HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Generator Hostel Dublin Dublin Hostel

Smithfield Square, Dublin 7, Dublin, Ireland

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Hostelbookers Sale
Please note that all sales bookings are final and non-refundable. The property may charge your card in advance for the full amount of your stay. Payment protection is also not available in connection with these bookings. In the event that you cancel your booking the accommodation provider shall be entitled to retain the total outstanding costs of your booking. All rooms that are included in the sale are identified in their room type as [“!!! Sale !!! Non Refundable”].

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 82%

Safety 94%

Staff 84%

Value 86%

Showing 81-90 of 123 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Excellent cafe and barFree WiFi

Disliked: Unruley guests ruined my stay -- drunk guests in my room kept me awake all nightBreakfast wasn't great

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The property was amazing - well situated in a quiet but central location, 5-10 minutes walk from the massive Jervis Shopping Centre, Connelly Street, and various sights and shops just over the Liffey.The inside was well designed if a little maze-like, paint looked new and welcoming. Carpets and bedding were clean and presented nicely. The room I stayed in was not overcrowded with either beds or people, and there was plenty of secure storage space. Bathrooms were kept cleaner than most public toilets, which takes some doing, considering the number of people that must be using them each day.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't care for so much was the abrupt manner of the staff. They were helpful when I had questions, but minimally. They don't seem like they enjoy their jobs very much.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel was great; clean, good location, friendly staff, nice facilities, grocery store across the street.

Disliked: My only complaint was that the wifi barely worked. Very frustrating at times!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Generator Dublin. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with Generator. Thank you for all your nice comments. I do appologise that your wifi was interupeted during your stay, as we had a sever go down. This issue has now been resolved. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Dublin. Kind Regards Jeremy Beaumont-Duty Manager

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a really great atmosphere

Disliked: I wish they had locks for free and better wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was fantastic, very friendly atmosphere and welcoming atmosphere, youthful clientele, brilliant facilities, comfortable beds!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I have stayed in different Hostels in Dublin, but I havent seen such a clean and modern Hostel in Dublin before. The location is a bit far from the city center but I think it had the value for the price I paid.

Disliked: Internet was VERY slow and I had to be in the ground floor to have access for the Internet.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very wide common space. and bed was comfortable.

Disliked: Wi-fi connection was very poor. and restricted to use kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was helpful

Disliked: Loud and messy roommates, very slow internet, and rooms weren't thoroughly cleaned

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: Bed and restroom is clean and tidy

Disliked: Wi fi in the room is sucks

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff were amazing, great atmosphere & venue

Disliked: No soap in bathroom, taps not working in men's basement toilets

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability