We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

88.7% Overall Rating

483 out of 519 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2015)

"Great location. Friendly staff. Brilliant social areas with good bar and sitting areas. Loved it."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

White Sands Hotel
27.74 USD

Hotel 88.1% 11 reviews
Kingston Hotel
54.92 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.4% 9 reviews
Brookville Guest House
77.67 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
49.37 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 8 reviews
Glenmore House
27.74 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 37 reviews
Glenshandan Lodge
88.76 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 17 reviews
Lucyswell B&B
44.38 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 14 reviews
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
74.34 USD

Hotel 4 star 89.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

483 out of 519 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 377 of 505 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome! I´ve been to a lot of hostels all around Europe, but this one was the BEST!!! Congrats!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly and Great accommodation for the Price. Also really liked that you could lock up your stuff in the room. Had a great experience there. Thanks :)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendra Howe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: Door staff at night were amazing!

Disliked: Kendra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Ahmad

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Toilets need a bit more attention up on second floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new, great facilities

Disliked: We had another bed added to our already fully booked room! This meant that it was a little overcrowded.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caitlin Cockcroft-McKay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lot to offer in terms of the pool tables, bar, breakfast area, internet access and general space. It is innovative and interesting, and very clean and trendy. It was easily accessible (if you use the Luas - tram - but if you walk from O'Connell street it takes about 15-20 minutes). It is obvious and simple to find though. There's plenty of places to eat, drink and buy things near by. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: We met several people who were less than friendly (customers not staff, and I know that shouldn't affect our feeling of the hostel but it did). We didn't say anything to staff though so can't judge their lack of input. The bathroom was not cleaned within a few days of our stay and I had to ask for it to be cleaned and was responded to quite abruptly as if I was asking something outrageous. It is a little far from Temple Bar/O'Connell Street etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawid Wdowiak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Dawid would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Nothing bad to say.

Disliked: None.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Glick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to the old Jameson distillery. Everything was clean and tidy, and the place is awesome if you want to meet people because of their bar downstairs. Its a great hostel, and very new.

Disliked: There is no kitchen which is ridiculous.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ibrahim Yucedag

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Ibrahim would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: charge for computer use

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large place, larger than most hostels. So lots of space and very large lounge area for people to relax in. Wireless Internet thorough the building and built as a modern hostel with two outlets and a mini reading light for each bed, plus storage under the bed.

Disliked: While they've done a good job keeping the price down, even on weekends, it would be nice to have breakfast included for everyone, especially since there are no kitchen facilities for guests to prepare any food at. Having towels included in the price would be great too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chelsea Saada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean ad secure. Asked to show room keys when walking in late. Came in and did a quick clean of the room everyday.

Disliked: There was no kitchen to use which is difficult when traveling

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: Das Hostel ist in Smithfield zentral gelegen, alle wichtigen Punkte in der Innenstadt lassen sich fußläufig, oder aber mit Buss oder Straßenbahn schnell erreichen. Die Haltestellen der "Hopp on/off"-Busse und der Straßenbahn sind nur wenige 100m vom Hostel entfernt.

Disliked: Die Sauberkeit lies sehr zu wünschen übrig. Die Dusche war mit Stock- und Schimmelkolonien verseucht. Trotz entsprechender Nachfrage an der Reception ist nichts passiert, anderes Zimmer gab es angeblich nicht, weil Hostel angeblich ausgebucht war. Ansonsten war Zimmer OK, täglich halbfeucht durchgewischt worden, Badreinigung aber Fehlanzeige.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Macphee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! Really clean and tidy, comfy beds, bar and food on premises.

Disliked: We were a group of 5 staying in a 6 bed dorm and unfortunately the 6 th person in our room resulted in a very sleepless night, snoring all night!! Honestly if you know you snore, get a PRIVATE room and have a bit of respect for others. The facilities in the hostel are really good but it is very much a party hostel. If you are looking for a good night sleep, especially on a Friday & Saturday night, don't guarantee it!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wayne mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 wayne would recommend this property

Liked: more like a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: $4.00 euro's for brekky when all i wanted was 2 slices of toast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Correia

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It was well-organized and clean and was definitely a great value. It was; however, very hotel-like, so if that's not what you're looking for, then it the atmosphere wouldn't be for you. It wasn't directly close to anything in the city center, but it was only about a 10-15 minute walk from there, which was just fine for me. It was located right next door to Jameson - can't complain about that :)

Disliked: Though the rooms were at an extremely great price, nothing was 'with' that. All the services offered on site were at a cost. Lockers were a bit pricey, though I can't remember the exact cost. Towels were 2 euros each. Though I never went to the hotel bar, the drinks that were listed seemed pricey for hostel-drinking. Also, the site offered 1 night for free when you stayed for 3 nights. Initially, we were planning on staying in Dublin for 2 nights, but we decided to increase it to 4. They said because we had split up our reservations, we didn't qualify for this savings. Seems a bit of a stretch..

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Henry Reid

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 May 2012

Liked: It is clean.

Disliked: It is not like other hostels. It is run like a very unfriendly hotel. The atmosphere is very cold and unlike any other hostel I have stayed at. There is no community feeling, and it is difficult to meet anyone. The staff is not friendly. Their reservation system does not work correctly. They came in numbers to my room to kick me out, until I showed them my receipt that proved I was there for a few more nights. They left me alone after that, but I will never stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, friendly helpful staff. Very professionally run, only problem is they don't have a kitchen to cook your own food (but he do have food available to buy at cheap prices).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality room, close to Airlink Bus stop, luggage storage available

Disliked: A bit far away from major sights

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taryn Johnston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Taryn would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and tidy and had a really good atmosphere. The beds were really comfortable and it was excellent value for money.

Disliked: There was no washing facilities or self contained kitchen. The security boxes under the beds were WAY to noisey to pull in & out on the woodern floors in the mornings & at night when people were sleeping, maybe some carpet under them would've helped. The boys & girls toilets/showers were on two different levels so girls had to go to level 1 & boys to level 2.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VIRGILIJUS ILCIUKAS

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2012 VIRGILIJUS would recommend this property

Liked: More than expected.Lovely place,groovy atmosphere,nice staff and there is hostel.

Disliked: Sometimes is a little bit complicated to find WC.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safety guards; location; 4€ nice breakfast

Disliked: some rooms had an individual shower, some didn't: no price differences

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the modern, young style, breakfast.

Disliked: There is no kitchen and the internet is not for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Lundquist

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 April 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish and tidy!

Disliked: Maybe to modern for my taste. But its a really nice place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious common area, safe. Lots of facilities (lots of computers, books, laundry room, cinema, bar, pool tables).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels