HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

87.2% Overall Rating

464 out of 500 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews
Bridge House
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 76.1% 37 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
26.10 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 8 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 81.0% 541 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

464 out of 500 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 366 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chelsea Saada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean ad secure. Asked to show room keys when walking in late. Came in and did a quick clean of the room everyday.

Disliked: There was no kitchen to use which is difficult when traveling

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: Das Hostel ist in Smithfield zentral gelegen, alle wichtigen Punkte in der Innenstadt lassen sich fußläufig, oder aber mit Buss oder Straßenbahn schnell erreichen. Die Haltestellen der "Hopp on/off"-Busse und der Straßenbahn sind nur wenige 100m vom Hostel entfernt.

Disliked: Die Sauberkeit lies sehr zu wünschen übrig. Die Dusche war mit Stock- und Schimmelkolonien verseucht. Trotz entsprechender Nachfrage an der Reception ist nichts passiert, anderes Zimmer gab es angeblich nicht, weil Hostel angeblich ausgebucht war. Ansonsten war Zimmer OK, täglich halbfeucht durchgewischt worden, Badreinigung aber Fehlanzeige.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Macphee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! Really clean and tidy, comfy beds, bar and food on premises.

Disliked: We were a group of 5 staying in a 6 bed dorm and unfortunately the 6 th person in our room resulted in a very sleepless night, snoring all night!! Honestly if you know you snore, get a PRIVATE room and have a bit of respect for others. The facilities in the hostel are really good but it is very much a party hostel. If you are looking for a good night sleep, especially on a Friday & Saturday night, don't guarantee it!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wayne mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 wayne would recommend this property

Liked: more like a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: $4.00 euro's for brekky when all i wanted was 2 slices of toast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Correia

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It was well-organized and clean and was definitely a great value. It was; however, very hotel-like, so if that's not what you're looking for, then it the atmosphere wouldn't be for you. It wasn't directly close to anything in the city center, but it was only about a 10-15 minute walk from there, which was just fine for me. It was located right next door to Jameson - can't complain about that :)

Disliked: Though the rooms were at an extremely great price, nothing was 'with' that. All the services offered on site were at a cost. Lockers were a bit pricey, though I can't remember the exact cost. Towels were 2 euros each. Though I never went to the hotel bar, the drinks that were listed seemed pricey for hostel-drinking. Also, the site offered 1 night for free when you stayed for 3 nights. Initially, we were planning on staying in Dublin for 2 nights, but we decided to increase it to 4. They said because we had split up our reservations, we didn't qualify for this savings. Seems a bit of a stretch..

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Henry Reid

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 May 2012

Liked: It is clean.

Disliked: It is not like other hostels. It is run like a very unfriendly hotel. The atmosphere is very cold and unlike any other hostel I have stayed at. There is no community feeling, and it is difficult to meet anyone. The staff is not friendly. Their reservation system does not work correctly. They came in numbers to my room to kick me out, until I showed them my receipt that proved I was there for a few more nights. They left me alone after that, but I will never stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, friendly helpful staff. Very professionally run, only problem is they don't have a kitchen to cook your own food (but he do have food available to buy at cheap prices).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality room, close to Airlink Bus stop, luggage storage available

Disliked: A bit far away from major sights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taryn Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and tidy and had a really good atmosphere. The beds were really comfortable and it was excellent value for money.

Disliked: There was no washing facilities or self contained kitchen. The security boxes under the beds were WAY to noisey to pull in & out on the woodern floors in the mornings & at night when people were sleeping, maybe some carpet under them would've helped. The boys & girls toilets/showers were on two different levels so girls had to go to level 1 & boys to level 2.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VIRGILIJUS ILCIUKAS

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2012 VIRGILIJUS would recommend this property

Liked: More than expected.Lovely place,groovy atmosphere,nice staff and there is hostel.

Disliked: Sometimes is a little bit complicated to find WC.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safety guards; location; 4€ nice breakfast

Disliked: some rooms had an individual shower, some didn't: no price differences

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the modern, young style, breakfast.

Disliked: There is no kitchen and the internet is not for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Lundquist

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish and tidy!

Disliked: Maybe to modern for my taste. But its a really nice place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious common area, safe. Lots of facilities (lots of computers, books, laundry room, cinema, bar, pool tables).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maiara Ruppenthal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

22 April 2012 Maiara would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel it's really good.

Disliked: Maiara left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: spacious

Disliked: staff unhelpful, bin wasn't emptied the dorm room during my stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's so clean and well-ordered!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plushest hostel I have ever stayed in, staff are great, apparently this used to be a 5 star hotel before the owners turned it into a hostel, would recommend to anybody a stay here

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: De tweepersoonkamer op de 4e verdieping was zeer mooi, de bedden uiterst comfortabel met goede matrassen, kussens en donsdekens en fris bedlinnen.Een mooie badkamer met goede douche, de wastafel wat klein. De kamer is geschilderd in frisse kleuren, er is goede verlichting en een mooie "fotowand" .Echt een mooie kamer voor de prijs die we betaalden. Het onbijt is degelijk en de ontbijtruimte heeft een speciale mooie architectuur. Jong en aantrekkelijk. De mensen aan de receptie zijn zeer vriedelijk.

Disliked: Weinig tot geen "opbergruimte" in de kamer, ook geen haakjes of kapstokken. De vier- en zespersoonskamers zijn zeer klein.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, no hassle, secure.

Disliked: We changed our booking in a non-obvious way (cancelling one night in the middle of a 5-night stay), and their systems were obviously not ready for that, so we got a lot of trouble when we tried to get back after the cancelled night. It worked out eventually, but the staff wasn't especially friendly at the time.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012

Liked: It was definitely safe and secure.

Disliked: Not sue why this place has a 88 rating, I have stayed at hostels all over the world and this was probably the least enjoyable one. For starters, the place is HUGE, it's like a college dorm building. Staff were simply "doing their job" not really very friendly Worst part is the nickle-and-diming you to death. Everything costs extra, you can't even get a cup of coffee without paying 4 euros for the breakfast "special". There are rude signs up that any guest caught with their own alcohol will have it confiscated. Of course, that's so you will have to buy your drinks at their overpriced, very neon-and-shiny disco bar. All in all I found the place to be sterile, bleak and not a good place to meet others.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the appearance of the hostel is just like a hotel!! the room is clean and tidy!! Lift is provided to access floors and a locker is provided for storing the personal belongings!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marzio Valdambrini

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012

Liked: The common spaces are huge and the whole structure is brand new renovated. There's a bar inside and pool tables.

Disliked: The main point is that this hostel has no kitchen. It's also not allowed to bring food in the place. Internet is not for free, if you don't have your own laptop.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ignacio Armani

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 April 2012 Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: Highy recomended!!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is nice, modern and friendly, clean and I can reccomend it!

Disliked: Only one thing, you have to pay the breackfast...


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels