We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.1% Overall Rating

471 out of 507 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/02/2015)

"Great style and decor. It looks impressive and modern. There is a great bar with pool table plus lots of tables and seating spread around the lobby. Clean rooms including bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Friendly,…"

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

White Sands Hotel
27.96 USD

Hotel 88.1% 11 reviews
Kingston Hotel
55.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.7% 6 reviews
Marina House Hostel
30.20 USD

Hostel 82.7% 26 reviews
Brookville Guest House
78.30 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Glenogra Guest House
49.78 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 8 reviews
Glenmore House
24.61 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 31 reviews
Glenshandan Lodge
89.49 USD

Guesthouse 87.7% 17 reviews
Lucyswell B&B
36.91 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

471 out of 507 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 370 of 493 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the room was very large and clean, I felt safe at all times while staying there, and the customer service was great!

Disliked: The only slight negative was the location but even then it wasn't more than 15 min walk to the main parts of town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Mewes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar. Really a lot of showers and toilets. Everyone has his / her own reading ligh at the bed.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennie Rabone

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing hostel I have ever stayed in! Wonderful huge spacious rooms, your own electrical socket, great friendly service, massive bathroom with a spa bath!! I will only stay here when I come to Dublin!

Disliked: That check in was supposed to be 2pm and I had to wait until 4pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Zuzana Gdovinova

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Zuzana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the city centre. Located in very nice, modern, clean area, close the shops and cafes nearby, just at be back side from Old Jameson Destilery. Perfect bar in Hostel, realy great range of drinks and good prices.

Disliked: Especially in the evening stinking smell of frying food in entry area and bar.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: War alles okay - hatte nette Leute in meinem Zimmer

Disliked: Zu viele Schulklassen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: best value for money, looks impecably cleen even when busy. Great common room, friendly staff

Disliked: hostel is setup as a party hostel, however the atmosphere was quite subdued. Many older travelevs staying here and I think the hostel should enforce the "youth hostel' aspect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very warm, lots of services available, 24 hour check in, very safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually the best hostel i have ever stayed in, ive stayed in about 15 on my trip. Everything is perfect, solid internet, great beds with privacy, awesome downstairs common area.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: vicinity and cleanleness

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lana Duncan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was a great market across the street and it was very close to public transportation. There is also a great little coffee shop and a local Irish pub close by. The property was very comfortable. I shared a mixed dorm with 5 other people ..... We all became friends.....we were all traveling by ourself. There is everything you need here. We made dinner two nights in the kitchen. I was able to do my laundry.

Disliked: You have to be a bit careful around the hotel...... It used to be in a bad neighborhood. I wish the kitchen was open in the morning to cook.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super helpful staff. despite the fire alarm being set off by drunk fools, I enjoyed my time here. Wouldn't hesitate to book another generator hostel elsewhere based on their consistency.

Disliked: no major dislikes. all in all great hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Bowick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: This was the most stylish and modern hostel I've ever stayed at - truly can't understand how they keep the prices so low.

Disliked: Lewis left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Phair

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable beds, good bar

Disliked: Bit far to Temple Bar

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 September 2012

Liked: It was very big and modern - nice reception area.

Disliked: Was disappointed after booking a private twin room to be given a dorm room. It was still private but don't think it is as nice as one of the private rooms that I paid for. When we asked the reception we were told this just happens sometimes. Also, staff aren't that friendly or helpful and the cleaning staff are a bit rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff excellent very helpful and friendly hard working

Disliked: rooms a little bit small and windows little bit small rooms get very hot a clean towel on arrival would be a bonus

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The kitchen was big enough for a good cook up. Supermarket directly opposite which was very handy. Public transport nearby.

Disliked: Nothing we really enjoyed our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stacey manolescu

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really good. Would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEUNGWOO KIM

Alone

City break

25 August 2012 SEUNGWOO would recommend this property

Liked: This is like new type of hostel. Everything is perfect.

Disliked: Except location. It's quite far away to rail station and busaras.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome! I´ve been to a lot of hostels all around Europe, but this one was the BEST!!! Congrats!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly and Great accommodation for the Price. Also really liked that you could lock up your stuff in the room. Had a great experience there. Thanks :)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendra Howe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: Door staff at night were amazing!

Disliked: Kendra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Ahmad

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Toilets need a bit more attention up on second floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new, great facilities

Disliked: We had another bed added to our already fully booked room! This meant that it was a little overcrowded.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caitlin Cockcroft-McKay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lot to offer in terms of the pool tables, bar, breakfast area, internet access and general space. It is innovative and interesting, and very clean and trendy. It was easily accessible (if you use the Luas - tram - but if you walk from O'Connell street it takes about 15-20 minutes). It is obvious and simple to find though. There's plenty of places to eat, drink and buy things near by. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: We met several people who were less than friendly (customers not staff, and I know that shouldn't affect our feeling of the hostel but it did). We didn't say anything to staff though so can't judge their lack of input. The bathroom was not cleaned within a few days of our stay and I had to ask for it to be cleaned and was responded to quite abruptly as if I was asking something outrageous. It is a little far from Temple Bar/O'Connell Street etc.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels