We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels

Reviews of Generator Dublin

Hostel | Smithfield Square, Dublin, Ireland Dublin 7

87.2% Overall Rating

464 out of 500 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"nice, new, with cards to open the doors of the room, a very clean toilet with shower in each room, electricity to recharge the phone for each bed, light for each bed, overall, a perfect hostel."

Read all Generator Dublin reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dublin?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Dublin

Four Courts Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 90.9% 410 reviews
Kinlay House
15.81 USD

Hostel 81.6% 1006 reviews
Bridge House
21.51 USD

Guesthouse 75.7% 38 reviews
Charleville Lodge Hotel
21.35 USD

Guesthouse 77.5% 8 reviews
Dublin International Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 81.0% 541 reviews
The Apache Hostel At Temple Bar
15.18 USD

Hostel 71.4% 151 reviews
Barnacles Temple Bar House Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 89.7% 268 reviews
The Mercantile Hotel
33.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

464 out of 500 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Generator Dublin'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 366 of 486 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: War alles okay - hatte nette Leute in meinem Zimmer

Disliked: Zu viele Schulklassen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: best value for money, looks impecably cleen even when busy. Great common room, friendly staff

Disliked: hostel is setup as a party hostel, however the atmosphere was quite subdued. Many older travelevs staying here and I think the hostel should enforce the "youth hostel' aspect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very warm, lots of services available, 24 hour check in, very safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Actually the best hostel i have ever stayed in, ive stayed in about 15 on my trip. Everything is perfect, solid internet, great beds with privacy, awesome downstairs common area.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: vicinity and cleanleness

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lana Duncan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2012 Lana would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that there was a great market across the street and it was very close to public transportation. There is also a great little coffee shop and a local Irish pub close by. The property was very comfortable. I shared a mixed dorm with 5 other people ..... We all became friends.....we were all traveling by ourself. There is everything you need here. We made dinner two nights in the kitchen. I was able to do my laundry.

Disliked: You have to be a bit careful around the hotel...... It used to be in a bad neighborhood. I wish the kitchen was open in the morning to cook.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super helpful staff. despite the fire alarm being set off by drunk fools, I enjoyed my time here. Wouldn't hesitate to book another generator hostel elsewhere based on their consistency.

Disliked: no major dislikes. all in all great hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Bowick

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: This was the most stylish and modern hostel I've ever stayed at - truly can't understand how they keep the prices so low.

Disliked: Lewis left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Phair

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable beds, good bar

Disliked: Bit far to Temple Bar

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 September 2012

Liked: It was very big and modern - nice reception area.

Disliked: Was disappointed after booking a private twin room to be given a dorm room. It was still private but don't think it is as nice as one of the private rooms that I paid for. When we asked the reception we were told this just happens sometimes. Also, staff aren't that friendly or helpful and the cleaning staff are a bit rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff excellent very helpful and friendly hard working

Disliked: rooms a little bit small and windows little bit small rooms get very hot a clean towel on arrival would be a bonus

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The kitchen was big enough for a good cook up. Supermarket directly opposite which was very handy. Public transport nearby.

Disliked: Nothing we really enjoyed our stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stacey manolescu

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Really good. Would stay again.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEUNGWOO KIM

Alone

City break

25 August 2012 SEUNGWOO would recommend this property

Liked: This is like new type of hostel. Everything is perfect.

Disliked: Except location. It's quite far away to rail station and busaras.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome! I´ve been to a lot of hostels all around Europe, but this one was the BEST!!! Congrats!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly and Great accommodation for the Price. Also really liked that you could lock up your stuff in the room. Had a great experience there. Thanks :)

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kendra Howe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Kendra would recommend this property

Liked: Door staff at night were amazing!

Disliked: Kendra left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Ahmad

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2012 Muhammad would recommend this property

Liked: Every thing

Disliked: Toilets need a bit more attention up on second floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, new, great facilities

Disliked: We had another bed added to our already fully booked room! This meant that it was a little overcrowded.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caitlin Cockcroft-McKay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It has a lot to offer in terms of the pool tables, bar, breakfast area, internet access and general space. It is innovative and interesting, and very clean and trendy. It was easily accessible (if you use the Luas - tram - but if you walk from O'Connell street it takes about 15-20 minutes). It is obvious and simple to find though. There's plenty of places to eat, drink and buy things near by. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: We met several people who were less than friendly (customers not staff, and I know that shouldn't affect our feeling of the hostel but it did). We didn't say anything to staff though so can't judge their lack of input. The bathroom was not cleaned within a few days of our stay and I had to ask for it to be cleaned and was responded to quite abruptly as if I was asking something outrageous. It is a little far from Temple Bar/O'Connell Street etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawid Wdowiak

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Dawid would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. Nothing bad to say.

Disliked: None.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Glick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to the old Jameson distillery. Everything was clean and tidy, and the place is awesome if you want to meet people because of their bar downstairs. Its a great hostel, and very new.

Disliked: There is no kitchen which is ridiculous.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ibrahim Yucedag

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Ibrahim would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: charge for computer use

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very large place, larger than most hostels. So lots of space and very large lounge area for people to relax in. Wireless Internet thorough the building and built as a modern hostel with two outlets and a mini reading light for each bed, plus storage under the bed.

Disliked: While they've done a good job keeping the price down, even on weekends, it would be nice to have breakfast included for everyone, especially since there are no kitchen facilities for guests to prepare any food at. Having towels included in the price would be great too.


See all Dublin hostels
See all Dublin hotels