business / conference

11 August 2014

Liked: I liked the freshness of the sheets.

Disliked: The beer flies take up much of the ground floor. They are a regular interruption to the stay.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was so much going on. It was a cool place to just hang out. The live music was great.

Disliked: You had to pay for lockers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bailee Grob

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Bailee would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great; clean, good location, friendly staff, nice facilities, grocery store across the street.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the wifi barely worked. Very frustrating at times!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, the fact that there was a bar was easy.

Disliked: Because of the warm weather our windows had tot stay open, so we had soms noise from other rooms where the windows were also open. Also, seagulls woke us up at 5 a.m because of their constant yelling.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was in close proximity to the centre city. It had comfortable beds and showers and toilets that were cleaned several times daily. good value for money.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels