HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

86.3% Overall Rating

456 out of 491 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2014)

Stefano Gabrieli thinks…

"It's an enjoyable place full of music and hall in the common living room. The atmosphere is similar to a fancy pub. The rooms are quiet and functionals. Cleaned."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
13.34 USD

Hostel 88.6% 404 reviews
George Fredric Handel
65.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kinlay House
18.68 USD

Hostel 84.8% 988 reviews
Bridge House
32.02 USD

Guesthouse 75.2% 36 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
34.36 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 7 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
22.68 USD

Hostel 78.9% 531 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
13.34 USD

Hostel 67.8% 146 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
21.35 USD

Hostel 88.8% 262 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

456 out of 491 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 478 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super helpful staff. despite the fire alarm being set off by drunk fools, I enjoyed my time here. Wouldn't hesitate to book another generator hostel elsewhere based on their consistency.

Disliked: no major dislikes. all in all great hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Bowick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: This was the most stylish and modern hostel I've ever stayed at - truly can't understand how they keep the prices so low.

Disliked: Lewis left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Phair

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable beds, good bar

Disliked: Bit far to Temple Bar

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 September 2012

Liked: It was very big and modern - nice reception area.

Disliked: Was disappointed after booking a private twin room to be given a dorm room. It was still private but don't think it is as nice as one of the private rooms that I paid for. When we asked the reception we were told this just happens sometimes. Also, staff aren't that friendly or helpful and the cleaning staff are a bit rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff excellent very helpful and friendly hard working

Disliked: rooms a little bit small and windows little bit small rooms get very hot a clean towel on arrival would be a bonus

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The kitchen was big enough for a good cook up. Supermarket directly opposite which was very handy. Public transport nearby.

Disliked: Nothing we really enjoyed our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stacey manolescu

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really good. Would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEUNGWOO KIM

Alone

City break

25 August 2012 SEUNGWOO would recommend this property

Liked: This is like new type of hostel. Everything is perfect.

Disliked: Except location. It's quite far away to rail station and busaras.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome! I´ve been to a lot of hostels all around Europe, but this one was the BEST!!! Congrats!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly and Great accommodation for the Price. Also really liked that you could lock up your stuff in the room. Had a great experience there. Thanks :)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendra Howe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: Door staff at night were amazing!

Disliked: Kendra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Ahmad

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Toilets need a bit more attention up on second floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new, great facilities

Disliked: We had another bed added to our already fully booked room! This meant that it was a little overcrowded.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caitlin Cockcroft-McKay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lot to offer in terms of the pool tables, bar, breakfast area, internet access and general space. It is innovative and interesting, and very clean and trendy. It was easily accessible (if you use the Luas - tram - but if you walk from O'Connell street it takes about 15-20 minutes). It is obvious and simple to find though. There's plenty of places to eat, drink and buy things near by. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: We met several people who were less than friendly (customers not staff, and I know that shouldn't affect our feeling of the hostel but it did). We didn't say anything to staff though so can't judge their lack of input. The bathroom was not cleaned within a few days of our stay and I had to ask for it to be cleaned and was responded to quite abruptly as if I was asking something outrageous. It is a little far from Temple Bar/O'Connell Street etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawid Wdowiak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Dawid would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Nothing bad to say.

Disliked: None.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Glick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to the old Jameson distillery. Everything was clean and tidy, and the place is awesome if you want to meet people because of their bar downstairs. Its a great hostel, and very new.

Disliked: There is no kitchen which is ridiculous.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ibrahim Yucedag

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Ibrahim would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: charge for computer use

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large place, larger than most hostels. So lots of space and very large lounge area for people to relax in. Wireless Internet thorough the building and built as a modern hostel with two outlets and a mini reading light for each bed, plus storage under the bed.

Disliked: While they've done a good job keeping the price down, even on weekends, it would be nice to have breakfast included for everyone, especially since there are no kitchen facilities for guests to prepare any food at. Having towels included in the price would be great too.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chelsea Saada

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: Was very clean ad secure. Asked to show room keys when walking in late. Came in and did a quick clean of the room everyday.

Disliked: There was no kitchen to use which is difficult when traveling

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2012

Liked: Das Hostel ist in Smithfield zentral gelegen, alle wichtigen Punkte in der Innenstadt lassen sich fußläufig, oder aber mit Buss oder Straßenbahn schnell erreichen. Die Haltestellen der "Hopp on/off"-Busse und der Straßenbahn sind nur wenige 100m vom Hostel entfernt.

Disliked: Die Sauberkeit lies sehr zu wünschen übrig. Die Dusche war mit Stock- und Schimmelkolonien verseucht. Trotz entsprechender Nachfrage an der Reception ist nichts passiert, anderes Zimmer gab es angeblich nicht, weil Hostel angeblich ausgebucht war. Ansonsten war Zimmer OK, täglich halbfeucht durchgewischt worden, Badreinigung aber Fehlanzeige.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Macphee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2012 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! Really clean and tidy, comfy beds, bar and food on premises.

Disliked: We were a group of 5 staying in a 6 bed dorm and unfortunately the 6 th person in our room resulted in a very sleepless night, snoring all night!! Honestly if you know you snore, get a PRIVATE room and have a bit of respect for others. The facilities in the hostel are really good but it is very much a party hostel. If you are looking for a good night sleep, especially on a Friday & Saturday night, don't guarantee it!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wayne mason

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2012 wayne would recommend this property

Liked: more like a hotel than a hostel

Disliked: $4.00 euro's for brekky when all i wanted was 2 slices of toast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Correia

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: It was well-organized and clean and was definitely a great value. It was; however, very hotel-like, so if that's not what you're looking for, then it the atmosphere wouldn't be for you. It wasn't directly close to anything in the city center, but it was only about a 10-15 minute walk from there, which was just fine for me. It was located right next door to Jameson - can't complain about that :)

Disliked: Though the rooms were at an extremely great price, nothing was 'with' that. All the services offered on site were at a cost. Lockers were a bit pricey, though I can't remember the exact cost. Towels were 2 euros each. Though I never went to the hotel bar, the drinks that were listed seemed pricey for hostel-drinking. Also, the site offered 1 night for free when you stayed for 3 nights. Initially, we were planning on staying in Dublin for 2 nights, but we decided to increase it to 4. They said because we had split up our reservations, we didn't qualify for this savings. Seems a bit of a stretch..

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Henry Reid

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

31 May 2012

Liked: It is clean.

Disliked: It is not like other hostels. It is run like a very unfriendly hotel. The atmosphere is very cold and unlike any other hostel I have stayed at. There is no community feeling, and it is difficult to meet anyone. The staff is not friendly. Their reservation system does not work correctly. They came in numbers to my room to kick me out, until I showed them my receipt that proved I was there for a few more nights. They left me alone after that, but I will never stay there again.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels